User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 319 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 319

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JarrodL
    May 1, 2006
    10
    To misquote Eddie Vedder, Speaking as a fan from the '90's.... Let me preface this by saying that at the time of their individual releases, I thought that Pearl Jam's last two stuido releases "Riot Act" (2002) and "Binaural" (2000) were pretty sweet records. Great Pearl Jam offereings from beginning to end. But over the last few years, I've decided that they don't To misquote Eddie Vedder, Speaking as a fan from the '90's.... Let me preface this by saying that at the time of their individual releases, I thought that Pearl Jam's last two stuido releases "Riot Act" (2002) and "Binaural" (2000) were pretty sweet records. Great Pearl Jam offereings from beginning to end. But over the last few years, I've decided that they don't quite stack up to the rest of the gems in their excellent catalogue. Don't get me wrong, I still enjoy both these albums quite a bit, and there are some outstanding cuts from those two records ("Save You," "Cropduster," and "Love Boat Captain," from Riot Act, "Insignificance," "Of the Girl," "Slight of Hand," and "Grievance" from Binaural) but I can remember that when those albums originally came out (as I may have been suffering from an ailment called "new PJ buzz" at the time) saying that I thought both were on par with their best work of the '90's. Sadly, I was wrong. Now, don't get me wrong again...both albums were good, better than 98% of other bands offerings in those years, but both records were not without their flaws or filler ("Rival," "Help Help," and "Ghost" all spring to mind as songs best left in the vault). I also think both records would have benefited greatly if there had been some way to have simmered a bit longer, for the pot to have been stirred, songs to have been tweaked and reexamined, as well as if there had been a way to have found room to include the excellent B-sides that came from those sessions---songs like "Down," "Undone "& "Other Side" from the Riot Act sessions, "Sad" & "Fatal" from the Binaural, all may have been the best B-sides PJ has ever produced in their history--far better than most band's best A side material. (Of course, these songs are now commercially available on "Lost Dogs," PJ's collection of B-sides, covers, & Christmas singles that came out in '03) But never once in my writings did I compare Binaural or Riot Act to the perennials. No Code (1996), Yield (1998), or Vitalogy (1994) have always been considered by me as the holy trinity of PJ albums. All flawless gems, each one a five-star classic. Those were the albums you'd want to play to introduce (or convert) someone to Pearl Jam. Now, with all that being said as preface, this new album, eloquently titled "Pearl Jam,"at this moment, might just be my favorite Pearl Jam record ever . Way better than their freshman and sophomore releases of Ten (1991) or Vs. (1993), by a long shot. More rocking than Yield or No Code, and perhaps better writing than Vitalogy. There are no weak songs on "Pearl Jam," no filler. Even the barely minute-long "Wasted Reprise" gives me the chills. The first 5 songs are, without a doubt in my mind, the most rocking five songs to ever start off a PJ record. From the poppy and catchy "Unemployable," to the mournful "Gone" and the soulful "Come Back," lyrically, musically, topically, this is finest offering the band has ever made. For those of you who have been waiting...for those of you saying that Pearl Jam was a great band who had never given us their great album, the eponymous release "Pearl Jam" is finally Pearl Jam's "Who's Next." Finally, this is their "Physical Graffiti." This is their "White Album". Or to be more modern in reference, this is their "OK Computer," their "Elephant" their "The Woods." This is the record you'll want to hand someone in 50 years time and say, "Here. This was what the finest American rock band in history sounded like in their prime. Enjoy." Though the world of music, and the real world might both be spinning in the toilet. With wars and debt and disease and hopelessness abounding, we can still look to and rock out with Pearl Jam, as they have given us something very special . Expand
  2. ReneZ
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Stunning is the first word that comes to mind upon first spin of this amazing record. I can honestly say this album is definetly right up there with Vs. and Ten. From start to finish the tracks flow into each other seamlessly. Eddie Voice remergence, the guitarsound we all loved and missed is all stamped on this record. I am a critical person when it comes to band's records, but I Stunning is the first word that comes to mind upon first spin of this amazing record. I can honestly say this album is definetly right up there with Vs. and Ten. From start to finish the tracks flow into each other seamlessly. Eddie Voice remergence, the guitarsound we all loved and missed is all stamped on this record. I am a critical person when it comes to band's records, but I must say I got no beef with this. Hand down people, you must buy this record. Expand
  3. JDWilliams
    May 2, 2006
    10
    This is classic rock of the new millenium. this how pearl jam should sound. buy this CD its worth every penny!
