Opposites - Biffy Clyro
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 43
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 43
  3. Negative: 5 out of 43

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 29, 2013
    9
    This album shocked me. I like Biffy Clyro but they've never been among my favorite bands. I've always felt that their output has been inconsistent, ranging from fantastic (Infinity Land) to mediocre (Puzzle) to poor (Vertigo of Bliss). The thought of a double album from such a hit or miss band was frankly terrifying. I envisioned a bloated mess stuffed full of filler. Amazingly, OppositesThis album shocked me. I like Biffy Clyro but they've never been among my favorite bands. I've always felt that their output has been inconsistent, ranging from fantastic (Infinity Land) to mediocre (Puzzle) to poor (Vertigo of Bliss). The thought of a double album from such a hit or miss band was frankly terrifying. I envisioned a bloated mess stuffed full of filler. Amazingly, Opposites is utterly brilliant! It's easily Biffy Clyro's best album in my opinion. Making a 22 track album with no bad songs is an almost impossible feat but the band totally knocked it out of the park. It's also one of the most emotionally stirring records I've heard for quite some time. Surprisingly excellent stuff for the Clyro! Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    Biffy's breakthrough proper, "Only Revolutions" was a decent album with some good singles and a handful of other listenable numbers. It also has the odd dud. In general, it was hard to be offended by it and if noone was watching, you could even enjoy it. Here we have its follow up, no much has changed to the sound but this time we have a sprawling double album. There are a few decentBiffy's breakthrough proper, "Only Revolutions" was a decent album with some good singles and a handful of other listenable numbers. It also has the odd dud. In general, it was hard to be offended by it and if noone was watching, you could even enjoy it. Here we have its follow up, no much has changed to the sound but this time we have a sprawling double album. There are a few decent tracks, a fee duds but here we do have a hell of a lot more production going on. A couple of tracks get the big orchestral treatment, turning otherwise average songs into potential stadium anthems. There is plenty to like on this record, but as is the case more often than not with double albums, I just really question whether we needed two discs? There are about a half dozen doublers out there that truly justified their two disc status and I really don't see this joining the list. Still though, it's an enjoyable enough listen and there are a few peaches to be found on it. Expand
  3. May 13, 2013
    10
    Awesome album.
    The songs "Black Chandelier", "Opposites", "Biblical", "Stingin' Belle", "Black Magic Formula" and the pretty "Accident Without Emergency" made Opposites the best release of 2013 since now.
  4. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Every Biffy album has been a 'grower' for me and Opposites is no different.
    On first listen it was a good album, but not as good as their last, on second listen it was better than i first thought and probably on a par with their last. By the third i was hooked and it was easily their best album yet.
    Not one song do i skip when listening to this album, and i usually do find one or two
    Every Biffy album has been a 'grower' for me and Opposites is no different.
    On first listen it was a good album, but not as good as their last, on second listen it was better than i first thought and probably on a par with their last. By the third i was hooked and it was easily their best album yet.

    Not one song do i skip when listening to this album, and i usually do find one or two on an album i tend to skip past. Each one i either find myself humming along to or, nobody is around, singing out loud.

    Easilymy favourite album right now.
    Expand
  5. Apr 8, 2013
    2
    Seen so many great reviews of this album and I simply don't get it bland, boring, samey. Just because most of it's upbeat doesn't mean it's not boring. Don't get me wrong, there's nothing truly bad here, just a bunch of mediocre tracks, some slightly more passable than others. Every song sounds pretty much the same as the last with barely anything distinguishable or memorable. NothingSeen so many great reviews of this album and I simply don't get it bland, boring, samey. Just because most of it's upbeat doesn't mean it's not boring. Don't get me wrong, there's nothing truly bad here, just a bunch of mediocre tracks, some slightly more passable than others. Every song sounds pretty much the same as the last with barely anything distinguishable or memorable. Nothing much more to say. Expand
  6. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    I absolutely love this album, I think it has some decent variety with songs like Modern Magic Formula that sounds a bit more like the old Biffy to Spanish Radio that is quite special, to Trumpet or Tap that simply has awesome vocals! The songs to stand out are imo: Different People, Sounds Like Balloons, The Joke's On Us (Best song on album), Modern Magic Formula, Trumpet Or Tap. I likeI absolutely love this album, I think it has some decent variety with songs like Modern Magic Formula that sounds a bit more like the old Biffy to Spanish Radio that is quite special, to Trumpet or Tap that simply has awesome vocals! The songs to stand out are imo: Different People, Sounds Like Balloons, The Joke's On Us (Best song on album), Modern Magic Formula, Trumpet Or Tap. I like all songs, and I might love other songs just as much as I listen to them more. Lyrically I love the album, Biffy has lyrics that range from very heartfelt to **** weird... And I love it, The Joke's On Us and Sounds Like Balloons are top notch lyrically in my opinion. It could have been more raw, but I get that they can't do that on the album. Expand
  7. Feb 2, 2013
    8
    Biffy Clyro was, from 2002 to 2004, a first-class alternative/progressive rock band. Even though their first three albums were very different from each other, they could superbly express their sadness, anger and happiness with dull timbres, fast tone attacks, large timing variations, dissonant notes and impressive melodies. Nevertheless, as anyone can tell, such things hardly make a livingBiffy Clyro was, from 2002 to 2004, a first-class alternative/progressive rock band. Even though their first three albums were very different from each other, they could superbly express their sadness, anger and happiness with dull timbres, fast tone attacks, large timing variations, dissonant notes and impressive melodies. Nevertheless, as anyone can tell, such things hardly make a living for professional musicians. It is necessary to hide the sharp edges if you're aiming for sucess. Then, from 2007 until now, they turned out into a pop/rock band; and that's what "Opposites" is all about: a tender pop/rock album that may please FM radio listeners. But still Biffy Clyro shines: all the songs in this album are catchy and amazingly designed. Hands down, the second disc is the best thing they've made since "Puzzle" (2007). Neil Simon and the Johnston brothers are so talented that they can't make it go wrong. So, if you are already a Biffy fan, there's no way you're not going to love this album. On the other hand, "Opposites" feels like they're still spoiling their talent, and I'm still unsure if it is preferable to be on the top of the Billboard sellings rather than on the top of the best rock bands of all times given they're capable of both and, so far, it has been a dichotomy. Expand
  8. Oct 15, 2013
    3
    A fairly boring and run of the mill album. None of the songs provide you with a need to relisten to the album. The band is even worse when they slow down for the more ballad oriented songs on Opposites.
  9. Feb 13, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Each of both albums by itself leaves one longing for more, so the fact that it's a double album strengthens it, much more than the band's previous score, Only Revolutions. The style of the songs vary, from the typical acoustic melodies and harmonising vocals, to the hard headbanging riffs and awkward rhythms, which make this record a great and original piece.

