User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 306 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 306

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnnyL.
    May 28, 2007
    10
    This album really shows how Pearl Jam has grown up and advanced musically as well as lyrically. At the same time they brought back some of the old all-out-rock attitude on a majority of the songs. Genius, simply genius!!
  2. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    Finally regaining some of their original inspiration, Pearl Jam surprises everyone with this innovative album, one that actually keeps getting better as it goes along. Nothing they've done since Vitalogy has been anywhere near this good.
  3. ducdonglong
    May 1, 2006
    0
    Ten Club Took My Money for Nothing.
  4. PeterK
    Feb 1, 2007
    5
    ..disappoitmant
  5. MattT.
    Jun 22, 2007
    1
    I was a massive fan I saw them live and then after this album and their last few they have turned into dad rock, bands like NiN still have an edge or sexiness, this is just music for musics sake, I had the chance to see them this month and turned it down, my friend who loves them went and said I was right to not go it left him cold, I loved pj but they are not the pj I loved and now I I was a massive fan I saw them live and then after this album and their last few they have turned into dad rock, bands like NiN still have an edge or sexiness, this is just music for musics sake, I had the chance to see them this month and turned it down, my friend who loves them went and said I was right to not go it left him cold, I loved pj but they are not the pj I loved and now I have to admit it, Eddie will always have a great voice and the 1 is for army reserve. Brian J stop criticising other peoples opinions, you have yours we have ours (It's called free speech) unless u want us all to like what you do and agree with you because you are so clever and cool. Expand
  6. Mar 3, 2011
    1
    This album is the worst thing this band has ever done. Awful lyrics, predictable and safe music, no emotion. Even the artwork is terrible. I turned my CD back to the store.
  7. JarrodL
    May 1, 2006
    10
    To misquote Eddie Vedder, Speaking as a fan from the '90's.... Let me preface this by saying that at the time of their individual releases, I thought that Pearl Jam's last two stuido releases "Riot Act" (2002) and "Binaural" (2000) were pretty sweet records. Great Pearl Jam offereings from beginning to end. But over the last few years, I've decided that they don't To misquote Eddie Vedder, Speaking as a fan from the '90's.... Let me preface this by saying that at the time of their individual releases, I thought that Pearl Jam's last two stuido releases "Riot Act" (2002) and "Binaural" (2000) were pretty sweet records. Great Pearl Jam offereings from beginning to end. But over the last few years, I've decided that they don't quite stack up to the rest of the gems in their excellent catalogue. Don't get me wrong, I still enjoy both these albums quite a bit, and there are some outstanding cuts from those two records ("Save You," "Cropduster," and "Love Boat Captain," from Riot Act, "Insignificance," "Of the Girl," "Slight of Hand," and "Grievance" from Binaural) but I can remember that when those albums originally came out (as I may have been suffering from an ailment called "new PJ buzz" at the time) saying that I thought both were on par with their best work of the '90's. Sadly, I was wrong. Now, don't get me wrong again...both albums were good, better than 98% of other bands offerings in those years, but both records were not without their flaws or filler ("Rival," "Help Help," and "Ghost" all spring to mind as songs best left in the vault). I also think both records would have benefited greatly if there had been some way to have simmered a bit longer, for the pot to have been stirred, songs to have been tweaked and reexamined, as well as if there had been a way to have found room to include the excellent B-sides that came from those sessions---songs like "Down," "Undone "& "Other Side" from the Riot Act sessions, "Sad" & "Fatal" from the Binaural, all may have been the best B-sides PJ has ever produced in their history--far better than most band's best A side material. (Of course, these songs are now commercially available on "Lost Dogs," PJ's collection of B-sides, covers, & Christmas singles that came out in '03) But never once in my writings did I compare Binaural or Riot Act to the perennials. No Code (1996), Yield (1998), or Vitalogy (1994) have always been considered by me as the holy trinity of PJ albums. All flawless gems, each one a five-star classic. Those were the albums you'd want to play to introduce (or convert) someone to Pearl Jam. Now, with all that being said as preface, this new album, eloquently titled "Pearl Jam,"at this moment, might just be my favorite Pearl Jam record ever . Way better than their freshman and sophomore releases of Ten (1991) or Vs. (1993), by a long shot. More rocking than Yield or No Code, and perhaps better writing than Vitalogy. There are no weak songs on "Pearl Jam," no filler. Even the barely minute-long "Wasted Reprise" gives me the chills. The first 5 songs are, without a doubt in my mind, the most rocking five songs to ever start off a PJ record. From the poppy and catchy "Unemployable," to the mournful "Gone" and the soulful "Come Back," lyrically, musically, topically, this is finest offering the band has ever made. For those of you who have been waiting...for those of you saying that Pearl Jam was a great band who had never given us their great album, the eponymous release "Pearl Jam" is finally Pearl Jam's "Who's Next." Finally, this is their "Physical Graffiti." This is their "White Album". Or to be more modern in reference, this is their "OK Computer," their "Elephant" their "The Woods." This is the record you'll want to hand someone in 50 years time and say, "Here. This was what the finest American rock band in history sounded like in their prime. Enjoy." Though the world of music, and the real world might both be spinning in the toilet. With wars and debt and disease and hopelessness abounding, we can still look to and rock out with Pearl Jam, as they have given us something very special . Expand
  8. ReneZ
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Stunning is the first word that comes to mind upon first spin of this amazing record. I can honestly say this album is definetly right up there with Vs. and Ten. From start to finish the tracks flow into each other seamlessly. Eddie Voice remergence, the guitarsound we all loved and missed is all stamped on this record. I am a critical person when it comes to band's records, but I Stunning is the first word that comes to mind upon first spin of this amazing record. I can honestly say this album is definetly right up there with Vs. and Ten. From start to finish the tracks flow into each other seamlessly. Eddie Voice remergence, the guitarsound we all loved and missed is all stamped on this record. I am a critical person when it comes to band's records, but I must say I got no beef with this. Hand down people, you must buy this record. Expand
  9. JDWilliams
    May 2, 2006
    10
    This is classic rock of the new millenium. this how pearl jam should sound. buy this CD its worth every penny!
  10. AbelC
    May 2, 2006
    10
    This is the best cd of the year, and the ignorants that dont agree with that can buy a cd of simple plan.
  11. GaryP
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Simply amazing album. The transition from hard rockers like Life Wasted and Worldwide Suicide into soft ballads like Parachutes and Come Back is seamless. Keep up the good work PJ.
  12. Atom
    May 3, 2006
    9
    A no-brainer purchase. Should become a standard in any rock collection. Definitely their best in a long time. Maybe their best ever, in terms of a complete album. Hard to compare to Ten, because their sound has changed a bit. But it's up there with Vs. and Vitalogy, and, in total, more satisfying than both. All the tracks are SOLID. Some flat-out freakin' rock. Nothing to skip A no-brainer purchase. Should become a standard in any rock collection. Definitely their best in a long time. Maybe their best ever, in terms of a complete album. Hard to compare to Ten, because their sound has changed a bit. But it's up there with Vs. and Vitalogy, and, in total, more satisfying than both. All the tracks are SOLID. Some flat-out freakin' rock. Nothing to skip through (Unlike that Bugs thing from Vitalogy). Go blow your speakers. Expand
  13. JohnT
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    I pretty much love everything Pearl Jam has done in the studio, but this album returns to the effortless riffs of their first two, with Vs. being my favorite. No disrespect meant for the guys that gave it a rating of "2", but every one of their releases takes multiple listenings to properly judge the material. The first time a spin a new P.J. release, I am not floored, but this is because I pretty much love everything Pearl Jam has done in the studio, but this album returns to the effortless riffs of their first two, with Vs. being my favorite. No disrespect meant for the guys that gave it a rating of "2", but every one of their releases takes multiple listenings to properly judge the material. The first time a spin a new P.J. release, I am not floored, but this is because it is not ear candy. Thank God. Music that sounds catchy the first time you hear it will become very boring very quickly. Bands like P.J. carefully craft their songs so that you continue to discover nuances years after your initial listening. I have been a fan since Ten and I have learned to listen to their albums for a week or two and then bring out the lyrics. I admit that Eddie is sometimes difficult to understand, but that is because he FEELS the lyrics instead of just reciting them. This is record that perfectly describes the pathetic world situation, without becoming a shrill screed or being a downer. They just tell it like it is for common people like you and me. And, at the end, they give us hope that we can overcome the bastards that are ruining the human race. This is not a collection of singles, even though there are several that are radio-playable. This is an ALBUM, that should be listened to from beginning to end. The whole is greater than the sum of it's parts, just like every great band. Pearl Jam is one of only a handful of bands that truly matter. And this is the album I have been waiting for since Vs. Expand
  14. brianmad
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    another masterpiece from a band on form.
