Our Loving is Hurting Us [EP]


Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Apr 24, 2012
    When the strings rise into the mix as the song comes to a perfectly timed close, it's readily apparent that oOoOO's patience and time spent growing as a producer and a songwriter has paid off tremendously.
  2. Apr 24, 2012
    Five songs coming in just under 18 minutes of superior darkly-stranded pop music.
  3. May 1, 2012
    Numbers like "Springs" and "NoWayBack," featuring the "good witch/wicked witch" vocals of Berlin Germany's Butterclock, may show that oOoOO is willing to move forward with his music, just not at the destroy-and-rebuild pace that the average ADD-afflicted hipster has grown to crave.
  4. Apr 24, 2012
    Something in the air of the hoary label worked obscurely on his imagination.
  5. 70
    With its otherworldy cries, spectral synths, slow-burning beat, and the kind of impeccable production that would do Burial proud, "NoWayBack" is a four-and-a-half minute summary of the best of what oOoOO has to offer.
  6. It does sound a lot like oOoOO and under scrutiny with A-B comparisons, Our Loving Is Hurting Us is pretty starkly more of the same.
  7. May 4, 2012
    The songs as individual pieces work just fine but the collection taken as a whole makes each piece feel more complete within the contextual possibilities. Overall, it's a strange but very solid release.
  8. Apr 24, 2012
    For an EP as flat and, well, just plain stuck as Our Love Is Hurting Us sounds, playing catch-up would've been preferable to taking a promising but not wholly memorable debut and simply offering it up a second time
  9. May 31, 2012
    Everything else seems comparatively flat and unsurprising; while the components of the individual songs are different, the results are of a kind, like a set of recipes using the same ingredients.
User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Aug 20, 2012
    Despite its short 5-track playlist, "Our Loving is Hurting Us" leaves the listener satiated. oOoOO's sound is part Portishead and part TrickyDespite its short 5-track playlist, "Our Loving is Hurting Us" leaves the listener satiated. oOoOO's sound is part Portishead and part Tricky with a dash of Coldplay for added flavor. The result is a haunting, melancholy album that's perfect for break-ups and rainy days. Highlights include "TryTry", "Break Yr. Heart" and "No Way Back". Full Review »