Parachutes

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 276 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 276

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 12, 2016
    10
    Parachutes is one of best debut album ever. Every songs are meaningful and potentially can be single (not only Yellow, Trouble, Shiver). Someone of the peoples said this album "Very boring". But they are not understand pure music art.
  2. Jun 14, 2016
    10
    This album is beautiful.
    Don't Panic, Yellow, and Shiver are awesome songs.
    But that's not all. All of the songs are great.
    Awesome Alternative music.
  3. Jun 5, 2016
    7
    I'm not really a huge fan of Coldplay. But their songs are really good. "Sparks", "Yellow" and "Trouble" are the really good ones out of all of this album. Good album.
  4. Jan 22, 2016
    9
    Up to the title track this album is a masterpiece but it wanes a little towards the end though the final track is redemption enough. Of course we now know this was just the start and they've only got better with each subsequent record but I will always come back to their debut and enjoy it just as much each time and more likely even more so. The nostalgia value is priceless.
  5. Aug 14, 2015
    9
    An album full of otherworldly music. The sad feels that Trouble's guitar chord emanates... The joy that is Yellow... The electricity of Shiver (My favorite song of the whole album)... The melancholy of We Never Change... LOVE IT
  6. Jun 14, 2015
    10
    This album never gets old ! A Melodic combination of Chiming guitars and sweet vocals. Perfect atmosphere this album is. Utter Alternative music.
    In Parachutes, Coldplay is an interesting version of Radiohead and a cold version of U2
  7. May 15, 2015
    10
    The album starts out with "Don't Panic". It is a feel good-calm track that lasts for two minutes. "Shiver" is one of my favorites from the album, the song is calm and great for walks and the song is well-produced. "Spies" is an interesting track from the album, Chris Martin's vocal is very pleasing at the end of this track. "Sparks" is a cute track from the album. "Yellow", the lead singleThe album starts out with "Don't Panic". It is a feel good-calm track that lasts for two minutes. "Shiver" is one of my favorites from the album, the song is calm and great for walks and the song is well-produced. "Spies" is an interesting track from the album, Chris Martin's vocal is very pleasing at the end of this track. "Sparks" is a cute track from the album. "Yellow", the lead single from the album is also one of my favorites. Today, "Yellow" has proved to be Coldplay's "breakout" track and is still spinning on AC stations. "Trouble" is a beautiful pop-rock ballad, the song is perfect when you are feeling depressed or sad, but at the same time, it is an beautiful track. "High Speed" to me, is another track that shows Chris Martin's vocal ability. The song gives me an cool vibe. "We Never Change" is an boring track to me, however lyrically the song is an a-ok. "Everything's Not Lost" is an greatly produced song that is beautifully written and sung. The stand-out tracks of the album include "Don't Panic", "Shiver", "Yellow", "Trouble", "High Speed", and "Everything's Not Lost". Overall, Parachutes is a great debut album by Coldplay and is one of the 2000s decades best. Expand
  8. Oct 14, 2014
    8
    I love the chilling quaintness of the entire thing. The guitar chords are great, especially on Spies, which reminds me of James Bond. It's great that there are only a few real climaxes, and the rest builds up slowly to those. It's a pretty genius record. Favorite track: Spies
  9. Sep 14, 2014
    10
    This is one of the best record of the decade. After this, Coldplay had never sound the same again. They were real and true to their project the rest are good records but not like this one. Some of the others you cannot fell their essence i admit they are evolving.
  10. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    É um album explosivo, é muito forte para um debut, chega a ser impressionante que coldplay consegue fazer músicas com batidas tão calmas e não apelar para os palavrões e xingamentos,belissímas músicas e um ótimo album.
  11. May 1, 2014
    9
    Coldplay, with Parachutes, created a very strong album with a satisfying acoustic oriented album. Coldplay shook the musical world with this album, and wrote meaningful songs. Now upbeat, and somewhat dark, Parachutes is an album that leaves you wanting to listen to it more.