  15. bobg
    May 1, 2006
    10
    This album is awesome!
  16. CharlesK
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Quite simply a classic. It may be their finest record to date!
  17. jonb
    May 1, 2006
    10
    unreal!
  18. JohnS
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Best in 10 years ! You wont be disappointed. Great fast and slow songs. Chills on 'Come Back'
  19. ChrisH.
    May 1, 2006
    9
    Uniformally good. It's too early to say whether this is a brilliant album but there aren't any duds and there are some definite high points: Life Wasted, World Wide Suicide, Comatose, Severed, Hand, Marker in the Sand is the best 5 song blast to start a rock album I've heard in a long time. Get this album now.
  20. JordanB
    May 1, 2006
    10
    This is a stellar album from start to finish. It begins absolutely rocking, it has solid riffs throughout, it has searing vocals, it has melodic vocals, it has just about everything a single album could possibly have without sounding ridiculous. There are clearly a number of influences present on this album, but every song is uniquely "Pearl Jam."
  21. JHONATANY
    May 12, 2006
    0
    really boring the song sounds terrible !!!!!!!
  22. jackm
    May 1, 2006
    10
    PJ's best effort in over 8 years. Rocking songs that grow on you more and more with each listen.
  23. arildh
    May 1, 2006
    10
    classic
  24. RedMosquito
    May 1, 2006
    0
    Horrible Sound, with tired songs,.........this isn't the Vedder of 1997 unfortunatly.... cigarettes and smoking has taken their toll and left vedder a 60 year old dude that is really in his 40's
  25. TitsM
    May 1, 2006
    0
    Wow they sound old and tired... people stopped listening long aqgo
  26. THomasK
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Fresh!!
  27. sashl
    May 1, 2006
    9
    Best record in 12 years. Period.
  28. K.Ryan
    May 1, 2006
    10
    In my opinion, the band's best album from start to finish.
  29. JoshuaH
    May 1, 2006
    10
    I listened to this album for three days straight. I absolutley love it...A little different from the normal pearl jam material, but great all the same. I love pearl jam!!!! Can't wait to see the show in june ..
  30. JAnderson
    May 1, 2006
    9
    A return to form...Best album since No Code!
  31. [Anonymous]
    May 1, 2006
    9
    Terrific. Back to rocking (although the last two did have some rockers i.e. Save You and Grievance) the band sounds tight as ever. Come Back is great gospel-ish lament for lost love. Severed Hand is an amazing tale of a bad trip...I could go on but I'm out of time! enjoy!!!!
  32. John
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Yield and Vitalogy were my close one, two in my favorite PJ albums, and this album is making a run at them.
  33. NelsonL
    May 20, 2006
    10
    Excellent! There are no filler tracks on this disc. I'm glad to see PJ getting back to what they do best, which is guitar rock with a dash of punk.
  34. jenn
    May 2, 2006
    10
    One of the best rock albums of the year!
  35. MikeP
    May 2, 2006
    10
    If this is Pearl Jam's return to the mainstream album, then I'm happy to say they have pulled it off without writing and recording a trendy album that even the kids will like. These guys are adults and they've made a mature record with a youthful exuberance they often seemed wary of showing on previous releases, but it always came shining through live. 'Pearl Jam' If this is Pearl Jam's return to the mainstream album, then I'm happy to say they have pulled it off without writing and recording a trendy album that even the kids will like. These guys are adults and they've made a mature record with a youthful exuberance they often seemed wary of showing on previous releases, but it always came shining through live. 'Pearl Jam' has the best production I've heard from them since VS. and the playing is tighter than ever. They don't get cute, they've just written some fucking greats songs and stayed focused on their execution. Mr. Vedder's voice has never been committed to tape more beautifully than on this album. These six guys (that's right, I'm talking about Boom, he deserves it) are writing and playing together on record the way I always knew they could, but captured it perfectly with Mr. Kasparian's help. They have become a great band in every sense of the word. Thank the gods that Matt Cameron has stuck around for so long. He may not be the best drummer they've ever had, but he just might be the best drummer for the band. This album deserves to sell more copies than Ten, although I doubt it will. But if it does, the boys can handle it better this time. Expand
  36. borgyb
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Sounds great to me.
  37. DavidA
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Powerful album the whole way through. The music is raw and perfectly meshed and the vocals are a perfect addition to the music. This is a great addition to an already legendary portfolio of music. This band is relevant today and I know that as time goes on they will stay relevant.
