User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 9 out of 34

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    I waited for a peaceful moment in the busy work week to listen to the album with full concentration. Iâ
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    A glorious mess of deeply personal introspection and eclectic instrumentation. Each consecutive listen bring more clarity and enjoyment. Its one of those record where the first play-through has you thinking: "What on earth did I just listen to?". Nothing short of sublime.
  3. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    Kevin Barnes creates another splendorous record. I understand the different opinions the critics are having, but this has to be one of the most interesting releases in months. Totally worth buying it, the songs won't leave your head.
  4. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This is definitely their best album since "Hissing...". It is a very enjoyable record that will never get old. of Montreal keep reinventing the pop genre with new catchy beats .
  5. Feb 10, 2012
    7
    This is without a doubt the best balance of creativity, experimentality, and quality of songwriting we've heard from this band since Hissing Fauna. Skeletal Lamping was close, but that's another discussion. That being said, this album isn't perfect, and it's not making huge fans out of critics it seems, but I think this is going to become a fan favorite that will continue to get betterThis is without a doubt the best balance of creativity, experimentality, and quality of songwriting we've heard from this band since Hissing Fauna. Skeletal Lamping was close, but that's another discussion. That being said, this album isn't perfect, and it's not making huge fans out of critics it seems, but I think this is going to become a fan favorite that will continue to get better with every listen.

    It definitely is exhaustive though, and it's not the least bit accessible, but the abrasive parts are very interesting and are a nice contrast to the syrup-y sweet poppy parts that fill up the beginning of the album. If Barnes can just tighten this formula up for their next release and spend a few more months of fine tuning, I think he'll have a masterpiece on his hands, something we haven't seen in a few years.
    Expand
  6. Feb 27, 2012
    2
    To say I strongly dislike this album would be a huge understatement. It's the worst album I've heard in a long time and it ranks pretty low on the all time list. Words can't really do it justice but I will try. I always try to listen to an album at least three times but I really struggled to get through two listens with this (and this is coming from a guy with a very high tolerance forTo say I strongly dislike this album would be a huge understatement. It's the worst album I've heard in a long time and it ranks pretty low on the all time list. Words can't really do it justice but I will try. I always try to listen to an album at least three times but I really struggled to get through two listens with this (and this is coming from a guy with a very high tolerance for musical experimentation). Silence never sounded so sublime as when this album ended. On the vegetable scale this album ranks as boiled cabbage. If you are a fan of the band this album will change your mind. I feel like the quality of my life has declined since listening to this album. Ok all joking aside, besides the cover art I really can't find anything redeeming about this record at all. I've always thought these guys were eccentric but here they've completely gone over the top and they sound full blown pretentious. The lyrics and song titles are obnoxiously bad ("I turn to my crotch for counsel and it won't disappoint me" ) - I mean really?!? This guy takes douchebaggery to a whole new level. Musically it's even worse. The album is all over the place and not in a good way. The songs have no direction or cohesiveness. Think of the Beatles releasing an entire remix album of Revolution #9 and that's what this album sounds like - only much worse because of the horrendous lyrics. I could go on and on but I have to stop and purge this atrocity from my hard drive. For the love of christ Kevin Barnes check yourself in rehab (I'm assuming this album is heavily drug induced but I could be wrong), find a happy place, or better yet just pack up your instruments and call it a day because there is no coming back from this. The critics are being easy on these guys. I won't be listening to them for a long time. Expand
  7. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    Critics are fundamentally wrong about this album. In fact, this is probably the best Of Montreal to date. Even Gay Parade wasn't so amusing. Congrats guys!
  8. Mar 2, 2012
    7
    Well, it was difficult to analyse, but after listening 4 or 5 times, I have some conclusions.
    In general, the album is good, but only that. It has good moments, specially the firsts songs are good. But then, the troubles comes when the album becomes pretentious and overproduced. It is appreciated that it has a lot of elements and experimentation, but reaches a point in which results a
    Well, it was difficult to analyse, but after listening 4 or 5 times, I have some conclusions.
    In general, the album is good, but only that. It has good moments, specially the firsts songs are good. But then, the troubles comes when the album becomes pretentious and overproduced. It is appreciated that it has a lot of elements and experimentation, but reaches a point in which results a excess of sounds.
    Not the best album of the year by far, but even so it's nice.
    Expand
  9. Apr 26, 2012
    7
    "Paralytic Stalks" is the eleventh album by the group of Montreal. The album is more than an hour compilation of nine pieces in quite progressive rock climates ("Gelid Ascent"), interspersed with psychedelic pop ("Authentic Pyrrhic Remission", "Dour Percentage") and many different experiments such as, among others folk "Malefic Dowery", reminiscent of The Beatles "Wintered Debts" or indie"Paralytic Stalks" is the eleventh album by the group of Montreal. The album is more than an hour compilation of nine pieces in quite progressive rock climates ("Gelid Ascent"), interspersed with psychedelic pop ("Authentic Pyrrhic Remission", "Dour Percentage") and many different experiments such as, among others folk "Malefic Dowery", reminiscent of The Beatles "Wintered Debts" or indie rock, a bit Kasabian styled "Ye, Renew The Plaintiff ". Plural number of add-ons, guitar solos, lots of synthesizers and sometimes flamboyant vocals combining all of these parts might resemble a lot of Radiohead. The album can be strange in its content, but interesting though. Expand
  10. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    I listened to this album in the background about four times without listening to the lyrics, each time wondering if my phone had gone insane. Then I sat down with the lyrics and REALLY listened for the first time and wow. I am completely blown away. Not since Hissing Fauna has Kevin Barnes been so deeply personal but this time he takes the musical experimentation to new crazy heightsI listened to this album in the background about four times without listening to the lyrics, each time wondering if my phone had gone insane. Then I sat down with the lyrics and REALLY listened for the first time and wow. I am completely blown away. Not since Hissing Fauna has Kevin Barnes been so deeply personal but this time he takes the musical experimentation to new crazy heights with his lyrical complexity. Read the article on NPR where Kevin explains what each song means to him, then sit down with your favorite psychedelic, think of all the people in your life that made you who you are and what a complex wonderful mess that can be and listen. Of Montreal's best, but most challenging album yet. I hope Kevin keeps following the crazy train. I will definitely be hopping aboard. Expand
  11. Jan 17, 2013
    3
    As a fan of Of Montreal, I was very disapointed. The only listenable thing on the album is the last two minutes, which has a nice stripped down piece. Other than that, it's Kevin Barnes's feelings poured into terrible noises.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Feb 27, 2012
    40
    Paralytic Stalks is not an easy listen, but neither is it a good one. [Mar 2012, p.98]
  2. Feb 23, 2012
    60
    There are some truly great moments here where the band crash around making glorious, daft, noisy pop music, but they stand at a stark counterpoint with the cloying experimental tendencies Barnes forces through.
  3. Feb 22, 2012
    60
    The idea of crossing over is approached like somebody running onto a motorway wearing a blindfold. [Mar 2012, p.111]