Pearl Jam

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 314 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 314

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 25, 2016
    9
    sometimes referred to as "the avocado album", this one is fantastic, with incredibly entertaining songs but they also have a deep meaning in their letters, including themes such as depression, anger and melancholy, quite dark indeed. But whether you listen it casually or deeply this is a classic.
  2. Aug 9, 2015
    10
    I'm really surprised and honestly a little offended by all the negative reviews. To the people who say the songs are boring, please listen to Comatose, Severed Hand, World Wide Suicide or something and explain to me how you could find this boring. And to the people that say they all sound the same, listen to Comatose and Parachutes and name one thing that is similar between the two.I'm really surprised and honestly a little offended by all the negative reviews. To the people who say the songs are boring, please listen to Comatose, Severed Hand, World Wide Suicide or something and explain to me how you could find this boring. And to the people that say they all sound the same, listen to Comatose and Parachutes and name one thing that is similar between the two.

    All in all, this album has great variety and the band has even more energy than they did in their early days. There is no song on this album that I would rate less than 5/5 stars and I don't understand how someone could dislike this album.
    Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2012
    8
    It returns to their routes in a way which, though not the same is commendable nonetheless. Vedder demonstrates his capability in writing some great hooks with 'World Wide Suicide', 'Comatose' and the very underrated 'Gone'.
  4. j30
    Dec 9, 2011
    7
    Pearl Jam's self-titled, return to form, 8th LP isn't one ot their best records or even close to a classic. It's a fine addition to their already strong catalog.
  5. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    I enjoy Pearl Jam, but I found when they first released this that there were not many songs by them that I recognized on this album. However, when I actually listened to it, I found the songs were VERY catchy and I was only slightly disappointed.
  6. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    Finally regaining some of their original inspiration, Pearl Jam surprises everyone with this innovative album, one that actually keeps getting better as it goes along. Nothing they've done since Vitalogy has been anywhere near this good.
  7. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    I once thought that Pearl Jam were going to be this band that reinvented their sound every album, and would eventually create this monster explosion of new fans that would come around and admit that PJ is one of the greatest bands in existence. That's not the case with this band. Instead, they are an entity that allows for its members to be a part of a song writing team that only trueI once thought that Pearl Jam were going to be this band that reinvented their sound every album, and would eventually create this monster explosion of new fans that would come around and admit that PJ is one of the greatest bands in existence. That's not the case with this band. Instead, they are an entity that allows for its members to be a part of a song writing team that only true loyalist fans appreciate. This album is just a continuation for the love I experience every time I buy one of their albums every 3 to 4 years. Thanks, PJ. Expand
  8. BrianR.
    Aug 5, 2008
    9
    This album is probably the most political the band has released. It has none of the unintelligible screaming songs that require a fast car and a good sound system. This is a matured Eddie, waxing poetic about what's happening here in America right now. "Gone" is one of the best tracks on this disc, another song about driving away from something.
  9. AlanE
    Apr 14, 2008
    9
    Damn this album kicks ass. cant imagine them getting better then this.
  10. DaveR.
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    This is my second favourite Pearl Jam album. It opens with urgency, and doesn't let up until the beautiful Parachutes. Marker In The Sand has a killer chorus that's excellence is matched only by Corduroy. Unemployable is different from anything they've done but is just as undeniable. Army Reserve is scathing but beautiful, and the album finished off with two amazing, songs: This is my second favourite Pearl Jam album. It opens with urgency, and doesn't let up until the beautiful Parachutes. Marker In The Sand has a killer chorus that's excellence is matched only by Corduroy. Unemployable is different from anything they've done but is just as undeniable. Army Reserve is scathing but beautiful, and the album finished off with two amazing, songs: one, the poignant and heart-breaking Come Back and two, the epic Inside Job. There isn't a bad cut on the entire album, and it's easily their BEST SINCE YIELD (despite what others who gave it a ridiculous ZERO might tell you...). I love every Pearl Jam album. To me they are the best and most underrated band in the world, and this album certainly did not disappoint. Do yourself a favour and pick it up NOW. Expand
  11. JohnnyL.
    May 28, 2007
    10
    This album really shows how Pearl Jam has grown up and advanced musically as well as lyrically. At the same time they brought back some of the old all-out-rock attitude on a majority of the songs. Genius, simply genius!!
