Payable On Death

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Nov 4, 2003
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 33
  2. Negative: 5 out of 33

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NomadH
    Nov 27, 2005
    7
    Amazingly, P.O.D. manage to conjure up a multitude of differing melodic atmospheres that complement, rather than insult, your intelligence. Give it a shot; not revolutionary, but then that's not the point, is it?
  2. edgardj
    Sep 13, 2004
    8
    It is a cool CD but i think that they were better with the style that they brote on the satellite albun.No mater what p.o.d brings on i will always be there to soport them.GOD BLESS YOU GUYS! ROCK FOR LIFE
  3. MikeB
    Sep 12, 2005
    2
    Just the kind of horrid schlock he music world needs no more of.
  4. JonnyBoy
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    The best christian rock band ever. P.O.D. has been my favorite artst since thier first album with Atlantic records.Mike B. must be like a devil worshiper or something.
  5. AnonymousMC
    Dec 1, 2003
    0
    Suck me sonny.
  6. AdrianS
    Jan 10, 2004
    10
    this cd is the best ever
  7. kikil
    Jun 17, 2006
    10
    i like revolution so much
  8. Ben.
    Nov 22, 2003
    0
    Someone just needs to make this album NOT a 10....0, son!
  9. ameenm
    Nov 30, 2003
    10
    This cd is gr8
  10. TristanH
    Dec 14, 2003
    9
    Man 1st time I heard it I though it was ok but its fully grown on me and is deffinately one of the top albums this year. Good listerning everytime something old but new. Aint gunna get bored guickly, great lyrics and style.
  11. Eddington_sSouthtown
    Dec 26, 2003
    10
    I really like what Truby has brought to the band. 9 of 12 songs could be hit's. this CD only rates second to POD's live shows, you all should check them out..
  12. LorinG
    Dec 31, 2003
    10
    This album rocks!!!! They sound better than ever.
  13. AaronB
    Jan 23, 2004
    7
    This album is a little underrated. It takes a few listens. POD manages well with guitarist and style change. Great to hear a mainstream band experimenting and mixing it up a little.
  14. SophieB
    Nov 20, 2003
    10
    Dang, those critics are harsh, man! I rated this album a 10/10 for excessive use of creativity, an overabundance of positivity, and awesome members! Rock on, guys!
  15. JoeC
    Nov 20, 2003
    10
    awsome sheer awsome
  16. torii
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    i gave them a 10 because p.o.d. rocks and my whole room is full with them and i never get tired of there music
  17. BRIANNAS
    Dec 3, 2003
    10
    It rocks
  18. NeilS
    Feb 29, 2004
    10
    It may have a change of style than their last CD but it still is very good.
  19. tajg
    Jan 23, 2005
    10
    iam rating this album cuz each songs has some kind of believe ness in it if you hear the sounds of this album you would feel the same way as it sounds .... like as the way you feel you are on the same place where you feel alive abotu love far away from home ,this album is FULL OF SOUNDS OF REVOLUTION
  20. WhiskyP
    Nov 24, 2003
    1
    I am not a "warrior," but Satellite almost had me converted. This was disappointing, and not because Satellite raised expectations. Gone are the roaring rap-metal anthems like "Boom" and "Messenjah," to be replaced by sleepy harmonies and a playground sing-songy quality. Sonny shakes it up a bit in the first track, but after that it's all downhill. This album simply does not rock.
  21. FelixG
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    this cd is gr8 & i'm not wit tha street cru so (bleep)(bleep)!!! this cd is by far tha best 1 that has came out period
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Spin
    75
    Payable on Death's heaviest tracks... easily outcrunch the competition. [Dec 2003, p.124]
  2. Q Magazine
    40
    At excessive volume, Payable On Death sounds like a state-of-the-art metal album, but there's a painful dearth of decent ideas. [Jan 2004, p.118]
  3. Blender
    30
    Skimps on warmth and even grit except on a few blood-curdling screams--when, blessedly, you don't have to hear their words. [Nov 2003, p.119]