  12. Apr 19, 2014
    8
    Parachutes is a great debut album for Coldplay. It has a great and unique style to it and I must say that if you listen to Coldplay's newer stuff and then come back to this, you can totally see the changes CP has made throughout the years; but I've liked most things that Coldplay has tried out unlike some fans who only like the first 3 Coldplay albums but hates everything after that. So IParachutes is a great debut album for Coldplay. It has a great and unique style to it and I must say that if you listen to Coldplay's newer stuff and then come back to this, you can totally see the changes CP has made throughout the years; but I've liked most things that Coldplay has tried out unlike some fans who only like the first 3 Coldplay albums but hates everything after that. So I do think that Parachutes is a worthy debut for the famed band, Coldplay. My favorite tracks are "Don't Panic", "Sparks", and "Yellow". Expand
  13. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    Parachutes is a very impressive and strong debut album for Coldplay. Every track is excellent but among the most noteworthy is Yellow, Trouble, Shiver, and Don't Panic. Parachutes set the incredible standard that Coldplay has kept over a decade later.
  14. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    Quite simply perfect in a quiet, understated, romanitc, haunting way. So evocative and personal that it can't help but affect you. Coldplay was never better than in this stunning first album.
  15. Sep 27, 2012
    5
    the thing here is that they need more room for their safe genre out there....the basic thing would be producing more songs like Trouble and Yellow......Some of their strength to prove out they are and will be best....good but not good as their second and best A Rush Of Blood To The Head
  16. Sep 8, 2012
    8
    Have you ever heard the phrase "simplicity over complexity?". Well this album is a perfect example. You wake up and drink your coffee at a raining morning as you listen to Parachutes. The melody of the soft acoustic ballads enter smoothly at your ears making the moment remarkable. Solid album, definitely.
  17. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    A great debut full of top class lo fi indie songs from a band that would go onto become stadium rock giants. Every song on this is quality while the singles Shiver, Yellow and Trouble are timeless in my opinion. The best thing about this album is it shows how good Coldplay are without all the smoke and mirrors. There later albums have so much production that the songs often don't get theA great debut full of top class lo fi indie songs from a band that would go onto become stadium rock giants. Every song on this is quality while the singles Shiver, Yellow and Trouble are timeless in my opinion. The best thing about this album is it shows how good Coldplay are without all the smoke and mirrors. There later albums have so much production that the songs often don't get the credit they deserve, whereas on Parachutes less production is definitely more. Expand
  18. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    One of the most powerful debut albums of all time, Parachutes is now an absolute classic. The songs pulse with heart and soul. You'll be amazed from start to finish.
  19. Oct 28, 2011
    9
    This album is so mellow that it almost goes overboard but all of it's songs are at least good and songs like "Sparks", "Trouble", "Spies" and "Yellow" make this album great.
  20. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    Great album my favorite album so far! best songs: Sparks Yellow Shiver Don't Panic
  21. Aug 6, 2011
    8
    A fantastic debut album by well-known brit rock band Coldplay. Yes, it sounds a little like the first era Radiohead (as they seem to prepher to do electronics I don't see anything wrong about it) but it also has some classic Coldplay songs like Trouble or Yellow. Another very good song is Sparks. A few others aren't that good but, as a whole, the album is great.
  22. Apr 17, 2011
    10
    Coldplay's first album and easily their best work. The first eight tracks are superb... just chill out and listen to their creation. One of my Top 10 favorite albums to listen to.
  23. Dec 30, 2010
    9
    As far as debut albums go, this is a shining example of one. If this is your type of music, then I can't really think of anything to let you down here. It's good to go back to now the band have become as big as they have, to hear them with less production money and ego behind them.
  24. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    Fine little syinthesis. Lyrically not very strong, but the level of consistency is so high that it's almost impossible for a debut album. Recommended tracks: "Don't Panic", "Spies", "Trouble"
  25. AMRTOW
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    One of the most romantic albums I have heard. i loved Spies, Easy to Please, Trouble and Beautiful World.
  26. ScottW
    Aug 19, 2007
    8
    A good solid album. Nice and easy to listen to. Considering its the first album they did, its very good.
