• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jul 10, 2007
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 315 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 315

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. OliverC.
    Jul 12, 2007
    6
    Interpol's worst album yet. If it was from any other band it would get a 7, but for interpol, who had never previously recorded a bad song, to come out with this is a shame. Rest My Chemistry is an abomination IMO. Still, there are some gems.
  2. ZinD.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Everybody who awaited this third album shouldn't be dissapointed, but ratherly satisfied.For we all should know that the first and the second album were NOT ment to be replicas, but different arts of creations.
  3. MathieuP
    Jul 23, 2007
    8
    For my opinion, far better than Antics but it will be hard to reach the quality of Turn on the Bright Lights
  4. BrendanN
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    This album is so amazing that one more song of this quality would be almost earth-shattering. I get chills during every song, and there are several moments on the album that are so gorgeous to hear that I wouldn't be surprised if multiple listens bring tears of joy to my eyes.
  5. LouA
    Jul 9, 2007
    7
    Some of the songs on this record are more memorable than Antics; however, it's not as consistent. A few "filler" tracks, as well as a lack of improvement in Paul Banks' lyrics, prevent this record from being a classic like its debut. The rhythm section seems to be subdued this time around; however, Banks' improved vocal range helps carry the melody of a few songs (i.e. Pace Some of the songs on this record are more memorable than Antics; however, it's not as consistent. A few "filler" tracks, as well as a lack of improvement in Paul Banks' lyrics, prevent this record from being a classic like its debut. The rhythm section seems to be subdued this time around; however, Banks' improved vocal range helps carry the melody of a few songs (i.e. Pace is the Trick and Wrecking Ball) and the album sounds more cinematic than TOTBL. I recommend this album; however, don't expect it on too many best lists of 2007. Expand
  6. BazzaDazza
    Jul 9, 2007
    8
    Great opening for 6 or seven trackes let down by the last 2/3 - have teh feeling these songs would play live fantastically
  7. JorisV.
    Dec 1, 2007
    5
    Mostly generic and dissapointing follow-up to Antics and their absolute masterpiece Turn On The Bright Lights, with the occasional flash of brilliance that is "Pace Is The Trick". "Rest My Chemistry" (Paul Banks still has to be one of our best contemporary lyricists), the straight-forward vintage interpol-sounding "Who Do You Think" and haunting closer "Lighthouse" are my other personal Mostly generic and dissapointing follow-up to Antics and their absolute masterpiece Turn On The Bright Lights, with the occasional flash of brilliance that is "Pace Is The Trick". "Rest My Chemistry" (Paul Banks still has to be one of our best contemporary lyricists), the straight-forward vintage interpol-sounding "Who Do You Think" and haunting closer "Lighthouse" are my other personal favourites and save this disc from plain mediocricity. Songs however like the directionless 'The Scale" and the awful "All Fired Up" aren't even B-sides worthy and imo a blamage to a very good band. Overall a 5,5/10. Expand
  8. KG
    Jul 10, 2007
    8
    don't know if i love it as much as antics yet. it's got that something that keeps bringing me back to it though, bringing out new details in each listen. damn impressive though, permission to wait as long for the next one.
  9. rogers.
    Jul 10, 2007
    0
    very boring!
  10. RJM.
    Jul 13, 2007
    2
    the fact is, this album might be pretty good if someone else wrote the lyrics. paul banks' lyrics have always been bad, but before now they somehow stayed beneath the surface and didn't overtake the songs. now, on 'our love to admire'--the title itself is horrible, as well as the album cover--the lyrics stand out, and they are just downright abysmal. lines like this the fact is, this album might be pretty good if someone else wrote the lyrics. paul banks' lyrics have always been bad, but before now they somehow stayed beneath the surface and didn't overtake the songs. now, on 'our love to admire'--the title itself is horrible, as well as the album cover--the lyrics stand out, and they are just downright abysmal. lines like this are plentiful: "And now I select you, slow down I let you; see how I stun, see how I stun." dear god. this review is coming from someone whose favorite album ever is 'turn on the bright lights'. fuck this shit. interpol is finished. Expand
  11. ChrisC
    Jul 15, 2007
    4
    It's sounds like Interpol without all those things Interpol does to be different and engaging. Which makes it just run of the mill Oughties indie. Weak.
