Oxymoron - ScHoolboy Q
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 140 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 140

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 26, 2014
    9
    The expectations for Q's upcoming album were high no doubts about that, Oxymoron might be the most anticipated hip hop debut release we have during 2014 and the comparisons to Lamar's stellar conceptual major label drop "good kid, m.A.A.d. city", is, mainly the main reason to why people can not enjoy this for what it is. It is not a continuation of it. And to continue on there, it's prettyThe expectations for Q's upcoming album were high no doubts about that, Oxymoron might be the most anticipated hip hop debut release we have during 2014 and the comparisons to Lamar's stellar conceptual major label drop "good kid, m.A.A.d. city", is, mainly the main reason to why people can not enjoy this for what it is. It is not a continuation of it. And to continue on there, it's pretty much why this album is getting the floods with hate, cause that's what many mentally is setting it for, ignored as it's own piece of work by the average/hip hop listener.
    They are label mates, but the lanes between these two are like fire and water, completely different. Oxymoron must be listened as.. Oxymoron and none other.
    Oxymoron is a grower, not a one ticket go. Give it a week with you, let it sit at least.

    This is not driven with minimalistic production or flowed as focused, or having the cinematic delivery about a quiet kids journey through a rough city.
    No, this is the gangsta, the wildly "ni**a" with the burnt blunt and trigger, telling his side of view, if it's slanging or a first strap given by his grandmother. It's always kept interesting with a brilliant, slightly over-the-top vocal delivery and flows with banger productions from the elites like Pharrell and Alchemist.

    Oxymoron is less of a schizo "Habits & Contradictions" was and more of a triumph, banger or at times grimey, sonically and vocally. Though, this dark and introspect has Q never been, as on tracks as a "Hoover Street" and "Prescriptions/Oxymoron". Two absolutely fantastic tracks with Q painting his dusts vivid, a wide picture of a turned Crip member. The switch up they both got middle through in, is just amazing.

    ScHoolboy Q's major label debut is one hell of a killer, with a big fist aimed at your lips, ready to bust it bloody for no reason. But what a gangster does, ain't always a play on the grams or gangbanging, is, getting women too, to love.
    This groovey Q and long-time TDE contributant, BJ The Chicago Kid sets a perfect mood on "Studio", a vibe which much draws feelings back to a track of Snoop and the late Nate Dogg, with that being said, our generations "Ain't No Fun (If The Homies Can't Have None)".

    Yeah we got a 2 Chainz feature on here, so what, it bangs. And what not to love more, then hearing the legend, one and only Kurupt on a track, on the run of a police sire called production signed and sealed with the name of Tyler The Creator. Who also, handles the hook.

    There are many highlights on Q's Oxymoron, too many to drop. We got the beautifully produced Chromatics-sampled track "Man of tHe Year" ready to bounce an audience and ready for spins on to the radio-familia, then a Clipse inspired "Los Awesome" with a tasty, heavy, on the fense of over-production, with raw verses from Q and labelmate Jay Rock who ended it with a filthy murder.

    With 2013, the year of big album disappointments, from Jay Z to Drake to Ye, Q does the opposite, he delivers, if it's not the most lyrically, it'll be the most outlandish flow to do you a victim. The first great major release Oxymoron to enter with a big bang for the year to follow. One of the most creative, fun, hard gripping and original albums to hit the mainstream the last decade.

    It feels new, it feels rich, it feels adventurous, experimental. Q's Oxymoron has a lot of feelings around it, a more varied experience than his previous work.
    ScHoolboy Q's most polished and cohesive, in my opinion, best album yet. The crazy odd boy breaking it in with gangster rap in to the mainstream scene à la 2014.

    Six stand-out tracks out of the twelve: Gangsta, Los Awesome, Studio, Prescription/Oxymoron, Blind Threats and Break tHe Bank.