  27. andiev
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    coldplay is a legend now
  28. MihaiV.
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    Still sounds fresh today.
  29. VeronikaL
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    I think,that this is the best album.I love,love.love this band
  30. IbanL
    Oct 5, 2006
    6
    This is by far the best record that Coldplay has released to date. It was a worthy debut and they showed they had some kind of talent that, unfortunately, they have completely wasted.
  31. Myles#13
    Sep 6, 2006
    8
    A great album, a must-buy. Although Coldplay's initial effort is not as refined as 'AROBTTH' or 'X&Y', it is still one of the best albums you will ever hear.
  32. Jenna
    Jun 11, 2006
    9
    Who would have thought that these ten simple songs would act as the launching pad to send Chris and co. to the sonic stratosphere of pop in 2005/2006? Regardless, contained in these ten simple songs are moments of bliss (Shiver, Yellow), rue (Trouble) and just pure loveliness (the succint title track). Why am I not granting it a 10? Perhaps for Chris' rather childish lyrics or for Who would have thought that these ten simple songs would act as the launching pad to send Chris and co. to the sonic stratosphere of pop in 2005/2006? Regardless, contained in these ten simple songs are moments of bliss (Shiver, Yellow), rue (Trouble) and just pure loveliness (the succint title track). Why am I not granting it a 10? Perhaps for Chris' rather childish lyrics or for the far-too-slow pacing near the end (particulary in We Never Change). No matter, Parachutes is damn near ethereal in its melodies and mood. And as the reviewer below me has stated----it's Coldplay, how can you hate?? Expand
  33. HowCanUHate
    Mar 23, 2006
    10
    Coldplay?
  34. MoL
    Feb 28, 2006
    8
    Smart, but pretty boring. Maybe 1 or 2 songs hit the level of Rush Of Blood, and for some people, that may not be enough to constitute a great rating. For me, I take what littl magic I can get from these guys.
  35. shyman
    Feb 18, 2006
    9
    This is probably the most complex, intimate, dark and in general terms the best album this British band has come up with out of the tree until date. I think the main reason to explain this is because this album lacks of any commercial pretension its followers (specially X & Y) seem to be more focused on. On this record we find the strongest and most atmospheric guitar work this band has This is probably the most complex, intimate, dark and in general terms the best album this British band has come up with out of the tree until date. I think the main reason to explain this is because this album lacks of any commercial pretension its followers (specially X & Y) seem to be more focused on. On this record we find the strongest and most atmospheric guitar work this band has ever accomplished and also Chris Martin's vocals appear as sincere and appropiate as ever. Then, for me, this is probably their finest or at least their most personal and honest work to date. Expand
  36. GazR
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    Perfect, after you listen to it you think to yourself 'not one bad song' and it's toataly true. I can't point out all the good songs becasue they are all GREAT but personal favorates have to be Yellow Trouble and Shiver all classics. But you must mention how unbelivable the first six songs are Don't panic Shiver Spies Sparks Yellow Trouble all unbelivalbley brilliant
  37. JonR
    Nov 19, 2005
    9
    A stunningly amazing album in its honesty and emotion. Lacking in the textural blur of Coldplays later two albums (thus far) but insted relying on the ring of Buckland's guitar hooks and Martins vocals to creat engaging tunes. Shiver-Spies-Sparks are perfectly matched and fade gentaly down to the albums single, Yellow. The remainder of the album begins to indolge in noodling a bit A stunningly amazing album in its honesty and emotion. Lacking in the textural blur of Coldplays later two albums (thus far) but insted relying on the ring of Buckland's guitar hooks and Martins vocals to creat engaging tunes. Shiver-Spies-Sparks are perfectly matched and fade gentaly down to the albums single, Yellow. The remainder of the album begins to indolge in noodling a bit more but still includes some notible hooks and choruses before finishing with "all is not lost" a beautiful sing along that the whole band seems to get swept up in. Definetly the best of Coldplay's albums, and probible that it will remain that way for years to come. Expand
  38. JoeM
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    This album is MINTA!
