Paris

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 170 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 170
  2. Negative: 76 out of 170

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. izata
    Oct 30, 2006
    9
    all of the critics that gave this album less than 8 gave so bcuz it's paris! they dont care if this album rocks or not, they juz want to giv it as low as possible 4 d simple reason dt the singer is ms. hilton. people are being unfair wit her nowadays n as a big fan i felt extremely sorry 4 her. every track is a magical work, except HEARTBEAT. it's ballad n not exciting as the all of the critics that gave this album less than 8 gave so bcuz it's paris! they dont care if this album rocks or not, they juz want to giv it as low as possible 4 d simple reason dt the singer is ms. hilton. people are being unfair wit her nowadays n as a big fan i felt extremely sorry 4 her. every track is a magical work, except HEARTBEAT. it's ballad n not exciting as the other pop songs in here are.. TURN IT Up, StARS ARE BLIND, NOTHING IN THIS WORLD, SCREWED are the highlights here... dont listen to d critics, go ahead n follow ur intuition n buy this wonderful album! Expand
  2. DericMC
    Aug 30, 2006
    9
    Surprisingly good. I never expected it at all.. Wow. However, the amount of negative publicity it's receiving is very unfair. Don't hate the album just because it's Paris Hilton. This album is even more entertaining than Beyonce's latest album. Who would have thought Paris can do this? I highly recommend Jealousy, it's amazing.
  3. marcelv
    Sep 30, 2006
    1
    never heard something so bad before in my life. There is no musical soul in it and this lady has no feeling for music.
  4. LealaniM
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    I love it!! it's a fun poppy load of poppiness and i do enjoy that...most of the time.
  5. TripperR
    Aug 23, 2006
    9
    It's actually pretty damn good. I listened to the whole thing today, and it's actually pretty damn good.
  6. Eleanor
    Aug 24, 2006
    9
    This album is okay for me.I love this album,It's not bad!
  7. nadiaho
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    Fantastic!!!
  8. AndyH
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    This is a great pop record, another Scott Storch classic. Forget the anti-Paris criticism, it's totally unjustified. This album delivers in spades. And if you don't believe me, head over to the respected AMG music site, they love it.
  9. AnonymousMC
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    love this album! u may hate paris but u can't hate good pop music
  10. PietJ
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    Quite the production . .
  11. GabrielC.
    Sep 3, 2006
    9
    Plain and simple its a great pop record. And AMG gave it a very honest straightforward review. Its production and tightness and Paris' half way pleasent sounding voice just make a great record.
  12. EdwardH
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    She rox y'all fell in luv wit "Stars are Blind" and all her songs are sooo like awesome and rad Paris is so freekin' awesome wit her album 4 reel. and production by Scott Storch super beat maker and producer is another awesome point bout diz totally rad ass album. You Rule P 4 Lyfe!
  13. Sarkes
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    I love this CD, it's got great pop songs, EXCELLENT DEBUT!! = )-
  14. Aik
    Dec 3, 2006
    9
    I think her album turn out to be better than what most people thought... I like her album... Kinda cool pop songs
  15. NathanK
    Aug 24, 2006
    10
    Brilliant!
  16. josh
    Sep 22, 2006
    9
    omg, you're all crazy, this album is SO good. just try not to think about how it's paris hilton. if it weren't freakin paris, no one would be so mean about it. it really is fun to listen to, (except for fightin over me, that song is atrocious). and if you've never even heard the album, ust crawl into a hole, you're an idiot
  17. DavidC
    Nov 5, 2006
    9
    One of the best pop album released in a long time. Full of inspired, original and melodic dancing beats. Obviously there's a lot of haters out there.
  18. RossH
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    this album is terrific.
  19. andresh
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    Excellent album all the songs are catchy really easy to hear very enjoyable
  20. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    Fantastic album. I don't understnad how people can criticize this album. The songs are awesome and the tunes are just great and the remake of "Do Ya Think I'm Sexy" s one of the best on the album Key Tracks: "Stars are Blind" "Turn It UP" "Do Ya Think I"m Sexy"
  21. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    If Britney Spears or Rihanna sang "Stars Are Blind", the song would've been a worldwide #1. Hilton's is a great pop record and I'm looking forward to her new music, I think she's getting judged too much for her social condition, but she's really good.
