Pearl Jam

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 315 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 315

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarlinM
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Wow. This is an amazing album from start to finish. It's about as diverse as a band can be on one album yet have it all still hang together into one masterpiece.
  2. RockFan
    May 1, 2006
    10
    It's a Monday and I have just listened to the new self titled Pearl Jam album. This rock album will have a huge impact on the music world. I can only imagine what it must have felt like listening to Bob Dylan, Janis Joplin, Neil Young and all those artists back when music had an impact on the world. Listening to this album ( Pearl Jam ) is like getting hit in the chest with a It's a Monday and I have just listened to the new self titled Pearl Jam album. This rock album will have a huge impact on the music world. I can only imagine what it must have felt like listening to Bob Dylan, Janis Joplin, Neil Young and all those artists back when music had an impact on the world. Listening to this album ( Pearl Jam ) is like getting hit in the chest with a louisville slugger from a Steroid enduced major leaguer. Simply the most powerful onslaught of heart felt meaningful songs to come around in years. If you listen to this collection of songs, you will be a differt person, it is a gaurantee. Pearl Jam is a rock band that has now put themselves right up there with Dylan and all the other greats. Led Zepplin never even reach this level. Wow, my earth has been shattered, what an album. I felt the earth on this Monday, it moved beneath my feet. In the form of this aewsome album, my world will never be the same! Expand
  3. SamA
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Wow! Pearl Jam shines again on its first self-titled album.
  4. JohnJ.
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Best album since No Code.
  5. GurR
    May 12, 2006
    10
    phenomenal. this album hooks you and won't let you go. some of my favorite of their work resides right here on this lil album.
  6. OscarD
    May 1, 2006
    10
    The best album of the year
  7. TylerB
    May 13, 2006
    9
    Pearl Jam mixes hard rock with a couple ballads and outrage on this wonderful album. They wear their influences on their sleeve and even reference their own catalogue while still sounding fresh, new and re-focused. A must buy.
  8. CesarO
    May 14, 2006
    10
    This sounds like "Pearl Jam", more than ever! My favourites where the first song and the last twelve... A perfect album...
  9. rockerrocker
    May 15, 2006
    10
    pj has done it again!
  10. Matt
    May 17, 2006
    8
    I don't think Pearl Jam have made a bad album, but this is up there with their best, and arguably their strongest effort since Vitalogy. Basically, everything everyone is saying is true.
  11. SeanT
    May 18, 2006
    10
    Americas best band doing what they do best, with an amazing collection of great rock songs and some superb quieter ones.
  12. AlbertM
    May 19, 2006
    10
    The album cover and title says it all: this is the band reduced to it's core. There's nothing such as "experimentation" here, they've focused and have come to terms with what they do best and seemed they had forgotten: classic hard rock with a punk rock punch. Following the steps of such heroes as Zeppelin, Hendrix, The Who and Neil Young they've recorded the best The album cover and title says it all: this is the band reduced to it's core. There's nothing such as "experimentation" here, they've focused and have come to terms with what they do best and seemed they had forgotten: classic hard rock with a punk rock punch. Following the steps of such heroes as Zeppelin, Hendrix, The Who and Neil Young they've recorded the best album since Vitalogy, by far. There's no filler here, every song rocks. Expand
  13. SethM
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Incredible album. I got goosebumps listening to a couple of the songs on here. It incorporates the best elements of Pearl Jam's past work, eliminates most of the bad and add a lot of interesting new twists. GO BUY THIS RECORD! "Pearl Jam" is the kind of album that makes me drive to work sloooowly just to hear another song or two on the way.
  14. SteveP
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Best PJ album since Vitalogy!
  15. JoeyL
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Every song is worth your listen.
  16. JonD
    May 21, 2006
    7
    not a bad CD...hell a pretty good cd but by Pearl Jam Standards im rating this, Eddie Vedders voice has gone down the tube and all he does is mumble now for 75% of the time and the lyrics if you find out what they are supposed to be arent as musical/poetic as they were on VS. Ten but the guitars are great on this but once again not their best work but better then previous albums
  17. stevem
    May 2, 2006
    10
    A brilliant return to form from one of the world's greatest rock bands. Nothing more, nothing less.
