Overgrown

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Overgrown Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 158 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second release for the British electronic artist includes a track produced by Brian Eno and another track with RZA as a guest performer.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 100
    In 1996, The Fugees set the whole urban blues thing in motion with The Score. With a work of such stark emotional beauty, Blake has picked up the torch once again with Overgrown.
  2. Apr 9, 2013
    90
    While it might take listeners a few spins to find the right head space for the album, once they get there, it's an easy place to get lost in.
  3. While James Blake felt aloof, even ahuman, Overgrown is packed with feeling, and releases it with the smallest of gestures.
  4. 80
    Overgrown is a heartening step in the right direction, and reassurance that Blake’s talents are far from on the wane.
  5. It’s not an easy listen, but it may just be one of the most nuanced, soothing and adventurous of 2013.
  6. Apr 11, 2013
    70
    In a strange mistake of sequencing, Blake frontloads Overgrown with its least interesting material.
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    40
    The object of his lamentations is conveniently out of reach, hence the constant cat-and-mouse game between enunciation and melisma. When Blake sees fit to loop a phrase or attempt a chorus, the undertaking breaks down under its own weight.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    On Overgrown, James Blake has created a collection of songs that operate as a far more cohesive album than his self-titled debut. In addition,On Overgrown, James Blake has created a collection of songs that operate as a far more cohesive album than his self-titled debut. In addition, all the songs are improved and show James Blake as a master of his craft, creating emotional peaks and unrivaled musical landscapes with his crooning lyrics and brilliant electronic melodies. Stand-out tracks include "Life Round Here", "Voyeur", and "Retrograde", the last of which might be the best single song of the year. Despite its high critical rating, I believe calling this album anything other than the album of the year is underrating it severely. Expand
  2. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    The great James Blake is back. An immediate love at first-listen. Smooth, soulful, raw and R&B in it, Overgrown is by far the best in theThe great James Blake is back. An immediate love at first-listen. Smooth, soulful, raw and R&B in it, Overgrown is by far the best in the making this year so far. Expand
  3. Mar 23, 2014
    10
    "Retrograde" is my best of 2013, hands down. The humming at the beginning is an amazing throwback to Sam Cooke's "Trouble Blues," and Blake's"Retrograde" is my best of 2013, hands down. The humming at the beginning is an amazing throwback to Sam Cooke's "Trouble Blues," and Blake's record has just as much power behind it. I have high expectations for his upcoming collab with Chance. Expand
  4. N10
    Apr 9, 2013
    10
    Well everything I wrote just.. got lost. Well what I can say about this album is that Jame's Blake has clearly stepped up his game withWell everything I wrote just.. got lost. Well what I can say about this album is that Jame's Blake has clearly stepped up his game with "Overgrown". As an artist he's obviously growing, as a singer/song-writer he's more confident. Great production, catchy melodies and well written songs. More smooth, more Soul/R&B to it. Might not be as experimental or "out there" as his predecessor, but this record sure is he's most unique and gorgeous one to listen too. 10 tracks around fourty minutes, not so long, but those fourty minutes are pure beauty. Right from the first listen I fell in love with this. An amazing album. James Blake's best album to date and my favourite of 2013 so far. Collapse
  5. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    Oh good Lord the soul crushing beauty of the tracks 'Overgrown' and 'Retrograde' are enough to earn this album a space in the Top Ten AlbumsOh good Lord the soul crushing beauty of the tracks 'Overgrown' and 'Retrograde' are enough to earn this album a space in the Top Ten Albums of the Year on their own. Thankfully though they are nestled in a dark, glistening concoction of yet more of Blake's soul oozing masterpieces. 'Overgrown' sounds like a journey underground. You never know where you're gonna surface or how deep you're going to go. Blake steers you through the labyrinth of his creation, depositing you reluctantly back in real life at the end of it. 'Digital Lion' has been played on my iPod multiple times daily since it's release. Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    The charming prince of quiet is back with his sophomore album, "Overgrown". Taking more soulful approach without sacrificing the essentialThe charming prince of quiet is back with his sophomore album, "Overgrown". Taking more soulful approach without sacrificing the essential post-dubstep elements that makes his debut album special, James have certainly leveled up. Highlight tracks: Retrograde, Overgrown, I am Sold, Dlm Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2013
    5
    This is a rather odd album. From the snippets, I wasn't expecting it to be so electronic based. Turns out that James Blake is actually quiteThis is a rather odd album. From the snippets, I wasn't expecting it to be so electronic based. Turns out that James Blake is actually quite into experimenting with dubstep and various electronic arrangements. Problem is, sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn't. The tracks Life Round Here, Digital Lion and Voyeur were examples of how it was rather grating, but the other 8 tracks are much more appealing, although I struggled to find anything that was better than "ok." Expand

See all 22 User Reviews