    In terms of production, it has improved from the last album, however, it still lacks the power of Puzzle, and, as OR, it's overly produced. The drums barely kick ass much as the vocals, and the bass is most noticeable in this album, as it weakens the electric guitars. The lyrics are strong, as well as playfull and satirical, a style that's characterised this band for years.

    Overall, a great album.
    Expand
  10. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    Typically Biffy. Nothing much changed from their recent formula: lots of catchy arena tunes mixed in with their signature blend progressive rock. The only difference here is that there's more of it. Great if you're a Biffy fan, may be a bit overpowering if you're not. Still very much worth a listen though.
  11. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    WIth Biffy Clyro's sixth album, the Scottish trio have offered up one of their most complete albums to date and one of the best albums of the year. Opener "different People" starts with singer/guitarist Simon Neil singing over a gently strummed guitar before an explosion of catchy guitar riff and a big chorus takes over. The quality of the first song is consistent right through the album.WIth Biffy Clyro's sixth album, the Scottish trio have offered up one of their most complete albums to date and one of the best albums of the year. Opener "different People" starts with singer/guitarist Simon Neil singing over a gently strummed guitar before an explosion of catchy guitar riff and a big chorus takes over. The quality of the first song is consistent right through the album. Lead singles "Black Chandelier" and "Stingin' Belle" are superb and are among the best the Biff have ever recorded. Elsewhere "VIctory Over the Sun' is a belter and "Accident Without Emergency" is a quitter one which is set to blow the doors off arenas. The title track is a gentle love song. A double album was always going to be risky idea, but Biffy Clyro put those fears to rest and have created a masterpiece of 20 tracks of masterfully crafted arena rock. 'Mon the Biff! Expand
  12. Dec 12, 2014
    10
    This album can be put simply: to those who do not like high powered, kick-ass rock, you will find this album hard to endure. To those who do, this is a masterpiece.
  13. Aug 5, 2014
    2
    Opposites is a very bad record. Now, this could be a realistic conversation between two casual listeners knowing the band:
    "A Biffy Clyro's Double LP? It could be cool, they know how to entertain the listener..."
    "Guess what? It's not". I'm writing this because it's just the same thing repeated over and over and over again, without any inventiveness. You'll be destroyed by this record,
    Opposites is a very bad record. Now, this could be a realistic conversation between two casual listeners knowing the band:
    "A Biffy Clyro's Double LP? It could be cool, they know how to entertain the listener..."
    "Guess what? It's not".
    I'm writing this because it's just the same thing repeated over and over and over again, without any inventiveness. You'll be destroyed by this record, it makes you hate guitar, drums and bass since it keeps on throwing them in your hears with the same sounds, progressions, etc. for too much time.
    I do not suggest this (double) album.
    Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 90
    A bona fide, big, stadium-pleasing epic. [Mar 2013, p.95]
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    60
    Fans of Biffy Clyro will dive headlong into these 20 new songs and embrace them as feverishly as anything the band have previously released, but that’s not to say that this record isn’t without its flaws.
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    70
    Opposites is ultimately a surprisingly immediate and rewarding listen, compensating in consistency for what it lacks in depth.