  18. BWagner
    May 21, 2006
    10
    I've seriously listened to this album ~ 50+ times now and I'm still not bored with it. The first time I heard it, I thought it was another Yield attempt, but now I consider it as Pearl Jam's most complete album yet, even more so than Vitology. A truly fantastic album. They still have it...
  19. zxlr88g
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Great!
  20. ChrisP
    May 2, 2006
    9
    Pearl Jam nut since 1993. Like other crazy fans, owner of every album, many live albums, bootlegs and overpriced imports. Loved every Pearl Jam album, but like others, have been waiting for that ONE album that would make me feel that CERTAIN way that I hadn't felt since VS. Here it is. Worth the price of admission for Pearl Jam's own "Stairway to Heaven": Inside Job. Brilliant.
  21. Christopher
    May 2, 2006
    8
    I've been waiting for a rocking Pearl Jam since No Code (my favorite album of theirs). They delivered big time. I was ready to forget them after their horrible last album, Riot Act. I'm glad I kept on. They're just as significant now as they've always been.
  22. W.H.
    May 22, 2006
    10
    Musically and thematically powerful. A Masterpiece.
  23. KasperH
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Their best since Vitalogy and Ten. AWESOME!
  24. NikolaiJ
    May 29, 2006
    10
    I just love this album. It is truly a great peice of work. Eddie has started to sing again and I couldn't be happier. Welcome Back PJ!
  25. HernandoS
    May 3, 2006
    10
    I Just think that the new album is all energy...love all the guys collaborating in the album..well it sound like all but unique....way to go!!!!
  26. JeremyB
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Quite possibly the best PJ album ever!
  27. KeithG
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Pitchfork were always an f'in joke, anyone who ever had the misfortune to fall asleep reading one of their overly long winded attempts at a 'clever' review will know better than to take notice of their scoring. This album may not be the best Pearl Jam have 'ever' done, but it's the best in quiet a while, this new stuff's gonna blow people away at the Pitchfork were always an f'in joke, anyone who ever had the misfortune to fall asleep reading one of their overly long winded attempts at a 'clever' review will know better than to take notice of their scoring. This album may not be the best Pearl Jam have 'ever' done, but it's the best in quiet a while, this new stuff's gonna blow people away at the festivals this year. Rock on. Expand
  28. NathanG
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Excellent from start to finsih.
  29. ezeb
    May 6, 2006
    10
    Excelent disc...Pearl Jam is Back....one more time
  30. DavidS
    May 7, 2006
    10
    I must preface this review by stating that I'm a big Pearl Jam fan. That doesn't mean I haven't been ciritical of the band in the past. "Binaural" was an atrocious bore, and "Yield" and "Riot Act" had their moments but paled in comparison to some of their earlier work. I've given "Avocado" a couple weeks to sink in so that I can be as unbiased as possible when rating I must preface this review by stating that I'm a big Pearl Jam fan. That doesn't mean I haven't been ciritical of the band in the past. "Binaural" was an atrocious bore, and "Yield" and "Riot Act" had their moments but paled in comparison to some of their earlier work. I've given "Avocado" a couple weeks to sink in so that I can be as unbiased as possible when rating this album. All I can say is "WOW!" It's probably the greatest rock record I've listened to in years. It's consistent from start to finish, and free from the mundane experimentation that dogged some of their previous efforts. Instead they cranked up their amps and decided to once again deliver thunderous, and relevant rock anthems. Eddie Vedder is once again singing like a man possessed, and Gossard and McCready are putting other rock guitarists to shame with mindblowing licks and riffs. This album has a certain energy about it that is utterly contagious. Tracks like "Comatse" and "Life Wasted" are romping, raw, rock gems. While "Gone", "Come Back" and "Marker in the sand" are likely to give you goosebumps. Hopefully this record will educate the younger generation so they learn what good rock music sounds like. I'm 28 yrs. old and for years I've tried to sell this band to younger friends of mine. This record has finally made them take notice! The "Avocado" album is a record both Pearl Jam and It's fan's can be proud of. That's right, I'm proud to be a Pearl Jam fan, and you should be too! Expand
  31. Colin
    May 7, 2006
    10
    Amazing album. Could even be the best PJ album yet!
