• Record Label: Merge
  • Release Date: Aug 2, 2011
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Aug 29, 2011
    80
    Ultimately, Our Blood must be graded on what it is (rather than what it could have been), and it is quite good.
  2. Aug 26, 2011
    80
    Our Blood, like most great singer-songwriter efforts, is open to interpretation, but it's the record's malleable sense of emotion that lends it its peculiar gravity.
  3. Aug 18, 2011
    80
    An austere beauty. [Aug 2011, p.81]
  4. Aug 9, 2011
    80
    Ultimately, Williams never made a record as intense and as beautiful as Our Blood.
  5. Aug 9, 2011
    80
    These songs store well more than a half-hour of reward and intrigue-- appropriate enough for a record that had to be made three times.
  6. Aug 1, 2011
    80
    Our Blood, with its tattered, frayed grace, reflects Buckner's compellingly listenable, weary yet stubborn poetic journey, for answers to questions -- both past and and present, elliptical and enormous --that lie just beyond his grasp.
  7. Sep 15, 2011
    78
    Buckner has composed an album that grows more emotionally astonishing with each play, and, at 36 minutes, one that's entirely too brief.
  8. Aug 3, 2011
    75
    His latest, Our Blood, isn't likely to raise his profile much. But that's okay.
  9. Aug 4, 2011
    70
    The cosmic elements decorating those songwriting chops, the dead-on but unpredictable arrangement touches, the warm and present recording--they're all present here. No impasses, only breakthroughs. [Jul 2011, p.92]
  10. Aug 2, 2011
    70
    He has grabbed our attention immediately and reminded us not only what we loved about him, but what tricks he's learned while we weren't paying attention.
  11. 70
    Old Blood offers a glimpse into the world of Richard Buckner that serves as an ideal starting point for new listeners.
  12. Jul 19, 2011
    70
    With pedal steel by Buddy Cage (Dylan's Blood on the Tracks), ominous percussion by Sonic Youth drummer Steve Shelley, and Buckner's usual subtle craftsmanship, he creates wasted-night rhapsodies that demand you lean in close--however warily.
  13. Aug 2, 2011
    66
    While the album at times requires careful attention to fully attach to, it's modestly flavored with a warmth and ease that naturally rings true.
  14. 60
    Our Blood doesn't leave me wanting more, it doesn't leave me drooling over another listen, and it sure doesn't leave me interested in more of Richard Buckner's work. But on the same measure, it doesn't leave me sick or angry.

There are no user reviews yet.