    If didn't get, I absolutely love this. Going to let it sit, but can say, that this project, can end up being a favorite of the year, and many years already passed.
    Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    This album is what I was excpecting from schoolboy q. It was a very enjoyable gangster rap album with plenty of bangers. I am giving it a 10 because people had mixed opinions about the leak and I think it deserves a higher score than people have been giving it. I love all the singles and songs like blind threats and prescription/oxymoron. Very good album. Just don't expect it to be likeThis album is what I was excpecting from schoolboy q. It was a very enjoyable gangster rap album with plenty of bangers. I am giving it a 10 because people had mixed opinions about the leak and I think it deserves a higher score than people have been giving it. I love all the singles and songs like blind threats and prescription/oxymoron. Very good album. Just don't expect it to be like Good Kid m.A.A.d city Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    5
    Looked forward to this for a long time, pretty disappointed. Q's unique and dynamic style is there in most songs, but I feel like in most hooks and bridges he's just mumbling/chanting nonsense. The perpetual underlying theme in every track, is pretty much Q's ability to selling assortments of drugs; When trying to get into the game of rap. He mentions his daughter a few times. There'sLooked forward to this for a long time, pretty disappointed. Q's unique and dynamic style is there in most songs, but I feel like in most hooks and bridges he's just mumbling/chanting nonsense. The perpetual underlying theme in every track, is pretty much Q's ability to selling assortments of drugs; When trying to get into the game of rap. He mentions his daughter a few times. There's really not much more to say about what to expect. Q's style and timing of his words is very distinguished, that's what I admire the most.. the talent behind the music. This album though, dissipates that feeling. Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Exceptional production, Great Features, Every song has something special to offer, This is Schoolboy Q at his finest, Who thought that Gangsta Rap could make it in 2014!
  5. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Above average production, flow, and delivery. Oxymoron is one of the most definitive albums of our generation. It speaks well on how mainstream rap is evolving and changing it's sound. The album has both its serious moments with it's dark and erie title track, but it also keeps a sense of fulfillment and joy with tracks like Man Of The Year.
  6. N10
    Feb 26, 2014
    10
    The expectations for Q's upcoming album were high no doubts about that, Oxymoron might be the most anticipated hip hop debut release we have during 2014 and the comparisons to Lamar's stellar conceptual major label drop "good kid, m.A.A.d. city", is, mainly the main reason to why people can not enjoy this for what it is. It is not a continuation of it. And to continue on there, it's prettyThe expectations for Q's upcoming album were high no doubts about that, Oxymoron might be the most anticipated hip hop debut release we have during 2014 and the comparisons to Lamar's stellar conceptual major label drop "good kid, m.A.A.d. city", is, mainly the main reason to why people can not enjoy this for what it is. It is not a continuation of it. And to continue on there, it's pretty much why this album is getting the floods with hate, cause that's what many mentally is setting it for, ignored as it's own piece of work by the average/hip hop listener.
    They are label mates, but the lanes between these two are like fire and water, completely different. Oxymoron must be listened as.. Oxymoron and none other.
    Oxymoron is a grower, not a one ticket go. Give it a week with you, let it sit at least.

    This is not driven with minimalistic production or flowed as focused, or having the cinematic delivery about a quiet kids journey through a rough city.
    No, this is the gangsta, the wildly "ni**a" with the burnt blunt and trigger, telling his side of view, if it's slanging or a first strap given by his grandmother. It's always kept interesting with a brilliant, slightly over-the-top vocal delivery and flows with banger productions from the elites like Pharrell and Alchemist.

    Oxymoron is less of a schizo "Habits & Contradictions" was and more of a triumph, banger or at times grimey, sonically and vocally. Though, this dark and introspect has Q never been, as on tracks as a "Hoover Street" and "Prescriptions/Oxymoron". Two absolutely fantastic tracks with Q painting his dusts vivid, a wide picture of a turned Crip member. The switch up they both got middle through in, is just amazing.

    ScHoolboy Q's major label debut is one hell of a killer, with a big fist aimed at your lips, ready to bust it bloody for no reason. But what a gangster does, ain't always a play on the grams or gangbanging, is, getting women too, to love.
    This groovey Q and long-time TDE contributant, BJ The Chicago Kid sets a perfect mood on "Studio", a vibe which much draws feelings back to a track of Snoop and the late Nate Dogg, with that being said, our generations "Ain't No Fun (If The Homies Can't Have None)".

    Yeah we got a 2 Chainz feature on here, so what, it bangs. And what not to love more, then hearing the legend, one and only Kurupt on a track, on the run of a police sire called production signed and sealed with the name of Tyler The Creator. Who also, handles the hook.

    There are many highlights on Q's Oxymoron, too many to drop. We got the beautifully produced Chromatics-sampled track "Man of tHe Year" ready to bounce an audience and ready for spins on to the radio-familia, then a Clipse inspired "Los Awesome" with a tasty, heavy, on the fense of over-production, with raw verses from Q and labelmate Jay Rock who ended it with a filthy murder.

    With 2013, the year of big album disappointments, from Jay Z to Drake to Ye, Q does the opposite, he delivers, if it's not the most lyrically, it'll be the most outlandish flow to do you a victim. The first great major release Oxymoron to enter with a big bang for the year to follow. One of the most creative, fun, hard gripping and original albums to hit the mainstream the last decade.

    It feels new, it feels rich, it feels adventurous, experimental. Q's Oxymoron has a lot of feelings around it, a more varied experience than his previous work.
    ScHoolboy Q's most polished and cohesive, in my opinion, best album yet. The crazy odd boy breaking it in with gangster rap in to the mainstream scene à la 2014.

    Six stand-out tracks out of the twelve: Gangsta, Los Awesome, Studio, Prescription/Oxymoron, Blind Threats and Break tHe Bank.

    If didn't get, I absolutely love this. Going to let it sit, but can say, that this project, can end up being a favorite of the year, and many years already passed.
    Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2014
    1
    This album was terrible. There were maybe 3-4 listenable tracks for me on the entire album, and of those I would only ever bother to keep 1 track, "Hell of a Night," a haunting Dj Dahi beat with Schoolboy Q doing what he SHOULD be doing, making a decent party song.

    Now let me go over this album on a song by song basis Gangsta - This song would be ok, but the intro is so cringe worthy
    This album was terrible. There were maybe 3-4 listenable tracks for me on the entire album, and of those I would only ever bother to keep 1 track, "Hell of a Night," a haunting Dj Dahi beat with Schoolboy Q doing what he SHOULD be doing, making a decent party song.