  39. MattA
    Aug 3, 2005
    9
    I love coldplay... I loved AROBTTH, but when i first listened to parachutes... i hated it. Then about six months down the road i actually sat down and listened to it twice in a row and almost all the songs grew on me. I grew to love Shiver, and Spies, and Highspeed. The guitar in the songs is stronger than in their newer albums, i feel, unlike how the piano is key in AROBTTH. If you give I love coldplay... I loved AROBTTH, but when i first listened to parachutes... i hated it. Then about six months down the road i actually sat down and listened to it twice in a row and almost all the songs grew on me. I grew to love Shiver, and Spies, and Highspeed. The guitar in the songs is stronger than in their newer albums, i feel, unlike how the piano is key in AROBTTH. If you give this album a chance im sure it'll grow on you eventually, even though you may hate it at first, i did. Expand
  40. DavidP
    Jul 29, 2005
    9
    An amazing debut that includes several classic songs like No Panic, Yellow, Shiver or Trouble. A great album, and the album you must hear first if you have not listened Coldplay music before.
  41. DanielG
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    Not up with there with A RUSH OF BLOOD TO THE HEAD, but full of great songs. SPIES, SHIVER, YELLOW and HIGH SPEED are in my opinion the best songs however they are ALL good. A classic.
  42. [Anonymous]
    Feb 13, 2005
    3
    Yellow is one of the worst songs ever.I dont think thers one decent track on here.
  43. Bi
    Jan 3, 2005
    0
    Over-rated!
  44. ReneeA
    Feb 5, 2004
    10
    This is the best CD I have ever had in my 17yrs. There's no way possible that anyone with a real soul and mind could ever dog this album. Coldplay is great- even to the sarcastic, opinionated person.
  45. KiwiJ
    Jan 21, 2004
    9
    An album of dreamy lightweight rock that should fail due to its inconsequence, but which somehow succeeds in lifting the spirits and sending the listener into a world of quiet calm. Much is due to Chris Martin's fragile but affecting voice, particularly on standout track Spies. It's a bit like Sergeant Pepper without the LSD.
  46. RamF
    Nov 13, 2003
    8
    A very very good album that hints at the brilliance that is "A Rush of Blood to the Head", Coldplay's second album.
  47. MitchH.
    Oct 18, 2003
    10
    This is my absoulte favorite cd. I listen to it all the time. Coldplay is the best band around. Every song is great.
  48. MikeP
    Sep 19, 2003
    10
    This album is fantastic and comes close to being the most inspiring ive ever heard. If you dont have it, get it, simple as that.
  49. SeanJ
    Jun 22, 2003
    9
    Very good CD that you can fall asleep to.
  50. anshumans
    Oct 18, 2002
    10
    it deserves a 10,if it would have been on 50, i wouldn't have given it a second thought. c'mon guys,just their first album and wholla!it's really good.be it in music,lyrics and not to forget chris's voice. way to go guys.love you!
  51. ErwinK.
    Apr 15, 2002
    2
    Utterly un-inspiring, dull, with weak pretty-boy lyrics. It dumbfounds me the amount of critical acclaim this band gets. If it weren't for Radiohead head this boring, musically vacant fourpiece would be back washing dishes.
  52. Craig
    Jul 23, 2001
    9
    This album is near-perfect with Trouble being quite possibly one of the best songs I have ever heard.It has a haunting piano and Chris Martin's voice just teetering on the edge of despair is sublime.
  53. PhilipR.
    Jul 16, 2001
    10
    This is easily the best album of the last twelve months! I strive to make an album as cohesive and endearing as this one.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Although "Parachutes" brings nothing new to the table, Coldplay seems talented enough to transcend this early identity crisis.
  2. Combining bits of distorted guitar riffs and swishing percussion, Parachutes is a delightful introduction and also quickly indicates the reason why this album earned Coldplay a Mercury Music Prize nomination in fall 2000.
  3. Their debut album's secret arsenal comprises frontman Chris Martin's voice - prematurely aged for someone in their early twenties - and some supple, persuasive melodies. That and a great big side order of melancholy.