• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Our Version of Events Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut album for the singer-songwriter who won the Brit's Critic Choice Award for best new artist in 2012.

Top Track

Read All About It (PtIII)
You've got the words to change a nation But you're biting your tongue You've spent a life time stuck in silence Afraid you'll say something wrong If... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Q Magazine
    Apr 19, 2012
    80
    She's made an album that deserves to linger in the limelight--passionate, powerful and possessed of real star quality. [Feb 2012, p.98]
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    80
    Ultimately, as beautiful as it is in its more subdued moments, the album feels fully realised when her alternative and mainstream instincts find each other.
  3. 75
    In comparison to the drudge that is contemporary mainstream American pop and R&B, Emeli's folk-inflected soul/pop is Nina Simone and Bob Dylan all in one.
  4. Jun 5, 2012
    70
    Our Version of Events is an earnest collection of works by a woman who is as good a composer as she is vocalist, a lethal combination in today's pop music business.
  5. Mojo
    Apr 19, 2012
    60
    Nothing here compares to opening track Heaven, Sande's ubiquitous 2011 hit, though Daddy attempts the same You Got The Love dynamic with less vital results. [Mar 2012, p.102]
  6. 50
    Original it is not--there's little here that couldn't have come straight off a Shara Nelson album--but she does write some fine tunes
  7. Apr 16, 2012
    40
    Despite her undoubted vocal talents, she doesn't possess the authority to sell the bluster of her lyrics.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Excellent album, an outstanding voice, every song is very good, especially Next to me, Heaven and Clown, are the best songs on the album. NotExcellent album, an outstanding voice, every song is very good, especially Next to me, Heaven and Clown, are the best songs on the album. Not a skippable song, also produced very well. Expand
  2. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    Her vocals are absolute delight. The album is great from start to finish. Smooth soulful songs. Simply the best album of 2012 for me, it isHer vocals are absolute delight. The album is great from start to finish. Smooth soulful songs. Simply the best album of 2012 for me, it is still on the repeat months after I purchased it. Expand
  3. May 28, 2013
    9
    I very much liked this album, she has a excellent voice. The songs are sung well and i like all the songs on the album, especially heaven andI very much liked this album, she has a excellent voice. The songs are sung well and i like all the songs on the album, especially heaven and next to me are my favorite songs Expand
  4. Jan 9, 2013
    8
    What a fantastic debut album from this very talented singer! Full of hits that have made her one of the best talents today! Some of the albumWhat a fantastic debut album from this very talented singer! Full of hits that have made her one of the best talents today! Some of the album tracks are a little slow and dull but as a whole this is one very impressive debut album. Collapse
  5. Jun 18, 2012
    7
    Emeli Sandé for over three years successfully marked her presence in the music world, but until now the Scottish artist has decided toEmeli Sandé for over three years successfully marked her presence in the music world, but until now the Scottish artist has decided to release her debut album, on which there was room for up to four singles. The whole CD is based on the soulful arrangements, accompanied by a characteristic to the R&B vocals. Despite the repetition of some themes on the album, the compositions placed on it are so vivid, so stirring atmosphere that can enchant the listener. Expand
  6. Jan 25, 2016
    7
    A brilliant album by an amazingly talented singer but with family members playing it constantly it begins to get annoying but first timeA brilliant album by an amazingly talented singer but with family members playing it constantly it begins to get annoying but first time listening to it I liked it and that is hard to do. Expand
  7. Jun 7, 2017
    6
    There's no doubt that Emeli Sandé has a once in a generation voice. So many of the songs on the album are beautiful and have quite the deepThere's no doubt that Emeli Sandé has a once in a generation voice. So many of the songs on the album are beautiful and have quite the deep meaning. However, this album doesn't go anywhere. The album is not dire, but the album is not exceptional. Nevertheless there is always room for improvement as shown in her second LP... Expand

See all 8 User Reviews