    Now let me go over this album on a song by song basis

    Gangsta - This song would be ok, but the intro is so cringe worthy "WHAT IT DOOO YOUNG **** The hook is lazy, but somewhat catchy, beat is forgettable

    Los Awesome - Well this beat sure isn't forgettable, but that's because of how awful it is. Pharrell does the production here and this is probably the worst beat I have heard him give to any hip-hop artist, even Jay Rock couldn't save this

    Collard Greens - Mediocre attempt at a break out single, Kendrick destroys Q on this track, and the beat is nice, the hook is good. However Schoolboy Q's verses here are TERRIBLE, this track should be a smooth ride, by Q's grating delivery basically ruins the song.

    What They Want - Decent Mike WiLL beat, 2 Chainz destroys Q on this track, terrible TERRIBLE hook, and honestly just awfully done theme. Its like Q wanted to be Lil Wayne with all his sexual innuendo but has no idea how to make a good song about sex. Also will Schoolboy Q stop trying to sing, he can't he's worse than Kanye.

    Hoover Street - Ok first of all, the intro beat is rubbish, the cymbals stop half way through and the bassline is extremely cliche. On top of that Q isn't really doing anything worthwhile with this, I see literally 0 point in making this a 2 part song, especially if the first part doesn't even fit with the album. The second half, is slightly better produced, but the HOOK on this is so bad, I have 0 reason to listen to this again.

    Studio - Decent beat, good hook, terrible verses. At the end Schoolboy Q tries to sing again, what is with this guy and attempting to sing, your voice is not meant to sing at all, this guy gotta sip lean or something to get his voice a little smoother. In fact I bet he sipped while he recorded Habits and Contradictions cause he sounds so different there.

    Prescription-Oxymoron - This is basically the track that shows that Q tried to copy Kendrick's debut. First off ,the song Prescription is probably one of the best on the tape. Q sounds so down to earth here, and then his daughter's voice comes in and out and you can just imagine some guy passed out in a hazy dimly lit room with drugs on a table in front of him and his daughter desperately trying to see if he's ok. Oxymoron on the other hand is such a ridiculous change of pace and beat, it feels flat out wrong. The verses are decent but the hook is once again TERRIBLE.

    The Purge - Beat is very grimy and actually well done for Tyler, the hook is good, but then gets flat out lazy, and the sirens get annoying after a while. One thing I hate is that you start off with Tyler and his voice which PERFECTLY match the beat, and suddenly Q drops in and he just sounds so out of place next to Tyler its not even funny. Kurupt destroys Schoolboy Q as every feature on this album is basically a renegade.

    Blind Threats - Decent song, but I feel like Schoolboy Q is reaching to find something deeper than he really is. Raekwon comes in and delivers an amazing verse, proving once again, Q can't keep up with the best. Beat is average, nothing memorable though.

    Hell of a Night - I like this song, already explained why earlier, this could be a real good hit.

    Break The Bank - Let me tell you my problem with this song. First of all, Schoolboy Q is singing AGAIN and he can't sing at all, so why does he insist on doing it unassisted without any auto-tune or something to make him a little better. Another issue I have is in the middle when Schoolboy Q says
    "Tell Kendrick move from the throne, I came for it
    I hope this **** hit arrange for it, cause Goddamn"
    You know what that says to me? That tells me Q has let the pressure come to him, it tells me he is desperate to be big, but put this **** in interviews instead of your songs and prove us through your songs these words are true.

    Man Of The Year - Great beat, great hook, verses are terrible, when the snippet dropped, hype went up for this album, but the verses sound like Q just stuck them on last minute after thinking of this hook for so long.

    His and Her Fiend - Terrible song, terrible beat, sounds lazy, literally adds nothing to the album

    Grooveline Pt. 2 - Ok, kinda boring, has a chilled vibe. Of course Q gets renegaded again by Suga Free with a great verse. Doesn't hold a candle to the pt. 1 which is so much better.

    **** LA - Heavy trap beat, Schoolboy Q sounds so out of place here, its not even funny. He needs to stick to his own sound and expand on it, instead of trying to do mainstream stuff like this

    So basically this album is worse than Setbacks, its worse than Habits and Contradictions, and is a complete let down. The fact that Q called this better than Kendrick's album is laughable.
    Expand
  8. Feb 25, 2014
    8
    This album is the new thing in the rap scene, and it is reasonable to compare it to albums such as good kid, m.A.A.d city: albums that have their own concepts and bring new styles of rap and music in general. Songs use catchy beats to convey meaning and the raps are full of life and feeling. A worthy listen.
  9. Feb 25, 2014
    6
    A decent attempt for his first major label album but there are just far too many areas that detract from the bottom line. The album starts out with great energy but that translates into a lot of yelling more so than a controlled, powerful delivery with conviction. There is also far too much vocal layering (echoing) that muffles the clarity of getting the message through. There are aA decent attempt for his first major label album but there are just far too many areas that detract from the bottom line. The album starts out with great energy but that translates into a lot of yelling more so than a controlled, powerful delivery with conviction. There is also far too much vocal layering (echoing) that muffles the clarity of getting the message through. There are a number of instances of lyrical laziness, particularly on Collard Greens with K.Dot slaying him with pace changes and double time (and content). Then to follow up that with just keeping pace with a very inferior lyricist in 2 Chaniz on the next track. There are areas of superiority - the underlying message with his daughter sprinkled in through the tracks ties things together a little though it is in no way a concept album. A stand out is diffidently Hell of a Night with great production and a baseline that sucks you in and wont let go. Many themes are repeated from Habits & Contradictions but are not communicated as effectively or with as much skill (i.e. oxy music, hands on the wheel). Lastly, to wrap up the album with a dense trap beat didn't do any favors.