  32. MichaelM
    May 8, 2006
    10
    I would rate it even higher if I could......lyrics that make you think about who you are, where you are and how you are over some kick-ass music.
  33. Dale
    May 8, 2006
    9
    I wonder if the pitchfork guy is related to Raymond Rapposa of Castanets, if he is, Raymond should just disown him.
  34. GNybakk
    May 8, 2006
    10
    Stunning! Nothing more, nothing less! This will be a classic album!
  35. ClintB
    May 9, 2006
    10
    back to their best...
  36. BrianB
    Jun 24, 2006
    10
    awesome
  37. OscarA
    Jul 21, 2006
    9
    One of their finest albums
  38. Jamie
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    None of us care for the exacerbating reviews some give Pearl Jam's music. The more focused reviews come from those who keep to a minimum of words or have credentials to say as much.
  39. ArturC
    Sep 23, 2006
    9
    great album, sounds good live, energetic!
  40. fitifiti
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    excelente pearl jam.
  41. DanielB
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    Pearl Jam deliver! Intelligent, socially conscious lyrics for your head. Catchy hooks for your toe. Worldwide Suicide, Severed Hand, Unemployable, and Army Reserve are Pearl Jam at their best.
  42. BranJ.
    Apr 3, 2007
    10
    Stop comparing every album by Pearl Jam with another of their albums! You all just sound stupid. This is a great album, I'm not going to compare it... Each album by Pearl Jam is good in its own right... they each have their own strengths and weaknesses. If you can't get that through your damn skulls, then you aren't real fans of Pearl Jam or even music. They are a damn good Stop comparing every album by Pearl Jam with another of their albums! You all just sound stupid. This is a great album, I'm not going to compare it... Each album by Pearl Jam is good in its own right... they each have their own strengths and weaknesses. If you can't get that through your damn skulls, then you aren't real fans of Pearl Jam or even music. They are a damn good band, way better then the crap on the radio today. If you think they suck, well then lets see you people come up with an album, to me it sounds like you can make a better album then PJ. I would love to see that happen, then we'll see who really sucks. Expand
  43. AddlerS
    Dec 2, 2006
    9
    I can't believe there are people out there who still compare every Pearl Jam release to Ten. That was 15 years ago! This album rocks, PJ is great, and this is not a comeback because they were never gone.
  44. KentE
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    Great album. I think what makes it so great is the fact that their last, "Riot Act" was horrible, they tried way too hard. They finally get back to just plain old kick your ass type rock and roll and it sounds great. Finally a band who makes a good attempt at a protest album, as Green Days last disc was pathetic and laughable. "World Wide Suicide" a great protest song is a good way to Great album. I think what makes it so great is the fact that their last, "Riot Act" was horrible, they tried way too hard. They finally get back to just plain old kick your ass type rock and roll and it sounds great. Finally a band who makes a good attempt at a protest album, as Green Days last disc was pathetic and laughable. "World Wide Suicide" a great protest song is a good way to start off the album. Other standouts include "Come Back", "Unemployable", and "Gone". Expand
  45. Tony
    May 11, 2006
    8
    Not there greatest album, however, it has a uniqueness to it like no other. The first half of the album reminds me of the hard rock days back in the early - mid 90's. The 2nd half is by far the best part of the album. Best tracks: Marker in the Sand, Gone, Comeback, and Inside Job.. Army Reserve had a great start, but after hearing the entire song, it kind of left me hanging out Not there greatest album, however, it has a uniqueness to it like no other. The first half of the album reminds me of the hard rock days back in the early - mid 90's. The 2nd half is by far the best part of the album. Best tracks: Marker in the Sand, Gone, Comeback, and Inside Job.. Army Reserve had a great start, but after hearing the entire song, it kind of left me hanging out there... I feel like the album could have been better, but overall, i was satisfied Expand
  46. NathanA
    May 14, 2006
    10
    Pearl Jam is constantly the best band in the world and possibly the best live band ever. This latest record was well worth the wait and quite possibly their best release ever. There is not a single disappoint song on the album and even the filler "Wasted Reprise" is their best filler yet. The lyrics and singing are supperb and Matt's drumming finally shows his true skills like he is Pearl Jam is constantly the best band in the world and possibly the best live band ever. This latest record was well worth the wait and quite possibly their best release ever. There is not a single disappoint song on the album and even the filler "Wasted Reprise" is their best filler yet. The lyrics and singing are supperb and Matt's drumming finally shows his true skills like he is live. The final two songs "Come Back" and "Inside Job" are two of the best Pearl Jam songs ever and definitely the best closers of any of their albums. Expand
  47. brians
    May 15, 2006
    10
    Masterpiece
  48. kyles
    May 15, 2006
    10
    greatest album ever
  49. garyb
    May 15, 2006
    10
    wow, buy this album it is amazing.
