Passive Me Aggressive You

  • Record Label: Republic
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2011
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
Buy On
  1. Q Magazine
    Apr 6, 2011
    60
    But for all their obvious influences, they're as youthfully exuberant as MGMT and surely no band has used echo quite so deftly since interesting-period Jesus ANd Mary Chain. [Apr 2011, p.104]
  2. Mar 17, 2011
    60
    The overall impression of the album is that the Naked and Famous have arrived rather late to the 80s-retro party.
  3. Mar 17, 2011
    60
    You could justify that over-emphasis as evidence of a broad-ranging band flexing their options and chafing at their limits. But, in songs and career alike, you could also say The Naked and Famous might benefit from a sense of pacing.
  4. 50
    It's a welcome escape, but it doesn't have the shape and form of something worth escaping to and remains at best a quality xerox of pop music today.
  5. Under The Radar
    Mar 22, 2011
    50
    It is a decent debut, with a lot of room for growth. [Feb 2011, p.66]
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. May 18, 2015
    4
    I didn't hate this album, but I wanted to love it, It's best track is actually one of my personal favorites, "Eyes". It's high points areI didn't hate this album, but I wanted to love it, It's best track is actually one of my personal favorites, "Eyes". It's high points are without a doubt some of the best pop songs I've ever heard, I wanted to reach for it. But when you get to "Spank" and "A Wolf In Geek's Clothing", you'll get the message. Full Review »
  2. Dec 5, 2013
    7
    I love bands with female and male voices, and more if the whole album has different genres in every track...It has catchy songs like theI love bands with female and male voices, and more if the whole album has different genres in every track...It has catchy songs like the singles they released. The opener has something that makes you want to hear the whole album, and they close it perfectly with "Girls like you" Full Review »
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    I LOVE THIS ALBUM. Alisa... she has the voice! "Young Blood" is already a classic. This album sounds better than a lot of indie bands of theI LOVE THIS ALBUM. Alisa... she has the voice! "Young Blood" is already a classic. This album sounds better than a lot of indie bands of the decade, definitely. I just... love it. Full Review »