User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 18, 2012
    7
    Emeli Sandé for over three years successfully marked her presence in the music world, but until now the Scottish artist has decided to release her debut album, on which there was room for up to four singles. The whole CD is based on the soulful arrangements, accompanied by a characteristic to the R&B vocals. Despite the repetition of some themes on the album, the compositions placed on it are so vivid, so stirring atmosphere that can enchant the listener. Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2013
    9
    Amazing. There is not a single song you want to miss on this album, from the very beginning to the end, Emeli Sandè shows her perpetual greatness through this astonishing album. As a truly gifted writer, pianist and vocalist, we see those sides of her oosing out in various songs such as Hope, My kind of love and Mountains. My favourite song is Easier in Bed, though you will find this on the deluxe edition, the simplicity and production of the song really stands out. Truly gifted artist. Collapse
  3. Jan 9, 2013
    8
    What a fantastic debut album from this very talented singer! Full of hits that have made her one of the best talents today! Some of the album tracks are a little slow and dull but as a whole this is one very impressive debut album.
  4. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    Her vocals are absolute delight. The album is great from start to finish. Smooth soulful songs. Simply the best album of 2012 for me, it is still on the repeat months after I purchased it.
  5. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Excellent album, an outstanding voice, every song is very good, especially Next to me, Heaven and Clown, are the best songs on the album. Not a skippable song, also produced very well.
  6. May 28, 2013
    9
    I very much liked this album, she has a excellent voice. The songs are sung well and i like all the songs on the album, especially heaven and next to me are my favorite songs
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    70
    [There] is lovely thematic unity, which comes close to making Our Version of Events a satisfying album experience rather than just a series of songs that are largely easy-to-love. Unfortunately, by the time Sandé finishes up with "Hope", an unusually cloying, overreaching secular prayer co-written with Alicia Keys, ballad fatigue has already set in.
  2. Jun 27, 2012
    70
    It's a flawed yet noteworthy project that whets the appetite for Sandé's sophomore effort.
  3. 70
    What's magical about this album is how Ms. Sande's stance remains unmistakable regardless of what the backdrop is. It's not a flawless album, but rather one with a number of flawless moments.