User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 308 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 308

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PeterK
    Feb 1, 2007
    5
    ..disappoitmant
  2. JorisV.
    May 9, 2006
    5
    After the horrible single WWS, I was afraid the whole album would be as bad, but it's not that bad... just turned out to be another very mediocre PJ album (again) ... I like Pearl Jam but they just keep on sounding the same, while a band should try new directions, they still sound very outdated...and because of that I lost my interest in the band. One masterpiece and one very good After the horrible single WWS, I was afraid the whole album would be as bad, but it's not that bad... just turned out to be another very mediocre PJ album (again) ... I like Pearl Jam but they just keep on sounding the same, while a band should try new directions, they still sound very outdated...and because of that I lost my interest in the band. One masterpiece and one very good album they made in my opinion, after that they've become a bore... Though there are some glorious moments like the great Inside Job (mmm great LedZEP tune), Life's Wasted, two very good songs MArker In The Sand and Unemployable ... but besides those four, they just have some good intros sometimes and good ideas but screw it up in a typical unmelodic pearl jam -way (Army Reserve -kicks off great however)... Maybe it's time to stop guys? If not plea&se another direction, PJ's stuck into the early nineties grunge-sound... Time to move on guys! Expand
  3. DrewK
    May 1, 2006
    5
    I've only given it two spins but this record bored me to tears. There's nothing particularly bad about it (it is certainly an upgrade over the putrid Riot Act), but there is nothing really memorable on it either. It's the sound of a band who has long ago run out of ideas, but is giving it a 110% in lieu of the lack of inspiration.
  4. SteveW
    May 2, 2006
    4
    Another dreary Pearl Jam album, with a few inspired moments, but not enought to save them from the mediocre corner they've painted themselves into over the course of the last 3 albums... This band ran out of steam after 'Yield', and I don't think they're ever going to get it back...
  5. HG
    May 8, 2006
    5
    I don't think anyone can argue that Pearl Jam are a great band. However, the reason why they meant so much to me in the beginning was because Eddie used to sing from the heart and not his head. He would wail like he was singing from a mountain top and the band would give him the canvas on which he could paint such a picture. Ten was the peak and it gently watered down since then. I don't think anyone can argue that Pearl Jam are a great band. However, the reason why they meant so much to me in the beginning was because Eddie used to sing from the heart and not his head. He would wail like he was singing from a mountain top and the band would give him the canvas on which he could paint such a picture. Ten was the peak and it gently watered down since then. "Army Reserve" is the albums best to my opinion. This album is not bad, it's just uninspiring and feels like I've heard it all before. Expand
  6. codedelphi
    Jun 11, 2006
    5
    I was in college during the grunge years of the early 90s and there were thousands of Pearl-Jam-U-Like clones playing the local circuit at the time. Despite this, I always preferred the album 10 to Nevermind. Nirvana struck me as having sold out and that student rebel in me wanted to enjoy the grunge movement without looking like I'd jumped on the bandwagon. So I got into Soundgarden I was in college during the grunge years of the early 90s and there were thousands of Pearl-Jam-U-Like clones playing the local circuit at the time. Despite this, I always preferred the album 10 to Nevermind. Nirvana struck me as having sold out and that student rebel in me wanted to enjoy the grunge movement without looking like I'd jumped on the bandwagon. So I got into Soundgarden and Pearl Jam. 15 years later and I was excited at the opportunity to relive my 'student days' by investing in the Pearl Jam album. They would 'rock' right? They would show the Year 10s I teach what proper music is all about and I, as their ageing teacher, would be hailed as a man of impeccable taste, a muso God right? My wife - a huge Nirvana fan who never recovered from the guitar hangover warned me against this purchase but I ignored her. This would be something fresh to compete against her awful Courtney records. Unfortunately I soon realised she was right. This is as a CD of competent but uninspiring tracks that proves that Pearl Jam always were second fiddle to Nirvana and my student rebellion was just that. Suddenly the Pearl-Jam-U-like bands from the early 90s seemed to be playing more exciting and gripping music than this latest CD. Many of the key players from the grunge movement went onto new and different projects whilst Pearl Jam have kept playing the same style as they always did. The world and its fashions move on and suddenly Pearl Jam sound like Dad rock and I feel like a Dad rocker ... which is a real shame... Expand
  7. Alongtimefand
    May 3, 2006
    5
    I've listened to this two days in a row hoping that something would click and i would see the beauty of this album........................................................no hope. I'm dissapointed and bored with it. Why put something out if it's not stellar? I honestly think that even PJ is bored with this album. They seem a bit desparate. Whatever, i just hope these guys I've listened to this two days in a row hoping that something would click and i would see the beauty of this album........................................................no hope. I'm dissapointed and bored with it. Why put something out if it's not stellar? I honestly think that even PJ is bored with this album. They seem a bit desparate. Whatever, i just hope these guys aren't the next aerosmith or metallica. We do not need another great rock band that has touched so many people screwing up and selling out. Please Do Not Sell Out!!! Expand
  8. Cables
    Jun 4, 2006
    4
    I just don't get it. I really wanted to like this album. It's so damn boring. It's far from a masterpiece, or anything even resembling a masterpiece.
  9. ADog
    Jul 6, 2006
    5
    I feel that the Pearl Jam I fell in love with years ago is now the Pearl Jam I pretend to love now. I think they were to me something honest, visceral. Listening to Pearl Jam was musical experience that was totally unique and captivated attention. Pearl Jam now is cerebral, calculatedly political and nothing that I look forward to listening to anymore. No chance that Pearl Jam will I feel that the Pearl Jam I fell in love with years ago is now the Pearl Jam I pretend to love now. I think they were to me something honest, visceral. Listening to Pearl Jam was musical experience that was totally unique and captivated attention. Pearl Jam now is cerebral, calculatedly political and nothing that I look forward to listening to anymore. No chance that Pearl Jam will reconnect with the incredible sound and energy they once had. Time to sit on the "porch" and "rock" in the easy chair. Please don't make another album it just hurts now. Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. The seriously hopped-up effort fans have been pining for since Vitalogy.
  2. As immediate and despairing as breaking news from Baghdad... Pearl Jam is also as big and brash in fuzz and backbone as Led Zeppelin's Presence. [4 May 2006, p.55]
  3. Though few of these 13 numbers have the drama of tracks by the Who or Led Zeppelin, from whom the band draw much of their style, Pearl Jam play like men on a mission.