  12. BranJ.
    Apr 3, 2007
    10
    Stop comparing every album by Pearl Jam with another of their albums! You all just sound stupid. This is a great album, I'm not going to compare it... Each album by Pearl Jam is good in its own right... they each have their own strengths and weaknesses. If you can't get that through your damn skulls, then you aren't real fans of Pearl Jam or even music. They are a damn good Stop comparing every album by Pearl Jam with another of their albums! You all just sound stupid. This is a great album, I'm not going to compare it... Each album by Pearl Jam is good in its own right... they each have their own strengths and weaknesses. If you can't get that through your damn skulls, then you aren't real fans of Pearl Jam or even music. They are a damn good band, way better then the crap on the radio today. If you think they suck, well then lets see you people come up with an album, to me it sounds like you can make a better album then PJ. I would love to see that happen, then we'll see who really sucks. Expand
  13. LucasG
    Jan 11, 2007
    7
    Pearl Jam's worst record to date. Which is still better than most bands at their best. However, a lot of this album sounds like they were striving for some previous PJ sound, and it sounds like a deliberate attempt to make their music easier to swallow. Pearl Jam have never done that before. Eddie Vedder's singing is amazingly re-energized on this album, but the music is Pearl Jam's worst record to date. Which is still better than most bands at their best. However, a lot of this album sounds like they were striving for some previous PJ sound, and it sounds like a deliberate attempt to make their music easier to swallow. Pearl Jam have never done that before. Eddie Vedder's singing is amazingly re-energized on this album, but the music is uninspired and we've heard it all before. There are great tracks. Life Wasted, Come Back, Parachutes. But overall the album falls short of any other Pearl Jam experience. Let's hope PJ are not headed the direction of U2. Expand
  14. DanielB
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    Pearl Jam deliver! Intelligent, socially conscious lyrics for your head. Catchy hooks for your toe. Worldwide Suicide, Severed Hand, Unemployable, and Army Reserve are Pearl Jam at their best.
  15. BenM
    Dec 28, 2006
    8
    Awesome. "Severed Hand" has even made into my Top 10 favorite Pearl Jam song list.
  16. AddlerS
    Dec 2, 2006
    9
    I can't believe there are people out there who still compare every Pearl Jam release to Ten. That was 15 years ago! This album rocks, PJ is great, and this is not a comeback because they were never gone.
  17. KentE
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    Great album. I think what makes it so great is the fact that their last, "Riot Act" was horrible, they tried way too hard. They finally get back to just plain old kick your ass type rock and roll and it sounds great. Finally a band who makes a good attempt at a protest album, as Green Days last disc was pathetic and laughable. "World Wide Suicide" a great protest song is a good way to Great album. I think what makes it so great is the fact that their last, "Riot Act" was horrible, they tried way too hard. They finally get back to just plain old kick your ass type rock and roll and it sounds great. Finally a band who makes a good attempt at a protest album, as Green Days last disc was pathetic and laughable. "World Wide Suicide" a great protest song is a good way to start off the album. Other standouts include "Come Back", "Unemployable", and "Gone". Expand
  18. kirks
    Oct 24, 2006
    9
    This is the band that has you hooked now or will over the next 30 or 40 years.
  19. brianmad
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    another masterpiece from a band on form.
  20. fitifiti
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    excelente pearl jam.
  21. ArturC
    Sep 23, 2006
    9
    great album, sounds good live, energetic!
