Paradise [EP] - Lana Del Rey
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 216 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 216

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    She is back with more but yet 8 new tracks for her EP - Paradise, which is sufficient to tell her story. We can see there is a huge difference between Born To Die and Paradise as Paradise is more of a dreamy and fantasy production to the tracks but yet with the same flow as Born To Die. I can say this EP is on par with The Fame Monster as both delivers a sufficient amount of quality to her fans. Beautiful Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Lana Del Rey returns with another lyrical masterpiece. Although pretentious critics say that her songwriting had regressed, I say the opposite! This album is another piece in the puzzle that is Lana Del Rey and a perfect counterpart to the original.
  3. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    CRÍTICOS = LIXO
    ÁLBUM = PERFEITO
    CANTORA
    COMPOSITORA
    MULHER
    RICA
    NÃO FAZ PLAYBACK
    NÃO COPIA
    MODELO DA JAGUAR
    TEM A TESTA PEQUENA
    TEM O NARIZ PEQUENO
    VAGINADA
  4. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    The EP of our generation, The Fame Monster who? Highlights
    Cola: "My **** tastes like Pepsi cola" is probably the lyric of the Decade
    Body Electric : Beautiful
    etc,..
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Lana Del Rey apresentou músicas excelentes neste "Paradise"
    Ride, American, Body Eletric, Bel Air, Cola, Gods & Monsters e Blue Velvet são canções lindas que com a voz de Lana se transformam em uma linda poesia em busca do Paraíso. Lana Del Rey mostrando que não está de brincadeira e pode sem problemas, se orgulhar de sua caminhada
    até aqui. Críticas? Sem virão, mas o importante é sempre está de cabeça erguida! Melhor Albúm do Ano Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    One of the best albums, EP's, call it whatever released the past few years. I didn't buy the hype for Lana Del Rey, but I'm not buying the bandwagon hate towards Lana. Sadly, a lot of people do that. Let her album sales speak for her quality, popularity and originality.
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Ride: Her lead single is pretty perfect. I love the bridge "I'm tired of feeling like i am f*cking crazy". Absolutely amazing! 10/10
    American: Slowly but still interesting. She really loves her country :P 8/10
    Cola: "My **** tastes like Pepsi Cola" is not my favorite part. But the chorus is still thrilling!!! 8/10
    Body Electric: A dark song. I love it. It sounds like a Halloween
    Soundtrack. 9/10
    Blue Velvet: A Cover for H&M. But it sounds like the song was made for her. 10/10
    Gods and Monsters: The song brings you in another world until she sings **** you" :D 9/10
    Yayo: Her oldest song. But I love it 10/10
    Bel Air: The best song on "Paradise". I live the bridge. 10/10

    9/10 points. I give a 10 because I love the the design of Paradise
    Expand
  8. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    55? really? so little? the critic reviews are so stupid paradise is a good album and for me deserves 70 (not more and not less) the critic reviews is for me a bullsh*t
  9. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    I Consider This Born To Die Part 2... Along With Born To Die The Best Album Of 2012! (TIED!)
    Once More Del Rey Makes The Most Creative Songs Ever!
    I 100% Disagree With Rolling Stone's Review "Del Rey is far from a great singer, and her songs tend to drag"
  10. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    This is a much needed improvement on Born to Die, lyrically and sonically. The songs can get slow (Bel Air) but it's all about atmosphere. And let's not forget that 'Cola' has this years best lyrics. Her voice finally isn't all baby talk and pathetic rap; now it is much stronger and much more emphasized. As a whole, 'Cola,' and 'Ride' are definitely the best tracks, the latter practically being the new 'Video Games.' However, I wish she tried to switch up her act a bit; I heard some leaked tracks that actually sounded poppy and I wished she had put them on the EP. If you're interested in it, listen to 'Hit and Run,' it's great and maybe a hint of the Lana to come.