  12. ThijsM
    Jul 10, 2007
    8
    Never heard of the band before, but I bought the album based on some soundbites on myspace. Their sound has grabbed me; epic, explosive and powerful. Bit like a massive wave hitting you....Great stuff
  13. ges.
    Jul 16, 2007
    9
    a great album by the best band of the last 5 years...
  14. SaraB.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    A muscular, bipolar stomper of an album.
  15. ZacharyS
    Jul 10, 2007
    9
    Its a super great album...however there are parts that don't hook me like some of the old Interpol did, but overall and personally, this is my favorite Interpol album...it's great to see them change a bit...and have Paul sing a little more than drone...
  16. MartinB.
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    Like Natasha D. said - every listen is more and more rewarding. "Pace is the Trick" and "Pioneer to the Falls" make it worth the price of admission alone. I think, judging from this album's reception more than ever, that you either like Interpol's sound as-is, or you don't.
  17. MarioR
    Jul 28, 2007
    9
    This is the best Interpol album to date
  18. markb.
    Jul 5, 2007
    0
    boring
  19. JimJ
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    I don't see how people can think the Editors are just as good or better than Interpol. This album blows the competition away.
  20. Thompson
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    The best album I've heard since Arcade Fire's The Funeral. Our Love To Admire is another fine achievement by Interpol.
  21. interpolfannyc
    Jul 7, 2007
    3
    since i'm a pretty ferocious follower of interpol's past works, i have given this album 20 solid listens so far to see whether i could connect with it like i did with their past two LPs. unfortunately, i remain highly disappointed. not the direction i personally envisioned them taking, but it could just be my biased ear.
  22. AndréT.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    Really pleasant... The better of the 3 album's.
  23. PoloK.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    I will admit I wasn't expecting great things from this album. I thought Turn On The Bright Lights was great, but felt that Antics was a step back. I feared that Interpol would lose their way artistically and release a sub-par commercial record. I was wrong. Very very wrong. This is the best album that Interpol have released without a shadow of doubt. It is immense. It is artistic. It I will admit I wasn't expecting great things from this album. I thought Turn On The Bright Lights was great, but felt that Antics was a step back. I feared that Interpol would lose their way artistically and release a sub-par commercial record. I was wrong. Very very wrong. This is the best album that Interpol have released without a shadow of doubt. It is immense. It is artistic. It is beautiful. I love it and so will you. Expand
  24. AdamK.
    Jul 8, 2007
    8
    Better and stronger than Antics... little worse than Turn On The Bright Lights. By the way; one of the most interesting "guitar experiences" this year...
  25. EoinO.
    Jul 9, 2007
    8
    Better than Antics, they're starting to strive for a new sound, and it's working for me
  26. allanc.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    a enjoining disc, one of the best albums in the world of indie in 2007,
  27. erick.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    It's tops, I get goose bumps throughout the whole album as I do on the their first two albums.
  28. BobB
    Aug 2, 2007
    8
    solid record. streets ahead of antics. indie wankers are full of excrement.
  29. BillB
    Aug 24, 2007
    8
    Our love to Admire is another great addition to their lineup of magical albums. I don't know if it beats Antics, but it sure is close!