    I've spun this five times now... we'll see how it soaks in over the next week or two but to take a quote from hiphopdx comments section from a 'john smith', which I think hit the nail on the head: This is no doggystyle off the back of the chronic or all eyez on me off the back of dogg food when thinking about how Oxymoron follows up Good Kid Madd City.
    Expand
  10. Feb 25, 2014
    8
    Okay. Oxymoron is a gangster album first. You immediately realize this by the very 1st track (Gangsta). It has a simple yet catchy hook and a grimy, daunting beat. It's a great way to showcase his grittiness.

    The 2nd (Los Awesome) quickly switches the mood to an upbeat sound although it's still about a gangsta lifestyle. Jay Rock gives a great verse but overall, the song is either hit
    Okay. Oxymoron is a gangster album first. You immediately realize this by the very 1st track (Gangsta). It has a simple yet catchy hook and a grimy, daunting beat. It's a great way to showcase his grittiness.

    The 2nd (Los Awesome) quickly switches the mood to an upbeat sound although it's still about a gangsta lifestyle. Jay Rock gives a great verse but overall, the song is either hit or miss. Mainly because it sounds all over the place. HOWEVER, at the end of the track, it switches to a snippet of a later song (His & Her Fiend). It has a distorted voice singing/rapping/talking over a dark and spooky beat. I felt like it was a great way to end the song especially if you weren't feeling the rest of the track. It keeps you interested.

    You probably already heard this song (Collard Greens). I didn't like it when it came out as a single but it has grown on me. Kendrick delivers a funny verse and Schoolboy does what Schoolboy does. This song is also hit or miss.

    Oxymoron does it again with this track (What They Want). If you weren't sure about Collard Greens and began doubting this album, Schoolboy gives you yet another reason to be a fan. What They Want is another gangster track with a catchy hook, good verses, and great production. 2 Chainz is features as well. I'm not a big of his but his verse is listenable, throwing a few clever lines.

    Hoover Street is the next song. It's split into two sections. Both being produced by Soundwave, who does a great job. The first half feels more like an intro to the 2nd half. It's short. Schoolboy is rapping about the gangsta lifestyle again but the beat isn't dark. It's basically a bass guitar playing the same melody over and over, surrounded by a few other sounds. It can get redundant after awhile but before it feels that way, the beat changes into a slower, dark beat with deep horns quietly playing in the background. This is where the album gets a little more personal. It's about Schoolboy seeing his first gun and witnessing his uncle becoming a fiend. The verses are great, but I didn't care for the hook.

    Finally, the track for the ladies (Studio). Before you roll your eyes and assume it's generic, the production is GREAT. It feels spacious and has some great vocals in the background. And if you didn't already know, BJ the Chicago Kid CAN sing. Schoolboy is also singing, which I didn't mind. I've heard worse (Chief Keef).

    It's followed by Prescription/Oxymoron. The first part (Prescription) is over a gloomy, catchy beat. Q is rapping about his addiction to pills and almost losing his life because of it. It's a depressing song, with Q's daughter talking to her father in between verses. Now the 2nd part (Oxymoron) is over a more upbeat beat about Q not selling crack anymore. I didn't really like this song, especially the hook.

    The Purge is another great song. I'm not really sold on Tyler, The Creator as a producer but he did well on this song. The sirens in the background never got annoying to me but it might to some. The hook is short and simple and Schoolboy Q and Kurupt deliver great verses.

    Blind Threats is another great song. The production is gives off the impression that you're lost somewhere. Lol The song has Q talking about God and how he will rely on his gun if he has to. Raekwon, of course, gives a great verse.

    Hell of a Night is very catchy, party track. The beat is great, with dreamy feel to it, with vocals in the background.

    I'm guessing you've already heard this song (Break the Bank). One of the best tracks on the album. The Alchemist gives you another why he's one of the best.

    Not gonna lie, I love this song. I couldn't wait to hear the whole song when I first heard the snippet at the end of the Kendrick video. I'm guessing you heard this song also.

    Overall, it's a very good album. Most of the hooks were great while some were hit or miss. The verses are great but the production is arguably the biggest highlight of Oxymoron. If you are already a fan of Schoolboy Q, you will greatly appreciate this album. You can tell he has matured since Habits & Contradictions. Give it a listen!
    Expand
  11. Feb 26, 2014
    6
    It's not as bad as some are claiming it to be. Sure the guy can't sing. And his rapping isn't always good. The best rapping in the whole album is by Kendrick Lamar, and this isn't a Kendrick album.