  22. DutchR
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    This album speaks to you...the lyrics are incredible. The sound is the best they have produced since the mid 90's. They quite easily the best rock band on the planet at the moment. They nothing like any other band, their sound is original...which I cannot say about some of the other big bands around today. Bands like the Foo Fighters, Chilli peppers, U2, Audioslave and Coldplay This album speaks to you...the lyrics are incredible. The sound is the best they have produced since the mid 90's. They quite easily the best rock band on the planet at the moment. They nothing like any other band, their sound is original...which I cannot say about some of the other big bands around today. Bands like the Foo Fighters, Chilli peppers, U2, Audioslave and Coldplay should take note...this is how you make a record! Expand
  23. Jamie
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    None of us care for the exacerbating reviews some give Pearl Jam's music. The more focused reviews come from those who keep to a minimum of words or have credentials to say as much.
  24. JesusE
    Sep 9, 2006
    10
    This album is a great collection of musically and lyrically sophsticated songs. The people who hate it have most likely been "brainwashed" by made for radio bands like Nickelback, etc. Similar to their earlier stuff, if you listen to the songs a few times, you will start to really appreciate the music.
  25. Mark
    Aug 3, 2006
    7
    Aside from a few god-awful tracks, I enjoyed most of this album. Sounds a bit like Audioslave at times. Not that I don't like Audioslave, I just wish Pearl Jam would stick to their own style.
  26. superman
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    I loved this! It's the kind of album that would make my grandfather flip out! Pearl Jam has managed to put in as much politics as American Idiot, but with a better message at the end. Those expecting a "Jeremy" clone will be surprised, but hopefully excited.
  27. OscarA
    Jul 21, 2006
    9
    One of their finest albums
  28. GustavoA
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    Their best album is years...
  29. JohnT
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    I pretty much love everything Pearl Jam has done in the studio, but this album returns to the effortless riffs of their first two, with Vs. being my favorite. No disrespect meant for the guys that gave it a rating of "2", but every one of their releases takes multiple listenings to properly judge the material. The first time a spin a new P.J. release, I am not floored, but this is because I pretty much love everything Pearl Jam has done in the studio, but this album returns to the effortless riffs of their first two, with Vs. being my favorite. No disrespect meant for the guys that gave it a rating of "2", but every one of their releases takes multiple listenings to properly judge the material. The first time a spin a new P.J. release, I am not floored, but this is because it is not ear candy. Thank God. Music that sounds catchy the first time you hear it will become very boring very quickly. Bands like P.J. carefully craft their songs so that you continue to discover nuances years after your initial listening. I have been a fan since Ten and I have learned to listen to their albums for a week or two and then bring out the lyrics. I admit that Eddie is sometimes difficult to understand, but that is because he FEELS the lyrics instead of just reciting them. This is record that perfectly describes the pathetic world situation, without becoming a shrill screed or being a downer. They just tell it like it is for common people like you and me. And, at the end, they give us hope that we can overcome the bastards that are ruining the human race. This is not a collection of singles, even though there are several that are radio-playable. This is an ALBUM, that should be listened to from beginning to end. The whole is greater than the sum of it's parts, just like every great band. Pearl Jam is one of only a handful of bands that truly matter. And this is the album I have been waiting for since Vs. Expand
  30. BrianB
    Jun 24, 2006
    10
    awesome
  31. Surf
    Jun 23, 2006
    7
    Best album with Matt Cameron on drums. Still wishing there was more wahwah guitars like on the Ten and Vs. but I guess there's no returning to that. Other than that the first four tracks are pretty aggressively good along with Big Wave (love the ocean references in there songs) and the album ender with the mysterious airy piano licks. Good that the aggressive side is back but still Best album with Matt Cameron on drums. Still wishing there was more wahwah guitars like on the Ten and Vs. but I guess there's no returning to that. Other than that the first four tracks are pretty aggressively good along with Big Wave (love the ocean references in there songs) and the album ender with the mysterious airy piano licks. Good that the aggressive side is back but still wish they had the wahwah and the dark, mysterious quality from Ten and Vs. that propelled their music. Expand
  32. MarkGH
    Jun 22, 2006
    9
    First let me say that i´m REALLY glad that they got past all that grunge "rebellious" music nonsense. This guys have always been better songwriters and they are very sincere as a band and with the music they play. I´ve been a fan of pearl jam since i began listening to music. Their first records undeniably rock and still stand as classics of 90s rock (above the whole "grunge" First let me say that i´m REALLY glad that they got past all that grunge "rebellious" music nonsense. This guys have always been better songwriters and they are very sincere as a band and with the music they play. I´ve been a fan of pearl jam since i began listening to music. Their first records undeniably rock and still stand as classics of 90s rock (above the whole "grunge" pseudo.genre) but i´m much more fond of the music they pursued later with No Code, Yield and Binaural. This record it´s a continuation of that minimalist spirit but , this time , with better songs and with a revived passion for pure, simple, energetic rock n roll . Expand
  33. manoss
    Jun 18, 2006
    7
    Not bad,but after the first week i don't feel like listening to it every time i turn on the cd player...I guess it's too much "pearl jam sound",it doesn't differ from the previous band's releases.
