Person Pitch - Panda Bear
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 100
    An album this undeniably imaginative, consistent and immersive comes as a wonderful surprise and proof that maybe music isn't as lost as it seems. [Apr 2007, p.107]
  2. Like Animal Collective, Lennox pulls off the trick of being simultaneously poppy and abstract, winsome and deranging.
  3. His careful attention to detail and masterful use of vocal harmonies are unparalleled in modern indie rock.
  4. You can feel the warmth pouring out of the music.
  5. A lovely, trippy kaleidoscope of sound. [13 Apr 2007, p.74]
  6. Sometimes ominous, sometimes celebratory, always compelling, Person Pitch is as clattering and tactile as a beaded curtain.
  7. For an album constructed from so many constituent parts, Person Pitch is amazingly warm and inviting at times, wrapping around the ears, nestling the head, and squeezing like a nice familial bear hug after years of no contact.
  8. An album as rich as it is strange.
  9. It’s safe to say that, Person Pitch just might be album of the year (so far, at least).
  10. In a year that will feature not just a new long-player from Lennox's Animal Collective but also a box set's worth of rare material, it may be hard to surpass the haunting, blissful pageantry of Person Pitch.
  11. Essentially, Person Pitch is an amazing third album from the young musician, on a par with the best work of the Animal Collective. Striking just the right balance between melody, song, and experimentation, it's one of the best albums of the year so far.
  12. The strength of Person Pitch is that it really doesn't matter what label might be affixed to it; quite simply, it is a gorgeous album from beginning to end.
  13. Although it's certainly inventive in approach and execution, there's no denying that Person Pitch sees Lennox working within decidedly pop-centric parameters.
  14. It’s easily the gentlest, brightest record to be associated with the Animal Collective.
  15. Panda Bear has created one of the most unusual and beautifully strange statements of the avant-garde.
  16. The sheer ingenuity with which he illustrates his immaculate tone poem makes Person Pitch as imaginative as any pop album you’ll hear this year. [#17, p.92]
  17. 80
    Immediately and huantingly familiar, it circumvents pastiche courtesy of a mischievous cut'n'paste aesthetic. [Feb 2008, p.108]
  18. 80
    Magical. [Apr 2007, p.114]
  19. The sweetness is almost too gooey, and what should be providing a healthy contrast ends up dragging the best instrumental moments down more than once, almost literally getting in the way of the striking sonic collages. It may be heresy to some, but conceivably Person Pitch would be at its best if it were strictly instrumental.
  20. As warm, strange and enchantingly off-key as the title suggests. [May 2007, p.127]
  21. It's the glorious melodies and cavernous, quasi-dub-like production that conspire to make Person Pitch one of the most beguiling, intoxicating releases of 2007 thus far. [May 2007, p.161]
  22. The prevailing mood is one of euphoria - of clouds parting, sun shining and hearts melting.
  23. It's as lucid a marriage of the eneffably strange and crayon-bright catchy as 2007 is likely to see. [Apr 2007, p.58]
  24. The clever hook is keeping everything fuzzy enough to create a trippy mystique that makes it difficult to pinpoint what's happening or where it's all leading.
  25. Person Pitch is a paradoxically personal yet expansive work, a set that seems incredibly intimate to Lennox but universally open to a world of possibilities.
  26. A marvelous, hazy trip full of Beach Boys-inspired psychedelia.
  27. The most sonically satisfying statement to emerge yet from the Collective.
  28. The beautiful melodies and harmonies don’t actually go anywhere, they just kind of float in and out of earshot, failing to develop or do anything harmonically interesting.
  29. 60
    Somehow, these constant flourishes enhance, rather than obscure, the disc's plentiful catchy bits, giving Person Pitch a resonant, off-kilter charm. [Apr 2007, p.93]
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 191 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 111
  2. Negative: 14 out of 111
  1. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    Among the top 5 albums of all times for me. I loved this so much, every single song everything in this album speaks to me in a way very few things can. I love this and it makes it hard to wait for the next album from Panda Bear. Full Review »
  2. voodoocookie
    Jul 12, 2007
    3
    Wow, there are so many positive comments on here and a whole lot of hype. I am definitely on the other side of the fence being one of those who just totally doesn't get it! I've noticed comments all along the lines of - magical, trippy, psychedelic, feeling of "sitting on the beach on a perfect summer day, with cool breeze blowing in my face". This album just gave me feelings of a very bad comedown after a messy night out and the repetition makes me feel like I'm trapped in a time warp on a bad trip that I can't get out of! I understand this is probably not for everyone but I am usually quite open with my music. I will try to give it another listen but not sure if it might drive me to insanity first... maybe someone here can try to convince me otherwise... I give this album a 2 for effort in the experimental department + 1 for the ability to generate all this hype! Full Review »
  3. JiffS
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    I think this is one of the best albums ever made. It's sheer beauty completely amazes me. You need to open your heart and mind and let the music flow all over you. We need people like Noah Lennox to keep pushing things forward and creating fresh and exciting music. i can understand this album may be a little too experimental for some people's tastes, but if you give this album a chance I'm sure you'll fall in love with it. Full Review »