    On the other hand, i enjoyed the beats and overall production of the album. I believe it compensates for the problems. My favorite tracks: Collard Greens, Studio, Hell of a Night, and Man
    It's not as bad as some are claiming it to be. Sure the guy can't sing. And his rapping isn't always good. The best rapping in the whole album is by Kendrick Lamar, and this isn't a Kendrick album.

    On the other hand, i enjoyed the beats and overall production of the album. I believe it compensates for the problems.

    My favorite tracks: Collard Greens, Studio, Hell of a Night, and Man of the Year.
    Expand
  12. Feb 26, 2014
    2
    This album isn't very good. It's just not. "Hell of a Night" is a decent track, but it's too bad its surrounded by some really awful songs -- like tracks you have to put effort into to make that awful (Los Awesome in particular). Whoever produced this should be ashamed. Schoolboy should go to Danny Brown's producer for help next time, or maybe he should try a new occupation if he wants toThis album isn't very good. It's just not. "Hell of a Night" is a decent track, but it's too bad its surrounded by some really awful songs -- like tracks you have to put effort into to make that awful (Los Awesome in particular). Whoever produced this should be ashamed. Schoolboy should go to Danny Brown's producer for help next time, or maybe he should try a new occupation if he wants to continue down this route. Problem is all these Schoolboy Q fanboys out there blindly love whatever crap he puts out. Same people that are probably going to find this review not helpful because it isn't exactly what they want to hear about their favorite rapper. Expand
  13. Feb 25, 2014
    1
    Horrible, horrible album. Screaming into the microphone isnt rapping, and its all Q does on this album. Not an enjoyable listen at all, I wish I could have my time back i wasted listening to this.
  14. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    This is the album which portrays the "m.A.A.d city" to Kendrick Lamar's "good kid", with Schoolboy Q adopting a variety of flows, instrumentals and musical personas.
  15. Feb 26, 2014
    7
    alot of guest appearances for, what seems to be, a long wait for this album (raekwon, Kurupt, 2 chains, etc). Q's album definetly has a west coast feel to it when it comes to content. But jumps out of that box with some tracks as well. The best track is with K.Dot of course, but there are other singles waiting to happen-as the label demanded from what I read. as with most must these days,alot of guest appearances for, what seems to be, a long wait for this album (raekwon, Kurupt, 2 chains, etc). Q's album definetly has a west coast feel to it when it comes to content. But jumps out of that box with some tracks as well. The best track is with K.Dot of course, but there are other singles waiting to happen-as the label demanded from what I read. as with most must these days, not all the songs are very lyrical or worth 2 listens. Expand
  16. Feb 26, 2014
    8
    Honestly, I am very content with this one. I had high expectations, yes, but honestly, I feel like Schoolboy Q lived up to them pretty well. He was never going to create a classic or the Album of the Year like He (jokingly) claimed He would. This is not better than good kid, m.A.A.d city, but it is a damn good album. The majority of the beats were hard hitting as expected and Q was alsoHonestly, I am very content with this one. I had high expectations, yes, but honestly, I feel like Schoolboy Q lived up to them pretty well. He was never going to create a classic or the Album of the Year like He (jokingly) claimed He would. This is not better than good kid, m.A.A.d city, but it is a damn good album. The majority of the beats were hard hitting as expected and Q was also pretty impressive lyrically. Aside from Suga Free, the features were all on point, but since Suga Free is not there without reason, I cannot knock that choice too hard. The bad tracks are, well, bad. There are a few I can already see myself skipping on my iTunes when they come up, but other than those few, I heavily rock with the rest of the album. Glad I pre-ordered. Expand
  17. Feb 25, 2014
    8
    First off: no, Oxymoron is not as good as Kendrick's good kid, m.A.A.d city. Kendrick's album, however, was a classic, so that's not a knock on Q. This album is a little different, so I had to listen to it several times to really understand what Q was tryna do. It's dark, fun, introspective, and the heavy beats are exceptional. Also, the features were great: Kendrick, Kurupt, Tyler, TheFirst off: no, Oxymoron is not as good as Kendrick's good kid, m.A.A.d city. Kendrick's album, however, was a classic, so that's not a knock on Q. This album is a little different, so I had to listen to it several times to really understand what Q was tryna do. It's dark, fun, introspective, and the heavy beats are exceptional. Also, the features were great: Kendrick, Kurupt, Tyler, The Creator, Raekwon, and to lesser degrees Jay Rock and 2 Chainz with Q's alternating chill-intense persona came off perfectly. My biggest praise to ScHoolboy Q is that every second of the album sounded planned, for better or worse. He was intensely confident in everything he said, and that's not as prevalent as it should be in hip-hop. The album told the story of his upbringing, his experiences dealing Oxycontin, his struggles as a father, and his good and bad times in the rap game. The most enduring aspect of Oxymoron is the hooks. There was some dependence on hooks, some being showed up by features, and no song stood out as a good demonstration of Q's talent; most good albums have a track or two that make the album great. Despite everything, I'm already anxious to listen to ScHoolboy Q's next album. ~ 8.1/10