  22. DouglasH
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    Brilliant. An astonishing satire on celebrity vacuity in the 21st Century...Paris will have the last laugh. On the surface dazzlingly empty, yet full of subtle irony meaning for the more attentive, the lyrics convey something of the dense, multilayered/referential suggestion of Melvilles chapter on the "Whiteness of the Whale", or for that matter, Brett Easton Ellis. Paris Hilton - Brilliant. An astonishing satire on celebrity vacuity in the 21st Century...Paris will have the last laugh. On the surface dazzlingly empty, yet full of subtle irony meaning for the more attentive, the lyrics convey something of the dense, multilayered/referential suggestion of Melvilles chapter on the "Whiteness of the Whale", or for that matter, Brett Easton Ellis. Paris Hilton - musician/philosopher. Who would have thought? Expand
  23. JavierD.
    Oct 4, 2007
    8
    I think that more of the 90% who is scoring this album with less than 4 doesn0t even listened the Cd, They are only scoring with bad grades because of their hate to Paris but the true is that this Cd is really good , maybe her voice is not great but the melodies are really good and happy . To bad that some people don't give a chance to her album.
  24. Dr.FuckA.Chuck
    Aug 26, 2006
    0
    If you like this album, you need to understand that you have bad taste, to the extent of which you are not going to be taken seriously as an adult (assuming you actually are an adult). Tolsty once wrote that art, like food, must contain two things for it to have quality. One is content and/or meaning (also called "heart and soul"), or the nutritional value in food. The other is that it If you like this album, you need to understand that you have bad taste, to the extent of which you are not going to be taken seriously as an adult (assuming you actually are an adult). Tolsty once wrote that art, like food, must contain two things for it to have quality. One is content and/or meaning (also called "heart and soul"), or the nutritional value in food. The other is that it must be contain some kind of pleasure and/or satisfaction in experiencing it. For example, we can all agree that a t-bone steak cooked by a master chef is superior in quality than a big mac cooked by a high school drop-out. It really puts everything into perspective. Not only is the t-bone steak more nutritious, being lower in fat and devoid of refined carbohydrates, but eating it will surely give more pleasure and satisfaction. If you think this album is "good," it's like saying a big mac is "good." You simply have bad taste, or are a child (both literally and figuratively) that does not really understand what "quality" is. But we need Paris around. Really, we do. She is the bottom of the barrel, the lowest of the low, the worst of the worst. We need her there so that at the other end of the spectrum we can have Beetoven, The Rolling Stones, Johnny Cash, etc. I am convinced that the only reason serious critics gave this album good or even medicore review comes down to one thing: PAYOOOOOOLA! Gettin' sold out to the big wigs to write lies. It's simple people: big macs and Paris Hilton suck. Saying anything different is just settling for much, much, MUCH less. Expand
  25. BeyonceFan
    Apr 1, 2007
    0
    Absolutely effing dreadful! This girl sings like a cat screwing! Not to mention her dog-shit-look... If that is her goal to look ugly and disgusting and to sing like she's a prostitude then well done, Paris Hilton! I would rather eat a pile of dung than to kiss Paris on the cheek.
  26. Spartan234
    Sep 5, 2006
    5
    I don't like Paris Hilton, but at least her music was much better than I expected. Still, she just isn't that great.
  27. SeanP.
    Dec 15, 2007
    0
    Why would any merciful god allow such trash to exist? With so many great artists and bands out there why waste your money on music that has no soul or emotion The musical equivalent of nothing, because that's what's at the heart of this piece of crap excuse for music.
