Opposites

Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    50
    What we get is Britain's best proper rock band doing what they do until we're numb to what makes them special.
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    60
    Fans of Biffy Clyro will dive headlong into these 20 new songs and embrace them as feverishly as anything the band have previously released, but that’s not to say that this record isn’t without its flaws.
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    60
    Opposites may not be the career-defining masterpiece it's intended as, but it's certainly not the pompous disaster it could have been: it has failings, but not the ones you might expect.
  4. 40
    There's precious little of the experimentation or variety you might expect.
  5. Most of disc one consists of ponderous, blustering nonsense, with a black chandelier used as a metaphor for depression. Disc two shows more promise.
  6. Jan 28, 2013
    60
    Across 80 minutes there's the sense they might have spread themselves too thinly.
  7. Jan 25, 2013
    60
    If you're already a Biffy Clyro fan, Opposites might be your idea of a masterpiece. If you're new to Biffy, it'll just give you a headache.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Every Biffy album has been a 'grower' for me and Opposites is no different.
    On first listen it was a good album, but not as good as their
    Every Biffy album has been a 'grower' for me and Opposites is no different.
    On first listen it was a good album, but not as good as their last, on second listen it was better than i first thought and probably on a par with their last. By the third i was hooked and it was easily their best album yet.

    Not one song do i skip when listening to this album, and i usually do find one or two on an album i tend to skip past. Each one i either find myself humming along to or, nobody is around, singing out loud.

    Easilymy favourite album right now.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 29, 2013
    9
    This album shocked me. I like Biffy Clyro but they've never been among my favorite bands. I've always felt that their output has beenThis album shocked me. I like Biffy Clyro but they've never been among my favorite bands. I've always felt that their output has been inconsistent, ranging from fantastic (Infinity Land) to mediocre (Puzzle) to poor (Vertigo of Bliss). The thought of a double album from such a hit or miss band was frankly terrifying. I envisioned a bloated mess stuffed full of filler. Amazingly, Opposites is utterly brilliant! It's easily Biffy Clyro's best album in my opinion. Making a 22 track album with no bad songs is an almost impossible feat but the band totally knocked it out of the park. It's also one of the most emotionally stirring records I've heard for quite some time. Surprisingly excellent stuff for the Clyro! Full Review »
  3. Dec 12, 2014
    10
    This album can be put simply: to those who do not like high powered, kick-ass rock, you will find this album hard to endure. To those who do,This album can be put simply: to those who do not like high powered, kick-ass rock, you will find this album hard to endure. To those who do, this is a masterpiece. Full Review »