    1. "Gangsta": Q's intro perfectly introduces the chill, while intense, feel of the album. The lyrics are kinda ehhh, but his flow and intensity more than makes up for it. (4/5)

    2. "Los Awesome" (ft. Jay Rock): This Pharrell-produced banger makes violent lyrics catchy and fun. Q introduces his life living in LA. (4/5)

    3. "Collard Greens" (ft. Kendrick Lamar): Q is confident and masterful on this track, yet Kendrick still destroys him. Again, Kendrick destroys most rappers, so it's not much of an insult. Kendrick raps a verse in Spanish, and it works perfectly. Both rappers alternate fast, chill verses that come together as a love song to weed. (4/5)

    4. "WHat THey Want" (ft. 2 Chainz): I wasn't expecting much from a collab with Chainz, but it came together pretty well. Mike WiLL Made It provided the dark, low-key production. Q addresses drugs, fame, and the fans. (3/5)

    5. "Hoover Street": The subject matter and lyrics make this song. Q takes us back to his childhood and comments on his upbringing, him joining a gang, and addiction. (4/5)

    6. "Studio" (ft. BJ the Chicago Kid): There's little here lyrically, but Q shows his soft side with a love song to a girl this time, instead of to weed. The song has a lot of good vibes, and BJ the Chicago Kid provides a chill hook. (3/5)

    7. "Prescription/Oxymoron": The first half of this song is a big bright spot of the album. Q raps from the perspective of himself high on prescription drugs, while his daughter tries to talk to him. He refers to the drug as "she" and describes how he's in love with "her", and the effect is powerful. The second half of the song is about drugs, in general, and his experiences dealing Oxycontin. He raps powerfully, but it doesn't live up to the "Prescription" half of this track. (4/5)

    8. "The Purge" (ft. Tyler, The Creator & Kurupt): Tyler provides some of the best production of the album on this track, along with a solid hook. Q has two long verses about dealing drugs and gang life. Kurupt has a masterful verse at the end that's probably the best of the album. This is an anthem for west coast hip-hop and west coast life, in general. It's a little rough, but it's supposed to be. (5/5)

    9. "Blind THreats" (ft. Raekwon): This track is the beginning of the lighter portion of the album. The production is outstanding, Q provides some of his best rapping on the album, and Raekwon is predictably great. The track is about the dangerous s**t he does to make money and provide safety and a future for his daughter. (5/5)

    10. "Hell Of A Night": This is another catchy banger featuring intense rapping from Q, with a heavy beat. He raps about his partying lifestyle. The lyrics are pretty shallow, but the production and Q's intensity make it a great song. (5/5)

    11. "Break THe Bank": This track has Q rapping about how he got rich and how rich he is now. He also addresses his place in the rap game and his goal of passing Kendrick for "the throne." The hook on this track is masterful. (4/5)

    12. "Man Of The Year": This is the best track of Oxymoron. I'm serious when I say that "Man Of The Year" is one of the best, catchiest bangers I've heard in a long time, maybe ever. Q showcases remarkable lyricism throughout the song, especially in the hook. He boasts about his life and declares himself the "man of the year" in the rap game. (5/5)

    13. "His & Her Friend" (ft. SZA): This track is slow and smooth and has Q rapping as an Oxycontin pill. (4/5)

    14. "Grooveline Pt. 2" (ft. Suga Free): This is the only track I didn't really like. Suga Free's verse was below average, and the hook was lazy. (2/5)

