Our Earthly Pleasures

  • Record Label: Warp
  • Release Date: May 8, 2007
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 24, 2012
    6
    The difficult 2nd album...It doesn't have the same immediacy as A Certain Trigger and the lyrics sound forced and pretentious rather than poetic this time round. The big problem is the hooks just aren't as catchy or exciting as before. It's not a terrible record (Girls Who Play Guitars and Our Velocity are nice tunes) and if your a fan of the band I'm sure this will appeal to you, butThe difficult 2nd album...It doesn't have the same immediacy as A Certain Trigger and the lyrics sound forced and pretentious rather than poetic this time round. The big problem is the hooks just aren't as catchy or exciting as before. It's not a terrible record (Girls Who Play Guitars and Our Velocity are nice tunes) and if your a fan of the band I'm sure this will appeal to you, but there are also many other better albums out there to listen to. Expand
  2. philg
    Sep 16, 2007
    10
    as sharif said, initially a little disappointing, but what lies beneath the sheen of the unknown is a fantastic album, as full of ideas and pop hooks as the first, and eventualy you will come to see the album as what it is, flawless.
  3. wisdomp.
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    CD is OK. Books from Boxes is an amazing song...realy
  4. BobB.
    Aug 2, 2007
    8
    It's a good album.
  5. MartinS.
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    Maximo's new CD isn't immediate?? The first three tracks alone are worth the price. In fact, all of the songs are well crafted, intelligent slices of pop rock. The CD's diversity is quite impressive, and Duncan LLoyd is a great guitar player. Give "Our Earthly Pleasures" a chance. Maximo rules ok!!
  6. Mac
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    I agree with Sharif, the reviews are very strange. The lyrics on this cd are very impressive, where every song is about a certain 'pleasure' , going with the theme of the whole album. This album is a great second shot for Maximo Park and it should not be overlooked as a mediocre attempt from another annoying english band. This is a very good cd. Get it soon. The lyrics at first I agree with Sharif, the reviews are very strange. The lyrics on this cd are very impressive, where every song is about a certain 'pleasure' , going with the theme of the whole album. This album is a great second shot for Maximo Park and it should not be overlooked as a mediocre attempt from another annoying english band. This is a very good cd. Get it soon. The lyrics at first mean so little, but as a whole so much. Expand
  7. Jellogibby
    Jun 24, 2007
    7
    The album starts great with some classic tunes, but it gets a bit too clean in the second half. Too many songs with lack of sharpness. A solid record, but they fail to exceed their brilliant debut.
  8. MickyJ
    Jun 21, 2007
    9
    Are you kidding? This album is genius. A huge step forward on their debut, which was praised beyond it's real charms, this has been on my mp3 player continuously, and remains an early favourite from 2007 - probably the best mainstream uk release this year, anyway.
  9. MihaiV.
    May 26, 2007
    8
    Against odds they make another excellent album. One of the better albums this year will see.
  10. MarkJ.
    May 23, 2007
    2
    Shockingly bad. The only good song on there is the one thye released. What happened
  11. JamieP.
    May 21, 2007
    3
    Embarrassingly awkward lyrics make this unlistenable for me. I tried skipping Books From Boxes (this song is dire in the extreme), but I just kept coming across tracks that made me want to hurt someone. Such a shame, because A Certain Trigger was a lovely album, full of great licks and angular phrasing. I think they tried to amplify that, and it just comes out as horrific pop with shite Embarrassingly awkward lyrics make this unlistenable for me. I tried skipping Books From Boxes (this song is dire in the extreme), but I just kept coming across tracks that made me want to hurt someone. Such a shame, because A Certain Trigger was a lovely album, full of great licks and angular phrasing. I think they tried to amplify that, and it just comes out as horrific pop with shite lyrics that don't scan. Expand
  12. KateB.
    May 20, 2007
    8
    I like this album a lot, but I have to be in the mood to listen to it. I personally think it is more organised musically than A Certain Trigger, but lacks some of the energy. The tunes are solid, so if you can ignore the over-blown and/or pompous lyrics, then you will like this album.
  13. StephW.
    May 15, 2007
    10
    A fantastic follow up to 'A Certain Trigger'. You dicover something new with each listen...Maximo Park are awesome!
  14. BD.
    May 11, 2007
    9
    Great album. I personally like it more than A Certain Trigger, just feels more solid. I don't skip a track on this album. If you like this album i also suggest The Ponys recent album. It may be just me but these two albums are my favorite UK/Indie/Rock/Punk (or whatever genre this is) albums yet this year. Keep an eye out for British Sea Power's upcoming album also.
  15. BenJ
    May 9, 2007
    4
    Unfortunately, a very poor follow up to a good debut. The second half lacks decent songs.
  16. mikes.
    May 8, 2007
    6
    a solid release but not as refreshing as their previous album
  17. PatricioR
    May 3, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing album by an amazing band. I agree it is not as good as A Certain Trigger, but it does not deserve all the bad and not-good reviews it has collected. It is not an inmediate record but as one of the reviewers writes "stick with it, and the album reveals itself".
  18. Sharif
    May 3, 2007
    10
    The reviews for this album utterly mystify me. This effort is undoubtedly better than their first, and will definitely be one of the albums of the year. Go out and listen to this album.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Uncut
    80
    Repeated listens--it's a grower--reveal a number of meatier, surprisingly hard-rocking songs. [May 2007, p.99]
  2. Paste Magazine
    60
    Simplicity is king, as a relentlessly jaunty onslaught of jangle-pop hurtles ever onwards. [May 2007, p.96]
  3. [Producer] Gil Norton... [has] an enviable track record, but he’s not doing Maxïmo Park any favours with this soft soak finish.