  30. Shes_soLoose
    Aug 31, 2007
    9
    I'm in a minority here, as I did NOT like either Turn on the bright lights or Antics. The first one had some glacial heart to it, but it was too obsessively repetitive hence ultimately boring (although Obstacle 1 was admittedly great); Antics on the other hand was poppier and even less interesting. I was pleasantly surprised by this record. It is top-heavy and not at all flawless, I'm in a minority here, as I did NOT like either Turn on the bright lights or Antics. The first one had some glacial heart to it, but it was too obsessively repetitive hence ultimately boring (although Obstacle 1 was admittedly great); Antics on the other hand was poppier and even less interesting. I was pleasantly surprised by this record. It is top-heavy and not at all flawless, BUT not only I like The Heinrich Maneuver, The Scale, Lighthouse and No I in Threesome; I also think that Pioneer to the Falls is one of the very best songs written by anybody in this decade. For that alone, Interpol deserve big kudos, but the album on the whole is, as full of high and lows as it is, a very good one nonetheless. My pick for 2007 thus far. Expand
  31. VladyE
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    Our Love to Admire is my favorite Interpol album by a hair. Tracks 1-6 are amazing, as is "Rest my Chemistry." "Pace is the Trick," "Pioneer to the Falls," and "Heinrich Maneuver" are almost at the level at the unbelievable top three tracks on Antics- "Evil," "Narc," and "Slow Hands." It tails off a bit at the end, but edges out Antics by a bit. AWESOME.
  32. HC
    Feb 20, 2008
    7
    There certainly are thrilling moments on this album, but I'm not sure of the direction they took things.
  33. TroyH
    Sep 20, 2008
    10
    If you haven't heard interpol I suggest you start here. Might not be my favorite album of thier's but it is as good as any of them. I'm glad these guy's make music.
  34. nash
    Feb 4, 2009
    6
    Oh dear. Aren't bands supposed to improve over time? it seems that Interpol have regressed some what and I doubt they will ever reach the highs of TOTBL. There are some good songs but the others are mediocre so say the least.
  35. DarcyC
    Oct 5, 2007
    8
    Can't compare to TOTBL, however the haunting throb of Pioneer to the Falls makes the whole album worthwhile.
  36. MattD.
    Jul 10, 2007
    4
    Wow, this just sounds phoned in. I never thought the riffs would be so repetitive and boring. Never does the album soar like Antics did. It sounds like a 5, but I took off a point for lack of effort.
  37. EricoM.
    Jul 11, 2007
    9
    It's a great album. I think if you don't like the style, don't vote or critic. I love the Interpol's depressin songs and lyrics. If you don't shut up. Go listen Fergie or some American Idol singer and be happy
  38. johnj
    Jul 11, 2007
    0
    Horrible album, compared to their previous albums. It sounds stale, dated and old.
  39. ToddW.
    Jul 10, 2007
    7
    Interpol has reached a point in their career where their latest offering was anticipated with all the hype reserved for an Arcade Fire, or maybe even a Radiohead. Would that Our Love To Admire match the hype, but it doesn't. The album opens with one of the best songs they've ever done, Pioneer to the Falls, but then the rest of the album relies on lead guitarist Daniel Kessler Interpol has reached a point in their career where their latest offering was anticipated with all the hype reserved for an Arcade Fire, or maybe even a Radiohead. Would that Our Love To Admire match the hype, but it doesn't. The album opens with one of the best songs they've ever done, Pioneer to the Falls, but then the rest of the album relies on lead guitarist Daniel Kessler to carry the melodies, and this from a band that built its reputation on everyone being able to pick up the baton with alacrity. There's too much of the bombast of Antics, without any of its sporadic OMG moments, and not enough of the space, darkness, and overarching melodic subtlety that made Turn On the Bright Lights one of the best debut albums ever. Wrecking Ball and the closing song, The Lighthouse, give one hope for the future of this obviously important New York City band, but if they want to be admired, they'd better fall back in love with shared melody and tales from the mean streets they once mined so beautifully. Expand
  40. JadH
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    Awesome cd .. it took 2 listens to grow on me. Personal favorites are Pace is the Trick, The Scale, Rest My Chemistry, and Pioneer to the Falls. These critics are retarded ... I guarantee they never give cds more than 1 listen and they love to be pompous jerks (ahem Pitchfork ahem). Id say that what users say is more accurate to how the cd really is.
