Paramore

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Paramore Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 277 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Paramour returns without Josh and Zac Farro to release its fourth full-length release produced by Justin Meldal-Johnsen.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. 100
    A sprawling, 17-song, 64-minute monster that is without a doubt the finest music these three artists--vocalist Hayley Williams, guitarist Taylor York and bassist Jeremy Davis--have ever made.
  2. Apr 8, 2013
    90
    Paramore feels far more human and honest than anything the band have committed to tape to date, and even at its most intense, the record feels intimate (or at least like a gig happening in the back corner of your mind).
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    83
    If Paramore has a flaw, it’s that there’s so much going on and so many stylistic flourishes, the record never quite coalesces.
  4. As a full record, Paramore certainly isn't for everyone--but there's certainly something for everyone. If you're not having fun at some point of the album, you're probably not trying.
  5. But Paramore have always been more pop than their fans may like to admit, and this mainstream rebirth feels like a transitional step to something gigantic.
  6. Apr 5, 2013
    70
    This may not be what we were expecting, and it may not be the Paramore that we’ve come to know and love. But, at the same time, here are a band still discovering who they are, and this album may stand as an important step on that path.
  7. Apr 4, 2013
    30
    Hayley Williams gives the first of several poor singing performances on the record [on lead single, "Low"]; the verses are toneless and she tries to cram too many words into them without really saying anything.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 82
  2. Negative: 12 out of 82
  1. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    I have been waiting so long for this album and boy an i not disappointing. Paramore is back and better then ever. My standout tracks are:I have been waiting so long for this album and boy an i not disappointing. Paramore is back and better then ever. My standout tracks are: Still Into You, Part II and Future. Expand
  2. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    an album with much variety that not only please the fans like me but it also infect people who have not heard the 16 songs strong andan album with much variety that not only please the fans like me but it also infect people who have not heard the 16 songs strong and innovative....... Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Some of the criticism fans have been laying against this album is just ridiculous. If anything, Paramore has blossomed musically with thisSome of the criticism fans have been laying against this album is just ridiculous. If anything, Paramore has blossomed musically with this album, which is easily their best. The sound is so diverse, there's more than just guitars and electronica: there's ukeleles, string sections, harmonicas and even a gospel choir. If that's not ambition I don't know what is. Maybe it's their lyrics, there's many songs that reflect on their troubles with Farros but they're also declaring that they're moving on and willing to try new things. Highlights include Part II, Still into You, Ain't It Fun and Future. After all the drama Paramore's faced over the last three years, they've come out the other side as a multi-dimensional band who's willing to push their own limits, marking their greatest artistic statement. Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2014
    9
    Na minha opinião melhor álbum do Paramore, com músicas geniais, batida perfeitas, tudo pra ser um CD icônico, eles melhoraram muito ao longoNa minha opinião melhor álbum do Paramore, com músicas geniais, batida perfeitas, tudo pra ser um CD icônico, eles melhoraram muito ao longo do tempo, até chegar a esse som maduro e muito bom. Expand
  5. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    What this self-titled album ultimately proves is that Paramore doesn't need anyone else. The dramatic split from the Farros and its effectsWhat this self-titled album ultimately proves is that Paramore doesn't need anyone else. The dramatic split from the Farros and its effects showed in Paramore's singles releases soon after that, but the band has settled into a position most comfortable to them. The album is a Paramore at its core with electronic elements thrown in for good leverage. Tracks such as the spunky-yet-cute pop rocker "Still Into You" and the diva flair of "Ain't It Fun" highlight the band's great knack for writing huge songs, but other tracks, such as the obnoxious lead single "Now" and the drawn-out closer "Futures," miss the mark. Paramore has taken the opportunity to write out their journey since then while taking several jabs at their former bandmates and have made this record the end of their past troubles while making a statement about who they are and what they have to prove from here on out. Expand
  6. May 19, 2013
    6
    One has learnt to expect not much change from album to album with Paramore. Their pop rock sound with rather heavy and monotone riffs is kindOne has learnt to expect not much change from album to album with Paramore. Their pop rock sound with rather heavy and monotone riffs is kind of their trademark. This time there is no much difference. There are no outstanding tracks and the pauses implied in those mellow acoustic banjo-like interludes doesnt seem to give you that feel of a break. All things considered, any Paramore fan should be able to enjoy this album. And i'd like to make to mention one song aside from the rest of the album, which i think is the best: Future. This is like non other i've heard from them before, and it shows change or growth for that matter. It shows that there is kind of an alternative edge to them as well. The last part of it even reminded me of Radiohead. Anyways, the record is worth a listen to any fan, and everyone should give at least the track "Future" a listen. Expand
  7. Oct 15, 2015
    0
    QUE MERDA DE ÁLBUM FEIO, FEDORENTO, CHATO, RIDÍCULO, TAPETE ETERNO DA AVRIL LAVIGNE, VAI APRENDER A FAZER MUSICA DE VERDADE PRA VER SE SAIQUE MERDA DE ÁLBUM FEIO, FEDORENTO, CHATO, RIDÍCULO, TAPETE ETERNO DA AVRIL LAVIGNE, VAI APRENDER A FAZER MUSICA DE VERDADE PRA VER SE SAI DESSE FLOP ETERNO DE VOCÊS. MAIS BOSTA AINDA FORAM OS CRÍTICOS QUE DEREM VERDE PRA ESSA MERDA FEDIDA CHATA E FEIA Expand

See all 82 User Reviews