Parachutes

Parachutes Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 296 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut album from the London quartet earned the band a Mercury Music Prize nomination and frequent comparisons to Jeff Buckley and Travis.

Top Track

Yellow
Look at the stars Look how they shine for you And everything you do Yeah they were all yellow I came along I wrote a song for you And all the things... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. All told, it's incredible this is a debut album. Accomplished, yet subtle, it works perfectly as a whole in a way all the production skills in the world couldn't replicate.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    This is dreamy, regretful pop with melodies that dog you like a missed opportunity. [11/17/2000, p.127]
  3. Their debut album's secret arsenal comprises frontman Chris Martin's voice - prematurely aged for someone in their early twenties - and some supple, persuasive melodies. That and a great big side order of melancholy.
  4. Revolver
    70
    Nearly perfectly formed, a confident showing of pristine, heartfelt songs that stand up alone and gain greater strength in the context of the full album, which ebbs and flows in a great purge of emotions. [#3, p.120]
  5. Once you fall for "Yellow," the rest of the album will kick in, and fast.
  6. Although "Parachutes" brings nothing new to the table, Coldplay seems talented enough to transcend this early identity crisis.
  7. Magnet
    20
    Musically, the quartet is borderline worthless. [#48, p.84]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 55
  2. Negative: 3 out of 55
  1. AMRTOW
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    One of the most romantic albums I have heard. i loved Spies, Easy to Please, Trouble and Beautiful World.
  2. Aug 12, 2016
    10
    Parachutes is one of best debut album ever. Every songs are meaningful and potentially can be single (not only Yellow, Trouble, Shiver).Parachutes is one of best debut album ever. Every songs are meaningful and potentially can be single (not only Yellow, Trouble, Shiver). Someone of the peoples said this album "Very boring". But they are not understand pure music art. Expand
  3. May 15, 2015
    10
    The album starts out with "Don't Panic". It is a feel good-calm track that lasts for two minutes. "Shiver" is one of my favorites from theThe album starts out with "Don't Panic". It is a feel good-calm track that lasts for two minutes. "Shiver" is one of my favorites from the album, the song is calm and great for walks and the song is well-produced. "Spies" is an interesting track from the album, Chris Martin's vocal is very pleasing at the end of this track. "Sparks" is a cute track from the album. "Yellow", the lead single from the album is also one of my favorites. Today, "Yellow" has proved to be Coldplay's "breakout" track and is still spinning on AC stations. "Trouble" is a beautiful pop-rock ballad, the song is perfect when you are feeling depressed or sad, but at the same time, it is an beautiful track. "High Speed" to me, is another track that shows Chris Martin's vocal ability. The song gives me an cool vibe. "We Never Change" is an boring track to me, however lyrically the song is an a-ok. "Everything's Not Lost" is an greatly produced song that is beautifully written and sung. The stand-out tracks of the album include "Don't Panic", "Shiver", "Yellow", "Trouble", "High Speed", and "Everything's Not Lost". Overall, Parachutes is a great debut album by Coldplay and is one of the 2000s decades best. Expand
  4. KiwiJ
    Jan 21, 2004
    9
    An album of dreamy lightweight rock that should fail due to its inconsequence, but which somehow succeeds in lifting the spirits and sending An album of dreamy lightweight rock that should fail due to its inconsequence, but which somehow succeeds in lifting the spirits and sending the listener into a world of quiet calm. Much is due to Chris Martin's fragile but affecting voice, particularly on standout track Spies. It's a bit like Sergeant Pepper without the LSD. Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2015
    9
    An album full of otherworldly music. The sad feels that Trouble's guitar chord emanates... The joy that is Yellow... The electricity of ShiverAn album full of otherworldly music. The sad feels that Trouble's guitar chord emanates... The joy that is Yellow... The electricity of Shiver (My favorite song of the whole album)... The melancholy of We Never Change... LOVE IT Expand
  6. May 1, 2014
    9
    Coldplay, with Parachutes, created a very strong album with a satisfying acoustic oriented album. Coldplay shook the musical world with thisColdplay, with Parachutes, created a very strong album with a satisfying acoustic oriented album. Coldplay shook the musical world with this album, and wrote meaningful songs. Now upbeat, and somewhat dark, Parachutes is an album that leaves you wanting to listen to it more. Expand
  7. Bi
    Jan 3, 2005
    0
    Over-rated!

See all 55 User Reviews