  34. madsl
    May 30, 2006
    7
    A rock solid effort from the grunge veterans! I tend to like the straight ahead rockers on this album whereas a "soul" ballad like Come Back almost makes me cringe! Eddie vedder is a terrible vocalist when he really tries to, you know..sing! Still their best album since No Code...even though that is not saying a lot: the previous three albums are really bad!
  35. NikolaiJ
    May 29, 2006
    10
    I just love this album. It is truly a great peice of work. Eddie has started to sing again and I couldn't be happier. Welcome Back PJ!
  36. DanielG
    May 24, 2006
    9
    Truly tangible emotion and sincerity.
  37. DavidW
    May 23, 2006
    8
    Wonderful album. I haven't really payed them much attention since Vitalogy, but this record makes me realise why I liked this band so much in the first place.
  38. W.H.
    May 22, 2006
    10
    Musically and thematically powerful. A Masterpiece.
  39. TonyA
    May 22, 2006
    10
    Never a big PJ fan I did believe they were unique and honest. I caught the live performances on SNL and about lost my mind. If they represent Seattle, then the winds of change are upon us. Audioslave and VR brought us a return to roots; Pearl Jam perfected the message and the means. Like many others have commented - this album is hard to turn off. Bravo! Get On It...
  40. BWagner
    May 21, 2006
    10
    I've seriously listened to this album ~ 50+ times now and I'm still not bored with it. The first time I heard it, I thought it was another Yield attempt, but now I consider it as Pearl Jam's most complete album yet, even more so than Vitology. A truly fantastic album. They still have it...
  41. JonD
    May 21, 2006
    7
    not a bad CD...hell a pretty good cd but by Pearl Jam Standards im rating this, Eddie Vedders voice has gone down the tube and all he does is mumble now for 75% of the time and the lyrics if you find out what they are supposed to be arent as musical/poetic as they were on VS. Ten but the guitars are great on this but once again not their best work but better then previous albums
  42. NelsonL
    May 20, 2006
    10
    Excellent! There are no filler tracks on this disc. I'm glad to see PJ getting back to what they do best, which is guitar rock with a dash of punk.
  43. AlbertM
    May 19, 2006
    10
    The album cover and title says it all: this is the band reduced to it's core. There's nothing such as "experimentation" here, they've focused and have come to terms with what they do best and seemed they had forgotten: classic hard rock with a punk rock punch. Following the steps of such heroes as Zeppelin, Hendrix, The Who and Neil Young they've recorded the best The album cover and title says it all: this is the band reduced to it's core. There's nothing such as "experimentation" here, they've focused and have come to terms with what they do best and seemed they had forgotten: classic hard rock with a punk rock punch. Following the steps of such heroes as Zeppelin, Hendrix, The Who and Neil Young they've recorded the best album since Vitalogy, by far. There's no filler here, every song rocks. Expand
  44. SeanT
    May 18, 2006
    10
    Americas best band doing what they do best, with an amazing collection of great rock songs and some superb quieter ones.
