Pay The Devil

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobbB
    Sep 2, 2006
    9
    I can understand if the country doesnt do it for ya but I will never understand how some van fans give it a three or less. This is a solid performance and there is even a classic or two on here that will show up on jukeboxes where were all gray. 9
  2. LutendoT
    Aug 22, 2006
    2
    I love Van Morrison and he's not Kenny Rogers, the voice is okay but the country tunes do not do it for me. The best Van Album for me is Avalon Sunset, I love all the tracks. This one, a big no! I will skip this album and wait for the next one. Magic Time was excellent too!
  3. VinT
    Jun 4, 2006
    3
    I paid 400.00 for my wife and I to see V the Man I have not seen him since 71, but have all his albums.The 9 or 10 songs from this album tortured me and the 8 songs that represented him were simply wonderful, even tho' the mercurial man did no encore.
  4. FranciscoD
    May 12, 2006
    9
    The voices is wonderful- The musicians impeccables. The songs are classics. Some versions stands, by far, the original-Where stands the glass. With the time will be a classic. Sure
  5. LindaL
    Mar 31, 2006
    6
    "Devil" has nowhere near the wit and magic of "Magic Time" (his previous CD). I've adored Van for decades, and I'm happy that unlike some artists of his era, he has a voice that's as good as ever. But it's wasted on most of these ho-hum country tunes.
  6. ColinS
    Mar 15, 2006
    9
    As a vocalist Van proves he can tackle anything with this project. Of the Originals: " Playhouse" and "This Has Got To Stop are outstanding". The best cover is Rodney Crowell's "Till I Gain Control Again"
  7. markd
    Mar 11, 2006
    8
    Rock on Cowboy the Crac is good!
  8. BaronL
    Mar 8, 2006
    8
    Unlike current artists retreating into contemporary adult classics (Rod, Cindy, I'm looking at you) Morrison doesn't take the easy road by tackling twangy-tunes that could easily slip into shmaltz. Like a pare of well-worn leather boots.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Pay The Devil is at the crossroads of country, blues and soul. In his voice is the authority to bring them together.
  2. Pay the Devil reiterates Morrison's own musical diversity and flair for making any song his own.
  3. Billboard
    90
    Brilliance shines throughout. [11 Mar 2006]