Original Pirate Material

Original Pirate Material Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 150 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut album by the London garage (or in this case, bedroom) band, which consists solely of 21-year-old Mike Skinner. Whether or not this style of music (very English rapping over garage/house beats) will translate well overseas remains to be seen, but garage (and especiallyThis is the debut album by the London garage (or in this case, bedroom) band, which consists solely of 21-year-old Mike Skinner. Whether or not this style of music (very English rapping over garage/house beats) will translate well overseas remains to be seen, but garage (and especially Skinner) is the current flavor of the month with the UK music press. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Uncut
    100
    The first record in a long while I've wanted to play again immediately after it's finished. [Album Of The Month, April 2002, p.92]
  2. Original Pirate Material, to put it plainly, is the most vivid evocation of life as a young person in the UK since Blur's Parklife, and yes, even The Clash's first album.
  3. An album whose scope, diversity, wit and heart make it instantly the best album of 2002.
  4. On the evidence of this excellent debut, few people can challenge Skinner right now except himself.
  5. Q Magazine
    80
    The odd portentous lapse and minor clunker aside, the rate of killer lines is remarkably high. [Mar 2002, p.115]
  6. In the midst of its 14 tracks, there are a couple that, if taken on their own, would qualify as throwaways. But the way the album should be heard, as a whole, each piece works with the others.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 94
  2. Negative: 7 out of 94
  1. RhiannonL.
    Aug 17, 2002
    10
    there is only one word needed to describe this album "wicked". the streets aka mike skinner is a lyrical genius and those who slate him or there is only one word needed to describe this album "wicked". the streets aka mike skinner is a lyrical genius and those who slate him or his album obviusly dont see class music when it slaps them in the face! when will he be doing a tour? Expand
  2. danielw
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    Brilliant. the music i normally listen to is rock music, but this album is absolutely fantastic.
  3. EmmaC.
    Sep 21, 2002
    10
    d album is da best album out,well dun mike ITS GREAT. n mike ur very good lukin!
  4. Jong
    Nov 16, 2003
    10
    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It's a shame this album wasnt popular, i guess the public just isint ready for something this real.
  5. dai
    Jul 1, 2004
    10
    god f*ing dammit! where's this album been all my life! best rhymes since lord byron... sit back and let ur mind be blown.
  6. PhilS
    May 3, 2006
    9
    As a poet, there is no better than this working class hero. I was tempted to give this album 10, but decided not to bcause i am mean. It is As a poet, there is no better than this working class hero. I was tempted to give this album 10, but decided not to bcause i am mean. It is really really good quality...... i mean, he is what Doherty could be Expand
  7. LeonW.
    Jul 30, 2002
    0
    intolerable rubbish thats a chor to listen to. definately one of the most overrated albums of the year. Don't bother!

See all 94 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Hip-Hop Albums of the 21st Century

    The Best Hip-Hop Albums of the 21st Century Image
    Published: October 19, 2017
    These are the 30 highest-scoring hip hop albums released since 2000.
  2. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage begins with a look at the top-rated albums and artists of the past 10 years. Who finished on top? A band from Austin, and a record that was 37 years in the making.