  41. DaveH.
    Jul 10, 2007
    7
    This a decent album. It's definitely Interpol, as the Pitchfork reviewer mentioned, there is a considerable lack of Carlos D on bass and Sam F on the drums. The orchestration is a new touch for these guys, but I miss the bass guitar. This album mostly sounds like vocals and lead guitar which gets tiring after about three songs. Decent album but not great.
  42. AG.
    Jul 11, 2007
    8
    The National gets rave reviews and this is panned. . . (sigh) Got to love critics. . . .
  43. NikkiG
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Brilliant! I was not to impressed with antics... but a band's 2nd cd always seems to be a low point in their career. Defintaley not as good as Turn on the Bright Lights, but I am glad that it is not just rippin on the success of that cd to make a TBL part 2. Though their growth may have taken them into a new direction while many want them to standstill in the glory of that one Brilliant! I was not to impressed with antics... but a band's 2nd cd always seems to be a low point in their career. Defintaley not as good as Turn on the Bright Lights, but I am glad that it is not just rippin on the success of that cd to make a TBL part 2. Though their growth may have taken them into a new direction while many want them to standstill in the glory of that one album... I am just happy to have something new to listen to that is pleasurable! Expand
  44. AlanM
    Jul 11, 2007
    5
    Middle of the road at best.
  45. BrandonC.
    Jul 12, 2007
    8
    I don't know what everyone is complaing about, it's an Interpol album. I think every review should just simply say "It sounds like an Interpol album." If you like Interpol you will like this CD. If you don't you won't. Duh.
  46. MattC.
    Jul 12, 2007
    1
    I am tired of Interpol.
  47. [Anonymous]
    Jul 14, 2007
    9
    fucking great album
  48. DylanS
    Jul 10, 2007
    9
    Damn good CD, go out and buy it. Just as good (if not better) than Bright Lights, which I feel was always vastly overrated. Disregard any reviews here that are negative, musical purist always get pissy when a band goes major label -- trust me it aint bad. If anything Interpol going major label, and thus insane, has stopped them from the banality of their last 2 CDs and allowed them to Damn good CD, go out and buy it. Just as good (if not better) than Bright Lights, which I feel was always vastly overrated. Disregard any reviews here that are negative, musical purist always get pissy when a band goes major label -- trust me it aint bad. If anything Interpol going major label, and thus insane, has stopped them from the banality of their last 2 CDs and allowed them to create something quite beautiful. Expand
  49. dragonflypills
    Jul 10, 2007
    5
    After listening to this album from beginning to end about a dozen times now, I can conclude this is an extremely mediocre album. After releasing their debut masterpiece Turn On The Bright Lights in 2002, Interpol unknowingly set off a watershed of post-punk rockers culling the territory mined by bands such as Joy Division, Echo & The Bunnymen, New Order, and The Cure in the late 70s and After listening to this album from beginning to end about a dozen times now, I can conclude this is an extremely mediocre album. After releasing their debut masterpiece Turn On The Bright Lights in 2002, Interpol unknowingly set off a watershed of post-punk rockers culling the territory mined by bands such as Joy Division, Echo & The Bunnymen, New Order, and The Cure in the late 70s and 80s. With all the Franz Ferdinands, Killers, Editors and Braverys in the world streaming a re-energized enthusiasm for 80s synth-washes with more modern dance hooks, Interpol perhaps felt threatened in their role as avatars of the post-punk revival. With Our Love To Admire, it seems fairly obvious now that for the most part, Interpol have exhausted their muse. As they did with Antics, they seem determined to water down their own signature sound into what they believe will be more palatable to masses and compete on the floors of alt-rock dance clubs. The result is that Our Love To Admire comes off as some kind of Interpol-Lite: 2/3s of the album are comprised of the same formulaic up-tempo, brooding-Killers pastiche that defined Antics. However, there are moments here that are extremely worthwhile to any Interpol fan. The best songs on this album are the ones that Interpol allow to expand: opener "Pioneer" is transcendent with its wailing walls of guitar, the clean orchestrations, and the kind of unresolved tension and anti-climax that recalls the best aspects of Bright Lights. And while other standouts "No I In Threesome," "Mammoth, "Wrecking Ball" and "The Lighthouse" may excel sonically, the album as a whole disappoints lyrically. Paul Banks' vocals are front-and-center in the mix (where did Carlos D go??), and more versatile (read: less monotonous) than on previous outings, but his lyrics obsessing over coked-out groupies and his own self-indulgent rock-star lifestyle are embarrassing, and pale in comparison to the vivid and violent imagery that defined Bright Lights and provided the sole cohension on Antics. Cringe-worthy lyrics, and only modest developments musically, 5/10 is extremely generous. Expand