  28. ValarieD
    Mar 1, 2007
    4
    Paris Hilton Not So Hot Paris Hilton the singer. Who would have thought? Could it be possible that this celebrity known for her wild partying and blonde moments would find success in the music industry? The answer is a plain and simple no. With the exception of a few captivating, pensive songs, her debut album, titled Paris is nothing more than a vacant cry for more attention. For the Paris Hilton Not So Hot Paris Hilton the singer. Who would have thought? Could it be possible that this celebrity known for her wild partying and blonde moments would find success in the music industry? The answer is a plain and simple no. With the exception of a few captivating, pensive songs, her debut album, titled Paris is nothing more than a vacant cry for more attention. For the most part the album is full of repulsive lyrics about being hot and sexy. Paris refers to herself as being sexy more times than I could count. Phrases like Expand
  29. EmilioO.
    Mar 18, 2008
    0
    How can it be a good album if it has no emotions? Real music comes from the heart.
  30. VictorB.
    Dec 9, 2007
    1
    Being catch is not a bad thing for songs, but there's just a few songs which you could really listen and probably like it cause they're ''cool''...Paris got to improve.
  31. briann
    Aug 14, 2007
    0
    why is this embaressingly trite piece of self-absorbent pop trash doing on a respected site like metacritic? if you are even reading this review for any other purpose than to take a piss, find some better taste. paris's album is pure dogcrap.
  32. Cashy
    Aug 30, 2006
    1
    The day the music died. Why, oh why, did this project ever get off the ground, we may never know? The novelty factor of listening to Paris Hilton put her voice to CD is entertaining for about 0.8 of a second. Then it's all downhill from there, folks. The lyrics to the songs on this album would have been more meaningful if my two cats had written them. My favourite lines of all are The day the music died. Why, oh why, did this project ever get off the ground, we may never know? The novelty factor of listening to Paris Hilton put her voice to CD is entertaining for about 0.8 of a second. Then it's all downhill from there, folks. The lyrics to the songs on this album would have been more meaningful if my two cats had written them. My favourite lines of all are (and there's many to choose from) 'Everybody's looking at me/But that's alright, I like attention' (like, yeah!) and 'I'm sexy and you know it, clap your hands'! Quality stuff. Every song is about boyfriends, being sexy, kisses, love, going to clubs ... you get the picture. Thanks Paris. You just gave new meaning to the phrase 'burning a CD'. The literal one. It's a bit toxic when you do it, though! Just like listening to your music... Expand
  33. ChrisE
    Oct 14, 2006
    8
    Surprise, surprise! Hotel heiress Paris Hilton CAN deliver a dancefloor-ready pop record that isn't half bad. Of course, her performance on a certain now-infamous homemade video is really what's made her such a huge feature in today's pop culture, but don't let it be said that just because she's rich she lacks talent. Sure, her singing abilities come off Surprise, surprise! Hotel heiress Paris Hilton CAN deliver a dancefloor-ready pop record that isn't half bad. Of course, her performance on a certain now-infamous homemade video is really what's made her such a huge feature in today's pop culture, but don't let it be said that just because she's rich she lacks talent. Sure, her singing abilities come off indistinctive in a soft-and-sweet baby coo, but that's not atypical from most female teen pop stars of today. And who cares that most of the album's material slides from one track mentioning how hot she is to another saying about the same thing? From the summer's biggest faux-island drink of a single "Stars Are Blind" to recent smash hit (and best song on record) that is "Nothing In This World" (which features a hilarious accompanying music video), Paris (Paris Hilton's debut's title into the music world) remains a piece of dance fluff that is as good as it is overproduced; and it is overproduced. Top producers Scott Storch and J.R. Rotem deliver awesome beats here, which is probably the biggest reason Hilton's record plays as well as it does. Nonetheless you might find yourself enjoying this despite your personal feelings toward the buxom blonde. To put it into perspective: after listening to it, you can be sure it's bad for you--and yet you still just can't get enough of it. Expand
  34. Jimmyn
    Oct 6, 2006
    8
    dude, it is so amazing. it sounds like blondie! it sounds like the cars! it sounds like madonna but funnier and with a technically less impressive but at least w/o a stupid british accent voice! this is better than the new tv on the radio album that everyone is creaming their jeans about. and i am not kidding.
