Paramore - Paramore
Paramore Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 234 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Paramour returns without Josh and Zac Farro to release its fourth full-length release produced by Justin Meldal-Johnsen.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. 100
    A sprawling, 17-song, 64-minute monster that is without a doubt the finest music these three artists--vocalist Hayley Williams, guitarist Taylor York and bassist Jeremy Davis--have ever made.
  2. Apr 8, 2013
    90
    Paramore feels far more human and honest than anything the band have committed to tape to date, and even at its most intense, the record feels intimate (or at least like a gig happening in the back corner of your mind).
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    83
    If Paramore has a flaw, it’s that there’s so much going on and so many stylistic flourishes, the record never quite coalesces.
  4. As a full record, Paramore certainly isn't for everyone--but there's certainly something for everyone. If you're not having fun at some point of the album, you're probably not trying.
  5. But Paramore have always been more pop than their fans may like to admit, and this mainstream rebirth feels like a transitional step to something gigantic.
  6. Apr 5, 2013
    70
    This may not be what we were expecting, and it may not be the Paramore that we’ve come to know and love. But, at the same time, here are a band still discovering who they are, and this album may stand as an important step on that path.
  7. Apr 4, 2013
    30
    Hayley Williams gives the first of several poor singing performances on the record [on lead single, "Low"]; the verses are toneless and she tries to cram too many words into them without really saying anything.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 70
  2. Negative: 9 out of 70
  1. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    I was a bit scared for this album, but it surprised me! Every track has its different sound. There is something here for everyone. Some ofI was a bit scared for this album, but it surprised me! Every track has its different sound. There is something here for everyone. Some of their strongest and most mature music yet. Hayley is growing up! Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    Overall, its hard to say anything cumulatively negative about the album. Its not perfect no, but its pretty darn close. The lows here would beOverall, its hard to say anything cumulatively negative about the album. Its not perfect no, but its pretty darn close. The lows here would be a highlight on most albums any day of the week. Paramore has shown tremendous growth with each album, from kids on Falling, to teens on Riot!, to young adults on Brand New Eyes, and finally to adults on Paramore. Its amazing to see that from good albums, they make great ones. Buy this album, and the rest of their discography. The next one will be perfect, I can almost guarantee it. Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Some of the criticism fans have been laying against this album is just ridiculous. If anything, Paramore has blossomed musically with thisSome of the criticism fans have been laying against this album is just ridiculous. If anything, Paramore has blossomed musically with this album, which is easily their best. The sound is so diverse, there's more than just guitars and electronica: there's ukeleles, string sections, harmonicas and even a gospel choir. If that's not ambition I don't know what is. Maybe it's their lyrics, there's many songs that reflect on their troubles with Farros but they're also declaring that they're moving on and willing to try new things. Highlights include Part II, Still into You, Ain't It Fun and Future. After all the drama Paramore's faced over the last three years, they've come out the other side as a multi-dimensional band who's willing to push their own limits, marking their greatest artistic statement. Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2014
    9
    Na minha opinião melhor álbum do Paramore, com músicas geniais, batida perfeitas, tudo pra ser um CD icônico, eles melhoraram muito ao longoNa minha opinião melhor álbum do Paramore, com músicas geniais, batida perfeitas, tudo pra ser um CD icônico, eles melhoraram muito ao longo do tempo, até chegar a esse som maduro e muito bom. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    this is the only Paramore album I've been able to listen in its entirety and enjoy, probably it's not gonna change nobody's perspective ofthis is the only Paramore album I've been able to listen in its entirety and enjoy, probably it's not gonna change nobody's perspective of music or anything, but you're gonna have a good time listening. Expand
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    6
    Paramore became something totally right, well crafted and between the lines, when everything everyone loved about them was that they wereParamore became something totally right, well crafted and between the lines, when everything everyone loved about them was that they were stripped, misfits and bold. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2013
    1
    VinceOnAPlane summed this album up PERFECTLY. Read his review. I joined this site for the sole purpose of publicly agreeing with him.

    No
    VinceOnAPlane summed this album up PERFECTLY. Read his review. I joined this site for the sole purpose of publicly agreeing with him.

    No idea what critics are listening to when they review this album, because it stinks beyond belief. I am beyond disappointed with this cd.

    They should have changed the name of the band because this isn't paramore. If James and Lars left Metallica and Kirk and Rob started to add dubstep and keep the name Metallica..... this is what paramore's album is equivalent to.

    Garbage.
    Expand

See all 70 User Reviews