  4. AbelC
    May 2, 2006
    10
    This is the best cd of the year, and the ignorants that dont agree with that can buy a cd of simple plan.
  5. GaryP
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Simply amazing album. The transition from hard rockers like Life Wasted and Worldwide Suicide into soft ballads like Parachutes and Come Back is seamless. Keep up the good work PJ.
  6. JohnT
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    I pretty much love everything Pearl Jam has done in the studio, but this album returns to the effortless riffs of their first two, with Vs. being my favorite. No disrespect meant for the guys that gave it a rating of "2", but every one of their releases takes multiple listenings to properly judge the material. The first time a spin a new P.J. release, I am not floored, but this is because I pretty much love everything Pearl Jam has done in the studio, but this album returns to the effortless riffs of their first two, with Vs. being my favorite. No disrespect meant for the guys that gave it a rating of "2", but every one of their releases takes multiple listenings to properly judge the material. The first time a spin a new P.J. release, I am not floored, but this is because it is not ear candy. Thank God. Music that sounds catchy the first time you hear it will become very boring very quickly. Bands like P.J. carefully craft their songs so that you continue to discover nuances years after your initial listening. I have been a fan since Ten and I have learned to listen to their albums for a week or two and then bring out the lyrics. I admit that Eddie is sometimes difficult to understand, but that is because he FEELS the lyrics instead of just reciting them. This is record that perfectly describes the pathetic world situation, without becoming a shrill screed or being a downer. They just tell it like it is for common people like you and me. And, at the end, they give us hope that we can overcome the bastards that are ruining the human race. This is not a collection of singles, even though there are several that are radio-playable. This is an ALBUM, that should be listened to from beginning to end. The whole is greater than the sum of it's parts, just like every great band. Pearl Jam is one of only a handful of bands that truly matter. And this is the album I have been waiting for since Vs. Expand
  7. brianmad
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    another masterpiece from a band on form.
  8. bobg
    May 1, 2006
    10
    This album is awesome!
  9. CharlesK
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Quite simply a classic. It may be their finest record to date!
  10. jonb
    May 1, 2006
    10
    unreal!
  11. JohnS
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Best in 10 years ! You wont be disappointed. Great fast and slow songs. Chills on 'Come Back'
  12. JordanB
    May 1, 2006
    10
    This is a stellar album from start to finish. It begins absolutely rocking, it has solid riffs throughout, it has searing vocals, it has melodic vocals, it has just about everything a single album could possibly have without sounding ridiculous. There are clearly a number of influences present on this album, but every song is uniquely "Pearl Jam."
  13. jackm
    May 1, 2006
    10
    PJ's best effort in over 8 years. Rocking songs that grow on you more and more with each listen.
  14. arildh
    May 1, 2006
    10
    classic
  15. THomasK
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Fresh!!
  16. K.Ryan
    May 1, 2006
    10
    In my opinion, the band's best album from start to finish.
  17. JoshuaH
    May 1, 2006
    10
    I listened to this album for three days straight. I absolutley love it...A little different from the normal pearl jam material, but great all the same. I love pearl jam!!!! Can't wait to see the show in june ..
  18. John
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Yield and Vitalogy were my close one, two in my favorite PJ albums, and this album is making a run at them.
  19. NelsonL
    May 20, 2006
    10
    Excellent! There are no filler tracks on this disc. I'm glad to see PJ getting back to what they do best, which is guitar rock with a dash of punk.