  35. CatherineK
    Oct 7, 2006
    0
    This really stinks, and I'm not just saying that because I dislike paris. She is probably the worst singer I have heard. Worse than hilary, ashlee, and lindsay. Definately not worth your money. I wouldn't even listen to it again for free.
  36. AnitaV
    Aug 23, 2006
    1
    she´s sings like she´s having a heart attack..............dont waste your money..........
  37. Jasmine
    Aug 24, 2006
    7
    i think it's good anyway
  38. mikes.
    Aug 24, 2006
    7
    Everyone hates Paris Hilton, even critics. However, I'd have to say that I agree with AMG's review on this album, It's a good guilty pleasure album and the production of storch and friends is excellent. They took a girl with no talent and made an album that has potential to make big success, in fact her single stars are blind has already blown up the charts. Paris has Everyone hates Paris Hilton, even critics. However, I'd have to say that I agree with AMG's review on this album, It's a good guilty pleasure album and the production of storch and friends is excellent. They took a girl with no talent and made an album that has potential to make big success, in fact her single stars are blind has already blown up the charts. Paris has charisma and her music has an infectios personality and charm. The melodies are catchy as well, all which gives way to a fun and entertaining pop album. Expand
  39. Wander
    Aug 24, 2006
    1
    Please Lord, get rid of these non-talented, ever-present celebrities!
  40. GeraldH
    Aug 24, 2006
    0
    Worst album of the year and worst artist of the year. Paris needs a new hobby because music is not her calling.
  41. SM
    Aug 26, 2006
    0
    no, just no, stop and drop dead you stupid slut
  42. Bill
    Aug 26, 2006
    7
    I bought this CD as a joke. But, to be honest, the joke was on me--she's not half bad. The songs are actually quite catchy and her narcissism on the lyrics is hysterical, but probably intended.
  43. Albert
    Aug 29, 2006
    0
    This... well, let's call it "album" represents the death certificate of all that is good about pop music. At least it has historic value: rock and roll died a long time ago, now we have a precise date to evocate the death of pop.
  44. rottencabbage
    Aug 31, 2006
    0
    To quote James L: 'you wouldn't really call what she does "singing"...' All the more proof that she has absolutely no talent. What, do ya wanna fucking medal for being able to hire a good producer? There are plenty of well-produced albums that, ultimately, suck. IE: PARIS. This is vapid, worthless dreck, and is a frightening reminder of the equally vapid, worthless time in To quote James L: 'you wouldn't really call what she does "singing"...' All the more proof that she has absolutely no talent. What, do ya wanna fucking medal for being able to hire a good producer? There are plenty of well-produced albums that, ultimately, suck. IE: PARIS. This is vapid, worthless dreck, and is a frightening reminder of the equally vapid, worthless time in which we live. Expand
  45. imetacriticonce...
    Aug 30, 2006
    6
    i was braceing my self for the worst- of all the unlistenable s*it top 40 radio spews out week after week this is actually a nice pop record. good job P
  46. AlanR
    Aug 30, 2006
    0
    You have to have at least a slight mental handicap to even consider this music. You might as well jam a Hustler in your ears.
  47. I.L.
    Sep 10, 2006
    0
    It's evil....paris maintains her status as the worlds most stupid spoiled whore with this annoying cash-in
  48. GaryM
    Sep 1, 2006
    0
    If you were to take your cat and slide it down a 12 foot razor blade into a pool of alcohol -- it would sound more melodic than this. I lost track of how many overdubs the recording engineers did to mask her voice with pitch correction. Good thing too -- otherwise I wouldn't have been able to listen long enough to realize how bad she is
  49. CaleW
    Sep 6, 2006
    0
    I made it through 30 seconds before attempting to slit my wrists.
  50. NothingNothing
    Feb 17, 2007
    0
    Awful.....
  51. BillJ
    Nov 10, 2006
    0
    This album plays it safe, keeping Paris in her little comfort bubble surrounding by a gaggling gander of misguided 11 year old wanabees. What Paris needs to do is pop that bubble and take a Janis Joplin style step in her singing. Until then, I'd rather hear fingernails on a chalkboard then Paris' whiny voice trying to hear herself over her bloated ego.
