Out Of Control

  • Record Label: Polydor
  • Release Date: Nov 3, 2008
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 2 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 26, 2011
    3
    Where do I begin. I used to class myself as a die hard Girls Aloud fan, I'm aware their albums have never been outstanding, but they have always been at least 50% likeable (unlike Tangled Up that was about 60%). This album is a mess from start to finish, it's saved by the singles they released that to be fair, are electro/pop gold. I'm struggling to right much else, it's just awful, wishWhere do I begin. I used to class myself as a die hard Girls Aloud fan, I'm aware their albums have never been outstanding, but they have always been at least 50% likeable (unlike Tangled Up that was about 60%). This album is a mess from start to finish, it's saved by the singles they released that to be fair, are electro/pop gold. I'm struggling to right much else, it's just awful, wish washy, ASAP music that means nothing. Sorry Girls. Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    It is a great girls aloud album. Here are the song review. 1. The Promise 10/10. 2. The loving kind 10/10. Rolling back the rivers in time 9/10. Love is the key 8/10. 5. Turn to stone 7/10.6. Untouchable 9/10.7. Fix me up 8/10. 8. Love is pain 8/10. 9. Miss you bow wow 8/10. 10. Revolution in the head 7/10. 11. Live in the country 4/10. 12. We wanna party 8/10. So overall it is a very goodIt is a great girls aloud album. Here are the song review. 1. The Promise 10/10. 2. The loving kind 10/10. Rolling back the rivers in time 9/10. Love is the key 8/10. 5. Turn to stone 7/10.6. Untouchable 9/10.7. Fix me up 8/10. 8. Love is pain 8/10. 9. Miss you bow wow 8/10. 10. Revolution in the head 7/10. 11. Live in the country 4/10. 12. We wanna party 8/10. So overall it is a very good album apart from track 11 Live in the country which is a silly filler. Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    Not their best album (Tangled Up is better) but it's pure smart europop, tracks like "Untouchable", "Love is Pain" and "The Loving Kind" are amazing, and their Brit Awards-winning single "The Promise" it's brilliant!
  4. Sep 6, 2014
    10
    Não é o melhor delas, realmente. Mas não deixa de ser maravilhoso. Músicas como Love Is Pain e Miss You Bow Wow merecem carregar o álbum a nota máxima.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Feb 7, 2009
    10
    I love it so much the promis and miss you bow wow my 2 favourite songs.
  6. Alexis
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    Another polystylistic opus.
  7. EdP.
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    Not only one of the best pop albums of the year, one of the best albums of the year! From the rompy 60s girl-group anthem 'The Promise', to the 80s follow-up to Call The Shots 'The Loving Kind', to the killer catchiness of 'Miss You Bow Wow', all the way to the drum'n'bassy 'Live in the Country', these girls have outdone themselves. The Not only one of the best pop albums of the year, one of the best albums of the year! From the rompy 60s girl-group anthem 'The Promise', to the 80s follow-up to Call The Shots 'The Loving Kind', to the killer catchiness of 'Miss You Bow Wow', all the way to the drum'n'bassy 'Live in the Country', these girls have outdone themselves. The highlight for me is 'Love is The Key', an instant addiction. Expand
  8. maries
    Nov 11, 2008
    9
    Really enjoyable and different than usual sort of Album from the Girls Aloud. Rolling back the rivers of time, Turn to Stone, Miss you Bow Wow, of Course The promise, their No 1 hit single, off this UK No1 album are just great songs. A worthwhile and well used album to have, for me anyway.
  9. Dec 7, 2016
    7
    It's not their best work - Chemistry still holds that title. It hops from pure-pop to dance with little grace, making it feel a little disjointed, but very, very fun.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Out Of Control is, generally, yet another excellent album from a group who may have risen from a lot of people's 'guilty pleasure' to becoming full-on national treasures.
  2. Not their best, but still more consistent than any British indie album released this year.
  3. Out of Control is more of a lucky dip, with scintillating trinkets and humdrum knick-knacks.