  50. NadirtL.
    Jul 10, 2007
    9
    Maybe more enjoyable than Antics. A fantastic record with instant classics: Pioneer To The Falls, No I In Threesome, Pace Is The Trick, Rest My Chemistry, Mammoth, Wrecking Ball and Lighthouse. Don't get caught up in the "big label= bad record" cliche evaluation. TOTBL was and is insurmountable, but show me another band that can bust out an album like Admire. Every song different, Maybe more enjoyable than Antics. A fantastic record with instant classics: Pioneer To The Falls, No I In Threesome, Pace Is The Trick, Rest My Chemistry, Mammoth, Wrecking Ball and Lighthouse. Don't get caught up in the "big label= bad record" cliche evaluation. TOTBL was and is insurmountable, but show me another band that can bust out an album like Admire. Every song different, and unlike anything else any other band is putting out. Giddy! Expand
  51. EdwardS.
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    This cd is fucking GREAT, screw all the critics, they like listening to queer shit! Viva Interpol!!!!!!!
  52. NatashaD.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    Grows on me with every listen. People complaining that the album "Still sounds like Interpol" confuse me. Is that a bad thing?
  53. AramisG
    Jul 20, 2007
    7
    Hmmm, a lot of good work went into this album, but I think internal stressors within the band (certain members facinations to hip hop, movie making, etc...) have led to an album that doesn't quite feel commited. The hooks, breaks and changes aren't as energetic as before. Also why would they down play the rythm section (one of their strong points)? Well whatever, it is here and Hmmm, a lot of good work went into this album, but I think internal stressors within the band (certain members facinations to hip hop, movie making, etc...) have led to an album that doesn't quite feel commited. The hooks, breaks and changes aren't as energetic as before. Also why would they down play the rythm section (one of their strong points)? Well whatever, it is here and it is pretty good, just not as great as everyone anticipated. Hopefully these rich whinners will stop breaking up every two seconds, pursuing irrelevant hobbies and realize how lucky they are to have formed such a popular band. Get back to work. Expand
  54. benk.
    Jul 20, 2007
    7
    three brilliant songs; all in all interpol do what they're best at; no use for a third album if you have the first and second.
  55. IainM
    Jul 20, 2007
    5
    This album is nowhere near as good as expected, a lacklustre and slightly turgid offering.
  56. Daniel
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    Round, beautiful short-novel
  57. OliverR.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    What's remarkable about this album is it's ability to completely change what you thought Interpol was. Critics often use the phrase "maturest album to date", in the case of Our Love To Admire, this statement is inherently true. Perhaps their darkest, most claustrophobic release, but easily their most consitent and thefore their most birlliant. Magic.
  58. RonnieD
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    BEST ALBUM OF THE YEAR. I don't have to listen to anything else. This band has gone above and beyond in every possible way to create this glorious masterpiece. Interpol you now belong in list of the greatest bands of all-time.
