Paralytic Stalks - Of Montreal
Paralytic Stalks Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest album for indie group Of Montreal was recorded with a group of session musicians at Kevin Barnes' studio in Athens, Georgia.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    At the end of the day, Kevin Barnes is really trying to make good pop. Paralytic Stalks is just that, bombast and all.
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    80
    Musically, Stalks is a tour de force, filled with colorful new sonic tricks.
  3. Barnes has definitely taken a step in right direction.
  4. Feb 3, 2012
    70
    Despite its heart of darkness, Paralytic Stalks is a deceptively gentle, rambling record that gains integrity but loses focus via the strong suspicion that it was recorded more for the benefit of Nina Barnes than for us.
  5. Feb 9, 2012
    60
    You get the feeling Barnes is trying to bash you into the same twisted mindspace he himself inhabits, mixing up spiralling flute lines, cosmic rock and deranged show tunes.
  6. Feb 3, 2012
    60
    In this mood, 57 minutes with Barnes is exhausting. [Mar 2012, p.94]
  7. 25
    Paralytic Stalks is downright exhausting.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    I waited for a peaceful moment in the busy work week to listen to the album with full concentration. Iâ
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    A glorious mess of deeply personal introspection and eclectic instrumentation. Each consecutive listen bring more clarity and enjoyment. Its one of those record where the first play-through has you thinking: "What on earth did I just listen to?". Nothing short of sublime. Expand
  3. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    Critics are fundamentally wrong about this album. In fact, this is probably the best Of Montreal to date. Even Gay Parade wasn't so amusing. Congrats guys! Collapse
  4. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    Kevin Barnes creates another splendorous record. I understand the different opinions the critics are having, but this has to be one of the most interesting releases in months. Totally worth buying it, the songs won't leave your head. Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2012
    7
    Well, it was difficult to analyse, but after listening 4 or 5 times, I have some conclusions.
    In general, the album is good, but only that. It
    has good moments, specially the firsts songs are good. But then, the troubles comes when the album becomes pretentious and overproduced. It is appreciated that it has a lot of elements and experimentation, but reaches a point in which results a excess of sounds.
    Not the best album of the year by far, but even so it's nice.
    Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2012
    7
    "Paralytic Stalks" is the eleventh album by the group of Montreal. The album is more than an hour compilation of nine pieces in quite progressive rock climates ("Gelid Ascent"), interspersed with psychedelic pop ("Authentic Pyrrhic Remission", "Dour Percentage") and many different experiments such as, among others folk "Malefic Dowery", reminiscent of The Beatles "Wintered Debts" or indie rock, a bit Kasabian styled "Ye, Renew The Plaintiff ". Plural number of add-ons, guitar solos, lots of synthesizers and sometimes flamboyant vocals combining all of these parts might resemble a lot of Radiohead. The album can be strange in its content, but interesting though. Expand
  7. Feb 27, 2012
    2
    To say I strongly dislike this album would be a huge understatement. It's the worst album I've heard in a long time and it ranks pretty low on the all time list. Words can't really do it justice but I will try. I always try to listen to an album at least three times but I really struggled to get through two listens with this (and this is coming from a guy with a very high tolerance for musical experimentation). Silence never sounded so sublime as when this album ended. On the vegetable scale this album ranks as boiled cabbage. If you are a fan of the band this album will change your mind. I feel like the quality of my life has declined since listening to this album. Ok all joking aside, besides the cover art I really can't find anything redeeming about this record at all. I've always thought these guys were eccentric but here they've completely gone over the top and they sound full blown pretentious. The lyrics and song titles are obnoxiously bad ("I turn to my crotch for counsel and it won't disappoint me" ) - I mean really?!? This guy takes douchebaggery to a whole new level. Musically it's even worse. The album is all over the place and not in a good way. The songs have no direction or cohesiveness. Think of the Beatles releasing an entire remix album of Revolution #9 and that's what this album sounds like - only much worse because of the horrendous lyrics. I could go on and on but I have to stop and purge this atrocity from my hard drive. For the love of christ Kevin Barnes check yourself in rehab (I'm assuming this album is heavily drug induced but I could be wrong), find a happy place, or better yet just pack up your instruments and call it a day because there is no coming back from this. The critics are being easy on these guys. I won't be listening to them for a long time. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews