Paramore

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Apr 9, 2013
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 313 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 313
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 7, 2013
    6
    Paramore became something totally right, well crafted and between the lines, when everything everyone loved about them was that they were stripped, misfits and bold.
  2. May 18, 2013
    4
    There are two types of bands in this world: Those who evolve and those who change. Paramore's self titled album is a prime example of what happens when a band changes.

    Let's be honest here, at least a good portion of fans bought this album expecting to hear the sound which made Paramore great, the fast rifts and in your face attitude. If you haven't gotten the idea from reading thus
    There are two types of bands in this world: Those who evolve and those who change. Paramore's self titled album is a prime example of what happens when a band changes.

    Let's be honest here, at least a good portion of fans bought this album expecting to hear the sound which made Paramore great, the fast rifts and in your face attitude. If you haven't gotten the idea from reading thus far, I'll spell it out for you; if you're going into buying it expecting to hear the successor to "Riot!" and "Brand New Eyes" (Nevermind "All We Know Is Falling"), you're going to be sorely sorely disappointed. The first single, "Now", is more or less what one would expect if the band had announced that they were working with Avril Lavigne's producer; glimpses of Paramore's signature pop-punk sound with very poppy overtones. The track itself however isn't all that bad, but would really only be considered filler if it were on any of their previous albums. This bring us to the second single, "Still Into You". "Still Into You" presents a radical departure from anything even remotely close to the old Paramore sound and what seems to have made 95% of Paramore fans fly into a rage. With this one, Paramore evidently wanted to channel their inner Katy Perry from everything from the overall sound to the video in itself in a completely serious manner. In fact, the only way it could sound poppier is if Ms. Perry herself were featured in it. I don't wish to get into a debate on whether or not the Farro brothers' departure from the band are what caused this change or who is/was the true creative force in Paramore, but I will say that just about every song seems to be, or at least contain, a cheap stab at them in one way or another that would make Taylor Swift say "Not bad".

    The album is not without it's hidden gems however, as songs like "Anklebiters" and "Part II" present a sound one would expect if this sudden change were instead foreshadowed in their last album, a more balanced pop-punk/power pop combo and are relatively decent tracks. Aside from that, however, most of the songs on the track seem to echo my thoughts on "Now" in having a very pop overtone to them, but are mostly unremarkable. Other songs however are more Indie inclined and contain things from a ukulele and a choir, among other things, but the overall album is still pretty pop sounding. For some reason I can't fathom, this album seems to be being pushed as the quintessential sound of a bands maturity and progress, when it's really anything but.

    All in all I'm saddened to say that this blundered experimental album is the only Paramore album that I have had to force myself to listen to in its entirety, and that's only because I was desperately trying to find more than two songs that actually sounded like Paramore to keep myself from relapsing into the deep depression my medication tries so hard to fend off. This album really is a dividing line between fans, as you can only really either love it or hate it. Hardcore fans will cry blood, casual fans will wonder when Kelly Clarkson and Avril Lavigne gave birth to their lovechild and why they're in Paramore now, but new fans will be attracted to it's mainstream radio friendly electro-power pop sound. If you're truly thinking about running out and buying this album, I'd give it a listen in it's entirety on the Web first to make sure that it's your cup of tea unless the place you buy it from has a return policy.

    I personally dislike this album very very very very much (I say this to avoid using the word 'hate'), and I really hope that this isn't a permanent change and that Paramore will be back and better than ever next time and that whoever told them that going in this direction was a great idea be hung from a tree and beaten like a piñata.

