Oxymoron

Oxymoron Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 206 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The major label debut release for the Los Angles rapper features guest appearances from 2 Chainz, BJ the Chicago Kid, Kurupt, Jay Rock, Raekwon, Suga Free, and Tyler The Creator.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 91
    It’s something special, just like it was always planned to be.
  2. Feb 25, 2014
    85
    Make no mistake, Oxymoron is rather brilliant, and provides a perfect foundation to build upon in later releases. An exciting release from an exciting artist.
  3. Feb 27, 2014
    80
    Through varied production, Q strikes a balance between his hard persona and the party vibe found on Habits’ catchiest tracks.
  4. 75
    The height at which Oxymoron’s target is set is not very impressive, but the precision and showmanship with which it’s hit deserves commendation.
  5. Mar 13, 2014
    70
    While Oxymoron is never dull, thanks to Q’s indisputable skills as a rapper and beat selector, by its conclusion you’ll wish he’d given less of its runtime over to his gangsta persona and more to exploring his own identity.
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    70
    ScHoolboy Q comes off like the dude who gives in to all the peer pressure, constantly on the verge of betraying his talents and smarts just to fit in and be one of the bros. The weirder he gets, the better.
  7. Mar 7, 2014
    50
    Ultimately, nothing hangs together long enough to enable a consistent or enjoyable listening experience.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 5 out of 36
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    This album is what I was excpecting from schoolboy q. It was a very enjoyable gangster rap album with plenty of bangers. I am giving it a 10This album is what I was excpecting from schoolboy q. It was a very enjoyable gangster rap album with plenty of bangers. I am giving it a 10 because people had mixed opinions about the leak and I think it deserves a higher score than people have been giving it. I love all the singles and songs like blind threats and prescription/oxymoron. Very good album. Just don't expect it to be like Good Kid m.A.A.d city Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    This is the album which portrays the "m.A.A.d city" to Kendrick Lamar's "good kid", with Schoolboy Q adopting a variety of flows,This is the album which portrays the "m.A.A.d city" to Kendrick Lamar's "good kid", with Schoolboy Q adopting a variety of flows, instrumentals and musical personas. Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    9
    Schoolboy Q makes an entrance into top flight hip-hop with an astonishing album, heavy beats, powerful lyrics and most importantly an albumSchoolboy Q makes an entrance into top flight hip-hop with an astonishing album, heavy beats, powerful lyrics and most importantly an album true to his fans. He takes you on a journey from selling oxy from a nissan to be being proclaimed man of the year. Avoiding any comparison to Kendrick Lamar, the TDE influence is strong and the album has remnants of GKMC, yet this refined story is personal and explores the issues Quincy has faced... Great album with great beats Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2015
    8
    Very solid commercial project from Q even if it's a little bit of a step down from Setbacks and HnC. I enjoyed the production and aggressiveVery solid commercial project from Q even if it's a little bit of a step down from Setbacks and HnC. I enjoyed the production and aggressive rapping all throughout the album. Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Oxymoron had to be one of the most anticipated rap albums of 2014, releasing singles like Man of tHe Year, Break tHe Bank and Collard Greens. It had high expectations, both musically and commercially. In my opinion, it met the musical expectation fairly well. Though ScHoolboy is not the most lyrical rapper out there, his storytelling ability and his ability to capture you into songs stands out, making you unable to ignore some of these songs. Production-wise, this album is pretty good, with some great production on tracks like Man of tHe Year and Collard Greens (wise decision to make them singles), Los Awesome and the Tyler, the Creator-produced track The Purge. Its concept is nothing REALLY new to rap, but the way ScHoolboy tells it, offering different perspectives, enlightens it more, adding to its originality.

    Overall: 7.5/10, but Metacritic doesn't accept decimals, so I gave it a 7/10.
    Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2014
    7
    Oxymoron is missing the initial consciousness we saw on Habits & Contradictions, but is still a good album, with well produced, well written,Oxymoron is missing the initial consciousness we saw on Habits & Contradictions, but is still a good album, with well produced, well written, listener-friendly tracks like Man of the Year and Collard Greens. Step in the right direction. Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2014
    1
    Horrible, horrible album. Screaming into the microphone isnt rapping, and its all Q does on this album. Not an enjoyable listen at all, I wishHorrible, horrible album. Screaming into the microphone isnt rapping, and its all Q does on this album. Not an enjoyable listen at all, I wish I could have my time back i wasted listening to this. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews