Person Pitch - Panda Bear
Person Pitch Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 183 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third solo album from Animal Collective's Noah Lennox (aka Panda Bear) is completely unlike its predecessor, as it is both upbeat and electronic, sounding like a spacey, 21st century Beach Boys album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 100
    An album this undeniably imaginative, consistent and immersive comes as a wonderful surprise and proof that maybe music isn't as lost as it seems. [Apr 2007, p.107]
  2. You can feel the warmth pouring out of the music.
  3. It’s easily the gentlest, brightest record to be associated with the Animal Collective.
  4. 80
    Immediately and huantingly familiar, it circumvents pastiche courtesy of a mischievous cut'n'paste aesthetic. [Feb 2008, p.108]
  5. As warm, strange and enchantingly off-key as the title suggests. [May 2007, p.127]
  6. 60
    Somehow, these constant flourishes enhance, rather than obscure, the disc's plentiful catchy bits, giving Person Pitch a resonant, off-kilter charm. [Apr 2007, p.93]

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 110
  2. Negative: 14 out of 110
  1. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    Among the top 5 albums of all times for me. I loved this so much, every single song everything in this album speaks to me in a way very few things can. I love this and it makes it hard to wait for the next album from Panda Bear. Expand
  2. markh
    May 12, 2007
    10
    this is my summer album. true, it i difficult to get into because panda bear likes his lack of typical song structure, but i think hes really pushing boundaries. the melodies are sunny and catchy, but theyre piled against a single chord for 6 or 7 minutes and then the whole song changes to something completely different. i boggles my mind. best songs: comfy in nautica, take pills, et all. Expand
  3. LordPoppycockVonTinselDrawers
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    Best Album of 07 hands down. A masterpiece. This hasn't left my ipod since the day I got it. And Neil C, I'll be back in 3 years for my money. Expand
  4. NathanS
    May 11, 2007
    9
    Ok, some of you guys just don't get it. I'm curious to see what you (people giving this album 0's) would call "good music". As for the album, brilliant and beautiful. Quite arguably the album of the year. Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    Person Pitch has to be one of the most imaginative records I've heard in a long time, probably ever. each track is beautifully layered with so many different sounds and harmonies and completely compliments Noah Lennox's voice. It sorta sounds like The Beach Boys if they took a whole bunch of different drugs at once. All In All, Panda Bear has crafted a wonderful, little psychedelic record that certainly won't leave the minds of any serious music fan for a long time to come. A- Expand
  6. Busted...
    May 17, 2007
    8
    I wonder how this album would sound stoned...probably pretty spectacular. Might even be overwhelming. Panda bear has a pretty dense soundscape; with every listen i notice something more I might try getting stoned again, but until then I stand by my rating...not quite perfection. Expand
  7. EB
    Apr 4, 2007
    0
    Boring.

See all 110 User Reviews