  52. HermanMelville
    Oct 21, 2006
    0
    What good is production when the music and lyrics are as valuable as pond scum? The 90 given by All Music Guide is an insult to the thousands of struggling musicians out there who will never make it and probably die alone.
  53. mufasac
    Oct 23, 2006
    0
    this album sucks muco cock!!!
  54. FoxyRoxy
    Aug 23, 2006
    0
    I saw and heard her sing happy birthday and she didn't sound like her record. The recording studio does wonders. Maybe everyone should become singers.
  55. PennyW
    Aug 23, 2006
    0
    Hands down the most forgettable pop album of the year.
  56. MattD.
    Aug 23, 2006
    1
    Less a record than a digital creation. Utterly joyless. I can't believe Hilton thinks she can sing. It gets a 1 only because of a bit of wasted pop potential.
  57. [Anonymous]
    Aug 23, 2006
    8
    If you had no grasp of English and no connection to pop culture, you might enjoy this CD. I found it catchy and pleasing despite being utter drivel.
  58. Parisisburning
    Aug 24, 2006
    0
    The case for the fall of western "civilization". Why does she exist? What sustains this demand?
  59. KennyM
    Aug 25, 2006
    0
    mike s....what the hell is wrong with you? I mean..I'm glad you realize Paris Hilton has no talent, but why do you seem to think it'a a good thing she was able to put out a successful album? The music industry is going to hell and it's people like you are are sending it down in flames...shouldn't people with actual TALENT be the ones who are famous?
  60. lawhoho
    Aug 25, 2006
    4
    I think this album is'nt very well,but actully,it's not very bad.The music of the songs are alsolutely good,but the singing skill should improve
  61. LeeKAWAI
    Aug 25, 2006
    0
    Her voice is poorrrrrrrrrrr!!
  62. JaseL
    Aug 25, 2006
    0
    Please just stop.
  63. JamesL
    Aug 27, 2006
    7
    As expected, people and critics are judging this cd based on their opinion of Paris Hilton and her lifestyle as opposed to the music on the cd. The truth is, this cd is a very well-made, fun dance-pop album. Sure, Paris probably had very little to do with that, she was able to buy some good producers and song-writers and you wouldn't really call what she does "singing", but her hired As expected, people and critics are judging this cd based on their opinion of Paris Hilton and her lifestyle as opposed to the music on the cd. The truth is, this cd is a very well-made, fun dance-pop album. Sure, Paris probably had very little to do with that, she was able to buy some good producers and song-writers and you wouldn't really call what she does "singing", but her hired help have crafted a cd which is as good as anything put out by britney or christina... Expand
  64. JamesA.
    Aug 28, 2006
    0
    Please....no more. Please?
  65. AceM
    Aug 29, 2006
    8
    Whether you like Paris Hilton as a person or not, people need to be honest and admit that this album is quite enjoyable....bubble-gum pop at it's best! To rate the album based on whether or not you like Paris as a person is moronic!
  66. lilconnerP
    Aug 29, 2006
    0
    it stinks and I dont like it
  67. MikeD
    Sep 15, 2006
    0
    America...wake up!!! Stop buying into Paris Hilton! She is a pure product of Hollywood and the W generation. This record is probably bubble gum catchy b/c it was written by professionals but you shouldn't buy this album on principle. Boycott Paris!
  68. me88
    Sep 18, 2006
    0
    its sad to think that she has a record contract, and is THIS famous. Esspecially when there is soooo much more, and BETTER and UNSIGNED music then Paris Hilton.... what a hoe!
  69. MauricioG
    Sep 21, 2006
    8
    Don't think about who "sings". If you focus on the songs you'll find that this is a great album.
  70. ToddW
    Sep 21, 2006
    0
    See Fergie and Christina, et al.
  71. joeaverage
    Sep 3, 2006
    1
    crap fest
  72. HaroldB
    Sep 7, 2006
    0
    A two word review: Shark Sandwich!