  38. joew
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Very organic!! Back to what pj does best!!
  39. KabirB
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Awesome album from start to finish! Highly recommended for die-hard Pearl Jam fans and those who are interested in listening to quality rock music. Album picks : Tracks 1-13 :)
  40. ChrisW
    May 3, 2006
    8
    A lot more aggressive. Pearl Jam's best album since Yield. The slower songs are beautiful as always.
  41. brentm
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Best start to finish album from Pearl Jam EVER. No doubt about it. Most energy, best songs, and greatest lyrics.
  42. FridaC
    May 3, 2006
    10
    One of my favorite albums it's a tie with No Code.
  43. RyanM
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Pearl Jam is something special
  44. rafraf
    May 4, 2006
    9
    gran disco
  45. JorisV.
    May 9, 2006
    5
    After the horrible single WWS, I was afraid the whole album would be as bad, but it's not that bad... just turned out to be another very mediocre PJ album (again) ... I like Pearl Jam but they just keep on sounding the same, while a band should try new directions, they still sound very outdated...and because of that I lost my interest in the band. One masterpiece and one very good After the horrible single WWS, I was afraid the whole album would be as bad, but it's not that bad... just turned out to be another very mediocre PJ album (again) ... I like Pearl Jam but they just keep on sounding the same, while a band should try new directions, they still sound very outdated...and because of that I lost my interest in the band. One masterpiece and one very good album they made in my opinion, after that they've become a bore... Though there are some glorious moments like the great Inside Job (mmm great LedZEP tune), Life's Wasted, two very good songs MArker In The Sand and Unemployable ... but besides those four, they just have some good intros sometimes and good ideas but screw it up in a typical unmelodic pearl jam -way (Army Reserve -kicks off great however)... Maybe it's time to stop guys? If not plea&se another direction, PJ's stuck into the early nineties grunge-sound... Time to move on guys! Expand
  46. mikeb
    May 9, 2006
    8
    Finally pearl jam have realised what they do best. Stomping rock songs and heart felt ballards instead of the messy experimentation of recent albums. Now injected with 70s rock influences. Awesome
  47. OlleO
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Pearl Jam's best effort since Yield. Will probably be awesome live :)
  48. MattD.
    May 1, 2006
    10
    While their older albums such as Ten had more memorable individual songs, this CD is very memorable as a whole. It's a very hard-hitting, energetic rock CD where the ballads don't feel like lulls in the action.
  49. Systool
    May 1, 2006
    7
    A good Pearl Jam album, a synthesis of the harsh tracks of Vitalogy and the calm of the recent compositions. My favourite tracks : Life Wasted, Parachutes, Unemployable and Army Reserve
  50. joeyt
    May 1, 2006
    10
    superb
  51. joeshmoe
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Coming from a fan of Pearl Jam of the early 90's, to lose them along the way with mediocre albums....I've always loved their integrity, but I just thought they were capable of so much more....well, they just made me a fan all over again. This album is outstanding and I'm going to have to get the last couple of albums between Yield and the new one.
  52. TimH
    May 1, 2006
    10
    I've been a PJ fan since the very beginning when I first heard Even Flow play on the radio at the age of 13. I'm nearly 28 now, and I didn't realize PJ still had this in them. I was disappointed with the last 2 cds (although I've grown to like them.) But after listening to this cd about 20 times now, I'm just stunned. It's great. I don't think it's I've been a PJ fan since the very beginning when I first heard Even Flow play on the radio at the age of 13. I'm nearly 28 now, and I didn't realize PJ still had this in them. I was disappointed with the last 2 cds (although I've grown to like them.) But after listening to this cd about 20 times now, I'm just stunned. It's great. I don't think it's my favorite PJ cd, but it's still amazing. Inside Job is the best song Pearl Jam has ever recorded. Expand
  53. BrunoK
    May 1, 2006
    10
    There's no doubt anymore that Pearl Jam is one of the greatest bands of all time. The 2006 album reminds the old "Vitalogy" Pearl Jam, but with the maturity of "Riot Act", "Pearl Jam" brings the best of every phase of the band. This is just another great album from Pearl Jam, and it's so unffair to say it's their best one, because every album in Pearl Jam's career is There's no doubt anymore that Pearl Jam is one of the greatest bands of all time. The 2006 album reminds the old "Vitalogy" Pearl Jam, but with the maturity of "Riot Act", "Pearl Jam" brings the best of every phase of the band. This is just another great album from Pearl Jam, and it's so unffair to say it's their best one, because every album in Pearl Jam's career is excelent (except maybe for Binaural overall, but the 2000 album still has great songs). Collapse
  54. MichaelB
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Their most brilliant effort since Yield, and one of the most stunning collections of rock music in recent memory.