  45. JeffA
    May 18, 2006
    10
    this album is amazing!!! definite 10 out of 10
  46. Matt
    May 17, 2006
    8
    I don't think Pearl Jam have made a bad album, but this is up there with their best, and arguably their strongest effort since Vitalogy. Basically, everything everyone is saying is true.
  47. DanT
    May 16, 2006
    10
    I love it! It's really solid all the way through. And "World wide suicide" shows todays so called rock bands how it's done.
  48. Gus
    May 16, 2006
    10
    Great. One of their best.
  49. ErikB
    May 16, 2006
    9
    I have to admit the first 2 or 3 times I listen to this album; I wasn't pleased. Then I noticed that all of the songs began getting stuck in my head and I couldn't get them out. I have to say that this album is the best one since VS. or Vitalogy. Once it seeps into your brain and you start feeling the texture of this album you become hooked. I can't stop playing it. This I have to admit the first 2 or 3 times I listen to this album; I wasn't pleased. Then I noticed that all of the songs began getting stuck in my head and I couldn't get them out. I have to say that this album is the best one since VS. or Vitalogy. Once it seeps into your brain and you start feeling the texture of this album you become hooked. I can't stop playing it. This may very well be the record of the year. They set the standard in the early 90's and believe this album is gonna set the standard for the next decade to come. Expand
  50. Tim
    May 15, 2006
    10
    A great album - returning to their roots while still amazing me with Eddie's lyrics - the more you listen to it the better it gets.
  51. nellyb
    May 15, 2006
    10
    This album has it all!
  52. rockerrocker
    May 15, 2006
    10
    pj has done it again!
  53. garyb
    May 15, 2006
    10
    wow, buy this album it is amazing.
  54. kyles
    May 15, 2006
    10
    greatest album ever
  55. brians
    May 15, 2006
    10
    Masterpiece
  56. CesarO
    May 14, 2006
    10
    This sounds like "Pearl Jam", more than ever! My favourites where the first song and the last twelve... A perfect album...
  57. NathanA
    May 14, 2006
    10
    Pearl Jam is constantly the best band in the world and possibly the best live band ever. This latest record was well worth the wait and quite possibly their best release ever. There is not a single disappoint song on the album and even the filler "Wasted Reprise" is their best filler yet. The lyrics and singing are supperb and Matt's drumming finally shows his true skills like he is Pearl Jam is constantly the best band in the world and possibly the best live band ever. This latest record was well worth the wait and quite possibly their best release ever. There is not a single disappoint song on the album and even the filler "Wasted Reprise" is their best filler yet. The lyrics and singing are supperb and Matt's drumming finally shows his true skills like he is live. The final two songs "Come Back" and "Inside Job" are two of the best Pearl Jam songs ever and definitely the best closers of any of their albums. Expand
  58. TylerB
    May 13, 2006
    9
    Pearl Jam mixes hard rock with a couple ballads and outrage on this wonderful album. They wear their influences on their sleeve and even reference their own catalogue while still sounding fresh, new and re-focused. A must buy.
  59. GurR
    May 12, 2006
    10
    phenomenal. this album hooks you and won't let you go. some of my favorite of their work resides right here on this lil album.
  60. Tony
    May 11, 2006
    8
    Not there greatest album, however, it has a uniqueness to it like no other. The first half of the album reminds me of the hard rock days back in the early - mid 90's. The 2nd half is by far the best part of the album. Best tracks: Marker in the Sand, Gone, Comeback, and Inside Job.. Army Reserve had a great start, but after hearing the entire song, it kind of left me hanging out Not there greatest album, however, it has a uniqueness to it like no other. The first half of the album reminds me of the hard rock days back in the early - mid 90's. The 2nd half is by far the best part of the album. Best tracks: Marker in the Sand, Gone, Comeback, and Inside Job.. Army Reserve had a great start, but after hearing the entire song, it kind of left me hanging out there... I feel like the album could have been better, but overall, i was satisfied Expand
  61. ben
    May 11, 2006
    10
    the best record of the year pearl jam`s best album!!!!
