Overpowered

  • Record Label: EMI
  • Release Date: Oct 15, 2007
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 47
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 47
  3. Negative: 2 out of 47

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    Murphy is, efortlessly, the queen of electropop and this package of pitch-perfect gems is the living proof. Despite all the great reviews, I personally think it's never too much to remind how brilliant and glamorous this album is, in an era when new Gagas and Ke$has come out from nowhere every single day. My favourite pop album. Ever.
  2. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    I think this album is brilliant,
  3. Mauer
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    how Ruby Blue wasn't a huge success is nothing more than Roisin being too understated and naive in her marketing approach and confounding, its a great album. the songs off this Ive heard are lovely and fun, and will be buying soon as I'm paid. Roisin is cooler than most.
  4. Eric
    May 31, 2008
    9
    Fantastic!
  5. RuanHuman
    Feb 7, 2009
    8
    This album is generally crafty electro-pop, showcasing Roisin's talent both lyrically & musically. Standout tracks include 'Let Me Know', 'Overpowered, 'Cry Baby' & 'Movie Star'.
  6. JesusR.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Album of the year.
  7. DavidC
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    Gorgeously Sexy and a fantastic singer to boot. A highly varied album but with 7 or 8 top notch tracks, takes me back to when dance music was fresh in the mid 90's.
  8. JeremyF.
    Nov 2, 2007
    9
    Nearly perfect.
  9. EvanS
    Jan 19, 2008
    8
    To appreciate her music is to watch her videos. Let Me Know is an example of simple concept with a fun, pure hook. I'm just now digging into the album and so far it's a standout.
  10. MarvinO.
    May 31, 2008
    8
    A really good pop gem. I liked Ruby Blue better but this album is almost as good even if it runs on a slightly different line. Why is Roisin Murphy still not a superstar?
  11. DiscoD.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    Roisin Murphy is fantastic,she has a great voice,quirky sense of style,great modern electronic classic!!come on people discover her!!
  12. AaronM.
    Dec 4, 2007
    9
    Ruby Blue was excellent in that it offered gorgeous music and fun experimentation. Overpowered is excellent because Roisin has created electronic house/disco pop without sounding cold or calculated.
  13. Simon
    Jan 13, 2008
    9
    Roisin Murphy shows her essential contribution to the sound of modern music. Filled with inventive lyrics and music, Overpowered is an highly satisfying piece of work. Perhaps less interesting than Ruby Blue, but definitely amusing, entertaining and colorful, it reminds us how Moloko was driven by a potent creator. Refreshing !
  14. ClifC.
    Dec 1, 2008
    8
    Very good album! Great production , and some of the songs have the best beats of 2007 (like "Cry Baby"). She wants to innovate, and she does, but there are moment where she has to be more simple, she gets herself confused and makes us feel confused. But I admire for how she changed her music universe, beginning her solo career with a Nu Jazz/Electronic album, "Ruby Blue" (that was really Very good album! Great production , and some of the songs have the best beats of 2007 (like "Cry Baby"). She wants to innovate, and she does, but there are moment where she has to be more simple, she gets herself confused and makes us feel confused. But I admire for how she changed her music universe, beginning her solo career with a Nu Jazz/Electronic album, "Ruby Blue" (that was really great too); to an Electronic/Electro-pop/Dance/Pop album. Expand
  15. TexB.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Roisin Murphy's second solo album is nothing short of a masterpiece. This is the kind of work that combines all the best "Roisin" you've ever heard - the amazing grooves of the best Moloko tunes (but in a totally original disco-meets-electronica-meets-blues-meets-new wave concoction) with Roisin's quirky solo style and a beautiful, sharp yet almost velvet-like clear voice. Roisin Murphy's second solo album is nothing short of a masterpiece. This is the kind of work that combines all the best "Roisin" you've ever heard - the amazing grooves of the best Moloko tunes (but in a totally original disco-meets-electronica-meets-blues-meets-new wave concoction) with Roisin's quirky solo style and a beautiful, sharp yet almost velvet-like clear voice. I have followed Roisin since the "do you like my tight sweater" days of the mid-90s and "Overpowered" makes you feel like this is what it's all been building up to. Nothing short of brilliant. It's difficult to pick favorite tracks, but "You know Me better"; "Primitive"; "Dear Miami"; "Cry Baby"; Scarlet Ribbons" and "Body Language" all deserve six shining stars. Finally "Tell Everybody"...deserves seven.... Buy. This. Album. Now. Expand
  16. Jul 13, 2016
    9
    Roisin's second album is a electronic and tribal masterpiece. Moving from electronic jazz to indie dance suited her quite nicely. It is refreshing to have a dance album that feels effortless. Download: Let Me Know, Movie Star, You Know Me Better.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Overpowered is both impressive and incredibly fun, but fun in a way that "Ruby Blue" wasn't: you don't have to think here.
  2. She's melded the two sides of her history much more seamlessly; four-to-the-floor pop belters mix with touches of electronic and lyrical darkness to make one of the pop albums of the year.
  3. Not once does Overpowered really drag its feet, but it never truly impacts with the might one could possibly expect from an artist with such a fine pedigree.