  55. ClaudiaC
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Best PJ album!
  56. chriss
    May 1, 2006
    9
    its a wonderful album but/and they are still capable of more - best band touring today
  57. edwardd
    May 1, 2006
    10
    excelent album, pj at thier best. without a doubt pearl jam best work since yield.
  58. Ryan
    May 1, 2006
    9
    Screw all the people that say Eddie Vedder is tired. He is older, i mean do people really think Robert Plant's voice hasnt taken its toll, but he still rocks...and hands down this is the best album since Vitology.
  59. GeorgeR
    May 1, 2006
    10
    The best since vitalogy
  60. DaveA.
    May 1, 2006
    0
    The cover art is embarrassing. The sounds are juvenile. And the lead singer is ancient. horrible combo. vedder needs to give it up
  61. ShawnW
    May 1, 2006
    9
    Definitely Pearl Jam's best effort since Vitalogy. Social conscious songs that move your feet!
  62. MichaelF
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Best PJ album sinve Vitalogy,
  63. MikeW
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Their best since Vitalogy, and I loved Yield! Great album! These lyrics have real value and meaning. The music Stone, Ed and the boys is intricate and deep. This may be their finest album.
  64. Tom
    May 1, 2006
    9
    Another great album from one of the most overlooked bands by mainstream America; however, this one should end that drought and bring them back to the forefront of Rock as many of these songs are easier to accept and get into for non diehard fans. Vedder's back to barking out his signature lyrics on songs like Big Wave and Comatose, which is reminiscent of Spin the Black Circle with Another great album from one of the most overlooked bands by mainstream America; however, this one should end that drought and bring them back to the forefront of Rock as many of these songs are easier to accept and get into for non diehard fans. Vedder's back to barking out his signature lyrics on songs like Big Wave and Comatose, which is reminiscent of Spin the Black Circle with its thrashing guitars, but still able to bring it down to that soft haunting baritone on slower songs like Gone. McCready and Gossard bring on the power with possibly some of the best guitar licks of recent memory from any album by any band. Ament and Cameron are solid as usual. The first 5 songs of the album are comparable to the opening assault we heard on Vitalogy and for the first time they end the album with more of an uptempo rocker, even though it starts off slow. The flow of the album is great and its nice to see that this one is getting the attention and airplay it deserves. A crisp album that I love more with each listen. Welcome back to the limelight PJ! Expand
  65. DrewK
    May 1, 2006
    5
    I've only given it two spins but this record bored me to tears. There's nothing particularly bad about it (it is certainly an upgrade over the putrid Riot Act), but there is nothing really memorable on it either. It's the sound of a band who has long ago run out of ideas, but is giving it a 110% in lieu of the lack of inspiration.
  66. DaveR
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Do yourself a favour and PICK UP THIS ALBUM. It's their best album. Forget best since Ten or since Vitalogy. It's flat out their best. Each song blows me away. Check out, especially, Marker in the Sand, Army Reserve, Unemployable, Inside Job, Severed Hand, Come Back...just amazing. GET IT. PLEASE!!!!
  67. carlosf
    May 10, 2006
    10
    it's just great to hear eddie's raw vocals again, not to say the great compositions the group have made for this record. It's a different Pearl jam than previous efforts, although last two records remain to me as great lp, this last one rocks like they've never done before, perhaps on ten, who knows, but this is so great. Maybe to soon to say, but this is my vote for it's just great to hear eddie's raw vocals again, not to say the great compositions the group have made for this record. It's a different Pearl jam than previous efforts, although last two records remain to me as great lp, this last one rocks like they've never done before, perhaps on ten, who knows, but this is so great. Maybe to soon to say, but this is my vote for album of the year. Expand
  68. JoeH
    May 2, 2006
    10
    you gotta listen to it on headphones.
  69. EdL
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Wow! Start to finish this album delivers! The band is playing with renewed vigor and enthusiasm.
  70. SR
    May 2, 2006
    9
    This is a great hrad rock album. Nothing pops out at you. There is nothing super commercial. it's just a great balls to the wall rock album. They could have cut it down to 10 or 11 tunes and it would be a little tighter but, by far and away the best album in 10 years or so.
  71. BryanT
    May 2, 2006
    10
    This is their heaviest effort since Vitalogy and probably their best overall album since 1996's No Code. A very aggressive and consistent effort from arguably the best band of the 90s. This ranks alongside their all-time best works. This album manages to get back to the heavy guitars and very direct lyrics of some of their early albums while building on the melody and mature This is their heaviest effort since Vitalogy and probably their best overall album since 1996's No Code. A very aggressive and consistent effort from arguably the best band of the 90s. This ranks alongside their all-time best works. This album manages to get back to the heavy guitars and very direct lyrics of some of their early albums while building on the melody and mature songwriting of their most recent efforts. Overall, the second half of the album is a bit slower and quieter than the first half, but the songs are still top-notch, especially "unemployable" and "come back", the latter of which is one of their all-time best and most heartfelt ballads. So do yourself a favor and pick this up if your a fan of the band, or just a fan of loud and honest rock music in general Expand
  72. MikaelW
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Best Pearl Jam album to date.
  73. ColinN
    May 2, 2006
    10
    As a seattleite and longtime pearl jam fan I was wating with baited breath for this album. I was afraid from the onset that PJ was going to make a generic rock album to appease their new label. This is NOT the case, and thankfully so. This is a thoughtful, awe inpsiring piece of art. Marker in the Sand, Comatose and Inside Job are flat out astounding.
  74. DavidW
    May 23, 2006
    8
    Wonderful album. I haven't really payed them much attention since Vitalogy, but this record makes me realise why I liked this band so much in the first place.
  75. Cristianp
    May 2, 2006
    10
    just listen to it,...
  76. RyanL
    May 2, 2006
    10
    This a truly great album that will go down as one of Pearl Jam's best. If you wrote the band off after Ten, Vs, and Vitalogy give this a listen and realize that this band is still making the best music around today.
  77. SteveW
    May 2, 2006
    4
    Another dreary Pearl Jam album, with a few inspired moments, but not enought to save them from the mediocre corner they've painted themselves into over the course of the last 3 albums... This band ran out of steam after 'Yield', and I don't think they're ever going to get it back...
  78. MarkA
    May 3, 2006
    8
    Very solid album. Probably my favorite since Yield.
  79. SteveC
    May 3, 2006
    9
    This is the best Pearl Jam album since Yield. The last few albums have had some hidden gems on them (Thumbing My Way, Parting Ways), but do not have the consistency that this album has. Marker in the Sand and Come Back are just fantastic songs. Life Wasted and World Wide Suicide remind me of Ten. The only songs I don't like are Big Wave and Army Reserve. The messages might be good, This is the best Pearl Jam album since Yield. The last few albums have had some hidden gems on them (Thumbing My Way, Parting Ways), but do not have the consistency that this album has. Marker in the Sand and Come Back are just fantastic songs. Life Wasted and World Wide Suicide remind me of Ten. The only songs I don't like are Big Wave and Army Reserve. The messages might be good, but the execution is not so good. Anyone who gives this album a zero must be fans of Staind, Disturbed, Lincoln Park, and whatever other cookie cutter band has been created by music corporations over the last ten years. Expand
  80. MichaelP
    May 3, 2006
    9
    Why is it that all of the people who have given this album a 0 or poor rating have nothing of substance to say? One guy actually admitted he hasn't listened to the whole album. If you are going to criticize something, at least have the brain to back it up and take the time to really consider what you are saying and what you are saying about it. Then say something constructive. This Why is it that all of the people who have given this album a 0 or poor rating have nothing of substance to say? One guy actually admitted he hasn't listened to the whole album. If you are going to criticize something, at least have the brain to back it up and take the time to really consider what you are saying and what you are saying about it. Then say something constructive. This is my second comment about this album, which I have tempered after having listened to Pearl Jam several more times. I still believe it is a very good album. Expand
  81. Alex
    May 3, 2006
    9
    a truly fantastic return to form for Eddie and Co.
  82. LinW
    May 3, 2006
    9
    A solid effort from beginning to end. Like all albums since vs it does require a 3rd and 4th listen to absorb the real emotion and thoughtfulness of the endeavor. Pearl Jam fans (even those who left after Vitology) will find this a refreshing album.
