Panic of Girls

Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Mojo
    Dec 12, 2011
    60
    The best tracks on Panic of Girls have some edge and bite... though the all-points-of-the-compass eclecticism makes [it] sound somewhat disjointed and schizophrenic. [Aug. 2011, pg. 99]
  2. Oct 28, 2011
    60
    While Panic of Girls certainly advances Blondie's legacy as an influential and consistently relevant force, there are a few moments that, at best, improve upon repeated listening or at worst, taint the band's otherwise commendable return to recording.
  3. Sep 28, 2011
    60
    Yet, if the tunes sometimes sag, Debbie Harry's voice remains sharply sculpted.
  4. If only the other half of this album didn't spiral off into wretched reggae stylings, this would be alright.
  5. 60
    None of it will set the Saturday dancefloors on fire with pouting thrills, though it may sound cool enough over coffee in the cafes of Sunday morning.
  6. Uncut
    Jul 19, 2011
    40
    The weakness is the music. [Aug 2011, p.79]
  7. Jul 1, 2011
    40
    That Panic of Girls gives way from innovation to imitation is regrettable--but in an era in which bands are content to simply wheel out their back catalogue in return for a fat pay check, it's admirable that Blondie are still here and still looking forward, even if only fleetingly.
  8. Jul 1, 2011
    40
    It will do for the festivals but not without considerable help from their back catalogue.
  9. 40
    Throughout, the sound is brittle and strident, like space-rock-candy, with Deborah Harry's allure buried far too deeply in the crowded mix to be particularly effective.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Nov 18, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Despite the years Blondie knows how to make good songs, I love it for that. Peru loves you, Debbie. My favorite song is What I Heard.

    Although I met them recently, it makes me a great and great band.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    A fan's opinion: Panic of Girls is the best after Eat to the Beat. Many of the songs take us back to their career highlights. What I Heard hasA fan's opinion: Panic of Girls is the best after Eat to the Beat. Many of the songs take us back to their career highlights. What I Heard has the powerful sound of Union City Blue while The End The End leads me to The Tide is High. It is amazing to see how Debbie's voice fits perfectly in the sound. I just hope Ghosts of Download to be released without label problems. Full Review »