Passive Me Aggressive You - The Naked and Famous
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Apr 6, 2011
    80
    The vocals of core dynamic duo Alisa Xayalith and Thom Powers instantly proffer more light and shade, while the punchy garage of Kraut Of All Of This, distorted, gliding My Bloody Valentine-lite of Frayed And Spank, or thundering Chemical Brothers detonations at the heart of A Wolf In Geek's Clothing all point to far more than just obscure psych records in their collection. [Apr 2011, p.100]
  2. Mar 29, 2011
    80
    You're unlikely to be disappointed. [Apr 2011, p.84]
  3. 80
    A classic case of ugly and beautiful: TN&F's passive melodicism and aggressive innovation clash in a dazzling blaze of psych/sonic fireworks.
  4. Mar 17, 2011
    80
    Passive Me, Aggressive You is undoubtedly a pop album, and an impressive one at that. There's a nice blend of intensity and honesty here, which TH&F will do well to maintain in their future career.
  5. Mar 17, 2011
    80
    Musically, lyrically and emotionally, it works.
  6. Apr 27, 2011
    75
    It's infectious, and though the album is heavy in inspirational debt, Passive's highs are tantalizing enough to lure you to come for a bright-eyed joyride.
  7. 70
    Passive Me, Aggressive You is novel and refreshing, even with overt pop influences.
  8. Mar 17, 2011
    70
    Despite the overarching feel of having a bit of the early MGMT's about them (which, to be fair, is hardly a bad thing), there's enough variety within the New Zealanders' debut to prove they're more than just a one-trick, party-starting pony.
  9. Mar 17, 2011
    70
    Listening to the Naked and Famous' guttingly good 2011 full-length debut, Passive Me Aggressive You, one thing is clear: this band loves a hot chorus.
  10. Mar 17, 2011
    70
    Many songs have a steady drum-machine thump to keep the listener's attention focused, even as the low-key vocals nudge toward narcosis.
  11. Apr 6, 2011
    60
    But for all their obvious influences, they're as youthfully exuberant as MGMT and surely no band has used echo quite so deftly since interesting-period Jesus ANd Mary Chain. [Apr 2011, p.104]
  12. Mar 17, 2011
    60
    The overall impression of the album is that the Naked and Famous have arrived rather late to the 80s-retro party.
  13. Mar 17, 2011
    60
    You could justify that over-emphasis as evidence of a broad-ranging band flexing their options and chafing at their limits. But, in songs and career alike, you could also say The Naked and Famous might benefit from a sense of pacing.
  14. 50
    It's a welcome escape, but it doesn't have the shape and form of something worth escaping to and remains at best a quality xerox of pop music today.
  15. Mar 22, 2011
    50
    It is a decent debut, with a lot of room for growth. [Feb 2011, p.66]
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Dec 5, 2013
    7
    I love bands with female and male voices, and more if the whole album has different genres in every track...It has catchy songs like the singles they released. The opener has something that makes you want to hear the whole album, and they close it perfectly with "Girls like you" Full Review »
  2. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    I LOVE THIS ALBUM. Alisa... she has the voice! "Young Blood" is already a classic. This album sounds better than a lot of indie bands of the decade, definitely. I just... love it. Full Review »
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    Un album magnifique, original, os√©, bref... excellentissime. J'ai √©couter cet album des dizaine de fois mais je ne m'en lasse jamais. Vivement leurs prochain albums. Full Review »