  83. ShawnS
    May 3, 2006
    9
    This is an overall great album. I really liked Yield and I think this might be better, though it's close. Marker in the Sand is the most relevant song the band has made since Better Man and Come Back smacks of the Stones' Beast of Burden. Very good tracks from start to finish
  84. madsl
    May 30, 2006
    7
    A rock solid effort from the grunge veterans! I tend to like the straight ahead rockers on this album whereas a "soul" ballad like Come Back almost makes me cringe! Eddie vedder is a terrible vocalist when he really tries to, you know..sing! Still their best album since No Code...even though that is not saying a lot: the previous three albums are really bad!
  85. PeteM
    May 3, 2006
    8
    it sounds like its worth alot of listens. i love the slower songs and the harder rockers do rock, but with a rare sophistication. There's alot of thought in eddie's vocals and alot of feeling in the guitar solos. The only things that let the album down are the mixes on the harder songs - too much vocals, not enough drums, and that big wave song. a great album though. as good as it sounds like its worth alot of listens. i love the slower songs and the harder rockers do rock, but with a rare sophistication. There's alot of thought in eddie's vocals and alot of feeling in the guitar solos. The only things that let the album down are the mixes on the harder songs - too much vocals, not enough drums, and that big wave song. a great album though. as good as any other except `Yield`. Expand
  86. johnw
    May 3, 2006
    10
    amazing CD BEST OF 06' no doubt!! pitchfork really pisses me off. they gave this cd a 5.5 saying they did a great job for returning to straighforward rock..but they are annoyed by eddie's voice..which sounds amazing to me. every song stands on its own this cd is worth your money. buy it...you all
  87. Chris
    May 4, 2006
    10
    From top to bottom this album is amazing. Listen to it a few times through, and you too will be amazed at it's excellence.
  88. TimothyC
    May 4, 2006
    10
    This is a return to old form. From start to finish you are in for a great ride. The first three songs open up, with raw vocals from Eddie and blazing guitar riffs in the back. The energy really keeps up for the first three songs, and as we get into the album, we begin to explore a variety of sounds, but the energy never dies. This album exceeded all my expectations for another Pearl Jam This is a return to old form. From start to finish you are in for a great ride. The first three songs open up, with raw vocals from Eddie and blazing guitar riffs in the back. The energy really keeps up for the first three songs, and as we get into the album, we begin to explore a variety of sounds, but the energy never dies. This album exceeded all my expectations for another Pearl Jam realase, and is much tighter than their last album, Riot Act. Expand
  89. DanL
    May 4, 2006
    10
    The best thing to happen to rock in years, Pearl Jam turn the volume to 11 for the first time since 1994's Vitalogy. Every song on the album is addictive and genius, most notably "Unemployable," "Inside Job," and "Severed Hand." Wow, 2006 is a great year for music.
  90. JimH
    May 5, 2006
    8
    The album is NOT Pearl Jam's best album sinceTen and Vs. I think that song for song, Yield deserves that honor. Still, this definitely has some bright spots, notably the two closing tracks and the gorgeous rave up Marker in the Sand. You might call it a microcosm of the PJ experience: mostly glorious rock and roll peppered with bewildered frustration. I'd really give it a high The album is NOT Pearl Jam's best album sinceTen and Vs. I think that song for song, Yield deserves that honor. Still, this definitely has some bright spots, notably the two closing tracks and the gorgeous rave up Marker in the Sand. You might call it a microcosm of the PJ experience: mostly glorious rock and roll peppered with bewildered frustration. I'd really give it a high 7, but we'll round up. Anyway, why listen to me or anyone else here? You can hear the entire CD on AOL and judge for yourself. Expand
  91. DanielF
    May 6, 2006
    10
    The most phenomenal album released so far this year, and possibly the best this band has ever offered up.
  92. LeeG
    May 7, 2006
    8
    definitely their best since Yield. Marker in the Sand, Inside Job, Unemployable, Gone and Comatose stand out. i'll be playing this one for awhile.
  93. BrennanB
    May 7, 2006
    9
    Perhaps the best CD from Pearl Jam since Vs.