  62. PaulF
    May 11, 2006
    10
    I'm a long-time PJ fan, and have enjoyed everything they've put out, but I'd only give a 10 rating to 'Ten' and 'Vs.' This is definitely the best PJ album in years, even though I like them all. Much more riff-driven than the last three albums. Feels like the whole band is adding something to every song: Matt on Drums comes out more in the mix, Stone and I'm a long-time PJ fan, and have enjoyed everything they've put out, but I'd only give a 10 rating to 'Ten' and 'Vs.' This is definitely the best PJ album in years, even though I like them all. Much more riff-driven than the last three albums. Feels like the whole band is adding something to every song: Matt on Drums comes out more in the mix, Stone and Mike are ripping it up on guitars, Jeff is solid and driving on Bass, and Eddie is as growly and amazing as ever. The title sums it up...this album is Pearl Jam, at its best. Expand
  63. MikeC
    May 10, 2006
    10
    This disc has many great songs (Severed Hand, Parachutes and Unemployable) and many very good songs (Gone, WWS, Marker). It's great to see PJ is back and better than ever.
  64. carlosf
    May 10, 2006
    10
    it's just great to hear eddie's raw vocals again, not to say the great compositions the group have made for this record. It's a different Pearl jam than previous efforts, although last two records remain to me as great lp, this last one rocks like they've never done before, perhaps on ten, who knows, but this is so great. Maybe to soon to say, but this is my vote for it's just great to hear eddie's raw vocals again, not to say the great compositions the group have made for this record. It's a different Pearl jam than previous efforts, although last two records remain to me as great lp, this last one rocks like they've never done before, perhaps on ten, who knows, but this is so great. Maybe to soon to say, but this is my vote for album of the year. Expand
  65. ClintB
    May 9, 2006
    10
    back to their best...
  66. ScottJ
    May 9, 2006
    10
    The best band at providing spine-tingling rock. While a few of their more recent albums had 2 or 3 hard rocking songs, this one has six. The mid-tempo songs are brilliant. One downside, my wait to see Pearl Jam play live again.
  67. mikeb
    May 9, 2006
    8
    Finally pearl jam have realised what they do best. Stomping rock songs and heart felt ballards instead of the messy experimentation of recent albums. Now injected with 70s rock influences. Awesome
  68. Andrew
    May 8, 2006
    10
    I never thought Pearl Jam lost much of their form to return too. Neverhtheless, this a excellent album. Of particular note are the final two tracks and Comatos. I can't imagine that any pearl jam fan would be wronged by buying this album.
  69. GNybakk
    May 8, 2006
    10
    Stunning! Nothing more, nothing less! This will be a classic album!
  70. Dale
    May 8, 2006
    9
    I wonder if the pitchfork guy is related to Raymond Rapposa of Castanets, if he is, Raymond should just disown him.
  71. clau
    May 8, 2006
    10
    INCREDIBLE and AMAZING!!!! Love it!!! Their best record since No Code!!! I've been a fan for only 3 years and all I can say is that is the Greatest Band in the World!!! and this record proves it!!
  72. MichaelM
    May 8, 2006
    10
    I would rate it even higher if I could......lyrics that make you think about who you are, where you are and how you are over some kick-ass music.
  73. BrennanB
    May 7, 2006
    9
    Perhaps the best CD from Pearl Jam since Vs.
  74. Colin
    May 7, 2006
    10
    Amazing album. Could even be the best PJ album yet!