  20. jenn
    May 2, 2006
    10
    One of the best rock albums of the year!
  21. MikeP
    May 2, 2006
    10
    If this is Pearl Jam's return to the mainstream album, then I'm happy to say they have pulled it off without writing and recording a trendy album that even the kids will like. These guys are adults and they've made a mature record with a youthful exuberance they often seemed wary of showing on previous releases, but it always came shining through live. 'Pearl Jam' If this is Pearl Jam's return to the mainstream album, then I'm happy to say they have pulled it off without writing and recording a trendy album that even the kids will like. These guys are adults and they've made a mature record with a youthful exuberance they often seemed wary of showing on previous releases, but it always came shining through live. 'Pearl Jam' has the best production I've heard from them since VS. and the playing is tighter than ever. They don't get cute, they've just written some fucking greats songs and stayed focused on their execution. Mr. Vedder's voice has never been committed to tape more beautifully than on this album. These six guys (that's right, I'm talking about Boom, he deserves it) are writing and playing together on record the way I always knew they could, but captured it perfectly with Mr. Kasparian's help. They have become a great band in every sense of the word. Thank the gods that Matt Cameron has stuck around for so long. He may not be the best drummer they've ever had, but he just might be the best drummer for the band. This album deserves to sell more copies than Ten, although I doubt it will. But if it does, the boys can handle it better this time. Expand
  22. borgyb
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Sounds great to me.
  23. DavidA
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Powerful album the whole way through. The music is raw and perfectly meshed and the vocals are a perfect addition to the music. This is a great addition to an already legendary portfolio of music. This band is relevant today and I know that as time goes on they will stay relevant.
  24. joew
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Very organic!! Back to what pj does best!!
  25. KabirB
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Awesome album from start to finish! Highly recommended for die-hard Pearl Jam fans and those who are interested in listening to quality rock music. Album picks : Tracks 1-13 :)
  26. brentm
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Best start to finish album from Pearl Jam EVER. No doubt about it. Most energy, best songs, and greatest lyrics.
  27. FridaC
    May 3, 2006
    10
    One of my favorite albums it's a tie with No Code.
  28. RyanM
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Pearl Jam is something special
  29. OlleO
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Pearl Jam's best effort since Yield. Will probably be awesome live :)
  30. MattD.
    May 1, 2006
    10
    While their older albums such as Ten had more memorable individual songs, this CD is very memorable as a whole. It's a very hard-hitting, energetic rock CD where the ballads don't feel like lulls in the action.
  31. joeyt
    May 1, 2006
    10
    superb
  32. joeshmoe
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Coming from a fan of Pearl Jam of the early 90's, to lose them along the way with mediocre albums....I've always loved their integrity, but I just thought they were capable of so much more....well, they just made me a fan all over again. This album is outstanding and I'm going to have to get the last couple of albums between Yield and the new one.
  33. TimH
    May 1, 2006
    10
    I've been a PJ fan since the very beginning when I first heard Even Flow play on the radio at the age of 13. I'm nearly 28 now, and I didn't realize PJ still had this in them. I was disappointed with the last 2 cds (although I've grown to like them.) But after listening to this cd about 20 times now, I'm just stunned. It's great. I don't think it's I've been a PJ fan since the very beginning when I first heard Even Flow play on the radio at the age of 13. I'm nearly 28 now, and I didn't realize PJ still had this in them. I was disappointed with the last 2 cds (although I've grown to like them.) But after listening to this cd about 20 times now, I'm just stunned. It's great. I don't think it's my favorite PJ cd, but it's still amazing. Inside Job is the best song Pearl Jam has ever recorded. Expand
  34. BrunoK
    May 1, 2006
    10
    There's no doubt anymore that Pearl Jam is one of the greatest bands of all time. The 2006 album reminds the old "Vitalogy" Pearl Jam, but with the maturity of "Riot Act", "Pearl Jam" brings the best of every phase of the band. This is just another great album from Pearl Jam, and it's so unffair to say it's their best one, because every album in Pearl Jam's career is There's no doubt anymore that Pearl Jam is one of the greatest bands of all time. The 2006 album reminds the old "Vitalogy" Pearl Jam, but with the maturity of "Riot Act", "Pearl Jam" brings the best of every phase of the band. This is just another great album from Pearl Jam, and it's so unffair to say it's their best one, because every album in Pearl Jam's career is excelent (except maybe for Binaural overall, but the 2000 album still has great songs). Expand
  35. MichaelB
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Their most brilliant effort since Yield, and one of the most stunning collections of rock music in recent memory.