    The low critic review is only based off of four reviews, so I implore you to do your own research and give this EP a chance! You'll probably be impressed, or at least shocked by some of the things she says coupled with the haunting vocals. It's a good listen overall!
    Expand
  11. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    Once again, critics are basing their opinions on Lana's stage performance rather than the album itself. Paradise, much like Born to Die, is dream pop in it's best. With the whole cinematic "Hollywood" sound and brilliant lyrics, Paradise achieves the "gangsta Nancy Sinatra" sound that should not be avoided.
  12. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    Born to Die Paradise Edition is a good example of a new concept of music with beautiful, deep lyrics and 9 new songs as good as the others from the last album.
  13. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Lana Del Rey follows up with the beautilful album 'Born to Die' album with an album packed with slow and powerful ballads. The standout track "Ride" showcases how powerful she can be trough song. She is here to stay here both as a singer and also as a songwriter.
  14. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Del Rey shines bright as the Paradise EP captivates fans around the world, allowing Lana to prove herself as one of the best there is, in years to come. The EP opens with the soothing sound of Ride, getting audiences in that mood straight away, leaving us on the edge of our seats, wait for the arrival of track 2 (and so on). After a full listen of the album, its easy to say Lana stayed true to her roots on this project, something most of today's singers fail to do, as we see countless stars selling out to dance-pop, however Lana's legit attitudes comes over as a breeze of fresh air. A filler-free, instant classic everybody should pick up as in my eyes, Born to Die: The Paradise Edition can be said to be one of the best releases of the past decade... Expand
  15. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    Much better than "Born To Die" She's at her when she's vulnerable. In "Yayo" sounds as if it was written for her by Jeff Buckley . Her voice doesn't cater to uptempo tracks. It completely takes away from the character of her voice, I actually think it would sound odd.She might be a one trick pony but its a trick that no other pony can do.
  16. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Just As Perfect As Born To Die!
    American Is My Favorite Song!
  17. May 13, 2014
    10
    Una Joya excelente con las canciones mas hermosas y melancolicas, un diseño que expone una maravilla visual, un atardecer paradisiaco y una hermosa Lana del rey. una gran puñalada es que no hayan puesto "Burning Desire" en su version fisica. GRANDE LANA!!!!
  18. May 21, 2014
    10
    Paradise's exposure of an explicit, retro fantasy might be one of the most true moments of the musical decade, proving Lana's consistence as a century legend and giving her first album its deserved missing piece.
  19. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    Very solid record, is short but is enough to express what she needs to say. Every single song,probably with the exception of Yayo has a meaning, and the cover of Blue Velvet is just a classic. Better than Born to Die in terms of maturity and development of the lyrics. If there were some flaws on it, I'd just say that maybe it lacks a bit of cohesion and some songs would fit better with each other if they had been arranged just a bit different. An amazingly great and very solid alternative pop album. Expand
  20. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    'Paradise' EP makes my feelings go so high! I still fall in love with all songs, all time that I listen it. I really feel that my soul is on the Heaven, because the mix of her voice with lyrics and beats make it hot and better than ever.
  21. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    Perfect EP. Ride, Body Electric, Cola and Burning Desire are the best. She mixes poetry and part of her life in songs like Ride, and Body Electric. I hope Ultraviolence doesn't disappoint.
    Lana made a good job
  22. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    64???????
    For me,it's 94.
    That's ep is just no better than Ultraviolence.
    Lana is the queen of Indie Pop,sorry Lorde i love you,but you're just the princess,Lana is the boss ****
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jan 2, 2013
    70
    Born to Die's highlights are both slightly more numerous and slightly more effective--but it's still a very strong, successful record, whether taken as an addition or a follow-up.
  2. 67
    Though she makes a few knowingly meta nods to her own rep, Paradise leans too hard on the same tired drowsy-Lolita poses. [23 Nov 2012, p.70]
  3. 70
    Once you accept that Lana knows exactly what she's doing--that she, not Interscope Records or any of her co-producers, is the architect behind this R-rated retro-pop fantasy--then maybe you'll start loving her, too.