Orphans: Brawlers, Bawlers & Bastards

  • Record Label: Anti
  • Release Date: Nov 21, 2006
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 159 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 159

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SB
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    As far as I'm concerned this is Tom's masterpiece. An absolutely astonishing work. The scope is massive and to say that he pulls it off is an understatement. I just don't get how people can rate this as 8/10 or whatever. This is the greatest album by anyone in decades.
  2. Jon-E.K
    Dec 13, 2007
    8
    Its definately one of Waits better albums, wonderful lyrics shouted, sung and brawled out with a rough raspy and varied vocal, that most people with a wide music vocabulary will be charmed by. Everything from the Stories about gritty outlaws, loners and bottom life dwellers to the experimental rhythmic composition is artfully execute in his own bizarre style. I found the bastards disk to Its definately one of Waits better albums, wonderful lyrics shouted, sung and brawled out with a rough raspy and varied vocal, that most people with a wide music vocabulary will be charmed by. Everything from the Stories about gritty outlaws, loners and bottom life dwellers to the experimental rhythmic composition is artfully execute in his own bizarre style. I found the bastards disk to be my favorite, because it was more experimental, it had a darker tone to it, much like Black Rider had. To them who can't get over his voice or claim that he can't sing, for one he's much better than most singers out there, he uses his voice like an instrument, its the pillar which upholds the whole composition. In fact he says this better himself.. "At the center of this record is my voice. I try my best to chug, stomp, weep, whisper, moan, wheeze, scat, blurt, rage, whine, and seduce. With my voice, I can sound like a girl, the boogieman, a Theremin, a cherry bomb, a clown, a doctor, a murderer - I can be tribal. Ironic. Or disturbed. My voice is really my instrument." Tom wait's quoted from Anti- article. Expand
  3. julianne
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    amazing....scalding...something for every mood...an education.... eradication...rejuvenation..stupefication....
  4. EdgewaysS
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    It is good to have all the varrious things in one spot, and there is onely one Tom waits
  5. PROCK
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    Even if you don't find a song or two to your liking, the breadth of this thing is enough for anyone (other than an out and out Waits-hater) to find an album's worth (15 or so) gems. There is also no denying that Brawlers is one of the best single discs that Tom has produced.
  6. DrAwesome
    Nov 30, 2006
    9
    A landmark work. Runs the gamut of emotions and conveys all of them well. Tom Waits is truly a musical genius to be reckoned with and should take is his place beside Leonard Cohen and Bob Dylan in the triumvirate of the worlds greatest song writers.
  7. BrandonL
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    Will this man ever do a regular cross-country tour for the love of god?!!
  8. lujob
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    the jewel in the mine the teardrop that fires the sky i´m happy ... and for a long time
  9. KurtD
    Nov 20, 2006
    9
    mmmm... I like this a lot
  10. Matchman
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    An artist's artist. Always full of soul and only better with age.
  11. shelly
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    tom waits is beautiful...so is this incredible album.
  12. AndrewCa
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    He's just getting better and better! It's actually ridiculous.
  13. WaltS
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    Tom Waits is a rarity in that he gets better as he gets older. He doesn't go out of style, because he was never actually in style, he's just always had a timeless quality about him. After 2004's "Real Gone", which was a slight decline in quality, I thought that maybe Tom had given us all of his best stuff. Then Orphans comes out, a collection that is consistently amazing Tom Waits is a rarity in that he gets better as he gets older. He doesn't go out of style, because he was never actually in style, he's just always had a timeless quality about him. After 2004's "Real Gone", which was a slight decline in quality, I thought that maybe Tom had given us all of his best stuff. Then Orphans comes out, a collection that is consistently amazing and among his best work. Tom is easily the coolest man alive. Expand
  14. drewt
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    tom waits is a hero. and if you don't like his voice, grow up and broaden your horizons. this is one of the best albums you'll ever hear.
  15. DevinB.
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    Brilliant album by a brilliant, prolific, profound artist. Tom Waits is a true original and a cornerstone of left-of-center american music. A complete creative entity of absolute genius.
  16. telephono
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    it's funny when total jokes think they can spot other total jokes... tommy's brilliant.
  17. umbertop
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Album of the year and Opus Magnum of Tom Waits
  18. DrewK
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    This is an incredible set, and in my opinion is better than anything he's put out in the past fifteen years.
  19. CraigM
    Nov 20, 2006
    9
    I like the album...but mostly I just wanted to say that, whether you like this album or not, I think we can all agree that tim e is a moron!
  20. TomFoolery
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    Waits gives us yet another brilliant look into his crazy view of the world and it all just seems to make sense. However this time he does it times three! There are very few artists out there who could put out 54 wonderful songs all on one realease. While other artists fade away, Waits bruns bright and puts out some of the best music of his career. (For Tim E, this is suppose to be a Waits gives us yet another brilliant look into his crazy view of the world and it all just seems to make sense. However this time he does it times three! There are very few artists out there who could put out 54 wonderful songs all on one realease. While other artists fade away, Waits bruns bright and puts out some of the best music of his career. (For Tim E, this is suppose to be a review by people who have listend to new releases, if you hate Waits , you obviuosly didn't listen to all 3 discs of him. Go listen to tour K-Fed album and leave the reviews to real music fans) Expand
  21. Nighthawk
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    Fantastic album. So many great cuts that come one right after the other it plays like a greatest hits album. But they're all new hits! Some of the highlights include 2:19, Lucinda, Road to Peace, Widow's Grove, Take Care of All My Children, Down There By the Train. Like any good Waits album, however, every song is a highlight. Glorious and plentiful!
  22. ChadM
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    This was an expensive buy at $45.00 Canadian, but once I listened to it I realized that it was worth every penny. This collection covers every genre that Waits has ever done, it literally has music that any Waits fan will enjoy. I know many people like his early stuff and don't so much like his Black Rider, industrial stuff, and this will satisify you just fine. Just a perfect This was an expensive buy at $45.00 Canadian, but once I listened to it I realized that it was worth every penny. This collection covers every genre that Waits has ever done, it literally has music that any Waits fan will enjoy. I know many people like his early stuff and don't so much like his Black Rider, industrial stuff, and this will satisify you just fine. Just a perfect collection of tunes that suits any mood. Along with Dylan & Neil Young the guy is a true lyrical genius that has lasted decade after decade. As for the chucklehead that gave the album a 0 when it was apparent that he never even listened to it, why don't you rate Christina Aguilara and The Pussycat Dolls albums and stop hijacking pages that don't concern you. If you don't like an artist that's fine but don't use this website as a forum for your ignorance. This is designed for people who have an interest in a certain album and want to get other peoples opinions of it.....peoples opinions that have actually heard it and understand it!! Expand
  23. HeinV
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    I agree with Alex S; again a masterpiece. Without a doubt the record of the year.
  24. danielw
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    Remarkable. The only thing like it I can think of offhand is Basement Tapes. It is so tuned in to to many American genres that it ends up reinventing all of them.
  25. MattD.
    Nov 27, 2006
    7
    Some of this is an acquired taste for sure - and it doesn't mean you have to "grow up" if you don't like it. His voice can get harsh, like something from a monster in a film, and some of it seems creative for creativity's sake. Still, there are quite a few good, sturdy melodies and heart-wrenching tales.
  26. ZooTrain
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    This is a magnificent collection. To say that Tom Waits can't sing is silly. He has terrific range. However, it is something to get used to. He has done something few artists have done--fashioned his voice into a character, distinct and unique from song to song. Next to Dylan, Waits could possibly be America's greatest living songwriter.
  27. [Anonymous]
    Nov 29, 2006
    9
    Rodney Bingenheimer. I know that name was borrowed. Anyway, the real one I'd bet would disagree entirely with your silly comments.
  28. druw
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    This collection confirms what many of us have known for years, that Tom Waits and Kathleen Brennan are the greatest living American songwriting team .The range and depth of these 3 discs is profound.Tom`s voice is an amazing ,incredibly versatile instrument.It is is like the great American novel told in song form.There are echoes of Steinbeck,Woody Gutherie,Flannery This collection confirms what many of us have known for years, that Tom Waits and Kathleen Brennan are the greatest living American songwriting team .The range and depth of these 3 discs is profound.Tom`s voice is an amazing ,incredibly versatile instrument.It is is like the great American novel told in song form.There are echoes of Steinbeck,Woody Gutherie,Flannery O`Connor,Kerouac,Raymond Chandler,Harry Crews , Alan Lomax`s field recordings,and the Old Testament.A major achievement ,some of us will be marvelling over for years to come. Expand
  29. DittyDDT
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    Best album of the year. Tom Waits is an American Treasure, more creative than ANY of his contemporaries over time. Best Album of his life in his 50's.
  30. ChrisK
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    As vital as anything he has ever done. This three-disc set shows the boundless range of our greatest songwriter.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Orphans is a major work that goes beyond the origins of the material and drags everything past and present with sound and texture into a present to be presented as something utterly new, beyond anything he has previously issued.
  2. This set stands alongside Waits's finest work.
  3. An outstanding musical creation... that nods to almost every known genre of American music, and some that have yet to be named.