    15. **** LA": This is the 2nd best track and the perfect outro to Oxymoron. Q shows off his lyricism throughout. (5/5)
    Expand
  18. Feb 25, 2014
    9
    Schoolboy Q makes an entrance into top flight hip-hop with an astonishing album, heavy beats, powerful lyrics and most importantly an album true to his fans. He takes you on a journey from selling oxy from a nissan to be being proclaimed man of the year. Avoiding any comparison to Kendrick Lamar, the TDE influence is strong and the album has remnants of GKMC, yet this refined story isSchoolboy Q makes an entrance into top flight hip-hop with an astonishing album, heavy beats, powerful lyrics and most importantly an album true to his fans. He takes you on a journey from selling oxy from a nissan to be being proclaimed man of the year. Avoiding any comparison to Kendrick Lamar, the TDE influence is strong and the album has remnants of GKMC, yet this refined story is personal and explores the issues Quincy has faced... Great album with great beats Expand
  19. Mar 12, 2014
    8
    The content of the writing should not blow anyone way. Schoolboy Q is not a poet. However, Oxymoron unleashed to power of music. The power of rap. The performances on this album will take you to a whole another place philosophically, psychological. Oxymoron may not be good for your mind, but like a drug, you will not be able to say no. "Man of the year" is the best rap song of 2014 so far,The content of the writing should not blow anyone way. Schoolboy Q is not a poet. However, Oxymoron unleashed to power of music. The power of rap. The performances on this album will take you to a whole another place philosophically, psychological. Oxymoron may not be good for your mind, but like a drug, you will not be able to say no. "Man of the year" is the best rap song of 2014 so far, I cannot see anyone topping it (Unless Kendrick or Soul drop). “Break the bank” and “Gangster” along with “Man of the year” should all be nominated for best rap performance at 2015 Grammies. Oxymoron=the power of music. Grooveline Part 2 should be nominated for best rap/sung collaboration. With that being said, without lyrical depth 8/10 is the highest I can go. Expand
  20. Feb 27, 2014
    1
    The worst album i have ever heard bar none. Not only is it boring. its not even good. lyrics are boring. beats are flat, bad order of songs. just a poor effort from Quincy.
  21. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Every song on this album is unique and offers something fresh and different and the most obvious point that I got from listening to the album the first time is that ScHoolboy has greatly improved his song writing. Oxymoron is ScHoolboy Q's best project and it's one of the best in it's genre of gangsta rap. Right from the start the album kicks off with 'Gangsta' which immediately sets the tone for the album, the production is on point and Q sounds great on it which goes for every track that comes after. The stand-out tracks on the album are Hoover Street, Prescription-Oxymoron, Break The Bank, Blind Threats and **** LA. ScHoolboy Q has managed to resurrect a genre that has been stale for long a time, not only by choosing fresh and experimental beats but by changing the his voice so that he sounds very different on every verse. His great flow and line delivery makes up for his average lyricism, Q isn't trying to be Kendrick, Ab-Soul or Jay Rock he is on a different lane and a lane that is needed in the Black Hippy crew. Q has put out a great body of work that lived up to it's hype and it contains two tracks that aren't singles but have the potential to be, Studio and Hell of a Night. The features on Oxymoron are stellar, especially Raekwon and Kurupt, who both body their verses. Oxymoron is a Great project, I have listened to this album many times since it's release and I have the feeling I will do for a long time. Expand
  22. Apr 6, 2014
    8
    School Boy Q continues where Kendrick Lamar left off, putting west coast rap back on the map. Without trying too hard to take it back to the 90's Q manages to push west coast Hip Hop forward. Oxymoron contains more than average production accompanied with School Boy's original flow. With tracks like "Gangsta" "Man of The Year, and "Hell of a Night" Q's talent is undeniable. Oxymoron lacksSchool Boy Q continues where Kendrick Lamar left off, putting west coast rap back on the map. Without trying too hard to take it back to the 90's Q manages to push west coast Hip Hop forward. Oxymoron contains more than average production accompanied with School Boy's original flow. With tracks like "Gangsta" "Man of The Year, and "Hell of a Night" Q's talent is undeniable. Oxymoron lacks the cohesiveness of Lamar's debut album, but overall is a solid effort with excellent "g-funk" themed production. Expand
  23. Mar 4, 2014
    8
    imo this is easily Q's best work so far. This album is great from start to finish (except los awesome). I feel like when people say that Q isnt as lyrical as other artists they're not being fair because he's coming up under kendrick. This dude can spit with the best of them while also putting some serious bangers together. The album is definitely not perfect by any means but it sure metimo this is easily Q's best work so far. This album is great from start to finish (except los awesome). I feel like when people say that Q isnt as lyrical as other artists they're not being fair because he's coming up under kendrick. This dude can spit with the best of them while also putting some serious bangers together. The album is definitely not perfect by any means but it sure met its expectations. I would definitely recommend this album to anyone who's a hip hop head like me. Expand
  24. Apr 23, 2014
    7
    The lyrics on this album aren't amazing, but this album has some great hooks and a great variety of beats. The precision here is also impressive. A very gritty and vulgar album that in many ways is a bit of a throwback to the 90's era gangster rap scene, but with a more modern and progressive tone.
  25. Mar 6, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Oxymoron had to be one of the most anticipated rap albums of 2014, releasing singles like Man of tHe Year, Break tHe Bank and Collard Greens. It had high expectations, both musically and commercially. In my opinion, it met the musical expectation fairly well. Though ScHoolboy is not the most lyrical rapper out there, his storytelling ability and his ability to capture you into songs stands out, making you unable to ignore some of these songs. Production-wise, this album is pretty good, with some great production on tracks like Man of tHe Year and Collard Greens (wise decision to make them singles), Los Awesome and the Tyler, the Creator-produced track The Purge. Its concept is nothing REALLY new to rap, but the way ScHoolboy tells it, offering different perspectives, enlightens it more, adding to its originality.

