Overexposed

  • Record Label: A&M
  • Release Date: Jun 26, 2012
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 172 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 172
  2. Negative: 61 out of 172
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 26, 2012
    5
    I started expecting a lot from Maroon 5 after they released "Payphone", but this album proved me wrong. Every other song on the album incorporates dance beats that is so NOT Maroon 5's sound. Only two or three songs on the album are good. I liked "Love Somebody" (due to the fact that it is co-written by Ryan Tedder), "Daylight", and "One More Night". Overall this album sounds like a bandI started expecting a lot from Maroon 5 after they released "Payphone", but this album proved me wrong. Every other song on the album incorporates dance beats that is so NOT Maroon 5's sound. Only two or three songs on the album are good. I liked "Love Somebody" (due to the fact that it is co-written by Ryan Tedder), "Daylight", and "One More Night". Overall this album sounds like a band who has forgotten its origin and is making new foundations. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    6
    Adam Levine seems to have gone all out with the electro pop and featuring artists, forgetting what actually made Maroon 5 famous. Another average performance.
    Best Tracks: The Man Who Never Lied, Lucky Strike
  3. Jul 6, 2012
    5
    In their album Overexposed , songs get to similar and get kind of boring , while others go to a direction of a good song. After from listening to the album, it sounds like Avril wants to leave from his band "Maroon 5"
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    6
    its a good album with some really great songs but maroon 5 doesn't feel like a band any more, for moments it seems like its just levine doing a solo work
  5. Jun 26, 2012
    6
    It seems as if the titled album, "Overexposed", has become true for Maroon 5. The band have completely sold their souls to the ushering pop era, leaving behind their uniqueness and appeal. The album contains some highlights, such as "Daylight" and "One More Night", however fails to make an impact with the other songs that are filler and not interesting at all.

    While I remain a Maroon 5
    It seems as if the titled album, "Overexposed", has become true for Maroon 5. The band have completely sold their souls to the ushering pop era, leaving behind their uniqueness and appeal. The album contains some highlights, such as "Daylight" and "One More Night", however fails to make an impact with the other songs that are filler and not interesting at all.

    While I remain a Maroon 5 fan, this was a huge step backwards for the band, and I only hope them the best when their next album comes. I hope that they find themselves again and come back with a much more stronger album that we all know they are capable of.
    Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2012
    4
    Yeah there are some catchy tunes in the album, but this is like all just the same beat, they are so club now. They are trying so hard to sound like others male popstars
  7. Jul 15, 2012
    4
    Honestly this album for the most part just feels like a big sellout to appeal to the fans of Moves Like Jagger, which is the song that turned me off to Maroon 5 for a while. There are highlights of course, like the interesting pop-reggae of One More Night, the catchy and so-obscurely-themed-it-has-to-be-sincere love song Payphone (look up the version without the rap; you'll thank meHonestly this album for the most part just feels like a big sellout to appeal to the fans of Moves Like Jagger, which is the song that turned me off to Maroon 5 for a while. There are highlights of course, like the interesting pop-reggae of One More Night, the catchy and so-obscurely-themed-it-has-to-be-sincere love song Payphone (look up the version without the rap; you'll thank me later), the dancey and lyrically clever The Man Who Never Lied, or the emotional piano ballad Sad. The rest are either cheap copies of Moves Like Jagger or embarrassingly cliche love songs. But the last track on the deluxe edition, their cover of Kiss by Prince, greatly surpasses everything else here. This cover is amazing; they took a Prince song, turned it into a blues song quite naturally, and extended it into an awesome seven-minute jam complete with guitar & saxophone solos. I wish they showed this much personality & musicianship on the original stuff! In conclusion, even as a big fan of their previous material this is an embarrassing follow-up to Hands All Over. Sure it has its highlights and the songs are catchy, but whereas they were poppy in all the right ways before, now they're poppy in all the wrong ways. Please, Adam, get off The Voice and learn how to rock again, before you drive your bandmates right into the ground! Expand
  8. Jul 1, 2012
    6
    Maroon 5 lose their way on 5th album - read the full review here: http://wearethefilter.blogspot.com.au/2012/06/maroon-5-lose-their-way-on-album-no-4.html
  9. Aug 9, 2012
    6
    well I liked the album but as a pop album not as their previous rock albums, I felt like I'm listening to Adam Levine only the rest of the band have no role in the album and they didn't even appear in the music videos, even if it's only about Levine he still can make a good music but I hope they return to their roots
  10. Sep 9, 2012
    4
    The fourth album from Maroon 5 as Maroon 5, Overexposed album is a true summer with success Payphone and One More Night. It's well-crafted pop with touches of rock (Lucky Strike). Adam Levine, the singer, has accustomed us to his voice can become very acute tanning in the long run. Level of melodies is ''original'' but repetitive. There are atmospheric pieces like The Man Never Lied!, MoreThe fourth album from Maroon 5 as Maroon 5, Overexposed album is a true summer with success Payphone and One More Night. It's well-crafted pop with touches of rock (Lucky Strike). Adam Levine, the singer, has accustomed us to his voice can become very acute tanning in the long run. Level of melodies is ''original'' but repetitive. There are atmospheric pieces like The Man Never Lied!, More techno Love Somebody. From my point of view it is a copy of Summer Hands All Over. From the fifth song we toured the album and rhythms that are always the same, as in the song Daylight The Man Never Lied! Lucky Strike and it looked like the same song. Ladykiller and there were atrocious guitar riff, this is an album that I listen again!! Expand
  11. Sep 28, 2012
    6
    Heck..where's the rock songs? Maroon 5 used to be this really great alternative rock band; their songs infectious but with an attitude to boot. As they become more pop, out goes the guitars, in come the synthesizers and auto-tune. The problem is: they are selling even more singles!! So there you go...
  12. Oct 22, 2012
    5
    Você já foi em um restaurante novo e após comer você ficou satisfeito, mas não vai voltar lá já que a comida não marcante o suficiente para tanto? Então, é assim que eu me senti ouvindo o álbum Overexposed do Maroon 5. É bonzinho, mas não é marcante o suficiente para quer mais.