  59. Drake
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    The best post-punk/Alternative rock album since the Cure's classic "Disintegration" came out and blew everyone away. Interpol has done the unthinkable...they've made three great albums in a row. Which is a very hard thing to do nowadays especially with the crap that's out in music, right now. Best songs on the album are without a doubt--Pioneer to the Falls, No I in The best post-punk/Alternative rock album since the Cure's classic "Disintegration" came out and blew everyone away. Interpol has done the unthinkable...they've made three great albums in a row. Which is a very hard thing to do nowadays especially with the crap that's out in music, right now. Best songs on the album are without a doubt--Pioneer to the Falls, No I in Threesome, Pace Is the Trick, Who Do You Think?, All Fired Up, Lighthouse, but with Interpol all there songs are always good. Hopefully this album is a huge hit, cause, this band deserves it. Thank you Interpol. Expand
  60. CarlS.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    *&$! this is a masterpiece record. After so much disappointment over releases from bravery and the editors, this is is an amazingly rich release. They have lost none of their drama and parts of this album exceed the first. It's also a welcome relief after Antics, which took a while to appreciate. "My god" indeed.
  61. Gill
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    A definite contender for album of the year, it's so good. Interpol has taken Alternative rock to whole another level with this album. Simply incredible music!
  62. HoratioS
    Jul 6, 2007
    6
    A catchy and rewarding listen. It even makes up for the fact that they stole their album artwork from an obscure foreign band. I was not a fan of Turn On the Bright Lights or Antics but this one has a few tracks that would sound amazing in a stadium which they could easily sell out.
  63. Allan
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    their best yet
  64. mandyk.
    Jul 6, 2007
    0
    overrated album, listen to bauhaus!
  65. NeilP
    Jul 6, 2007
    9
    Maybe its better than Antics. This was a very enjoyable listen. Listen to Pace Is the Trick.
  66. jacokk.
    Jul 6, 2007
    5
    Very, very poor album. Best tracks: 1,10,11
  67. JoeR.
    Jul 7, 2007
    9
    Fantastic album.
  68. koertg.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    Simply an amazing album! Every song definitely has its place on the album, and the songs sound well layered and heart-crafted. Interpol IS the best in its kind!
  69. TommyL
    Jul 7, 2007
    0
    Possibly the most overrated band of our time. Some of the most boring and repetitive music I've ever had the misfortunate pleasure of hearing.
  70. stuc.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    Interpol can do no wrong! they keep on getting better, when will it end? not any time soon i suspect
  71. JAVIERM.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    Negritud afianzada. Su "disintegration" particular, solo hay dos crupos en el mundo capaz de ejemplificar la austeridad de estos tiempos.
  72. AndreaD.
    Jul 8, 2007
    9
    awesome
  73. christianp.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    Their best yet! The band continues to improve and explore. Bigger and brighter than Antics and tighter and more focused than Turn on the Bright Lights. So far, it is second only to The National for album of the year.
  74. maesg.
    Jul 8, 2007
    6
    The only progression this band has made is moving from the "joy division/ 80's)" section of the music spectrum to the 50's 60's pop tracks. They may name track with edgy titles like "Theres No I in Threesome" but the track's skeleton is comparable to CCR, etc
  75. DieterK.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    Framed by the hypnotizing and majestic "Pioneer" and the irritating "Lighthouse" they present nine mostly great tracks that finally make the notorious questions regarding their stylistic influences sound ridiculous. This is Interpol, plain and musically expanded, and to my mind it sounds awesome.
  76. TylerD.
    Jul 9, 2007
    8
    This is a great album. People always are expecting bands to keep changing (like Radiohead), and that is great/necessary and all, but once in a while, I want to have a band that I know will sound consistent. Interpol is like that. This album may sound just like other songs in the past, but that is why I like them. I know I can hear "classic" Interpol, while still getting "new" Interpol. This is a great album. People always are expecting bands to keep changing (like Radiohead), and that is great/necessary and all, but once in a while, I want to have a band that I know will sound consistent. Interpol is like that. This album may sound just like other songs in the past, but that is why I like them. I know I can hear "classic" Interpol, while still getting "new" Interpol. Does that make any sense? I'm just rambling... Expand
  77. MM
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    This is album is so great that it nearly brought me to tears the first time I heard it, especially listening to PTTF and Pace Is the Trick. WOW!! Album of the year, no doubt about it. I also smell Grammy's for the boys. You deserve it.
