Palms - Palms
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    80
    For fans of the members' other groups, Palms' debut is an easy recommendation that will leave listeners enjoying the similarities and getting lost exploring the differences.
  2. Jun 25, 2013
    80
    Moreno's breathy vocal soar over the backbone of guitarist Clifford Mayer, bassist Jeff Caxide and drummer Aaron Harris, as melodic and uplifting as they've ever sounded, and the end result is absolutely beautiful. [Jul 2013, p.102]
  3. 80
    Palms is a marriage made in post-rock heaven. [Aug 2013, p.86]
  4. 60
    The problem of carving a new brand of sprawling music that feels carefully hand-crafted at every nook while not letting those nooks fly by too easily, or unappreciated, is not one that Palms has a great solution towards.
  5. Jul 8, 2013
    70
    Palms is best at its tightest, but is perhaps a tad messier than it really needs to be.
  6. Jun 25, 2013
    80
    It only takes a few spins to detach oneself from the hype and respect the admirable groundwork laid down here for future greatness.
  7. Jul 15, 2013
    60
    Accomplished but a little safe, perhaps, Palms is nevertheless an intriguing project worthy of a sequel. [22 Jun 2013, p.52]
  8. Sep 20, 2013
    60
    For the time being Palms are holding fast to a distinctly high-flying trajectory. [Oct 2013, p.90]
  9. Jun 25, 2013
    90
    Palms then is so much more than the sum of its constituent parts. It won’t please everyone, particularly those with preconceived notions. But with any luck, this collaboration will continue beyond a single album, because on this evidence they’re really onto something.
  10. Jul 24, 2013
    65
    On Palms, the underlying parts fit together so smoothly that there's never any friction that could lead to a spark.
  11. Jul 8, 2013
    60
    Dreamy and textural, Palms is quite good at evoking what it’s meant to, and instrumentally all the musicians here play an impressive game.
  12. Jul 10, 2013
    80
    Palms is a heavy, explorative listen. [Aug 2013, p.96]
  13. Jun 25, 2013
    75
    It’s not exactly clear what he or his new bandmates are letting go of, but it’s not hard to guess. And if making a pleasant, breezy, subdued album is another way for them to release their baggage, at least they made their purge a pretty one.
  14. 60
    It’s a solid start from this supergroup, but the tug of old strings still dominates proceedings a little too much to mark this out as anything wholly unique in itself. But for some, that’ll be just fine.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    In my opinion, this is the best music Chino Moreno has put out since White Pony. The songs are very long, but they all avoid repetition, andIn my opinion, this is the best music Chino Moreno has put out since White Pony. The songs are very long, but they all avoid repetition, and there isn't much padding either. In fact, the sound of the album is a bit like White Pony, but more ambient and expansive.
    The album rarely gets very heavy, and it's far from fast paced, but if that isn't something that bothers you, then you ought to enjoy it. A great album to relax to.
    For me, it's the best album of 2013, even over Run the Jewels.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 12, 2014
    5
    I really love ISIS, my all time favorite band and Deftones are right behind them. I also like the other Chino's side projects but I don'tI really love ISIS, my all time favorite band and Deftones are right behind them. I also like the other Chino's side projects but I don't really like Palms. It's not because I was expecting a heavier album, something just doesn't click for me. Full Review »