  36. ClaudiaC
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Best PJ album!
  37. edwardd
    May 1, 2006
    10
    excelent album, pj at thier best. without a doubt pearl jam best work since yield.
  38. GeorgeR
    May 1, 2006
    10
    The best since vitalogy
  39. MichaelF
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Best PJ album sinve Vitalogy,
  40. MikeW
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Their best since Vitalogy, and I loved Yield! Great album! These lyrics have real value and meaning. The music Stone, Ed and the boys is intricate and deep. This may be their finest album.
  41. DaveR
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Do yourself a favour and PICK UP THIS ALBUM. It's their best album. Forget best since Ten or since Vitalogy. It's flat out their best. Each song blows me away. Check out, especially, Marker in the Sand, Army Reserve, Unemployable, Inside Job, Severed Hand, Come Back...just amazing. GET IT. PLEASE!!!!
  42. carlosf
    May 10, 2006
    10
    it's just great to hear eddie's raw vocals again, not to say the great compositions the group have made for this record. It's a different Pearl jam than previous efforts, although last two records remain to me as great lp, this last one rocks like they've never done before, perhaps on ten, who knows, but this is so great. Maybe to soon to say, but this is my vote for it's just great to hear eddie's raw vocals again, not to say the great compositions the group have made for this record. It's a different Pearl jam than previous efforts, although last two records remain to me as great lp, this last one rocks like they've never done before, perhaps on ten, who knows, but this is so great. Maybe to soon to say, but this is my vote for album of the year. Expand
  43. JoeH
    May 2, 2006
    10
    you gotta listen to it on headphones.
  44. EdL
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Wow! Start to finish this album delivers! The band is playing with renewed vigor and enthusiasm.
  45. BryanT
    May 2, 2006
    10
    This is their heaviest effort since Vitalogy and probably their best overall album since 1996's No Code. A very aggressive and consistent effort from arguably the best band of the 90s. This ranks alongside their all-time best works. This album manages to get back to the heavy guitars and very direct lyrics of some of their early albums while building on the melody and mature This is their heaviest effort since Vitalogy and probably their best overall album since 1996's No Code. A very aggressive and consistent effort from arguably the best band of the 90s. This ranks alongside their all-time best works. This album manages to get back to the heavy guitars and very direct lyrics of some of their early albums while building on the melody and mature songwriting of their most recent efforts. Overall, the second half of the album is a bit slower and quieter than the first half, but the songs are still top-notch, especially "unemployable" and "come back", the latter of which is one of their all-time best and most heartfelt ballads. So do yourself a favor and pick this up if your a fan of the band, or just a fan of loud and honest rock music in general Expand
  46. MikaelW
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Best Pearl Jam album to date.
  47. ColinN
    May 2, 2006
    10
    As a seattleite and longtime pearl jam fan I was wating with baited breath for this album. I was afraid from the onset that PJ was going to make a generic rock album to appease their new label. This is NOT the case, and thankfully so. This is a thoughtful, awe inpsiring piece of art. Marker in the Sand, Comatose and Inside Job are flat out astounding.
  48. Cristianp
    May 2, 2006
    10
    just listen to it,...
  49. RyanL
    May 2, 2006
    10
    This a truly great album that will go down as one of Pearl Jam's best. If you wrote the band off after Ten, Vs, and Vitalogy give this a listen and realize that this band is still making the best music around today.