  50. nellyb
    May 15, 2006
    10
    This album has it all!
  51. Tim
    May 15, 2006
    10
    A great album - returning to their roots while still amazing me with Eddie's lyrics - the more you listen to it the better it gets.
  52. ErikB
    May 16, 2006
    9
    I have to admit the first 2 or 3 times I listen to this album; I wasn't pleased. Then I noticed that all of the songs began getting stuck in my head and I couldn't get them out. I have to say that this album is the best one since VS. or Vitalogy. Once it seeps into your brain and you start feeling the texture of this album you become hooked. I can't stop playing it. This I have to admit the first 2 or 3 times I listen to this album; I wasn't pleased. Then I noticed that all of the songs began getting stuck in my head and I couldn't get them out. I have to say that this album is the best one since VS. or Vitalogy. Once it seeps into your brain and you start feeling the texture of this album you become hooked. I can't stop playing it. This may very well be the record of the year. They set the standard in the early 90's and believe this album is gonna set the standard for the next decade to come. Expand
  53. Gus
    May 16, 2006
    10
    Great. One of their best.
  54. DanT
    May 16, 2006
    10
    I love it! It's really solid all the way through. And "World wide suicide" shows todays so called rock bands how it's done.
  55. JeffA
    May 18, 2006
    10
    this album is amazing!!! definite 10 out of 10
  56. TonyA
    May 22, 2006
    10
    Never a big PJ fan I did believe they were unique and honest. I caught the live performances on SNL and about lost my mind. If they represent Seattle, then the winds of change are upon us. Audioslave and VR brought us a return to roots; Pearl Jam perfected the message and the means. Like many others have commented - this album is hard to turn off. Bravo! Get On It...
  57. DanielG
    May 24, 2006
    9
    Truly tangible emotion and sincerity.
  58. manoss
    Jun 18, 2006
    7
    Not bad,but after the first week i don't feel like listening to it every time i turn on the cd player...I guess it's too much "pearl jam sound",it doesn't differ from the previous band's releases.
  59. Surf
    Jun 23, 2006
    7
    Best album with Matt Cameron on drums. Still wishing there was more wahwah guitars like on the Ten and Vs. but I guess there's no returning to that. Other than that the first four tracks are pretty aggressively good along with Big Wave (love the ocean references in there songs) and the album ender with the mysterious airy piano licks. Good that the aggressive side is back but still Best album with Matt Cameron on drums. Still wishing there was more wahwah guitars like on the Ten and Vs. but I guess there's no returning to that. Other than that the first four tracks are pretty aggressively good along with Big Wave (love the ocean references in there songs) and the album ender with the mysterious airy piano licks. Good that the aggressive side is back but still wish they had the wahwah and the dark, mysterious quality from Ten and Vs. that propelled their music. Expand
  60. superman
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    I loved this! It's the kind of album that would make my grandfather flip out! Pearl Jam has managed to put in as much politics as American Idiot, but with a better message at the end. Those expecting a "Jeremy" clone will be surprised, but hopefully excited.