  73. nickv
    Sep 8, 2006
    0
    Does anybody else notice thatprofessional music critics by and large, never give a bad review to any album on this site. Damn near every album is in the green zone on average. The fact that this album even exists is a travesty to music fans everywhere. The positive reviews are just diahrea frosting on a crap cake.
  74. RyanD
    Oct 27, 2006
    0
    what has the world come to when a record label will sell an album to deal to a person who literally screams "no talent to save my life". there may be a day when people look back and say "you know, this wasnt all that bad", and when that happens we will all know that armageddon has finally come. just horrible.
  75. drewb
    Aug 23, 2006
    0
    cant i give this a negative number?
  76. keiji
    Aug 24, 2006
    7
    this is ok for me, better than ashlee simpson n hilary duff....so i luv her.
  77. MaxellProduct
    Aug 27, 2006
    0
    Incredibly horrible garbage regurgitated from the bowels of American crapitalism.
  78. KevinK
    Aug 27, 2006
    0
    she's a money making tool. this is not art its purely financial
  79. 36_Thoughtless
    Aug 29, 2006
    0
    Let's be honest here, completely honest. Paris needs her money back from her "voice coach" because no properly trained vocal specialist would teach someone to use a baby voice type of whisper only audible due to millions of dollars in production and amplification equpiment. Yes, the album may be well-produced by Scott Storch, but that doesn't justify the shortcomings of the Let's be honest here, completely honest. Paris needs her money back from her "voice coach" because no properly trained vocal specialist would teach someone to use a baby voice type of whisper only audible due to millions of dollars in production and amplification equpiment. Yes, the album may be well-produced by Scott Storch, but that doesn't justify the shortcomings of the music by itself. If you put make-up on a horse, you still have a horse; in other words, polishing something that contains no real musicianship still contains no musicianship. You haven't accomplished anything, and anyone else with an hear for music would tell you the same thing. Second, people are justified in hating her so that making something that is well at her level justifies hating her "art". Third, Mike S., she has no charisma: she has the personality of a sidewalk! Aside from the monotone parrotlike repeating of "That's hot" or "It's been my dream to create an album since I was born", all you have is an anorexic blonde girl who has received everything from the time of her birth. At least Britney and Christina had to work for it. Expand
  80. ZeeG
    Aug 31, 2006
    6
    These songs finally should show to those with half a brain that the music today depends little on your talent or voice as a singer, but more about the producers and writers that can take an average person that had never sung before and make something that sounds like everything else on the radio. I don't blame Paris...she's fine. But how good is everyone else (really) if Paris These songs finally should show to those with half a brain that the music today depends little on your talent or voice as a singer, but more about the producers and writers that can take an average person that had never sung before and make something that sounds like everything else on the radio. I don't blame Paris...she's fine. But how good is everyone else (really) if Paris can swoop in and have a halfway decent albumn. This reflects more poorly on how recycled and simple music is today. Is Pink, Christina, or Beyonce that good if Paris can do the same thing? Are they just puppets for the Wizards of Oz that are really creating things behind the curtain in the studio? This albumn is scary not becuase Paris is in it, but because anyone could of done it. Expand
  81. nono
    Aug 31, 2006
    0
    nonobadmakeitstop!
  82. JuliaA
    Sep 12, 2006
    0
    so bad I hardly could say anything about the album.so damn shallow ('Fightin' Over Me'?? even my little-five-year-old cousin could come up with better song title!).and why the hell Scott Storch had his hand laid on this album? plus Paris thinks she's the hottest stuff in the world that her songs are so meaningful and the other f**kin cliches.she should stick to spend so bad I hardly could say anything about the album.so damn shallow ('Fightin' Over Me'?? even my little-five-year-old cousin could come up with better song title!).and why the hell Scott Storch had his hand laid on this album? plus Paris thinks she's the hottest stuff in the world that her songs are so meaningful and the other f**kin cliches.she should stick to spend her wealth by the frenzy shopping habit of hers. Expand
  83. Chris
    Sep 13, 2006
    0
    Waste of plastic.
