Paralytic Stalks

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 9 out of 36
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    7
    "Paralytic Stalks" is the eleventh album by the group of Montreal. The album is more than an hour compilation of nine pieces in quite progressive rock climates ("Gelid Ascent"), interspersed with psychedelic pop ("Authentic Pyrrhic Remission", "Dour Percentage") and many different experiments such as, among others folk "Malefic Dowery", reminiscent of The Beatles "Wintered Debts" or indie"Paralytic Stalks" is the eleventh album by the group of Montreal. The album is more than an hour compilation of nine pieces in quite progressive rock climates ("Gelid Ascent"), interspersed with psychedelic pop ("Authentic Pyrrhic Remission", "Dour Percentage") and many different experiments such as, among others folk "Malefic Dowery", reminiscent of The Beatles "Wintered Debts" or indie rock, a bit Kasabian styled "Ye, Renew The Plaintiff ". Plural number of add-ons, guitar solos, lots of synthesizers and sometimes flamboyant vocals combining all of these parts might resemble a lot of Radiohead. The album can be strange in its content, but interesting though. Expand
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This is definitely their best album since "Hissing...". It is a very enjoyable record that will never get old. of Montreal keep reinventing the pop genre with new catchy beats .
  3. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    Critics are fundamentally wrong about this album. In fact, this is probably the best Of Montreal to date. Even Gay Parade wasn't so amusing. Congrats guys!
  4. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    Kevin Barnes creates another splendorous record. I understand the different opinions the critics are having, but this has to be one of the most interesting releases in months. Totally worth buying it, the songs won't leave your head.
  5. Mar 2, 2012
    7
    Well, it was difficult to analyse, but after listening 4 or 5 times, I have some conclusions.
    In general, the album is good, but only that. It has good moments, specially the firsts songs are good. But then, the troubles comes when the album becomes pretentious and overproduced. It is appreciated that it has a lot of elements and experimentation, but reaches a point in which results a
    Well, it was difficult to analyse, but after listening 4 or 5 times, I have some conclusions.
    In general, the album is good, but only that. It has good moments, specially the firsts songs are good. But then, the troubles comes when the album becomes pretentious and overproduced. It is appreciated that it has a lot of elements and experimentation, but reaches a point in which results a excess of sounds.
    Not the best album of the year by far, but even so it's nice.
    Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    I waited for a peaceful moment in the busy work week to listen to the album with full concentration. Iâ
  7. Feb 10, 2012
    7
    This is without a doubt the best balance of creativity, experimentality, and quality of songwriting we've heard from this band since Hissing Fauna. Skeletal Lamping was close, but that's another discussion. That being said, this album isn't perfect, and it's not making huge fans out of critics it seems, but I think this is going to become a fan favorite that will continue to get betterThis is without a doubt the best balance of creativity, experimentality, and quality of songwriting we've heard from this band since Hissing Fauna. Skeletal Lamping was close, but that's another discussion. That being said, this album isn't perfect, and it's not making huge fans out of critics it seems, but I think this is going to become a fan favorite that will continue to get better with every listen.

    It definitely is exhaustive though, and it's not the least bit accessible, but the abrasive parts are very interesting and are a nice contrast to the syrup-y sweet poppy parts that fill up the beginning of the album. If Barnes can just tighten this formula up for their next release and spend a few more months of fine tuning, I think he'll have a masterpiece on his hands, something we haven't seen in a few years.
    Expand
  8. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    A glorious mess of deeply personal introspection and eclectic instrumentation. Each consecutive listen bring more clarity and enjoyment. Its one of those record where the first play-through has you thinking: "What on earth did I just listen to?". Nothing short of sublime.
  9. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    I listened to this album in the background about four times without listening to the lyrics, each time wondering if my phone had gone insane. Then I sat down with the lyrics and REALLY listened for the first time and wow. I am completely blown away. Not since Hissing Fauna has Kevin Barnes been so deeply personal but this time he takes the musical experimentation to new crazy heightsI listened to this album in the background about four times without listening to the lyrics, each time wondering if my phone had gone insane. Then I sat down with the lyrics and REALLY listened for the first time and wow. I am completely blown away. Not since Hissing Fauna has Kevin Barnes been so deeply personal but this time he takes the musical experimentation to new crazy heights with his lyrical complexity. Read the article on NPR where Kevin explains what each song means to him, then sit down with your favorite psychedelic, think of all the people in your life that made you who you are and what a complex wonderful mess that can be and listen. Of Montreal's best, but most challenging album yet. I hope Kevin keeps following the crazy train. I will definitely be hopping aboard. Expand
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Mojo
    Feb 27, 2012
    40
    Paralytic Stalks is not an easy listen, but neither is it a good one. [Mar 2012, p.98]
  2. Feb 23, 2012
    60
    There are some truly great moments here where the band crash around making glorious, daft, noisy pop music, but they stand at a stark counterpoint with the cloying experimental tendencies Barnes forces through.
  3. Q Magazine
    Feb 22, 2012
    60
    The idea of crossing over is approached like somebody running onto a motorway wearing a blindfold. [Mar 2012, p.111]