Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    80
    She's made an album that deserves to linger in the limelight--passionate, powerful and possessed of real star quality. [Feb 2012, p.98]
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    80
    Ultimately, as beautiful as it is in its more subdued moments, the album feels fully realised when her alternative and mainstream instincts find each other.
  3. Apr 16, 2012
    80
    This is a hugely impressive introduction to a dynamic, arresting talent.
  4. 80
    This ability to tiptoe between opposing positions brings a pleasing depth and grain to some of her songs.
  5. 75
    In comparison to the drudge that is contemporary mainstream American pop and R&B, Emeli's folk-inflected soul/pop is Nina Simone and Bob Dylan all in one.
  6. Aug 14, 2012
    70
    [There] is lovely thematic unity, which comes close to making Our Version of Events a satisfying album experience rather than just a series of songs that are largely easy-to-love. Unfortunately, by the time Sandé finishes up with "Hope", an unusually cloying, overreaching secular prayer co-written with Alicia Keys, ballad fatigue has already set in.
  7. Jun 27, 2012
    70
    It's a flawed yet noteworthy project that whets the appetite for Sandé's sophomore effort.
  8. 70
    What's magical about this album is how Ms. Sande's stance remains unmistakable regardless of what the backdrop is. It's not a flawless album, but rather one with a number of flawless moments.
  9. Jun 5, 2012
    70
    Rarely does a pop debut come as fully realized as this one.
  10. Jun 5, 2012
    70
    Our Version of Events is an earnest collection of works by a woman who is as good a composer as she is vocalist, a lethal combination in today's pop music business.
  11. May 9, 2012
    60
    A witches' broth of soothing vocals, swooshing 90s synths and computer drum beats.
  12. Apr 19, 2012
    60
    Nothing here compares to opening track Heaven, Sande's ubiquitous 2011 hit, though Daddy attempts the same You Got The Love dynamic with less vital results. [Mar 2012, p.102]
  13. Apr 16, 2012
    60
    You can't help wishing she'd put her talents to more original use, not least because when she does, as on My Kind of Love, the results are spectacular
  14. 50
    Original it is not--there's little here that couldn't have come straight off a Shara Nelson album--but she does write some fine tunes
  15. Apr 16, 2012
    50
    Disappointingly, Our Version of Events, with the exceptions of "Heaven" and "Daddy", is as flimsy and mushy as they come.
  16. Apr 26, 2012
    40
    Venture further into Our Version of Events and it's clear Sande has in fact modeled herself on Leona Lewis with a series of sappy ballads bulging with lyrical truisms. [Mar 2012, p.89]
  17. Apr 16, 2012
    40
    Her album has a preternaturally middle-aged, middle-of-the-road feel.
  18. Apr 16, 2012
    40
    Despite her undoubted vocal talents, she doesn't possess the authority to sell the bluster of her lyrics.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jun 18, 2012
    7
    Emeli Sandé for over three years successfully marked her presence in the music world, but until now the Scottish artist has decided to release her debut album, on which there was room for up to four singles. The whole CD is based on the soulful arrangements, accompanied by a characteristic to the R&B vocals. Despite the repetition of some themes on the album, the compositions placed on it are so vivid, so stirring atmosphere that can enchant the listener. Full Review »
  2. May 28, 2013
    9
    I very much liked this album, she has a excellent voice. The songs are sung well and i like all the songs on the album, especially heaven and next to me are my favorite songs Full Review »
  3. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Excellent album, an outstanding voice, every song is very good, especially Next to me, Heaven and Clown, are the best songs on the album. Not a skippable song, also produced very well. Full Review »