  84. ChristianE
    Nov 11, 2006
    8
    Like many I didn't expect to like Paris Hilton's debut album Paris. But like over half of the majority I decided to purchase it anyway--just to see how it sounded. It surprised me to say the least that I ended up enjoying it and not finding it utterly pathetic. There are two bad, bad missteps (the bland "Fightin' Over Me" and the horrendous cover "Do Ya Think I'm Like many I didn't expect to like Paris Hilton's debut album Paris. But like over half of the majority I decided to purchase it anyway--just to see how it sounded. It surprised me to say the least that I ended up enjoying it and not finding it utterly pathetic. There are two bad, bad missteps (the bland "Fightin' Over Me" and the horrendous cover "Do Ya Think I'm Sexy"), but the remainder is great pop music, especially current hit single "Nothing In This World." It's hard to tell where Paris begins and production ends due to overproduction--but does that matter? Love her, hate her or just don't give a crap about her, this disc might surprise you. Expand
  85. Mar 27, 2011
    7
    It might be Paris Hilton that is singing destroys the album's reputation. It might be an album for vanity purposes. We just can't deny that her debut sounds good and fun. It creates several dance-hits.
  86. May 23, 2011
    7
    She might've just bought the best producers to hit the scene and whipped their asses to make her sound great, but she certainly can make a proper pop album.
  87. Sep 22, 2012
    0
    57?! Are you kidding? Challenge Paris Hilton to sing live and see what is really deserved the note. Garbage, weak, sickly, is like a type of perfume that has already been used several times only worsened. By far the worst album I've ever heard.
  88. Sep 6, 2014
    5
    Mesmo não sabendo cantar, Paris conseguiu fazendo um álbum bom, com músicas não enjoativas e que ficam cabeça. Me surpreendeu. Ela conseguiu até mesmo fazer um pequeno sucesso com o single Stars Are Blind, uma das melhores do CD. As letras não são lá grande coisa, mas mesmo assim...
  89. May 27, 2015
    10
    Great music, good job Paris! the album paris Rocks! don't listen to negative critics, go ahead and buy this wonderful album! don't listen the haters.
  90. Sep 15, 2015
    6
    I find extremely unfair all the hatred her album has received. If this was released by a random pop girl it would get fat better reviews. I think Britney Spears would kill to have "Turn it up", "Stars are blind" and "If you think I'm sexy" in her discography.

    Not a remarkable record by any means but very enjoyable for what it is, an artificial, carefree and not very ambitions pop album
    I find extremely unfair all the hatred her album has received. If this was released by a random pop girl it would get fat better reviews. I think Britney Spears would kill to have "Turn it up", "Stars are blind" and "If you think I'm sexy" in her discography.

    Not a remarkable record by any means but very enjoyable for what it is, an artificial, carefree and not very ambitions pop album

    Too bad this one flopped terribly and hasn't released anything else ever since
    Expand
  91. Apr 15, 2016
    10
    Perfect, Star Are Blind is amazing, ela lançou um álbum leve com uma identidade bem legal, as pessoas não escutam e já julgam não acho isso bacana..
  92. Aug 16, 2016
    8
    A solid album, after 10 years since it's initial release I still find myself coming back to this album and playing it. Highlights are "Stars Are Blind", "Nothing In This World" and "Heartbeat".
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. Like a silly holiday cocktail with umbrellas and sparklers, there is much to enjoy about Paris Hilton, albeit for one mad Med fortnight only.
  2. What's most surprising about Paris's album is that it's really not all that bad; released by any other, ahem, artist, it would likely earn better notices than recent albums by the likes of Lindsay Lohan, Hilary Duff, or Ashlee Simpson--not that that's really saying much.
  3. She sings like a woman who has heard of something called singing, can't be sure of exactly what it might entail, but is fairly certain you do something a bit like this. She sounds both distracted and bored stiff, as if making an album is keeping her from the more serious business of standing around a nightclub in a pair of really enormous sunglasses.