  75. DavidS
    May 7, 2006
    10
    I must preface this review by stating that I'm a big Pearl Jam fan. That doesn't mean I haven't been ciritical of the band in the past. "Binaural" was an atrocious bore, and "Yield" and "Riot Act" had their moments but paled in comparison to some of their earlier work. I've given "Avocado" a couple weeks to sink in so that I can be as unbiased as possible when rating I must preface this review by stating that I'm a big Pearl Jam fan. That doesn't mean I haven't been ciritical of the band in the past. "Binaural" was an atrocious bore, and "Yield" and "Riot Act" had their moments but paled in comparison to some of their earlier work. I've given "Avocado" a couple weeks to sink in so that I can be as unbiased as possible when rating this album. All I can say is "WOW!" It's probably the greatest rock record I've listened to in years. It's consistent from start to finish, and free from the mundane experimentation that dogged some of their previous efforts. Instead they cranked up their amps and decided to once again deliver thunderous, and relevant rock anthems. Eddie Vedder is once again singing like a man possessed, and Gossard and McCready are putting other rock guitarists to shame with mindblowing licks and riffs. This album has a certain energy about it that is utterly contagious. Tracks like "Comatse" and "Life Wasted" are romping, raw, rock gems. While "Gone", "Come Back" and "Marker in the sand" are likely to give you goosebumps. Hopefully this record will educate the younger generation so they learn what good rock music sounds like. I'm 28 yrs. old and for years I've tried to sell this band to younger friends of mine. This record has finally made them take notice! The "Avocado" album is a record both Pearl Jam and It's fan's can be proud of. That's right, I'm proud to be a Pearl Jam fan, and you should be too! Expand
  76. LeeG
    May 7, 2006
    8
    definitely their best since Yield. Marker in the Sand, Inside Job, Unemployable, Gone and Comatose stand out. i'll be playing this one for awhile.
  77. ezeb
    May 6, 2006
    10
    Excelent disc...Pearl Jam is Back....one more time
  78. DanielF
    May 6, 2006
    10
    The most phenomenal album released so far this year, and possibly the best this band has ever offered up.
  79. JimH
    May 5, 2006
    8
    The album is NOT Pearl Jam's best album sinceTen and Vs. I think that song for song, Yield deserves that honor. Still, this definitely has some bright spots, notably the two closing tracks and the gorgeous rave up Marker in the Sand. You might call it a microcosm of the PJ experience: mostly glorious rock and roll peppered with bewildered frustration. I'd really give it a high The album is NOT Pearl Jam's best album sinceTen and Vs. I think that song for song, Yield deserves that honor. Still, this definitely has some bright spots, notably the two closing tracks and the gorgeous rave up Marker in the Sand. You might call it a microcosm of the PJ experience: mostly glorious rock and roll peppered with bewildered frustration. I'd really give it a high 7, but we'll round up. Anyway, why listen to me or anyone else here? You can hear the entire CD on AOL and judge for yourself. Expand
  80. NathanG
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Excellent from start to finsih.
  81. KeithG
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Pitchfork were always an f'in joke, anyone who ever had the misfortune to fall asleep reading one of their overly long winded attempts at a 'clever' review will know better than to take notice of their scoring. This album may not be the best Pearl Jam have 'ever' done, but it's the best in quiet a while, this new stuff's gonna blow people away at the Pitchfork were always an f'in joke, anyone who ever had the misfortune to fall asleep reading one of their overly long winded attempts at a 'clever' review will know better than to take notice of their scoring. This album may not be the best Pearl Jam have 'ever' done, but it's the best in quiet a while, this new stuff's gonna blow people away at the festivals this year. Rock on. Expand
  82. DanL
    May 4, 2006
    10
    The best thing to happen to rock in years, Pearl Jam turn the volume to 11 for the first time since 1994's Vitalogy. Every song on the album is addictive and genius, most notably "Unemployable," "Inside Job," and "Severed Hand." Wow, 2006 is a great year for music.
  83. TimothyC
    May 4, 2006
    10
    This is a return to old form. From start to finish you are in for a great ride. The first three songs open up, with raw vocals from Eddie and blazing guitar riffs in the back. The energy really keeps up for the first three songs, and as we get into the album, we begin to explore a variety of sounds, but the energy never dies. This album exceeded all my expectations for another Pearl Jam This is a return to old form. From start to finish you are in for a great ride. The first three songs open up, with raw vocals from Eddie and blazing guitar riffs in the back. The energy really keeps up for the first three songs, and as we get into the album, we begin to explore a variety of sounds, but the energy never dies. This album exceeded all my expectations for another Pearl Jam realase, and is much tighter than their last album, Riot Act. Expand
  84. Chris
    May 4, 2006
    10
    From top to bottom this album is amazing. Listen to it a few times through, and you too will be amazed at it's excellence.
