Person Pitch - Panda Bear
Person Pitch Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 193 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third solo album from Animal Collective's Noah Lennox (aka Panda Bear) is completely unlike its predecessor, as it is both upbeat and electronic, sounding like a spacey, 21st century Beach Boys album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 100
    An album this undeniably imaginative, consistent and immersive comes as a wonderful surprise and proof that maybe music isn't as lost as it seems. [Apr 2007, p.107]
  2. You can feel the warmth pouring out of the music.
  3. It’s easily the gentlest, brightest record to be associated with the Animal Collective.
  4. 80
    Immediately and huantingly familiar, it circumvents pastiche courtesy of a mischievous cut'n'paste aesthetic. [Feb 2008, p.108]
  5. As warm, strange and enchantingly off-key as the title suggests. [May 2007, p.127]
  6. 60
    Somehow, these constant flourishes enhance, rather than obscure, the disc's plentiful catchy bits, giving Person Pitch a resonant, off-kilter charm. [Apr 2007, p.93]

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 111
  2. Negative: 14 out of 111
  1. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    Among the top 5 albums of all times for me. I loved this so much, every single song everything in this album speaks to me in a way very fewAmong the top 5 albums of all times for me. I loved this so much, every single song everything in this album speaks to me in a way very few things can. I love this and it makes it hard to wait for the next album from Panda Bear. Expand
  2. MichaelC
    May 13, 2007
    10
    I guess I'm a rarity in that I completely understand why people would flat out dispise this album. It can be very experimental at times I guess I'm a rarity in that I completely understand why people would flat out dispise this album. It can be very experimental at times and hard to follow and lacks a certain energy that most people demand (the latter is why I Sean A is right by saying it shouldn't be compared to the Arcade Fire). Panda has a style that some people just won't be able to get in to, and I can't be upset by that. Luckily, I adore this album and it'll stay in my stereo for a few more weeks. Expand
  3. joshm
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    i really cant get over this album, it really isnt like anything else out there. it is so refreshing and makes it feel like summer. young i really cant get over this album, it really isnt like anything else out there. it is so refreshing and makes it feel like summer. young prayer is also awesome. Expand
  4. Marc
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    This is not a 'love it or hate it' album; it's a 'love it or don't get it' one. It is very cohesive, never This is not a 'love it or hate it' album; it's a 'love it or don't get it' one. It is very cohesive, never self-indulgent, and just a joy to listen to. Thank you, Panda Bear. Expand
  5. JaddyP
    Jun 2, 2007
    9
    What a wonderful album. The dreamlike sense and feel that runs through most of the songs leaves you with a overwhelming feeling that you are What a wonderful album. The dreamlike sense and feel that runs through most of the songs leaves you with a overwhelming feeling that you are listening to music made for some other time.. OK that all sounds a bit spacey but this album is. However it is not spacey in the flunky flaky kind of way but in the interesting abstract way. Ok the vocal sound does rip of The beach boys but you would be hard pressed to find a band that is 100% original in the modern music industry.And beside the sound is still great!. But Panda bear is still heads above the rest in originality! Hats off to him! Expand
  6. Booyanone
    May 28, 2007
    8
    This record is very cool. Though, the sound for some gets old, for me it is nice to hear something a bit similar and a bit different that is This record is very cool. Though, the sound for some gets old, for me it is nice to hear something a bit similar and a bit different that is pushed out of the record industry. Listening over and over, one can pick out a different layer of the songs each time. I would recomend this to anyone. Expand
  7. EB
    Apr 4, 2007
    0
    Boring.

See all 111 User Reviews