User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 197 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 197

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 16, 2014
    10
    layer upon layer of ingeniously samples mixed with panda bear's reverb touched vocals and harmonies, a practically perfect record. (one of my favorite moments is the subtle train sample he puts and the end of take pills...just genius!)
  2. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest albums ever. The twenty-first century version of the Beach boys, Panda Bear alone shows his innovative mind with this record that is better than any animal collective album and displays the true innocence and beauty that can be found in an album. This album just sneaks by Radiohead's In Rainbows for the best album of 2007.
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best albums of our time. Panda Bear pushes the boundries of electronic music to make something unique, atmospheric, interesting and most of all, beautiful. Art is at its best when its creative and shines when its honest and not pretentious. I name this one of the best albums ever and Panda Bear one of the best artist to have ever lived, he has proved it here.
  4. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    Person Pitch has to be one of the most imaginative records I've heard in a long time, probably ever. each track is beautifully layered with so many different sounds and harmonies and completely compliments Noah Lennox's voice. It sorta sounds like The Beach Boys if they took a whole bunch of different drugs at once. All In All, Panda Bear has crafted a wonderful, little psychedelic recordPerson Pitch has to be one of the most imaginative records I've heard in a long time, probably ever. each track is beautifully layered with so many different sounds and harmonies and completely compliments Noah Lennox's voice. It sorta sounds like The Beach Boys if they took a whole bunch of different drugs at once. All In All, Panda Bear has crafted a wonderful, little psychedelic record that certainly won't leave the minds of any serious music fan for a long time to come. A- Expand
  5. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    Its been more than 5 years and I still enjoy listening to this album as much as I did when I first heard it. The collection of sounds, textures, and samples create a world I never want to leave.
  6. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    One of my favorite albums of all time. Great work sampling, on guitar, and on synthesizers. The real highlight of the album is the vocal work. The layering of the vocals is truly incredible. All of the songs are highlights. I can not recommend this album highly enough.
  7. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Ok, so my know this album is closing in on 5 years in age. But this it is a **** masterwork. Very rarely have I been so emotionally connected to a piece of music. (Btw, to those who didn't like this album, this "review" will come off as nothing but a sickeningly gushy hyperbolic rant. just letting you know in advance)

    Before hearing Panda + AnCo, pretty much all music I listened to was
    Ok, so my know this album is closing in on 5 years in age. But this it is a **** masterwork. Very rarely have I been so emotionally connected to a piece of music. (Btw, to those who didn't like this album, this "review" will come off as nothing but a sickeningly gushy hyperbolic rant. just letting you know in advance)

    Before hearing Panda + AnCo, pretty much all music I listened to was just The Beatles, Rolling Stones, Miles Davis, Bob Dylan, Pink Floyd, et cetera.... all the "safe" classics, the basics. My only understanding of what this whole `indie music` thing was, consisted of The Arctic Monkeys (although I didn't actually listen to them), maybe 3-4 songs by MGMT, some Radiohead, and whatever I heard from Grand Theft Auto radio stations. Basically, I only listened to what everyone liked.

    Then I heard this band. I got started after my friend showed me the song "My Girls" (yes, I know, I was introduced to Animal Collective very late). After hearing My Girls I thought "wow, this is pretty impressive", so I looked up what other stuff this band may have. I found some sort of solo project called Panda Bear, found a song called "Bros", and not expecting too much, I gave it a listen. 12 and a half minutes later I was STUNNED. Then came Good Girl/Carrots, then the rest of Person Pitch. Scraping my jaw off the floor, I listened to all the rest of Animal Collective. After that, the music that I listened to, and the way I listened to it, was completely changed. I began to actually listen to "indie music", and got hooked on Caribou, then Aphex Twin, Bjork, Dirty Projectors, Flying Lotus, Grizzly Bear, Basic Channel, Tame Impala.... I found amazing, lovely music that I otherwise would have never come across in a million years. But even after spending so much time listening to all these original and completely refreshing musicians, I still have to say, nothing beats Person Pitch (as far as sheer musical pleasure goes). Whenever I come home from a stressful day of classes, or end up going crazy from all the pressure of studying for exams, or just when I have a bad day in general, I turn this album on, and then I just instantly feel better. Bros is something like The Beach Boys meets Four Tet meets a late 60's psych-rock jam. Comfy in Nautica is some sort of blasting choir opener, but hazy and distant at the same time. Good Girl/Carrots takes you through a ride of manic industrial tablas, trip hop, skittering piano, and densely layered dub. Take Pills is straight up, reverb-drenched baroque up. And that is just the tip of the iceberg of the whole discography. The soundscapes that come out of Panda Bear and Animal Collective are things that you can get lost in. So relaxing, so fun, so entertaining.

    Oh, and one thing. @musicfan: Having a totally personal, subjective enjoyment to a piece of music does not make me a "sucker". When you learn not to have such an egotistical sense of self-entitlement you will realize that liking music is based on OPINION and there is neither right nor wrong.

    @voodoocookie: Don't worry. If you don't like the album, then you don't like it, and don't waste your time trying to get into something you don't like. You say you "don't get it", but there's simply nothing to get here. There's no "big idea" that just completely switches what you think about a piece of art. It's just not your preference.

    Ok, I'm done.
    Expand
  8. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    Among the top 5 albums of all times for me. I loved this so much, every single song everything in this album speaks to me in a way very few things can. I love this and it makes it hard to wait for the next album from Panda Bear.
  9. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    Not many albums are like this. Amazing by far. Panda Bear plays like a tornado. 9.7/10 Best tracks: Good Girls/ Carrots, Comfy In Nautica, Take Pills.
  10. patrick
    Oct 3, 2009
    9
    A real journey if you're willing to really let go and take it. Hear it on good speakers in a relaxing space for the best experience, this album was not meant for headphone listening, it needs natural room reverb for everything to gel together properly. There's also really inspiring and refreshing messages in the lyrics, ones sorely needed in today's world.
  11. RicardoC:
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    Every little sound and beat fit perfectly, as his voice.
  12. ChristosM.
    May 22, 2009
    9
    Ok I'm young,I'm not quite familliar with the great musical legacy Of Brian Wilson and the Beach Boys,but the songs have just settled in my head and won't go away.It's this kind of music created by so many simple ingredients that just give the idea of a unique project.If there's one goal it achieved,is making me search Animal Collective albums as well as the beach Ok I'm young,I'm not quite familliar with the great musical legacy Of Brian Wilson and the Beach Boys,but the songs have just settled in my head and won't go away.It's this kind of music created by so many simple ingredients that just give the idea of a unique project.If there's one goal it achieved,is making me search Animal Collective albums as well as the beach boys old staff! Expand
  13. FlubbyW
    Apr 16, 2009
    9
    I'm not a huge AC fan so I'm not sure what actually made me come to listen this album in the first place, but I'm glad I did ~ it's pure genius!
  14. JohnA.
    Jan 5, 2009
    9
    Gorgeous.
  15. AndrewP.
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    Time. Time is what the naysayers need. Once pop music has stolen enough from amazing artists like Panda Bear, then people will be able to handle this kind of music. Our criticisms our all based off of past experiences. So when we hear something amazing and original we try to connect to back. With this amazing album the only thing to connect it to is Brian Wilson. So that's what they Time. Time is what the naysayers need. Once pop music has stolen enough from amazing artists like Panda Bear, then people will be able to handle this kind of music. Our criticisms our all based off of past experiences. So when we hear something amazing and original we try to connect to back. With this amazing album the only thing to connect it to is Brian Wilson. So that's what they do and dismiss it. Expand
  16. TomP
    Nov 11, 2008
    6
    Nice, something different, but as far as can see so far, not among 2007's best. Pitchfork says "you can feel the warmth puring out of this music" yet I found this to only be true of the last track, the rest just seemed like they were floating along for the ride, occasionally offering up something interesting. In Rainbows, Boxer, Neon Bible, Mirrored, Untrue, Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga, Hissing Nice, something different, but as far as can see so far, not among 2007's best. Pitchfork says "you can feel the warmth puring out of this music" yet I found this to only be true of the last track, the rest just seemed like they were floating along for the ride, occasionally offering up something interesting. In Rainbows, Boxer, Neon Bible, Mirrored, Untrue, Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga, Hissing Fauna, and Cross all topped this in 2007. (It was a good year) To tell the truth this album made me sleepy, and not in a good peaceful way, it's just not that compelling of a listen, no sense of importance or...warmth actually. It feels detactched to me. I'll keep trying to listen to it though, to see if I'm missing something, but I'm not too optimistic. Expand
  17. JakeJ.
    Sep 17, 2008
    2
    This album succeeds in recreating, and, in a sense, updating the the Beach Boys sound. Of course, with the Beach Boys, you'd get actual songs as well, and those are what is missing here. What remains to be impressive is the sheer amount of hype that is being generated around this release. In five years, no one will remember it.
  18. SebM.
    May 31, 2008
    6
    My first reaction was "How did it get so much good rates ?". I was about to give it a 2 out of 10. But then I decided to listen to it several times, and the structures slowly appeared. It's finally kinda pleasant, but certainly not a masterpiece for me. The harmonies are gorgeous but it lacks of melody.
  19. Jo
    May 6, 2008
    3
    Boring...nothing fresh about it, I don't get the hype.
  20. DeeS.
    Apr 17, 2008
    9
    No, it's not God's gift to music. But it certainly has something that much of contemporary rock ignores: attention to detail in harmonies, an idea sorely lacking in all these 'sexy' indie rock bands (White Stripes etc...). These tracks are built around a feeling, and it IS infectious, no doubt. To the guy talking about Smile-era rip-offs: have you heard No, it's not God's gift to music. But it certainly has something that much of contemporary rock ignores: attention to detail in harmonies, an idea sorely lacking in all these 'sexy' indie rock bands (White Stripes etc...). These tracks are built around a feeling, and it IS infectious, no doubt. To the guy talking about Smile-era rip-offs: have you heard Spiritualized's Let it Come Down? That shit is more Beach Boys than the Beach Boys themselves. An instant classic for those willing to give it a few spins. I love the Beach Boys so much that I can't hate a band who is derivative of them to some degree. The world needs more child-like songwriters and harmony. Expand
  21. PL
    Apr 14, 2008
    8
    Its funny how none of the reviewers mentioned the obvious Everly Brothers sound he uses - did any of them listen past the halfway point of "Take Pills"? There is also a strong Beach Boys influence in the album but to say the whole album sounds like the Beach Boys is just ignorant. Sounds like they'd finished writing the review a minute into the album. I liked the album by the way. Its funny how none of the reviewers mentioned the obvious Everly Brothers sound he uses - did any of them listen past the halfway point of "Take Pills"? There is also a strong Beach Boys influence in the album but to say the whole album sounds like the Beach Boys is just ignorant. Sounds like they'd finished writing the review a minute into the album. I liked the album by the way. Ultimate driving album for a potential road rager. Expand
  22. DanielJ.
    Apr 8, 2008
    2
    This is just too abstract and weird for me. Why this album is in the toplist is for me a true mystery.
  23. RikkyC.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    the album is really quite something, very spacey, experimental and unconventional. it transcends common genre-labelling and manages to be truly unique. The first three-and-a-half tracks are absolutely amazing, epic pieces of music, but the end slows down and becomes less interesting (much like 'feels' (and also like every other animal collective album). It's really a great the album is really quite something, very spacey, experimental and unconventional. it transcends common genre-labelling and manages to be truly unique. The first three-and-a-half tracks are absolutely amazing, epic pieces of music, but the end slows down and becomes less interesting (much like 'feels' (and also like every other animal collective album). It's really a great album though, it deserves the praise. Expand
  24. JyotirmayaD.
    Mar 27, 2008
    8
    I generally don't like albums with the ambient sound going on - especially if it sounds too "new-agey", but this album makes the ambient sound funky and cool. And it needed at least 2 or 3 listens for me to enjoy it... But I initially gave it a chance because I could tell I was listening to something worthwhile.
  25. CatQ.
    Mar 13, 2008
    7
    Not worth the tens but none the less really good to listen to. Just to chill. It usually bothers me if an artist sounds alot like another one (like the Beach Boys) but I don't really mind the Beach Boys echos in it. In my opinon, don't listen to it in terms of a context, just listen to it as it is.
  26. DerekE.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    Seriously breathtaking. If you aren't convinced, give it some time. If you still aren't convinced, something may be wrong with you.
  27. hirachi
    Feb 27, 2008
    4
    I came home from work one day and heard the Beach Boys playing. I asked my roommate in the living room where he got these Smile-era outtakes. He told me it was Panda Bear. We listened to the whole thing and all I could think was BEACH BOYS DEMOS.
  28. BethanyL.
    Feb 18, 2008
    6
    I've tried, I really have, but I just don't get it. I give it an above average based on the forward thinkingness of Noah and the meditative aspects of the album. But it just sounds like the echo effect/reverb is giving it the unity and gorgeousness! everyone speaks of. It isn't bad but I don't get the hype. A bit boring for me.
  29. Laccharisma
    Feb 15, 2008
    5
    Good/Not good. Overstated by the haters and the sycophants. Neither a 1 or a 10 this album is insubstantial and lacks momentum of any kind. It is also at times beautiful but that is a brief experience when the beauty seems looped, staged and drowned in reverby-harmonies. The melodies are of a quality that never seems to reach fruition or full development. Circular music that for some is Good/Not good. Overstated by the haters and the sycophants. Neither a 1 or a 10 this album is insubstantial and lacks momentum of any kind. It is also at times beautiful but that is a brief experience when the beauty seems looped, staged and drowned in reverby-harmonies. The melodies are of a quality that never seems to reach fruition or full development. Circular music that for some is bliss and for others is complete shite. I'm near middle on it-still listening to it while I fill out forms and clean the house. Expand
  30. Marc
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    This is not a 'love it or hate it' album; it's a 'love it or don't get it' one. It is very cohesive, never self-indulgent, and just a joy to listen to. Thank you, Panda Bear.
  31. AdamP.
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    Amazing album. Love the reverb, vocal harmonies, and upbeat guitars.
  32. SimonW
    Jan 2, 2008
    7
    Pleasant enough.
  33. zjepsen
    Jan 1, 2008
    7
    Good. Very good, at times. But not as amazing as many would claim, nor as horrid, either. Looking at these reviews, most people give the album a 9 or a 10, or they give it a ridiculously low score of a 1 or a 2. None are correct. Person Pitch, essentially, is 3 or 4 really good tracks sandwiched by a few forgetful ones. The album is, additionally, at times way too saccharine. They are all Good. Very good, at times. But not as amazing as many would claim, nor as horrid, either. Looking at these reviews, most people give the album a 9 or a 10, or they give it a ridiculously low score of a 1 or a 2. None are correct. Person Pitch, essentially, is 3 or 4 really good tracks sandwiched by a few forgetful ones. The album is, additionally, at times way too saccharine. They are all pleasant. But "pleasant" does not an amazing album make. Yes, it is hyped. And yes, you earn instant indy cred by name-dropping Noah Lennox. Coincidentally, the best tracks on the album were already released on various EPs. Buy it for tracks like Expand
  34. LordPoppycockVonTinselDrawers
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    Best Album of 07 hands down. A masterpiece. This hasn't left my ipod since the day I got it. And Neil C, I'll be back in 3 years for my money.
  35. AlexR
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    I think just like the National's Alligator and Boxer, this album is a grower. At first, I walked in behind the hype of high critical outlets. I was left disappointed, but recently, I decided to listen to it as a record and not as a number. The result was a pleasant, poppy yet distant record. The cheer from album seller "Bros" continues throughout the record. And those with the low I think just like the National's Alligator and Boxer, this album is a grower. At first, I walked in behind the hype of high critical outlets. I was left disappointed, but recently, I decided to listen to it as a record and not as a number. The result was a pleasant, poppy yet distant record. The cheer from album seller "Bros" continues throughout the record. And those with the low ratings: state your reasons for your score instead of trying to judge the people reviewing the record. It's called an opinion, grow up. Expand
  36. J.K.
    Dec 14, 2007
    8
    If The Beach Boys had ran unabashedly into the realm of psychedelics and dropped their surf boards for hang gliders, this is probably what you would have heard. Which is pretty funny, considering this is four decades after the fact. It's almost like a looking glass nostalgic for those simpler musical days of beaches and melodies which were themselves nostalgic for those simpler days If The Beach Boys had ran unabashedly into the realm of psychedelics and dropped their surf boards for hang gliders, this is probably what you would have heard. Which is pretty funny, considering this is four decades after the fact. It's almost like a looking glass nostalgic for those simpler musical days of beaches and melodies which were themselves nostalgic for those simpler days of beaches and young love. Light hearted and groovy and also lot of fun, this is definitely one of the best albums of the year. Expand
  37. DanS
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    I can't get enough of this. It's slowly been inching it's way higher on my year-end list since it's release. Really great sound.
  38. RobertF
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    To Neil C who said "It's impossible that so many people could really be so swayed by hype that they'd claim to love truly love a piece of work that is so dreary isn't it?" I'm as cynical about other people's opinion as anybody and not in the least bit swayed by hype (eg. Neon Bible sucks big time) and I will only put MY opinion here. This album is by far and away To Neil C who said "It's impossible that so many people could really be so swayed by hype that they'd claim to love truly love a piece of work that is so dreary isn't it?" I'm as cynical about other people's opinion as anybody and not in the least bit swayed by hype (eg. Neon Bible sucks big time) and I will only put MY opinion here. This album is by far and away my favourite of the year. Have you considered that most people here are also voicing their own opinion? There is no conspiracy just because others disagree with you. Expand
  39. RuK.
    Nov 2, 2007
    3
    How can you morons even compare this to Pet Sounds? 3/10 for a mostly terrible album. So many people fall for hype nowadays.
  40. Brentoni
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Fantastic album, put beach boys and four tet in a blender and what do you get? panda bear. Very trippy and thought provoking throughout.
  41. BradC.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    I'm thinking that Paul "tape loop" McCartney, John "Revolution 9" Lennon and Brian "Pet Sounds" Wilson had a baby and when it grew up it sounded like this. Lights out and loud. A beautiful album.
  42. ChrisE.
    Sep 16, 2007
    9
    i first listened to this when it came out, didn't think much of it other than "well, it's interesting". but now that i've downed a glass of vodka and don't really feel like listening to anything else, its jamming alright
  43. EdM.
    Sep 15, 2007
    10
    Easily my favorite album of 2007. Sure you don't have to listen to critics, but sometimes I suppose they're right. Really, really cool Beach Boys-esque psychadelia.
  44. NeilC
    Sep 5, 2007
    1
    It's impossible that so many people could really be so swayed by hype that they'd claim to love truly love a piece of work that is so dreary isn't it? No it's not. It happens all the time. If I had to give £1 to every person who will still be rating this as "the best album ever" in say 3 years I wouldn't be risking much at all. Buy it and be prepared to be It's impossible that so many people could really be so swayed by hype that they'd claim to love truly love a piece of work that is so dreary isn't it? No it's not. It happens all the time. If I had to give £1 to every person who will still be rating this as "the best album ever" in say 3 years I wouldn't be risking much at all. Buy it and be prepared to be disappointed but obviously tell everyone you think it's great so they will respect you as a muso. Expand
  45. StephenA.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    A magnificent concept album and best work by Noah Lennox so far. Person Pitch is a throw-back to Bryan Wilson, but certainly has its place in the 21's century. Love it.
  46. Maxwell
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    I have no problems whatsoever calling Person Pitch as good an album as Pet Sounds. This is one of the best pop albums ever committed to tape. Turn off the lights, put on your headphones, drop the needle on Person Pitch and let it wash over you ... several times if necessary. Panda Bear loves you.
  47. JorgeWithaJayWithaJay
    Jul 20, 2007
    9
    Like The Avalanches and Manu Chao before him Panda Bear takes us on a trip of mashed melodies and modern psychedelia and its influences clearly centered towards that magestic and perfect pop of Brian Wilson...Panda Bear is a trip well worth taking! Enjoy it with a bud...
  48. voodoocookie
    Jul 12, 2007
    3
    Wow, there are so many positive comments on here and a whole lot of hype. I am definitely on the other side of the fence being one of those who just totally doesn't get it! I've noticed comments all along the lines of - magical, trippy, psychedelic, feeling of "sitting on the beach on a perfect summer day, with cool breeze blowing in my face". This album just gave me feelings of Wow, there are so many positive comments on here and a whole lot of hype. I am definitely on the other side of the fence being one of those who just totally doesn't get it! I've noticed comments all along the lines of - magical, trippy, psychedelic, feeling of "sitting on the beach on a perfect summer day, with cool breeze blowing in my face". This album just gave me feelings of a very bad comedown after a messy night out and the repetition makes me feel like I'm trapped in a time warp on a bad trip that I can't get out of! I understand this is probably not for everyone but I am usually quite open with my music. I will try to give it another listen but not sure if it might drive me to insanity first... maybe someone here can try to convince me otherwise... I give this album a 2 for effort in the experimental department + 1 for the ability to generate all this hype! Expand
  49. YourMom
    Jun 26, 2007
    0
    tiz shit
  50. JiffS
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    I think this is one of the best albums ever made. It's sheer beauty completely amazes me. You need to open your heart and mind and let the music flow all over you. We need people like Noah Lennox to keep pushing things forward and creating fresh and exciting music. i can understand this album may be a little too experimental for some people's tastes, but if you give this album a I think this is one of the best albums ever made. It's sheer beauty completely amazes me. You need to open your heart and mind and let the music flow all over you. We need people like Noah Lennox to keep pushing things forward and creating fresh and exciting music. i can understand this album may be a little too experimental for some people's tastes, but if you give this album a chance I'm sure you'll fall in love with it. Expand
  51. RG
    Jun 22, 2007
    9
    melodies and looops all over but nothing shines like noahs voice. oozzzzing with warm hugs. different than animall collective yet strangely familiar. saw him live last night soaking in that music, brilliant. i think i might have turned a freind towards liking him, who was skeptical when she heard the album and saw some live youtube. all this noise could just be bridges in songs building melodies and looops all over but nothing shines like noahs voice. oozzzzing with warm hugs. different than animall collective yet strangely familiar. saw him live last night soaking in that music, brilliant. i think i might have turned a freind towards liking him, who was skeptical when she heard the album and saw some live youtube. all this noise could just be bridges in songs building up to something but these spaces are just gorgeous. Expand
  52. JohnB
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    Best album of all time.
  53. GuyH
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    Not an album that I'm always in the mood to listen to but when the time is right this album is the perfect collage of sounds. Also, definitely a 10 listen minimum album otherwise certain elements stick out too much in the mix and distract you. Everything mellows in time and then you can relax into this album. Just bear with it (sorry)
  54. Robert
    Jun 3, 2007
    10
    Album of the year. One would be hard pressed to find harmonies that rival those in good girls/carrots and bros.
  55. JaddyP
    Jun 2, 2007
    9
    What a wonderful album. The dreamlike sense and feel that runs through most of the songs leaves you with a overwhelming feeling that you are listening to music made for some other time.. OK that all sounds a bit spacey but this album is. However it is not spacey in the flunky flaky kind of way but in the interesting abstract way. Ok the vocal sound does rip of The beach boys but you would What a wonderful album. The dreamlike sense and feel that runs through most of the songs leaves you with a overwhelming feeling that you are listening to music made for some other time.. OK that all sounds a bit spacey but this album is. However it is not spacey in the flunky flaky kind of way but in the interesting abstract way. Ok the vocal sound does rip of The beach boys but you would be hard pressed to find a band that is 100% original in the modern music industry.And beside the sound is still great!. But Panda bear is still heads above the rest in originality! Hats off to him! Expand
  56. Booyanone
    May 28, 2007
    8
    This record is very cool. Though, the sound for some gets old, for me it is nice to hear something a bit similar and a bit different that is pushed out of the record industry. Listening over and over, one can pick out a different layer of the songs each time. I would recomend this to anyone.
  57. JackRauhkes
    May 26, 2007
    4
    it's atmospheric and boring; it lacks structure, it lacks energy, and most of all, it lacks content. Not all genres are created equal. Person Pitch may be at the top of its soundtrack-esque game, but one can't even begin to compare it to masterpiece albums of this decade. The fact is, it's never going to be up there with that caliber of music. If you're into it's atmospheric and boring; it lacks structure, it lacks energy, and most of all, it lacks content. Not all genres are created equal. Person Pitch may be at the top of its soundtrack-esque game, but one can't even begin to compare it to masterpiece albums of this decade. The fact is, it's never going to be up there with that caliber of music. If you're into experimental songs that lack musicianship and structure, this is for you. If you like normal songs and enjoy actually being able to tap your foot to the beat, this is not for you. Expand
  58. Busted...
    May 17, 2007
    8
    I wonder how this album would sound stoned...probably pretty spectacular. Might even be overwhelming. Panda bear has a pretty dense soundscape; with every listen i notice something more I might try getting stoned again, but until then I stand by my rating...not quite perfection.
  59. JoshuaK
    May 16, 2007
    10
    I cannot fathom a better CD being released this year. The music is gorgeous, and the vocals are largely crystalline and rather delicate. Some of the songs have a sort of tribal sound to them brought forth through chanting and repetition. This is a transcendent album not to be overlooked.
  60. MichaelC
    May 13, 2007
    10
    I guess I'm a rarity in that I completely understand why people would flat out dispise this album. It can be very experimental at times and hard to follow and lacks a certain energy that most people demand (the latter is why I Sean A is right by saying it shouldn't be compared to the Arcade Fire). Panda has a style that some people just won't be able to get in to, and I I guess I'm a rarity in that I completely understand why people would flat out dispise this album. It can be very experimental at times and hard to follow and lacks a certain energy that most people demand (the latter is why I Sean A is right by saying it shouldn't be compared to the Arcade Fire). Panda has a style that some people just won't be able to get in to, and I can't be upset by that. Luckily, I adore this album and it'll stay in my stereo for a few more weeks. Expand
  61. markh
    May 12, 2007
    10
    this is my summer album. true, it i difficult to get into because panda bear likes his lack of typical song structure, but i think hes really pushing boundaries. the melodies are sunny and catchy, but theyre piled against a single chord for 6 or 7 minutes and then the whole song changes to something completely different. i boggles my mind. best songs: comfy in nautica, take pills, et all.
  62. NathanS
    May 11, 2007
    9
    Ok, some of you guys just don't get it. I'm curious to see what you (people giving this album 0's) would call "good music". As for the album, brilliant and beautiful. Quite arguably the album of the year.
  63. musicfan
    May 9, 2007
    1
    All of the nice adjectives used to describe this album are true,...but only for about 45 seconds to maybe a minute or so when you realize its a warm fuzzy nogstalic GIMMIC that's just noodling along not going anywhere, boring the hell out of you and you've still got 8 minutes left of the same copped beach boy-esque sample looping over and over. I loved pet sounds, but this album All of the nice adjectives used to describe this album are true,...but only for about 45 seconds to maybe a minute or so when you realize its a warm fuzzy nogstalic GIMMIC that's just noodling along not going anywhere, boring the hell out of you and you've still got 8 minutes left of the same copped beach boy-esque sample looping over and over. I loved pet sounds, but this album ain't no pet sounds. Lennox created some nice sounds, but there's nothing here that deserves to be called an album, its completely devoid of content. Its a souless simulacrum. Its like paying the price of a steak dinner only to be able to smell chemical steak essense untill you're sick of the smell, without actually getting to touch, see, chew, or be satisfied by eating the real thing. Now I suppose chemical Steak esense could be kinda interesting to experience once, but only as a gimmic and certainly not worth the price of a real steak dinner. A sucker every minute I suppose. Expand
  64. joes
    May 7, 2007
    9
    On firts listen I thought-uh totally derivative Beach Boys copy- after few listens I think this album is a masterpiece- Very different type of psychedelia- I have been listening to this compulsively- the more lyou listen- the more you hear- like any really well constructed sonic excursions
  65. SeanA
    May 7, 2007
    1
    Speaking of not "hearing it" and heads in "nether regions", I'd like to know what Todd thinks this shares with Arcade Fire. Reverb? It has a lot of that and it gets to be irritating after 2 tracks. It has as a few nice moments but not enough to warrant all the 9s and 10s. This is an OPINION so don't let it upset you if you think the album is going to outlast the year.
  66. SkalaB
    May 7, 2007
    10
    No grain of salt needed. It isn't so much that the melodies or singing are the technical equal of Brian Wilson; it's that the music achieves the more important goal of making you feel in love with the world the same way Wilson does in his best stuff. All you really need to know about this album is this: "Bros" is over 12 minutes long, and does not have a conventional song No grain of salt needed. It isn't so much that the melodies or singing are the technical equal of Brian Wilson; it's that the music achieves the more important goal of making you feel in love with the world the same way Wilson does in his best stuff. All you really need to know about this album is this: "Bros" is over 12 minutes long, and does not have a conventional song structure or recognizable lyrics, and yet, it's the shortest, most absorbing 12-minute song I've ever heard. That's what this album achieves, over and over. Expand
  67. k.
    May 6, 2007
    2
    Every track reminds me of the taste in my mouth after waking from the dream of being at a large banquet eating savory foods; the taste is cotton-like saliva cakes.
  68. Tiger
    May 5, 2007
    10
    people that knock this album really don't know much about music or probably have a hearing problem. person pitch is the album that every musician that likes pet sounds wished they could have made. the melodies are classic and top notch
  69. ToddW
    Apr 27, 2007
    9
    Some of the comments of these minicritics should be taken with a rock to the head. This offering is simply brilliant. It combines the best of the Go Team!, My Bloody Valentine, Animal Collective, and the Arcade Fire with vocal harmonies that would make, yes, Brian Wilson proud. Those of you who aren't hearing it need to pull your head out of your nether region. Better yet, go back to Some of the comments of these minicritics should be taken with a rock to the head. This offering is simply brilliant. It combines the best of the Go Team!, My Bloody Valentine, Animal Collective, and the Arcade Fire with vocal harmonies that would make, yes, Brian Wilson proud. Those of you who aren't hearing it need to pull your head out of your nether region. Better yet, go back to suffering through whatever garbage is on your ipod at the moment. You'll never get it and you don't deserve it. Expand
  70. CameronS
    Apr 23, 2007
    0
    I cannot stand this at all. Preview the album and see how awful it is. This is just horrible.
  71. EricC
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    What an awesome album. Easily rivals anything he or Animal Collective has ever done. If you have a hard time swallowing experimental indie rock, then don't waste your time. But it's too bad you can't appreciate it, because this really is amazing. It's only flaw is that you're never gonna sing along. Sometimes it sounds like he's singing backwards.
  72. JI
    Apr 17, 2007
    3
    sorry, it's just not that good. yes, it has harmonies, but it has little else going on. comparisons to brian wilson should be taken with a grain of salt. the vocal sound is similar but these are basically 2-part chants. there's a lot of hype in play here.
  73. MJ88
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    amazing, angelic indie pop. it's the best so far this year.
  74. gman
    Apr 16, 2007
    9
    Amazingly, it genuinely is every bit as stunning as all the reviews suggest. Whether it's the best Animal Collective related album is perhaps debatable but it undoubtedly towers above anything else released this year. This is what Brian Wilson's Smile should've sounded like. One really wonders about anyone that doesn't rate this album highly.