  85. rafraf
    May 4, 2006
    9
    gran disco
  86. ShawnS
    May 3, 2006
    9
    This is an overall great album. I really liked Yield and I think this might be better, though it's close. Marker in the Sand is the most relevant song the band has made since Better Man and Come Back smacks of the Stones' Beast of Burden. Very good tracks from start to finish
  87. JeremyB
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Quite possibly the best PJ album ever!
  88. MichaelP
    May 3, 2006
    9
    Why is it that all of the people who have given this album a 0 or poor rating have nothing of substance to say? One guy actually admitted he hasn't listened to the whole album. If you are going to criticize something, at least have the brain to back it up and take the time to really consider what you are saying and what you are saying about it. Then say something constructive. This Why is it that all of the people who have given this album a 0 or poor rating have nothing of substance to say? One guy actually admitted he hasn't listened to the whole album. If you are going to criticize something, at least have the brain to back it up and take the time to really consider what you are saying and what you are saying about it. Then say something constructive. This is my second comment about this album, which I have tempered after having listened to Pearl Jam several more times. I still believe it is a very good album. Expand
  89. HernandoS
    May 3, 2006
    10
    I Just think that the new album is all energy...love all the guys collaborating in the album..well it sound like all but unique....way to go!!!!
  90. LinW
    May 3, 2006
    9
    A solid effort from beginning to end. Like all albums since vs it does require a 3rd and 4th listen to absorb the real emotion and thoughtfulness of the endeavor. Pearl Jam fans (even those who left after Vitology) will find this a refreshing album.
  91. Alex
    May 3, 2006
    9
    a truly fantastic return to form for Eddie and Co.
  92. MarkA
    May 3, 2006
    8
    Very solid album. Probably my favorite since Yield.
  93. GaryP
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Simply amazing album. The transition from hard rockers like Life Wasted and Worldwide Suicide into soft ballads like Parachutes and Come Back is seamless. Keep up the good work PJ.
  94. joew
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Very organic!! Back to what pj does best!!
  95. johnw
    May 3, 2006
    10
    amazing CD BEST OF 06' no doubt!! pitchfork really pisses me off. they gave this cd a 5.5 saying they did a great job for returning to straighforward rock..but they are annoyed by eddie's voice..which sounds amazing to me. every song stands on its own this cd is worth your money. buy it...you all
  96. PeteM
    May 3, 2006
    8
    it sounds like its worth alot of listens. i love the slower songs and the harder rockers do rock, but with a rare sophistication. There's alot of thought in eddie's vocals and alot of feeling in the guitar solos. The only things that let the album down are the mixes on the harder songs - too much vocals, not enough drums, and that big wave song. a great album though. as good as it sounds like its worth alot of listens. i love the slower songs and the harder rockers do rock, but with a rare sophistication. There's alot of thought in eddie's vocals and alot of feeling in the guitar solos. The only things that let the album down are the mixes on the harder songs - too much vocals, not enough drums, and that big wave song. a great album though. as good as any other except `Yield`. Expand
  97. FridaC
    May 3, 2006
    10
    One of my favorite albums it's a tie with No Code.
  98. ChrisW
    May 3, 2006
    8
    A lot more aggressive. Pearl Jam's best album since Yield. The slower songs are beautiful as always.
  99. RyanM
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Pearl Jam is something special
  100. brentm
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Best start to finish album from Pearl Jam EVER. No doubt about it. Most energy, best songs, and greatest lyrics.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. The seriously hopped-up effort fans have been pining for since Vitalogy.
  2. Rolling Stone
    80
    As immediate and despairing as breaking news from Baghdad... Pearl Jam is also as big and brash in fuzz and backbone as Led Zeppelin's Presence. [4 May 2006, p.55]
  3. Though few of these 13 numbers have the drama of tracks by the Who or Led Zeppelin, from whom the band draw much of their style, Pearl Jam play like men on a mission.