    Depois das
    Você já foi em um restaurante novo e após comer você ficou satisfeito, mas não vai voltar lá já que a comida não marcante o suficiente para tanto? Então, é assim que eu me senti ouvindo o álbum Overexposed do Maroon 5. É bonzinho, mas não é marcante o suficiente para quer mais.

    Depois das vendas baixas do último álbum (Hands All Over) e o sucesso do hit "salva carreira" de Moves Like Jagger, o grupo pensou em seguir em uma direção mais "pop". Pelo que eu ouvi de Overexposed ir para o lado "pop" da força para eles significa pegar todas as referencias possíveis do gênero e jogar em uma panela, cozinhar em fogo baixo e servir apenas morninho. A gama de produtores que Overexposed não dá uma cara definitiva para o álbum que vai de reggae, pop, pop rock, eletropop e dance com pitadas de R&B chupando influencias que vão desde o Michael Jackson até a Lady GaGa. Tudo com produção perfeita, mas sem uma inspiração clara e definida. Adam Levine está correto durante tudo o trabalho. Contudo, não decide em qual tom de voz é o seu melhor transitando do grave aos falsetos sem muita força em nenhum. Além disso, o uso de efeitos em várias músicas atrapalha ainda mais o resultado. O ponto mais fraco do álbum são suas composições. Todas têm qualidades de hit pop com refrões viciantes e letras fáceis de pegar. Tudo muito didático e seguindo a cartilha ao pé da letra que deixa o álbum sem emoção mesmo falando de amor como tema principal. Outra coisa: se existisse limite de usar "ohs", "ahs", "yeahs" e outras onomatopéias que valem o mesmo, o Maroon 5 seria multado. A maioria das músicas não saõ ruins, mas não são dignas de uma citação aqui. Todavia, há dois momentos marcantes no álbum: começa pelo grudento primeiro single Payphone e chega na super divertida Tickets. O troféu de pior fica a carga da irritante Wipe Your Eyes. Uma coisa é certa que o Maroon 5 entrega o que promete na capa de Overexposed: um trabalho sem cara certa, mas divertido.
    Expand
  13. Oct 25, 2012
    6
    A fairly average album, some songs are pretty catchy (The Man Who Never Lied, Love Somebody) and some a quite poor but the main problem is that Maroon 5 have tried to adapt to the mainstream market, loosing their roots and long-time fans in the process. It's okay.
  14. Dec 16, 2012
    5
    While 2011's smash hit 'Moves Like Jagger' cast massive speculation regarding Maroon 5's direction towards commercialized pop, their follow-up album 'Overexposed' shamelessly confirms it. With Max Martin, the most commercially successful producer of the last 15 years serving as executive producer, as well as co-composer and co-producer of all of the scheduled album singles ('Payphone',While 2011's smash hit 'Moves Like Jagger' cast massive speculation regarding Maroon 5's direction towards commercialized pop, their follow-up album 'Overexposed' shamelessly confirms it. With Max Martin, the most commercially successful producer of the last 15 years serving as executive producer, as well as co-composer and co-producer of all of the scheduled album singles ('Payphone', 'One More Night' and 'Daylight'), accompanied by Shellback, another hit-making producer who co-wrote the aforementioned 'Moves Like Jagger', the results are undeniably pop-chart oriented as the success of the singles proved for the album. In the spotlight is now Adam Levine, the now unquestionable frontman who directs the band's sound much like Peter Cetera used to be for the band Chicago, and he aptly co-writes all of the material and co-produces nearly every song. This abrupt shift in power leaves the rest of the band reluctantly muted in both songwriting and performance, as their instrumental output is anything but noteworthy midst the electro-pop background music generated by the producers. The gap in quality between the songs made by the aforementioned producers and the rest of the tracks is hence notorious, with little if nothing to make of interest of the album tracks, with the minor exceptions of 'Lucky Strike' and Shellback's 'Doin' Dirt'. If anything, the songs on Overexposed are tied together by unflattering qualities; the album is more often than not bruised by jaded lyrics (e.g. 