  78. emilyw.
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    Tiny Mix Tapes has officially lost it. If you need any proof of that, just give a listen to around 90% of the albums they give glowing reviews to. They are shit. And not shit in the way the TMT reviewer of this album considers Interpol's new, amazing record to be. Shit like really ambient, electronic, nonsense garbage, where people like the reviewers at TMT think they have covered Tiny Mix Tapes has officially lost it. If you need any proof of that, just give a listen to around 90% of the albums they give glowing reviews to. They are shit. And not shit in the way the TMT reviewer of this album considers Interpol's new, amazing record to be. Shit like really ambient, electronic, nonsense garbage, where people like the reviewers at TMT think they have covered their asses by praising it because if you say it's bad, they will just counter with, "You just don't get it." Well, maybe you can get this TMT reviewers: this album is brilliant and you are fucking retards. You can keep your Juana Molina and other progressive electronic shit. I'll just stick with bands that make great music. Expand
  79. robertg.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    OTLA could be my top album of the year (other contenders: The National, Blonde Redhead, Twilight Sad, Of Montreal, Modest Mouse). However, Interpol is my favorite band, so I may like them more than most. I like OLTA better than Antics but not as much as Turn On The Bright Lights, which may be my favorite album ever. Much like the National's Boxer, numerous llistens are required to OTLA could be my top album of the year (other contenders: The National, Blonde Redhead, Twilight Sad, Of Montreal, Modest Mouse). However, Interpol is my favorite band, so I may like them more than most. I like OLTA better than Antics but not as much as Turn On The Bright Lights, which may be my favorite album ever. Much like the National's Boxer, numerous llistens are required to form an opinion. Another masterpiece by Interpol. Expand
  80. Alex
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    Its Good. Better then Antics. I thought they were gonna screw up this album big time, but I was wrong.
  81. RayF.
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    This is easily their most polished, cutting and haunting album to date. With this release Interpol finally prove they're more than Joy Division wannabees. Their angst is the real deal.
  82. ChrisE.
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    such a good album , pace is the trick "the track".. it has a great opening too, but nothing like "untitled"..
  83. kg
    Jul 9, 2007
    8
    it's good, as good as antics on the whole, but not as good as "bright lights" on the whole (probably nothing ever will be). there's a black and white celebration for me between the good/listenable songs on OLTA and the bad ones: the good songs: pioneer (fascinating, intense) heinrich (catchy solid rock tune) mammoth (great vibe, pulsating goodness) pace (great linear approach, it's good, as good as antics on the whole, but not as good as "bright lights" on the whole (probably nothing ever will be). there's a black and white celebration for me between the good/listenable songs on OLTA and the bad ones: the good songs: pioneer (fascinating, intense) heinrich (catchy solid rock tune) mammoth (great vibe, pulsating goodness) pace (great linear approach, my fav on the disc, really comes together nicely to create a dim feel) fired up (title says it all, the song fires you up) chemistry ( repetitive goodness, nice moderate pace) who do you (catchy upbeat, does what C'MERE could only partially achieve) meanwhile the bad, which do nothing for me at all: no i in 3some (booorrrrinng, yawn) scale (feels unnecessary with "chemistry" already present wrecking ball (starts good and just dies after verse two) lighthouse (wow, it's simply noise to me) Expand
  84. DamienD
    Aug 1, 2007
    10
    The greatest achievement of 07. A brilliant return by Interpol!
  85. ErikR
    Aug 1, 2007
    9
    Excellent album!!!
