Penance Soiree

  • Record Label: V2
  • Release Date: May 4, 2004
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aphex
    May 20, 2004
    9
    This CD is the greatest chunk of nasty, sleasy, p*ss in your face rock, that i've heard in a LONG time. But don't take my word for it, go to their website and listen. The first seven songs are amazing, by the time I got to the line"...who's gonna miss this flesh when i'm gone..." I had to pick my jaw up from the floor and buy this CD.
  2. idunno
    Jun 17, 2004
    10
    the icarus line finally have got their act together, stopped fucking around and finally made the rock n roll masterpiece we all knew they could deliver. total rock pandemonium. this is the soundtrack to snorting coke off a strippers ass and fucking your friends mom or something.
  3. GöstaJ
    Jan 12, 2005
    9
    Indeed one of the best albums of 2004!
  4. BenJ
    Jun 17, 2004
    4
    Sure, these guys can make a record sound good...but their songs are rubbish! Very disappointing!
  5. markf
    May 11, 2004
    10
    I sure as hell hope that I'm not succumbing to the hype. This album isn't exactly unique, but most of the first songs come storming out so intensely that I could almost believe that this was the second, or third, or fourth (you choose) coming. The initial songs all sound like a band that's completely comfortable with the fact that they can do whatever they want, because I sure as hell hope that I'm not succumbing to the hype. This album isn't exactly unique, but most of the first songs come storming out so intensely that I could almost believe that this was the second, or third, or fourth (you choose) coming. The initial songs all sound like a band that's completely comfortable with the fact that they can do whatever they want, because almost nobody's paying attention that it may have been done before. Later on, when the Jesus and Mary Chain/ BRMC/ Singapore Sling influences show up, it made me think I should maybe give it a 9, but then the album ended with the best feedback/ pure pop song I can recall, so I cut it some slack. I don't expect anybody to care, but I gave the new Loretta Lynn a 9, and I want to make it clear that it should have been a 10, since it's a tad better than these genius whackos. Expand
  6. willssssssssssssssss
    May 12, 2004
    9
    glorious! this is hope that there are still bands out there that try to make interesting music. this is the pooper scooper to clean up all the shit.
  7. Josh.
    May 18, 2004
    6
    I wanted to give this cd a higher rating, but after repeated listens, it's just too frustrating to completely recommend. It's partly due to the production, which is too dry and unfocused by half, but the bigger problem is that for all their techinal virtuosity, the men of Icarus Line still have a thing or two to learn about crafting memorable tunes. Enough stunning moments (such I wanted to give this cd a higher rating, but after repeated listens, it's just too frustrating to completely recommend. It's partly due to the production, which is too dry and unfocused by half, but the bigger problem is that for all their techinal virtuosity, the men of Icarus Line still have a thing or two to learn about crafting memorable tunes. Enough stunning moments (such as the incredible "Caviar") make this worth a purchase for the curious, but most will be satisfied after a cursory listen to know if they want to go further. The Icarus Line summon up a nasty majesty live, but have yet to translate that magnetism to an album. Maybe next time. Expand
  8. RobertA
    Jun 23, 2004
    8
    this is some great music open your ears and listen. rob
  9. JebusLizzurd
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    OK here's to the fuckin Icky Line, the ONLY real fucking rock n roll band left out there. this album is all kinds of nasty, and if youre not a pussy you'll enjoy every minute of it. it may make you want to do coke off of some hot bitches tits and slay a bunch of tang. this album is even respectable in the sense that its blatently obvious that they arent trying to appeal to OK here's to the fuckin Icky Line, the ONLY real fucking rock n roll band left out there. this album is all kinds of nasty, and if youre not a pussy you'll enjoy every minute of it. it may make you want to do coke off of some hot bitches tits and slay a bunch of tang. this album is even respectable in the sense that its blatently obvious that they arent trying to appeal to anyone. it's not straightforward skull fucking like their first realease, Mono, but its equally if not more intense. they CHALLENGE everyone who listens, which is something thats hard to find in modern shitcock called "music" in conclusion the icarus line are the best band out there right now for the simple fact that they are REAL. end of story. Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. The band is more than mere axe-bludgeoners. They've got original ideas that show a willingness to experiment with music beyond speaker-hiccuping thrash; some ideas pan out, others, not so much.
  2. Alternative Press
    80
    Full of the most intense guitar rock to come out of L.A. since Jane's Addiction's Nothing's Shocking. [Jun 2004, p.104]
  3. Searing white light and scrappy vocals are replaced by the druggy stomping and weighty grooves of '70s cosmic metal, yet the band's alluringly youthful braggadocio remains.