  94. HG
    May 8, 2006
    5
    I don't think anyone can argue that Pearl Jam are a great band. However, the reason why they meant so much to me in the beginning was because Eddie used to sing from the heart and not his head. He would wail like he was singing from a mountain top and the band would give him the canvas on which he could paint such a picture. Ten was the peak and it gently watered down since then. I don't think anyone can argue that Pearl Jam are a great band. However, the reason why they meant so much to me in the beginning was because Eddie used to sing from the heart and not his head. He would wail like he was singing from a mountain top and the band would give him the canvas on which he could paint such a picture. Ten was the peak and it gently watered down since then. "Army Reserve" is the albums best to my opinion. This album is not bad, it's just uninspiring and feels like I've heard it all before. Expand
  95. clau
    May 8, 2006
    10
    INCREDIBLE and AMAZING!!!! Love it!!! Their best record since No Code!!! I've been a fan for only 3 years and all I can say is that is the Greatest Band in the World!!! and this record proves it!!
  96. Andrew
    May 8, 2006
    10
    I never thought Pearl Jam lost much of their form to return too. Neverhtheless, this a excellent album. Of particular note are the final two tracks and Comatos. I can't imagine that any pearl jam fan would be wronged by buying this album.
  97. ScottJ
    May 9, 2006
    10
    The best band at providing spine-tingling rock. While a few of their more recent albums had 2 or 3 hard rocking songs, this one has six. The mid-tempo songs are brilliant. One downside, my wait to see Pearl Jam play live again.
  98. codedelphi
    Jun 11, 2006
    5
    I was in college during the grunge years of the early 90s and there were thousands of Pearl-Jam-U-Like clones playing the local circuit at the time. Despite this, I always preferred the album 10 to Nevermind. Nirvana struck me as having sold out and that student rebel in me wanted to enjoy the grunge movement without looking like I'd jumped on the bandwagon. So I got into Soundgarden I was in college during the grunge years of the early 90s and there were thousands of Pearl-Jam-U-Like clones playing the local circuit at the time. Despite this, I always preferred the album 10 to Nevermind. Nirvana struck me as having sold out and that student rebel in me wanted to enjoy the grunge movement without looking like I'd jumped on the bandwagon. So I got into Soundgarden and Pearl Jam. 15 years later and I was excited at the opportunity to relive my 'student days' by investing in the Pearl Jam album. They would 'rock' right? They would show the Year 10s I teach what proper music is all about and I, as their ageing teacher, would be hailed as a man of impeccable taste, a muso God right? My wife - a huge Nirvana fan who never recovered from the guitar hangover warned me against this purchase but I ignored her. This would be something fresh to compete against her awful Courtney records. Unfortunately I soon realised she was right. This is as a CD of competent but uninspiring tracks that proves that Pearl Jam always were second fiddle to Nirvana and my student rebellion was just that. Suddenly the Pearl-Jam-U-like bands from the early 90s seemed to be playing more exciting and gripping music than this latest CD. Many of the key players from the grunge movement went onto new and different projects whilst Pearl Jam have kept playing the same style as they always did. The world and its fashions move on and suddenly Pearl Jam sound like Dad rock and I feel like a Dad rocker ... which is a real shame... Expand
  99. MarkGH
    Jun 22, 2006
    9
    First let me say that i´m REALLY glad that they got past all that grunge "rebellious" music nonsense. This guys have always been better songwriters and they are very sincere as a band and with the music they play. I´ve been a fan of pearl jam since i began listening to music. Their first records undeniably rock and still stand as classics of 90s rock (above the whole "grunge" First let me say that i´m REALLY glad that they got past all that grunge "rebellious" music nonsense. This guys have always been better songwriters and they are very sincere as a band and with the music they play. I´ve been a fan of pearl jam since i began listening to music. Their first records undeniably rock and still stand as classics of 90s rock (above the whole "grunge" pseudo.genre) but i´m much more fond of the music they pursued later with No Code, Yield and Binaural. This record it´s a continuation of that minimalist spirit but , this time , with better songs and with a revived passion for pure, simple, energetic rock n roll . Expand
  100. Jimbo
    Jun 27, 2006
    2
    Terrible, terrible album. The only reason they got decent reviews is because of the damned liberal media. Every song sounds the same. It sounds the same as the past albums, too. The only reason i'm givin it two points is because their guitar and drums are decent in a couple songs.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. The seriously hopped-up effort fans have been pining for since Vitalogy.
  2. As immediate and despairing as breaking news from Baghdad... Pearl Jam is also as big and brash in fuzz and backbone as Led Zeppelin's Presence. [4 May 2006, p.55]
  3. Though few of these 13 numbers have the drama of tracks by the Who or Led Zeppelin, from whom the band draw much of their style, Pearl Jam play like men on a mission.