  86. Yannis
    Aug 13, 2007
    9
    Don't let the critics disappoint you. This is an album of great musical depth. Needs some listens to reveal all of its beauty, but then it turns into pure aural pleasure. The guitar work is haunting, the structure of the songs wisely designed. It lacks the spontaneity of "Antics", but then, make no mistake: this is not punk. I would say it is rock near the borders of classical and Don't let the critics disappoint you. This is an album of great musical depth. Needs some listens to reveal all of its beauty, but then it turns into pure aural pleasure. The guitar work is haunting, the structure of the songs wisely designed. It lacks the spontaneity of "Antics", but then, make no mistake: this is not punk. I would say it is rock near the borders of classical and soundtrack music. Expand
  87. ShaneR
    Aug 21, 2007
    9
    It takes some time for your brain to work out all the little musical niggles in each song, and before this development happens, the album is a struggle to listen to, but after this happens, you have an album that, in my opinion, is unparallel to anything recently available in the charts. Banks' lyrics are unfortunately not as inspiring as the previous two albums, some of them are It takes some time for your brain to work out all the little musical niggles in each song, and before this development happens, the album is a struggle to listen to, but after this happens, you have an album that, in my opinion, is unparallel to anything recently available in the charts. Banks' lyrics are unfortunately not as inspiring as the previous two albums, some of them are really bad actually, but this does not take anything away from the listening experience on offer here for me. "Pioneer to the Falls", "Pace is the Trick" and "Wrecking Ball" are stunning. "All Fired Up" is the only disappointing, skip-able track here for me. Expand
  88. jeffr
    Aug 2, 2007
    9
    takes a few listens - around the 5th or 6th go-around, i began to "get" the album, and stop wishing it was antics 2. it's really a fantastic record, every song is a keeper and is independently memorable. I guess i differ from the majority in feeling like it's not all that much like the other two - it feels like a solid departure, while still retaining what is classically interpol.
  89. benf
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    3rd masterpiece in a row by the greatest band ever.
  90. JyotirmayaD
    Aug 4, 2007
    7
    One of the most anticipated albums of 2007, and it is very satisfying... Interpol are going with their flow and adding new melodies and instrumentals which makes their sound fresh -- it shows them trying new things with much success. Bravo!
  91. XY
    Oct 8, 2008
    10
    Not quite on the level of classic as "TOTBL" and "Antics" but still one of the best all around albums of 07. "No I in Threesome", "Pace is the Trick", "Rest my Chemistry", & "The Lighthouse" are among some of the best songs they've ever written. So, for that alone this a 10.
  92. KyleL
    Feb 3, 2008
    8
    The ratings keep going down! Turn On The Bright Lights: 10 Antics:9 Our Love To Admire: 8.
  93. JuliaAnderso.n
    May 2, 2008
    9
    Amazing, best album so far! Much more depth, letting Carlos use his talents in other ways.
  94. RushanM.
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    Gem of a album, pure gem.
  95. MR
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    OLTA cements Interpol's status as the best rock band of this decade. Joy who?
  96. BrianV.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Another great, entirely cohesive effort from Interpol. Keep it up, boys!
  97. SommerR.
    Jul 11, 2007
    0
    Their worst album, and of the year too, buy the Linkin' Park album, is better!
  98. MikeW.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    It blends together the ethereal feel of TOTBL with the more singalong nature of Antics to perfectly advance the Interpol sound. It DOES take time to get under the skin, which a few of these reviewers clearly haven't got enough of, but rewards the patient.
  99. CraigW.
    Jul 11, 2007
    4
    I predict a lack of staying power in this one unlike the last two
  100. rayray
    Jul 11, 2007
    8
    It was pretty hard rating this album. They are at their best on maybe 6 songs, and are pretty bad on the rest. The sound is closer to Antics that I wished it was, but in my opinion it is still stronger than their latest release without being as good as their first (they will probably never record an album as good as TOTBL).
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. The black-clad New York quartet still sounds inflexibly menacing, grasping tighter than ever to its doomy post-punk influences and delving further into frontman Paul Banks's emotional unrest.
  2. Our Love to Admire fleshes out the dark edges of Interpol's sound to create a polished, muscular-sounding record that teems with life and bristling potency.
  3. With giant gyrating reverberated guitars and a grandiose brass section, this is the sound of a rock band attempting the sweeping gallantry of Sibelius or Tchaikovsky and getting away with it. It represents a smugly victorious ending to what is a phenomenally strong and well-polished album.