• Record Label: EMI
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2012
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    80
    She's made an album that deserves to linger in the limelight--passionate, powerful and possessed of real star quality. [Feb 2012, p.98]
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    80
    This is a hugely impressive introduction to a dynamic, arresting talent.
  3. Apr 16, 2012
    80
    Ultimately, as beautiful as it is in its more subdued moments, the album feels fully realised when her alternative and mainstream instincts find each other.
  4. 80
    This ability to tiptoe between opposing positions brings a pleasing depth and grain to some of her songs.
  5. 75
    In comparison to the drudge that is contemporary mainstream American pop and R&B, Emeli's folk-inflected soul/pop is Nina Simone and Bob Dylan all in one.
  6. Aug 14, 2012
    70
    [There] is lovely thematic unity, which comes close to making Our Version of Events a satisfying album experience rather than just a series of songs that are largely easy-to-love. Unfortunately, by the time Sandé finishes up with "Hope", an unusually cloying, overreaching secular prayer co-written with Alicia Keys, ballad fatigue has already set in.
  7. Jun 27, 2012
    70
    It's a flawed yet noteworthy project that whets the appetite for Sandé's sophomore effort.
  8. 70
    What's magical about this album is how Ms. Sande's stance remains unmistakable regardless of what the backdrop is. It's not a flawless album, but rather one with a number of flawless moments.
  9. Jun 5, 2012
    70
    Rarely does a pop debut come as fully realized as this one.
  10. Jun 5, 2012
    70
    Our Version of Events is an earnest collection of works by a woman who is as good a composer as she is vocalist, a lethal combination in today's pop music business.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jun 18, 2012
    7
    Emeli Sandé for over three years successfully marked her presence in the music world, but until now the Scottish artist has decided toEmeli Sandé for over three years successfully marked her presence in the music world, but until now the Scottish artist has decided to release her debut album, on which there was room for up to four singles. The whole CD is based on the soulful arrangements, accompanied by a characteristic to the R&B vocals. Despite the repetition of some themes on the album, the compositions placed on it are so vivid, so stirring atmosphere that can enchant the listener. Full Review »
  2. May 28, 2013
    9
    I very much liked this album, she has a excellent voice. The songs are sung well and i like all the songs on the album, especially heaven andI very much liked this album, she has a excellent voice. The songs are sung well and i like all the songs on the album, especially heaven and next to me are my favorite songs Full Review »
  3. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Excellent album, an outstanding voice, every song is very good, especially Next to me, Heaven and Clown, are the best songs on the album. NotExcellent album, an outstanding voice, every song is very good, especially Next to me, Heaven and Clown, are the best songs on the album. Not a skippable song, also produced very well. Full Review »