Our Loving is Hurting Us [EP] Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The five-track EP from Christopher Dexter Greenspan is his second release as oOoOO.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Apr 24, 2012
    When the strings rise into the mix as the song comes to a perfectly timed close, it's readily apparent that oOoOO's patience and time spent growing as a producer and a songwriter has paid off tremendously.
  2. Apr 24, 2012
    Five songs coming in just under 18 minutes of superior darkly-stranded pop music.
  3. 70
    With its otherworldy cries, spectral synths, slow-burning beat, and the kind of impeccable production that would do Burial proud, "NoWayBack" is a four-and-a-half minute summary of the best of what oOoOO has to offer.
  4. May 1, 2012
    Numbers like "Springs" and "NoWayBack," featuring the "good witch/wicked witch" vocals of Berlin Germany's Butterclock, may show that oOoOO is willing to move forward with his music, just not at the destroy-and-rebuild pace that the average ADD-afflicted hipster has grown to crave.
  5. It does sound a lot like oOoOO and under scrutiny with A-B comparisons, Our Loving Is Hurting Us is pretty starkly more of the same.
  6. May 4, 2012
    The songs as individual pieces work just fine but the collection taken as a whole makes each piece feel more complete within the contextual possibilities. Overall, it's a strange but very solid release.
  7. May 31, 2012
    Everything else seems comparatively flat and unsurprising; while the components of the individual songs are different, the results are of a kind, like a set of recipes using the same ingredients.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Aug 20, 2012
    Despite its short 5-track playlist, "Our Loving is Hurting Us" leaves the listener satiated. oOoOO's sound is part Portishead and part Tricky with a dash of Coldplay for added flavor. The result is a haunting, melancholy album that's perfect for break-ups and rainy days. Highlights include "TryTry", "Break Yr. Heart" and "No Way Back". Expand