    I'm giving this album a very deserving 4/10.
    Expand
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    4
    Electronic? Or just messed up? Probably both...First of all, the album has too many useless, droning songs. Secondly, the racy Paramore I knew were gone. Not that I am complaining about it, but that Hayley Williams is singing silly boring lyrics. And where is the power pop? Some good songs...but too long and too calm...
  4. Apr 9, 2013
    5
    This got an 84 and Riot got a 67? Wow... critics are dumb as hell.
    Riot is so much better than this electronic-crap.
    Vocals are edited so much on a lot of the songs that it's pure annoying with her voice.
    Drums have improved since the last CD though.
  5. Apr 22, 2013
    5
    I was waiting for one of the tracks to kick into the pop-punk awesomeness that was a hallmark of Riot, but it never happened. Not my style at all, but I can see where it can be appealing. I'm sorry to see them move away from a style that made them what they are. Innovation is good, but not at the expense of your identity.
  6. May 19, 2013
    6
    One has learnt to expect not much change from album to album with Paramore. Their pop rock sound with rather heavy and monotone riffs is kind of their trademark. This time there is no much difference. There are no outstanding tracks and the pauses implied in those mellow acoustic banjo-like interludes doesnt seem to give you that feel of a break. All things considered, any Paramore fanOne has learnt to expect not much change from album to album with Paramore. Their pop rock sound with rather heavy and monotone riffs is kind of their trademark. This time there is no much difference. There are no outstanding tracks and the pauses implied in those mellow acoustic banjo-like interludes doesnt seem to give you that feel of a break. All things considered, any Paramore fan should be able to enjoy this album. And i'd like to make to mention one song aside from the rest of the album, which i think is the best: Future. This is like non other i've heard from them before, and it shows change or growth for that matter. It shows that there is kind of an alternative edge to them as well. The last part of it even reminded me of Radiohead. Anyways, the record is worth a listen to any fan, and everyone should give at least the track "Future" a listen. Expand
  7. May 12, 2013
    6
    After a long wait for the new album it has finally arrived. I was curious to hear the direction Paramore would be heading on their latest effort. While it may not have the impact of their previous work, it still is a decent record. This latest album may be missing some of the alternative rock sound and replaced it with pop-rock. I would rate the music around a b- and the lyrics around aAfter a long wait for the new album it has finally arrived. I was curious to hear the direction Paramore would be heading on their latest effort. While it may not have the impact of their previous work, it still is a decent record. This latest album may be missing some of the alternative rock sound and replaced it with pop-rock. I would rate the music around a b- and the lyrics around a c-, although Hayley's voice and vocal patterns make up for some of the imperfections. It feels very polished and produced almost too much, which seems stale at times. For the fans who are expecting "All We Know Is Falling" or "Riot" type records I think you will be a little disappointed. Those who appreciate an album redefining the idea of what Paramore's music means. This will be an alright record to check out. Personally I feel this album will be worth playing for a month or two but won't be replayed very frequently after. "Fast In My Car", "Now", "Ain't It Fun", and "Still In To You" are the highlights of the album. Expand
  8. Sep 2, 2014
    4
    "Paramore" is not so Paramore... New direction and new sound with this one as well. This album is proof that the Farro brothers were the biggest and most important part of the band's writing process since they but mainly Josh composed all the music (this is a fact and is actually documented in Paramore videos and interviews) and Hayley would write lyrics to them. They lost their signature"Paramore" is not so Paramore... New direction and new sound with this one as well. This album is proof that the Farro brothers were the biggest and most important part of the band's writing process since they but mainly Josh composed all the music (this is a fact and is actually documented in Paramore videos and interviews) and Hayley would write lyrics to them. They lost their signature sound and their unique feel. Everyone is trying to defend the band by saying they have evolved etc. No. Don't get me wrong I'm all for evolution bur "Evolve" is one thing and "Change" is another... They've changed not evolved. They evolved from "All We Know Is Falling" to "Riot!". From "Riot!" to "Brand New Eyes". Even from "Brand New Eyes" to "Singles Club". This album is "Change", period. It's just a different band to me and not just because of their music but also because of their image,direction and overall musical approach. And one last thing to everyone praising everything they put out and saying Part II is their best song, LET-THE-FLAMES-BEGIN. Expand
  9. Jan 16, 2015
    4
    When I first got into Paramore I was obsessed with this album now that I've listened to all four albums I've realized how crappy this is, don't get me wrong it's a great pop album, but God awful Paramore album, the only reason I'm rating it this high is because there are a few good songs, and I feel sorry for them.
  10. Sep 4, 2013
    5
    Paramore's newest album is missing what made albums like Riot! so great. They experimented with new sounds in this album but most of the time it didn't work because it didn't sound like the Paramore we have come to love over the years. change can be good but in this case it didn't work for a good chunk of the album. After the departure of the 2 primary band members they haven't been the same.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Classic Rock Magazine
    Jun 21, 2013
    30
    A parade of beige pop numbers that even Taylor Swift would turn down for being too generic. [May 2013, p.86]
  2. May 3, 2013
    80
    Paramore is both the band’s most polished and messiest album, which somehow pays off.
  3. Kerrang!
    Apr 30, 2013
    80
    It's daring and rarely less than dazzling. [6 Apr 2013, p.52]