'Fortune Teller'), and altogether the lack of a unanimous output by both Levine, the producers, and the rest of the band, shines too often to redeem it from its bland, superficial qualities. Expand
  15. May 21, 2013
    5
    The band must be called Adam Levine, because it seems that it's his solo project with a lot of boring songs, the essence of the band go away. Was better before, sorry guys
  16. Dec 30, 2013
    6
    This album has a lot of good stuff on it. The first 6 tracks are all very noteworthy. While I think some tracks could be better, the overall quality isnt that bad.
  17. Feb 25, 2014
    4
    Besides the lucky four singles, let's be honest: who else remembers this album? At least it has the truest title in Maroon 5's career. It's 'Overexposed' and completely corrupts the image we're force fed that Maroon 5 isn't just Adam Levine -- shocking, huh? Let's get to constructive criticism though, or should I say de-constructive criticism, because Overexposed is overwhelmingly glossedBesides the lucky four singles, let's be honest: who else remembers this album? At least it has the truest title in Maroon 5's career. It's 'Overexposed' and completely corrupts the image we're force fed that Maroon 5 isn't just Adam Levine -- shocking, huh? Let's get to constructive criticism though, or should I say de-constructive criticism, because Overexposed is overwhelmingly glossed up with Max Martin-Shellback typical electro hooks even fellow pop "rocker" Avril Lavigne would scoff at, Auto Tune, and just overall polish that's shiny and yes, attractive at first sight, but cold and soulless inside. Dissecting the album track-by-track is unnecessary, since everything's basically "Moves Like Jagger" rearranged without even one percent of any effort to make it sound distinguishable from that multi-Platinum seller. Although I won't exchange effort to call the album "terrible", I actually admit it: I find half-assed records more listenable than formulaic, unidentifiable top 40 compilation albums. Especially in the case of a "band" that's actually just there to solidify Levine's "rock star" image. Make no mistake though, Disney princesses are more rock 'n' roll than this stud wishes he could ever be. Expand
  18. Feb 5, 2015
    5
    Honestly, I was expecting a better album release like the band's songs way back. Their songs are getting worse and worse. Nevertheless, Adam still channeled his unique voice.
  19. Jan 25, 2016
    5
    Not brilliant but a solid album it contained some good songs and a couple of duds but I do still listen to it a fair bit so I do really like still despite a couple of bad songs.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Jul 10, 2012
    50
    Overexposed is not a great album, but that doesn't mean it's not interesting. What we're hearing is the band actually learning to have fun again, and with any luck, they'll only get better from here.
  2. 60
    It's when he deviates from the plastic norm that he actually sounds most awkward.
  3. Jun 29, 2012
    60
    Overexposed is rather patchy and its highs are countered by some fairly wretched lows.