• Record Label: Anti
  • Release Date: Nov 21, 2006
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 154 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 154

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkL.
    Oct 23, 2007
    0
    I can't believe that this album is even getting talked about. He is the Worst singer in the entire history of music. He's so terrible, that if the songs had any chance of becoming mediocre, no one would ever know because of the sheer terror shrieking into their ears by his crap of a voice. Tom Waits may have something going for him to even be a musician this long, but whatever I can't believe that this album is even getting talked about. He is the Worst singer in the entire history of music. He's so terrible, that if the songs had any chance of becoming mediocre, no one would ever know because of the sheer terror shrieking into their ears by his crap of a voice. Tom Waits may have something going for him to even be a musician this long, but whatever that something is, it's certain that it isn't talent. Expand
  2. R
    Jan 15, 2007
    2
    Totally overrated record
  3. Marc
    Jan 5, 2007
    3
    Ok there are a few good songs scattered on these 3 CD's and over the years Waits has written and performed a lot of music that I really like. The problem is he has writtten a lot of lousy material. I challenge anyone that gave this disc a 10 to sit through the third cd more than once. Go on I dare ya!
  4. CookieMonster
    Dec 6, 2006
    0
    Tom Waits plagerized me :-(
  5. ScottM
    Dec 3, 2006
    3
    The songs themselves are very good, but the vocals are so rough that it makes listening to it unpleasant. Its like a nice looking sweater that itches too much when you try to wear it. Waits should stick to writing songs, in my opinion.
  6. RodneyBingenheimer
    Nov 27, 2006
    0
    He sounds like Springstein having a seizure. This is why people never pay attention to reviews. Critics don't know squat.
  7. time
    Nov 20, 2006
    0
    I freakin HATE Tom Waits. It's sounds like he's getting an enema while he's singing. This guys the supposed to be the Johnny Cash of nerdy Indie rock. He's a total joke.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Orphans is a major work that goes beyond the origins of the material and drags everything past and present with sound and texture into a present to be presented as something utterly new, beyond anything he has previously issued.
  2. This set stands alongside Waits's finest work.
  3. An outstanding musical creation... that nods to almost every known genre of American music, and some that have yet to be named.