Outta Sight / Outta Mind

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Outta Sight / Outta Mind Image
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The New Zealand rockers return with a second album, produced by Led Zeppelin's John Paul Jones.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Outta Sight/Outta Mind is not an album that you can discuss in measured tones whilst tending to your beard. It is an album that will only cause mass hysteria and blood clots and burst forth Kundalini from the base of your spine like some auto-massage chair plugged into the wrong transformer while you holler “wheeeeaaauurgh!!” and finally slump down into a wet pile of exhaustion.
  2. Uncut
    70
    A less full-tilt affair than their first effort... but no less fun. [Jul 2004, p.95]
  3. Blender
    70
    They are still greasy rock & rollers who know how to keep a party going. [Oct 2004, p.120]
  4. Part of me likes that the Datsuns are 100% serious about doing their own thing, regardless of what the scene demands, but when their "thing" amounts to a heap of riffs leftover from the Carter administration, I can't get that excited.
  5. Alternative Press
    40
    Amount[s] to little more than a facsimile of their forefathers. [Nov 2004, p.149]
  6. They seem like a garden-variety hard rock band, one that would have been generic and forgettable in 1974, and one that is generic and forgettable in 2004.
  7. Spin
    25
    [The Datsuns] now sound unfit to carry the Donnas' jockstraps. [Oct 2004, p.120]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. MikeV.
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    i don't understand why the datsuns get ratings like 40% if you would know anything about music you would understand that this band is i don't understand why the datsuns get ratings like 40% if you would know anything about music you would understand that this band is all about rockn' roll coming back to life!! rockn' roll isn't dead!! look at franz ferdinand they are dead! have you ever listened to their second album? I doubt it if i read your comment! but yeah i know everybody likes something else but the datsuns deserve better and should be appreciated more!! Expand
  2. MoT
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    Agree with Andrew R. Loved the first album and this one just as much.
  3. liamP-M
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    The Datsuns are a band who came too late. If this album had been released in the 90's, the Datsuns would've been HUGE! This album The Datsuns are a band who came too late. If this album had been released in the 90's, the Datsuns would've been HUGE! This album is brilliant messy rock, but people don't want that anymore, and while that's sad, all it should mean is that the people who hate rock shouldn't review it. Expand
  4. AileenB
    Sep 22, 2004
    9
    I think its GREAT! I love it. A terrific follow on from their first Album.
  5. AndrewR
    Nov 10, 2004
    9
    Great sounding second album which once again shows similarities between them and music form the early 70's! This album is alot more Great sounding second album which once again shows similarities between them and music form the early 70's! This album is alot more produced than the first but shows a wordclass band developing in its ever moving stride! The Datsuns are currently the best rock band (that is still together) there is! Great music with great riffs! Also have energetic and amazing live shows! Buy this album and the first one - which is also fucken brilliant!! Expand
  6. DellB
    Nov 21, 2004
    8
    I enjoyed this album better than their first one. Its been well thought out and would appeal to young of course but also more mature audiences.
  7. mmalcolm
    Aug 11, 2004
    0
    The Datsuns were part of the garage rock trend (yes garage rock was fashionable during this period), set years ago by groups like the hives, The Datsuns were part of the garage rock trend (yes garage rock was fashionable during this period), set years ago by groups like the hives, etc... But garage rock is now dead and subpar bands like THE datsuns (and others "THE" bands), are now in process of extinction. By the way, Franz Ferdinand are not in any sense, a kind of trend or fashion as Sam M pretends. Franz Ferdinand are simply good. Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews