Parallax - Atlas Sound
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Parallax is one of the best albums I've had the pleasure of hearing all year.
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    90
    There's always something a bit fresh to the way Cox decides to articulate his musical notions, and this album shows that regardless of the ways his influences and ideas phase around each other, the impressions he presents are among the most appealing to be found.
  3. 90
    What makes Parallax a fully realized album is, in contrast to its compact musicality, the expanses and voids Cox explores.
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    90
    Cox sounds comfortable and confident, and has made the best solo album of his prolific career.
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    91
    It's a brilliant feat: to make a record about distance, Cox has written the most effortlessly approachable music of his career.
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    90
    It's a fitting conclusion to a near perfect album that finds an artist expanding his musical palate without sacrificing an ounce of himself in the process.
  7. Nov 7, 2011
    87
    Parallax feels like a more complete work than any other Atlas Sound record, with the differences between the songs less distinct and everything flowing together more naturally.
  8. Nov 2, 2011
    90
    A sci-fi tint shifts the perspective from Atlas Sound's usual layered introspection: Inner space now has become outer space.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    Parallax by Atlas Sound aka Bradford Cox aka the-man-fronting-Deerhunter comes as a nice surprise. I expected a neurotic record of ambient andParallax by Atlas Sound aka Bradford Cox aka the-man-fronting-Deerhunter comes as a nice surprise. I expected a neurotic record of ambient and loudness (just think of Quick Canal featuring Laetitia Sadier of Stereolab from 2009 terrific Logos) from the über-prolific musician but no. Instead, Mr. Cox presented us with twelve croons, equally charming and hypnotic. Oh, and his best yet. Atlas Sound may finally feel at ease with himself but the truth lies much deeper. As usually, Bradford sings mostly about Bradford (and his demons). But Parallax is listed as â Full Review »
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The boy is on a roll of releases with Parallax being the absolute peak. Cox really has come into his own by letting his vocals take front seatThe boy is on a roll of releases with Parallax being the absolute peak. Cox really has come into his own by letting his vocals take front seat on this record, as opposed to the ethereal dreamscapes of Logos. Full Review »
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Great album, I love Deerhunter and when I saw Bradford Cox had released a new album with his side project Atlas Sound I got very interested inGreat album, I love Deerhunter and when I saw Bradford Cox had released a new album with his side project Atlas Sound I got very interested in hearing it. Full Review »