  50. johnw
    May 3, 2006
    10
    amazing CD BEST OF 06' no doubt!! pitchfork really pisses me off. they gave this cd a 5.5 saying they did a great job for returning to straighforward rock..but they are annoyed by eddie's voice..which sounds amazing to me. every song stands on its own this cd is worth your money. buy it...you all
  51. Chris
    May 4, 2006
    10
    From top to bottom this album is amazing. Listen to it a few times through, and you too will be amazed at it's excellence.
  52. TimothyC
    May 4, 2006
    10
    This is a return to old form. From start to finish you are in for a great ride. The first three songs open up, with raw vocals from Eddie and blazing guitar riffs in the back. The energy really keeps up for the first three songs, and as we get into the album, we begin to explore a variety of sounds, but the energy never dies. This album exceeded all my expectations for another Pearl Jam This is a return to old form. From start to finish you are in for a great ride. The first three songs open up, with raw vocals from Eddie and blazing guitar riffs in the back. The energy really keeps up for the first three songs, and as we get into the album, we begin to explore a variety of sounds, but the energy never dies. This album exceeded all my expectations for another Pearl Jam realase, and is much tighter than their last album, Riot Act. Expand
  53. DanL
    May 4, 2006
    10
    The best thing to happen to rock in years, Pearl Jam turn the volume to 11 for the first time since 1994's Vitalogy. Every song on the album is addictive and genius, most notably "Unemployable," "Inside Job," and "Severed Hand." Wow, 2006 is a great year for music.
  54. DanielF
    May 6, 2006
    10
    The most phenomenal album released so far this year, and possibly the best this band has ever offered up.
  55. clau
    May 8, 2006
    10
    INCREDIBLE and AMAZING!!!! Love it!!! Their best record since No Code!!! I've been a fan for only 3 years and all I can say is that is the Greatest Band in the World!!! and this record proves it!!
  56. Andrew
    May 8, 2006
    10
    I never thought Pearl Jam lost much of their form to return too. Neverhtheless, this a excellent album. Of particular note are the final two tracks and Comatos. I can't imagine that any pearl jam fan would be wronged by buying this album.
  57. ScottJ
    May 9, 2006
    10
    The best band at providing spine-tingling rock. While a few of their more recent albums had 2 or 3 hard rocking songs, this one has six. The mid-tempo songs are brilliant. One downside, my wait to see Pearl Jam play live again.
  58. GustavoA
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    Their best album is years...
  59. JesusE
    Sep 9, 2006
    10
    This album is a great collection of musically and lyrically sophsticated songs. The people who hate it have most likely been "brainwashed" by made for radio bands like Nickelback, etc. Similar to their earlier stuff, if you listen to the songs a few times, you will start to really appreciate the music.
  60. PaulF
    May 11, 2006
    10
    I'm a long-time PJ fan, and have enjoyed everything they've put out, but I'd only give a 10 rating to 'Ten' and 'Vs.' This is definitely the best PJ album in years, even though I like them all. Much more riff-driven than the last three albums. Feels like the whole band is adding something to every song: Matt on Drums comes out more in the mix, Stone and I'm a long-time PJ fan, and have enjoyed everything they've put out, but I'd only give a 10 rating to 'Ten' and 'Vs.' This is definitely the best PJ album in years, even though I like them all. Much more riff-driven than the last three albums. Feels like the whole band is adding something to every song: Matt on Drums comes out more in the mix, Stone and Mike are ripping it up on guitars, Jeff is solid and driving on Bass, and Eddie is as growly and amazing as ever. The title sums it up...this album is Pearl Jam, at its best. Expand
  61. ben
    May 11, 2006
    10
    the best record of the year pearl jam`s best album!!!!
  62. DaveD
    May 1, 2006
    10
    This is by far the best album in years from Pearl Jam. Fans of Vitalogy will not be disapointed. Do yourself a favor and pick up this album.
