Paperwork

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 25, 2014
    10
    A great album, not enough trap for a trap artist but still a great album. The production got more variety than his previous album but this is very smooth, the singles "About the money" and " No mediocre" are nice, but my favotite songs are "New National Anthem", "Oh Yeah" and "About My Issue".
  2. Oct 21, 2014
    7
    TI has a flow which I feel has almost always matched the production (beats/bass,etc). This album does not depart from that in my opinion. Although there are certain elements that continue to reappear in all of his CDs-songs made to be singles, going hard non-radio stuff...etc. This album sounds almost like a mixtape with all the people he has on this thing. All in all, I found it to be aTI has a flow which I feel has almost always matched the production (beats/bass,etc). This album does not depart from that in my opinion. Although there are certain elements that continue to reappear in all of his CDs-songs made to be singles, going hard non-radio stuff...etc. This album sounds almost like a mixtape with all the people he has on this thing. All in all, I found it to be a bit too commercial-missing some of the hard sh*t-especially when compared to previous albums. Maybe its the selection of producers (ex. pHarell) or whatever. But this is certainly not my favorite TI album. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2015
    7
    7.1/10................................................................................................................................................
  4. Oct 31, 2014
    6
    Overall, this is not a bad album. However, it undoubtedly fails to reach the heights of better T.I. albums like Urban Legend, King, and Paper Trail. I even prefer his previous album, Trouble Man: Heavy Is the Head to this one. Though, luckily, it is better than T.I. vs. T.I.P. and No Mercy, which is nice. This one is all over the place stylistically, but T.I. truly succeeds when he’s overOverall, this is not a bad album. However, it undoubtedly fails to reach the heights of better T.I. albums like Urban Legend, King, and Paper Trail. I even prefer his previous album, Trouble Man: Heavy Is the Head to this one. Though, luckily, it is better than T.I. vs. T.I.P. and No Mercy, which is nice. This one is all over the place stylistically, but T.I. truly succeeds when he’s over a banging beat (King and On Doe, On Phil) or over a slowed down one on a track that is meant to be deeper (like on my favorite track, Let Your Heart Go). The features, aside from Pharrell are solid. In particular, Lil Boosie, Young Thug, Victoria Monet, and The-Dream, all do their thing and those tracks are better for it. The production here was spotty and I blame that to an out of form Pharrell in some instances. His vocal work here was poor and I did not love any of his beat contributions. However, when this album soars, it is largely due to T.I. and his presence on the mic. When it falters, it is typically due to something else (a bad hook, poor production, a bad guest, etc.). Overall, this is a solid entry into T.I.’s discography, though it does fall short of my expectations. Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 10, 2014
    60
    Working with new producers has opened up his style, his writing, his approach, all in exciting ways. He just might need a more brutal editor going forward.
  2. Oct 27, 2014
    70
    His last record boasted that he was the Trouble Man, but with a clear mind and fewer visible burdens, Clifford Harris has produced his most thoughtful and substantive record in years.
  3. Oct 22, 2014
    80
    Despite the album’s loaded guest list, T.I. manages to squeeze in enough room to allow himself to shine and tells us why after nearly 15 years deep; he’s still a top-tier artist in the game.