Personal Life

Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
Buy On
  1. Dec 22, 2010
    60
    The Thermals are in transition, sitting awkwardly between their lo-fi roots and a clear desire to do something grander. They seem stuck at a point where their skeleton is no longer fit for purpose.
  2. 56
    Personal Life comes across dark, lost, and-shockingly for The Thermals-boring. At least Don and Betty Draper shared a bed for a little while.
  3. Mojo
    Dec 20, 2010
    60
    It's searingly sincere, earnestly aching stuff, but when The Thermals hit the melodic bullseye, yours will be the next heart that breaks. [Dec 2010, p.94]
  4. There isn't a song here that truly rises above the rest, and nothing here is as offensive as anything you'd hear at a stop on the Warped Tour.
  5. Dec 22, 2010
    60
    Earworms are decidedly less abundant than normal, though, sad to say.
  6. Their fifth album deals with the at-times-taboo-for-punk subject of romantic commitment.
  7. Personal Life is nothing new for the Thermals, but that doesn't mean that it's nothing to write home about. It still packs enough of a punch to please the most diehard of fans.
  8. When they get it right - as they do on half of Personal Life - The Thermals are a joy to behold.
  9. Uncut
    Dec 20, 2010
    60
    Occasional similarities to Placebo may be unfortunate, but they are countered by the record's bracing directness and infectious vitality. [Dec 2010, p.109]
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Sep 27, 2010
    9
    Saw the Thermals live when 'the body the blood and the machine' came out... bought the album. Saw them when 'now we can see came out'...Saw the Thermals live when 'the body the blood and the machine' came out... bought the album. Saw them when 'now we can see came out'... bought the album. Just saw them live tonight... the songs off this album were particularly awesome. My god I love this band, but I think this is their best yet. Full Review »
  2. Sep 10, 2010
    7
    'Personal Life' is a change of pace for the Thermals and is to be distinguished from their previous works. Where the group achieved greatness'Personal Life' is a change of pace for the Thermals and is to be distinguished from their previous works. Where the group achieved greatness on 'the Body, the Blood, the Machine' where high energy adrenaline pumping riffs and vocal hooks, the tunes on 'Personal Life' are slowed down and more mellowed out. Much of the result is enjoyable pop punk, but some tracks truly leave something to be desired. It seems to me that the group is trying to develop a new and more complex sound, and whilst i appreciate this ambition, the jury is still out on whether they have the requisite skills to repeat the kind of success they have had with past albums.

    For more see http://playlist-sheazy.blogspot.com/
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 7, 2010
    8
    Personal Life is my introduction to The Thermals. It's an instantly engaging collection of post punk chunks and effortlessly carries aPersonal Life is my introduction to The Thermals. It's an instantly engaging collection of post punk chunks and effortlessly carries a charismatic yet inwardly focused quality reminiscent of bands like Interpol and Mountain Goats. I'm excited by the discovery and the knowledge that this is the bands fifth full-length release, finds me eagerly seeking it's predecessors. Full Review »