  75. NikkiG
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    Fell in love with it the second I first listened to this album... and that about sums it up.
  76. HexumN
    Apr 15, 2007
    0
    This one must be for music snobs only. This is seriously the single most worst album I have ever heard and will probably ever hear in my life. How it managed such great reviews is well beyond me. Painfully awful. Absolute garbage. I'm sorry to sound so negative as I'm usually very open to music, but wow, this is just horrible. Wow.
  77. [Anonymous]
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    Listening to this album is like sitting on the beach, on a perfect summer day, with a cool breeze blowing in my face.
  78. mikeyf
    Apr 12, 2007
    10
    phantasmagorical.
  79. AntoineG
    Apr 9, 2007
    9
    Often pop, sometimes experimental, always good
  80. SDK
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    A fantastical album of pink fire for the masses. An album such as this only comes along every so often, like a child with all the answers to the universe. Panda Bear does it right, and his own way paving the way with a style that is sure to stick around and impress. Expect permutations of this kind of sound from the hipster kids very soon...
  81. Dave
    Apr 5, 2007
    5
    I am absolutely sickened by the torrent of positive commentary this album has received. It is flatly uninteresting and should be approached with skepticism, not with the expectation that this is a "great" album.
  82. TM
    Apr 5, 2007
    7
    Good, bit overrated far as I'm concerned. Last Animal Collective was better, I'd put my money towards that over this.
  83. EB
    Apr 4, 2007
    0
    Boring.
  84. TonyF
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    So amazing, something new and fresh once again brought to us by a member of animal collective. This also, sadly, is much better then Avey Tares new lp with the mum girl.
  85. JohnA.
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    Gorgeous.
  86. mikef
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    wow! - important music. superlatives other reviewers used are well earned. hear to believe / hear to be moved. SMiLE comparisons justified. person pitch more immediate & modern, but no less wunderbar. to be performed as live gigs - at ottobar in balt., md & in phila., pa at 1st unitarian church, etc. Lord, glad to have survived to get to this point in time.
  87. AdamM
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    Simply breathtaking.
  88. andresl
    Mar 29, 2007
    9
    strangely addictive and full of good vibes. underneath all the samples and complicated production work lays some pretty amazing tunes. very unique.
  89. MusicHeals
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    His music is an exile far away from all speed, a cosmical hotel, where you can feel proud to be a human, having the gift to SMiLE.
  90. Shak.
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    so andrew, you think you can steal my description of the album and use it as your own? and to think, of all people to do it, it was YOU. disappointed. but yes, amazing album.
  91. mikeyp
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    the thing about this is that voice. the melodies and instrumentation are fine, just fine. It's panda's voice just pouring out of the speakers like milk n honey that make this album a hit.
  92. kevink
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    a magical album
  93. YvesJ
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    Le meilleur album de ce début d'année. Ouais, ouais !
  94. A.Connor
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    Astonishing, truly. It's like the music is coming from a local swimming pool down the road and I can just barely make out all the magical sounds. More than any other album I've ever heard, it gives me the sensation of being dipped in pie. (At the very least, clearly, it's the sort of psychedelic, blissfully-surreal record that lends itself very easily to absurd metaphors. Astonishing, truly. It's like the music is coming from a local swimming pool down the road and I can just barely make out all the magical sounds. More than any other album I've ever heard, it gives me the sensation of being dipped in pie. (At the very least, clearly, it's the sort of psychedelic, blissfully-surreal record that lends itself very easily to absurd metaphors. Indeed, it seems almost silly to try and describe it in any other terms. Album of the year.) Expand
  95. JavierMV
    Mar 23, 2007
    8
    Exciting, creative, lifefull...Un album excitante y radicalmente creativo e inspirador estoy muy sorprendido por su frescura.escuchaló rápido...
  96. yoshimipink
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    beautiful.
  97. N.O.Smith
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    My favorite album of 2007 so far. Absolutely incredible.
  98. AaronS
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    Beautiful, trippy, warm, eccentric and lovely. All rolled into one piece of pop perfection. A better album you will unlikely hear this year.
  99. AlexA
    Mar 22, 2007
    8
    Best Animal Collective group or solo work since "Here Comes an Indian".
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 80
    Magical. [Apr 2007, p.114]
  2. His careful attention to detail and masterful use of vocal harmonies are unparalleled in modern indie rock.
  3. It's as lucid a marriage of the eneffably strange and crayon-bright catchy as 2007 is likely to see. [Apr 2007, p.58]