  61. DutchR
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    This album speaks to you...the lyrics are incredible. The sound is the best they have produced since the mid 90's. They quite easily the best rock band on the planet at the moment. They nothing like any other band, their sound is original...which I cannot say about some of the other big bands around today. Bands like the Foo Fighters, Chilli peppers, U2, Audioslave and Coldplay This album speaks to you...the lyrics are incredible. The sound is the best they have produced since the mid 90's. They quite easily the best rock band on the planet at the moment. They nothing like any other band, their sound is original...which I cannot say about some of the other big bands around today. Bands like the Foo Fighters, Chilli peppers, U2, Audioslave and Coldplay should take note...this is how you make a record! Expand
  62. LucasG
    Jan 11, 2007
    7
    Pearl Jam's worst record to date. Which is still better than most bands at their best. However, a lot of this album sounds like they were striving for some previous PJ sound, and it sounds like a deliberate attempt to make their music easier to swallow. Pearl Jam have never done that before. Eddie Vedder's singing is amazingly re-energized on this album, but the music is Pearl Jam's worst record to date. Which is still better than most bands at their best. However, a lot of this album sounds like they were striving for some previous PJ sound, and it sounds like a deliberate attempt to make their music easier to swallow. Pearl Jam have never done that before. Eddie Vedder's singing is amazingly re-energized on this album, but the music is uninspired and we've heard it all before. There are great tracks. Life Wasted, Come Back, Parachutes. But overall the album falls short of any other Pearl Jam experience. Let's hope PJ are not headed the direction of U2. Expand
  63. BenM
    Dec 28, 2006
    8
    Awesome. "Severed Hand" has even made into my Top 10 favorite Pearl Jam song list.
  64. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    I once thought that Pearl Jam were going to be this band that reinvented their sound every album, and would eventually create this monster explosion of new fans that would come around and admit that PJ is one of the greatest bands in existence. That's not the case with this band. Instead, they are an entity that allows for its members to be a part of a song writing team that only trueI once thought that Pearl Jam were going to be this band that reinvented their sound every album, and would eventually create this monster explosion of new fans that would come around and admit that PJ is one of the greatest bands in existence. That's not the case with this band. Instead, they are an entity that allows for its members to be a part of a song writing team that only true loyalist fans appreciate. This album is just a continuation for the love I experience every time I buy one of their albums every 3 to 4 years. Thanks, PJ. Expand
  65. j30
    Dec 9, 2011
    7
    Pearl Jam's self-titled, return to form, 8th LP isn't one ot their best records or even close to a classic. It's a fine addition to their already strong catalog.
  66. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    I enjoy Pearl Jam, but I found when they first released this that there were not many songs by them that I recognized on this album. However, when I actually listened to it, I found the songs were VERY catchy and I was only slightly disappointed.
  67. Feb 19, 2012
    8
    It returns to their routes in a way which, though not the same is commendable nonetheless. Vedder demonstrates his capability in writing some great hooks with 'World Wide Suicide', 'Comatose' and the very underrated 'Gone'.
  68. Aug 9, 2015
    10
    I'm really surprised and honestly a little offended by all the negative reviews. To the people who say the songs are boring, please listen to Comatose, Severed Hand, World Wide Suicide or something and explain to me how you could find this boring. And to the people that say they all sound the same, listen to Comatose and Parachutes and name one thing that is similar between the two.I'm really surprised and honestly a little offended by all the negative reviews. To the people who say the songs are boring, please listen to Comatose, Severed Hand, World Wide Suicide or something and explain to me how you could find this boring. And to the people that say they all sound the same, listen to Comatose and Parachutes and name one thing that is similar between the two.

    All in all, this album has great variety and the band has even more energy than they did in their early days. There is no song on this album that I would rate less than 5/5 stars and I don't understand how someone could dislike this album.
    Expand
  69. May 25, 2016
    9
    sometimes referred to as "the avocado album", this one is fantastic, with incredibly entertaining songs but they also have a deep meaning in their letters, including themes such as depression, anger and melancholy, quite dark indeed. But whether you listen it casually or deeply this is a classic.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. The seriously hopped-up effort fans have been pining for since Vitalogy.
  2. Rolling Stone
    80
    As immediate and despairing as breaking news from Baghdad... Pearl Jam is also as big and brash in fuzz and backbone as Led Zeppelin's Presence. [4 May 2006, p.55]
  3. Though few of these 13 numbers have the drama of tracks by the Who or Led Zeppelin, from whom the band draw much of their style, Pearl Jam play like men on a mission.