  63. RonC
    May 1, 2006
    10
    This album came on Saturday and I cannot stop listening! Not only are they rocking out, but it will be cool to see all the new fans flock to get this when 'Marker in the Sand' and 'UnEmployable' hit the Rock radio waves. I'm imagining the crowds hopping up and down to 'World Wide' and 'Severed Hand' .....PJ Rules!! Coming to Cleveland 5/20
  64. MikeC
    May 10, 2006
    10
    This disc has many great songs (Severed Hand, Parachutes and Unemployable) and many very good songs (Gone, WWS, Marker). It's great to see PJ is back and better than ever.
  65. Nabill
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Rocks!
  66. ChrisB
    May 1, 2006
    10
    ts definitely a strong overall CD....I love how the first 3 songs just absolutley come out and 'rip off your face'....I thought the track ordering was superb to start. The fourth track, Severed Hand is right now my favorite song on it, although the last track, Inside Job, is blowing me away today after a few additional listens. I love Marker in the Sand's harmonizing and ts definitely a strong overall CD....I love how the first 3 songs just absolutley come out and 'rip off your face'....I thought the track ordering was superb to start. The fourth track, Severed Hand is right now my favorite song on it, although the last track, Inside Job, is blowing me away today after a few additional listens. I love Marker in the Sand's harmonizing and Unemployable is a great pop song, it reminds me of good mid-90s REM. Parachutes is a good ballad with great lyrics. It is one of many songs that make me think the main creativity of this record comes from the fact that these guys really felt they had something to say about the world and themselves right now. All that being said, the best part of the record, I think, is the last 5 songs...Gone is tremendous, it reminds me a little of Elderly Woman, because of the images it creates and Wasted Reprise is kind of an answer to the anger in Life Wasted, like he was screaming it to convince himself in the first song, but then gratefully lamenting the sentiment of avoiding a 'life wasted' in this version...Army Reserve is surprisingly awesome, the guitars sound different than anything I have heard them do....it, along with SHand, will probably become one of those songs they play at every live show. Keep listening to Come Back, that song has REALLY grown on me, the first time I heard it, I thought "this is country!"...but it is starting to sound like a Springsteen or Dylan song with McCready's guitar at the end, and Inside Job completely blows me away, the lyrics are as good as I have ever heard from them, and Vedder's delivery of them is awesome. This album just absolutelt blew me away on the first listen, and gets better with each listen, Binaural and Riot Act took, many, many listens before I fully appreciated them. Also being a former Megadeth and Iron Maiden fan, I always like a little blood and gore in album art, I read this stuff as possibly some anti-war sentiment, that might be digging, but certainly its in there somewhere. GREAT RECORD...if you 'were' a PJ fan back in the day, go get this one. Expand
  67. MarlinM
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Wow. This is an amazing album from start to finish. It's about as diverse as a band can be on one album yet have it all still hang together into one masterpiece.
  68. RockFan
    May 1, 2006
    10
    It's a Monday and I have just listened to the new self titled Pearl Jam album. This rock album will have a huge impact on the music world. I can only imagine what it must have felt like listening to Bob Dylan, Janis Joplin, Neil Young and all those artists back when music had an impact on the world. Listening to this album ( Pearl Jam ) is like getting hit in the chest with a It's a Monday and I have just listened to the new self titled Pearl Jam album. This rock album will have a huge impact on the music world. I can only imagine what it must have felt like listening to Bob Dylan, Janis Joplin, Neil Young and all those artists back when music had an impact on the world. Listening to this album ( Pearl Jam ) is like getting hit in the chest with a louisville slugger from a Steroid enduced major leaguer. Simply the most powerful onslaught of heart felt meaningful songs to come around in years. If you listen to this collection of songs, you will be a differt person, it is a gaurantee. Pearl Jam is a rock band that has now put themselves right up there with Dylan and all the other greats. Led Zepplin never even reach this level. Wow, my earth has been shattered, what an album. I felt the earth on this Monday, it moved beneath my feet. In the form of this aewsome album, my world will never be the same! Expand
  69. SamA
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Wow! Pearl Jam shines again on its first self-titled album.
