Our Thickness

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GarethJ
    May 16, 2005
    10
    Fucking right it's a 10!
  2. SkipP
    Jun 15, 2005
    3
    "Paul Simon" is great, but that's about everything you'd want to hear on this album. The rest ranges from just there to incredibly annoying, Fiery Furnaces I want to throw my mp3 player against the wall style. Hooks cease to be catchy and become annoying when they are underproduced, cloying, and repeated 87 times in a row. This album was made in a bedroom and it sounds like it.
  3. aaronb
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    i wont cuss like that gareth guy but yo. one of my faves of the year.
  4. EricD
    May 15, 2005
    10
    This album is the best of his three, I've yet to read anything close to a bad review of the Russian Futurists
  5. davef
    Jul 18, 2005
    10
    I really like this, never heard the other albums, but this is really fresh.
  6. d.armstrong
    May 25, 2005
    4
    I don't understand what all the fuss is about actually. Though the sounds are nice and the hooks are catchy enough, there is little in the way of meloldy or song structure here. Even the reviewer who commented on the simple verse/chorus form is being generous - these songs rarely have more than 2 chords in them and their choruses are more like refrains that have the same chords and I don't understand what all the fuss is about actually. Though the sounds are nice and the hooks are catchy enough, there is little in the way of meloldy or song structure here. Even the reviewer who commented on the simple verse/chorus form is being generous - these songs rarely have more than 2 chords in them and their choruses are more like refrains that have the same chords and phrasings as the verses with slightly altered melodies. It really is a nice listen but there is very little of interest to keep you coming back. Expand
  7. JoeC
    May 31, 2005
    2
    He has a few catchy hooks, but this is more noise than actual music. He could use a producer.
  8. SkipP
    Jun 15, 2005
    3
    "Paul Simon" is great, but that's about everything you'd want to hear on this album. The rest ranges from just there to incredibly annoying, Fiery Furnaces I want to throw my mp3 player against the wall style. Hooks cease to be catchy and become annoying when they are underproduced, cloying, and repeated 87 times in a row. This album was made in a bedroom and it sounds like it.
  9. daniels
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    ten, that's right. i'm still working my way through the lyric card!
  10. coreyd
    Jun 28, 2005
    10
    check out still life...need more proof it's a 10?
  11. ChrisC(asinCrunk).
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    Whoooh doggy. This is hott.
  12. DarylS
    May 16, 2005
    10
    10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  13. johnh
    May 21, 2005
    7
    i would consider giving 'let's get ready to crumble' a 10, but this sounds exactly the same as the other 2 albums. seriously. the same thing, the same formula.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. An exuberantly echoing starburst of lo-fi twee-pop gone grand.
  2. Homespun creativity has rarely sounded bigger -- or better -- than it does on Our Thickness.
  3. If you haven't discovered the group yet, by all means snap up this lush slab of synth pop.