User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 159

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    5
    Looked forward to this for a long time, pretty disappointed. Q's unique and dynamic style is there in most songs, but I feel like in most hooks and bridges he's just mumbling/chanting nonsense. The perpetual underlying theme in every track, is pretty much Q's ability to selling assortments of drugs; When trying to get into the game of rap. He mentions his daughter a few times. There'sLooked forward to this for a long time, pretty disappointed. Q's unique and dynamic style is there in most songs, but I feel like in most hooks and bridges he's just mumbling/chanting nonsense. The perpetual underlying theme in every track, is pretty much Q's ability to selling assortments of drugs; When trying to get into the game of rap. He mentions his daughter a few times. There's really not much more to say about what to expect. Q's style and timing of his words is very distinguished, that's what I admire the most.. the talent behind the music. This album though, dissipates that feeling. Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2014
    6
    A decent attempt for his first major label album but there are just far too many areas that detract from the bottom line. The album starts out with great energy but that translates into a lot of yelling more so than a controlled, powerful delivery with conviction. There is also far too much vocal layering (echoing) that muffles the clarity of getting the message through. There are aA decent attempt for his first major label album but there are just far too many areas that detract from the bottom line. The album starts out with great energy but that translates into a lot of yelling more so than a controlled, powerful delivery with conviction. There is also far too much vocal layering (echoing) that muffles the clarity of getting the message through. There are a number of instances of lyrical laziness, particularly on Collard Greens with K.Dot slaying him with pace changes and double time (and content). Then to follow up that with just keeping pace with a very inferior lyricist in 2 Chaniz on the next track. There are areas of superiority - the underlying message with his daughter sprinkled in through the tracks ties things together a little though it is in no way a concept album. A stand out is diffidently Hell of a Night with great production and a baseline that sucks you in and wont let go. Many themes are repeated from Habits & Contradictions but are not communicated as effectively or with as much skill (i.e. oxy music, hands on the wheel). Lastly, to wrap up the album with a dense trap beat didn't do any favors.

    I've spun this five times now... we'll see how it soaks in over the next week or two but to take a quote from hiphopdx comments section from a 'john smith', which I think hit the nail on the head: This is no doggystyle off the back of the chronic or all eyez on me off the back of dogg food when thinking about how Oxymoron follows up Good Kid Madd City.
    Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2014
    6
    It's not as bad as some are claiming it to be. Sure the guy can't sing. And his rapping isn't always good. The best rapping in the whole album is by Kendrick Lamar, and this isn't a Kendrick album.

    On the other hand, i enjoyed the beats and overall production of the album. I believe it compensates for the problems. My favorite tracks: Collard Greens, Studio, Hell of a Night, and Man
    It's not as bad as some are claiming it to be. Sure the guy can't sing. And his rapping isn't always good. The best rapping in the whole album is by Kendrick Lamar, and this isn't a Kendrick album.

    On the other hand, i enjoyed the beats and overall production of the album. I believe it compensates for the problems.

    My favorite tracks: Collard Greens, Studio, Hell of a Night, and Man of the Year.
    Expand
  4. May 5, 2014
    5
    I had very high hopes for this album. Probably too high, as my hype-meter was off the charts before the release.

    The album sadly did not deliver. But first the positive parts: Q does good party tracks. Songs like "Hell Of A Night" and "Man Of The Year" are gonna be playing at every party this summer. Q just has that hype in him and the beats definitely got the mainstream appeal.
    I had very high hopes for this album. Probably too high, as my hype-meter was off the charts before the release.

    The album sadly did not deliver.

    But first the positive parts:
    Q does good party tracks. Songs like "Hell Of A Night" and "Man Of The Year" are gonna be playing at every party this summer. Q just has that hype in him and the beats definitely got the mainstream appeal.

    And Q also has a very good introspective track. The double-track Prescription/Oxymoron. Very sad but interesting storyline.

    The problem with this album is that there are a handful forgettable tracks, a handful good - but not great - tracks, and a bunch of pretty bad ones.

    We all know that Q is a funny dude and everyone loves his ad-libs. But do we love them enough that we're gonna listen to songs that are basically just hook + ad-libs? I don't think so.

    And in the Gangsta-Rap aspect, that many people like to praise Q he falls short compared to Freddie Gibbs on Piñata and probably also to YG on My Krazy Life.

    I had really high hopes for this album and was sadly let down. I still think Q has the potential to do something really good for his next album. Let's wait and see.
    Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Apr 18, 2014
    70
    For those unfamiliar with Q's pre-Interscope material, his official debut provides insight, and an appetizer of what his more than respectable discography can do to not only entertain fans of 2010s rap, but inspire them. [Apr/May 2014, p.81]
  2. Mar 20, 2014
    80
    Oxymoron is all killer, no filler--and despite some tracks here not quite translating to radio, in the album context nothing feels out of place.
  3. Mar 13, 2014
    70
    While Oxymoron is never dull, thanks to Q’s indisputable skills as a rapper and beat selector, by its conclusion you’ll wish he’d given less of its runtime over to his gangsta persona and more to exploring his own identity.