  70. JohnJ.
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Best album since No Code.
  71. GurR
    May 12, 2006
    10
    phenomenal. this album hooks you and won't let you go. some of my favorite of their work resides right here on this lil album.
  72. OscarD
    May 1, 2006
    10
    The best album of the year
  73. CesarO
    May 14, 2006
    10
    This sounds like "Pearl Jam", more than ever! My favourites where the first song and the last twelve... A perfect album...
  74. rockerrocker
    May 15, 2006
    10
    pj has done it again!
  75. SeanT
    May 18, 2006
    10
    Americas best band doing what they do best, with an amazing collection of great rock songs and some superb quieter ones.
  76. AlbertM
    May 19, 2006
    10
    The album cover and title says it all: this is the band reduced to it's core. There's nothing such as "experimentation" here, they've focused and have come to terms with what they do best and seemed they had forgotten: classic hard rock with a punk rock punch. Following the steps of such heroes as Zeppelin, Hendrix, The Who and Neil Young they've recorded the best The album cover and title says it all: this is the band reduced to it's core. There's nothing such as "experimentation" here, they've focused and have come to terms with what they do best and seemed they had forgotten: classic hard rock with a punk rock punch. Following the steps of such heroes as Zeppelin, Hendrix, The Who and Neil Young they've recorded the best album since Vitalogy, by far. There's no filler here, every song rocks. Expand
  77. SethM
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Incredible album. I got goosebumps listening to a couple of the songs on here. It incorporates the best elements of Pearl Jam's past work, eliminates most of the bad and add a lot of interesting new twists. GO BUY THIS RECORD! "Pearl Jam" is the kind of album that makes me drive to work sloooowly just to hear another song or two on the way.
  78. SteveP
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Best PJ album since Vitalogy!
  79. JoeyL
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Every song is worth your listen.
  80. stevem
    May 2, 2006
    10
    A brilliant return to form from one of the world's greatest rock bands. Nothing more, nothing less.
  81. BWagner
    May 21, 2006
    10
    I've seriously listened to this album ~ 50+ times now and I'm still not bored with it. The first time I heard it, I thought it was another Yield attempt, but now I consider it as Pearl Jam's most complete album yet, even more so than Vitology. A truly fantastic album. They still have it...
  82. zxlr88g
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Great!
  83. W.H.
    May 22, 2006
    10
    Musically and thematically powerful. A Masterpiece.
  84. KasperH
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Their best since Vitalogy and Ten. AWESOME!
  85. NikolaiJ
    May 29, 2006
    10
    I just love this album. It is truly a great peice of work. Eddie has started to sing again and I couldn't be happier. Welcome Back PJ!
  86. HernandoS
    May 3, 2006
    10
    I Just think that the new album is all energy...love all the guys collaborating in the album..well it sound like all but unique....way to go!!!!
  87. JeremyB
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Quite possibly the best PJ album ever!
  88. KeithG
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Pitchfork were always an f'in joke, anyone who ever had the misfortune to fall asleep reading one of their overly long winded attempts at a 'clever' review will know better than to take notice of their scoring. This album may not be the best Pearl Jam have 'ever' done, but it's the best in quiet a while, this new stuff's gonna blow people away at the Pitchfork were always an f'in joke, anyone who ever had the misfortune to fall asleep reading one of their overly long winded attempts at a 'clever' review will know better than to take notice of their scoring. This album may not be the best Pearl Jam have 'ever' done, but it's the best in quiet a while, this new stuff's gonna blow people away at the festivals this year. Rock on. Expand
  89. NathanG
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Excellent from start to finsih.