    Overall: 7.5/10, but Metacritic doesn't accept decimals, so I gave it a 7/10.
    Expand
  26. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    Let's go ahead and clear the air: Schoolboy Q is not Kendrick Lamar, and Oxymoron is not good kid, m.A.A.d. city. Neither are supposed to be. Oxymoron is a dark, raucous, weirdly sequenced and oddly brilliant rap album that stands entirely on its own merit. It's flawed, no doubt. But the consistent skill and verbal dexterity displayed here outweighs any qualms I may have with the albumLet's go ahead and clear the air: Schoolboy Q is not Kendrick Lamar, and Oxymoron is not good kid, m.A.A.d. city. Neither are supposed to be. Oxymoron is a dark, raucous, weirdly sequenced and oddly brilliant rap album that stands entirely on its own merit. It's flawed, no doubt. But the consistent skill and verbal dexterity displayed here outweighs any qualms I may have with the album overall. Worth the wait, and a rock solid outing by Q. Expand
  27. Feb 27, 2014
    8
    Do not compare this to maad city. DO NOT. you cant. totally different. anyway this album is fairly consistent as his its hits. Not big hits but shine when you bring up the album. He is dark with great lyrics but some beats are meh.
  28. Mar 12, 2014
    7
    Oxymoron is missing the initial consciousness we saw on Habits & Contradictions, but is still a good album, with well produced, well written, listener-friendly tracks like Man of the Year and Collard Greens. Step in the right direction.
  29. Mar 19, 2014
    2
    REally didnt enjoy anything this album gave me except for the Man of the Year hook, and even on that neither of the verses were good, only the hook. Everything he does is very uninteresting aside from the DJ Dahi beat. Everything is just so lackluster and boring
  30. May 5, 2014
    5
    I had very high hopes for this album. Probably too high, as my hype-meter was off the charts before the release.

    The album sadly did not deliver. But first the positive parts: Q does good party tracks. Songs like "Hell Of A Night" and "Man Of The Year" are gonna be playing at every party this summer. Q just has that hype in him and the beats definitely got the mainstream appeal.
    I had very high hopes for this album. Probably too high, as my hype-meter was off the charts before the release.

    The album sadly did not deliver.

    But first the positive parts:
    Q does good party tracks. Songs like "Hell Of A Night" and "Man Of The Year" are gonna be playing at every party this summer. Q just has that hype in him and the beats definitely got the mainstream appeal.

    And Q also has a very good introspective track. The double-track Prescription/Oxymoron. Very sad but interesting storyline.

    The problem with this album is that there are a handful forgettable tracks, a handful good - but not great - tracks, and a bunch of pretty bad ones.

    We all know that Q is a funny dude and everyone loves his ad-libs. But do we love them enough that we're gonna listen to songs that are basically just hook + ad-libs? I don't think so.

    And in the Gangsta-Rap aspect, that many people like to praise Q he falls short compared to Freddie Gibbs on Piñata and probably also to YG on My Krazy Life.

    I had really high hopes for this album and was sadly let down. I still think Q has the potential to do something really good for his next album. Let's wait and see.
    Expand
  31. Dec 17, 2014
    9
    Schoolboy Q has made the best west coast hip-hop album of the year. This album is helping revive Gangsta Rap and it is one of the best hip-hop albums of the year.
  32. Jun 30, 2014
    8
    Bumping, loud, raw and dope. Q gets his things straight and drops a dime with this project, although it may look like obnoxious and basic at times, he gets things done and puts his own stamp on it. At first it's easy to get lost and frustrated, very fast. But with some time on it, you get caught by Q's powerful and banging voice, along with the deluxe production featured. At times Q mayBumping, loud, raw and dope. Q gets his things straight and drops a dime with this project, although it may look like obnoxious and basic at times, he gets things done and puts his own stamp on it. At first it's easy to get lost and frustrated, very fast. But with some time on it, you get caught by Q's powerful and banging voice, along with the deluxe production featured. At times Q may sound weak in lyrics, or substance, but for real you can count those with one hand. Q shows how he can be an overall threat for any rapper out there, getting his oxy music as realer as it gets. Expand
  33. Dec 8, 2014
    7
    Make no mistake; Schoolboy has an unbelievable talent, and for the future, this could foreshadow for very good things in hip-hop. On "Oxymoron," Q holds nothing back...or at least that's what he wants you to think. For a good part of the album, you almost get the impression that he could do so much more, and for the other part, you are satisfied beyond belief. This record has goodMake no mistake; Schoolboy has an unbelievable talent, and for the future, this could foreshadow for very good things in hip-hop. On "Oxymoron," Q holds nothing back...or at least that's what he wants you to think. For a good part of the album, you almost get the impression that he could do so much more, and for the other part, you are satisfied beyond belief. This record has good production here and there, but with consistent production, Q could really make a deep crack in the genre of West Coast gangster rap. For now though, the catchy hooks and dangerous choruses will have to do, which is great in itself, as this album is a very solid addition to his arsenal. Standout tracks for me would be the proud-gangster bump with TDE's Jay Rock of "Los Awesome," the trippy "Collard Greens" collaboration with Kendrick Lamar, and (though I've gotten criticism for this) the simply-produced, dangerous track with Tyler, The Creator, "The Purge." Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Apr 18, 2014
    70
    For those unfamiliar with Q's pre-Interscope material, his official debut provides insight, and an appetizer of what his more than respectable discography can do to not only entertain fans of 2010s rap, but inspire them. [Apr/May 2014, p.81]
  2. Mar 20, 2014
    80
    Oxymoron is all killer, no filler--and despite some tracks here not quite translating to radio, in the album context nothing feels out of place.
  3. Mar 13, 2014
    70
    While Oxymoron is never dull, thanks to Q’s indisputable skills as a rapper and beat selector, by its conclusion you’ll wish he’d given less of its runtime over to his gangsta persona and more to exploring his own identity.