  90. ezeb
    May 6, 2006
    10
    Excelent disc...Pearl Jam is Back....one more time
  91. DavidS
    May 7, 2006
    10
    I must preface this review by stating that I'm a big Pearl Jam fan. That doesn't mean I haven't been ciritical of the band in the past. "Binaural" was an atrocious bore, and "Yield" and "Riot Act" had their moments but paled in comparison to some of their earlier work. I've given "Avocado" a couple weeks to sink in so that I can be as unbiased as possible when rating I must preface this review by stating that I'm a big Pearl Jam fan. That doesn't mean I haven't been ciritical of the band in the past. "Binaural" was an atrocious bore, and "Yield" and "Riot Act" had their moments but paled in comparison to some of their earlier work. I've given "Avocado" a couple weeks to sink in so that I can be as unbiased as possible when rating this album. All I can say is "WOW!" It's probably the greatest rock record I've listened to in years. It's consistent from start to finish, and free from the mundane experimentation that dogged some of their previous efforts. Instead they cranked up their amps and decided to once again deliver thunderous, and relevant rock anthems. Eddie Vedder is once again singing like a man possessed, and Gossard and McCready are putting other rock guitarists to shame with mindblowing licks and riffs. This album has a certain energy about it that is utterly contagious. Tracks like "Comatse" and "Life Wasted" are romping, raw, rock gems. While "Gone", "Come Back" and "Marker in the sand" are likely to give you goosebumps. Hopefully this record will educate the younger generation so they learn what good rock music sounds like. I'm 28 yrs. old and for years I've tried to sell this band to younger friends of mine. This record has finally made them take notice! The "Avocado" album is a record both Pearl Jam and It's fan's can be proud of. That's right, I'm proud to be a Pearl Jam fan, and you should be too! Expand
  92. Colin
    May 7, 2006
    10
    Amazing album. Could even be the best PJ album yet!
  93. MichaelM
    May 8, 2006
    10
    I would rate it even higher if I could......lyrics that make you think about who you are, where you are and how you are over some kick-ass music.
  94. GNybakk
    May 8, 2006
    10
    Stunning! Nothing more, nothing less! This will be a classic album!
  95. ClintB
    May 9, 2006
    10
    back to their best...
  96. BrianB
    Jun 24, 2006
    10
    awesome
  97. Jamie
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    None of us care for the exacerbating reviews some give Pearl Jam's music. The more focused reviews come from those who keep to a minimum of words or have credentials to say as much.
  98. fitifiti
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    excelente pearl jam.
  99. DanielB
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    Pearl Jam deliver! Intelligent, socially conscious lyrics for your head. Catchy hooks for your toe. Worldwide Suicide, Severed Hand, Unemployable, and Army Reserve are Pearl Jam at their best.
  100. BranJ.
    Apr 3, 2007
    10
    Stop comparing every album by Pearl Jam with another of their albums! You all just sound stupid. This is a great album, I'm not going to compare it... Each album by Pearl Jam is good in its own right... they each have their own strengths and weaknesses. If you can't get that through your damn skulls, then you aren't real fans of Pearl Jam or even music. They are a damn good Stop comparing every album by Pearl Jam with another of their albums! You all just sound stupid. This is a great album, I'm not going to compare it... Each album by Pearl Jam is good in its own right... they each have their own strengths and weaknesses. If you can't get that through your damn skulls, then you aren't real fans of Pearl Jam or even music. They are a damn good band, way better then the crap on the radio today. If you think they suck, well then lets see you people come up with an album, to me it sounds like you can make a better album then PJ. I would love to see that happen, then we'll see who really sucks. Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. The seriously hopped-up effort fans have been pining for since Vitalogy.
  2. Rolling Stone
    80
    As immediate and despairing as breaking news from Baghdad... Pearl Jam is also as big and brash in fuzz and backbone as Led Zeppelin's Presence. [4 May 2006, p.55]
  3. Though few of these 13 numbers have the drama of tracks by the Who or Led Zeppelin, from whom the band draw much of their style, Pearl Jam play like men on a mission.